DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $
 Publisher















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Dreams And Machines: Gamemasters Guide (PDF)
Publisher: Modiphius
by REMI [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2024 08:26:02

I would love to be passionate about this game because it has everything to appeal to me: post-apocalyptic with a sense of hope, robots, simple rules (for a role-playing game), and a positive approach with an artistic direction that combines futuristic illustrations, beautiful landscapes, and a 'childish sketchbook' feel. Unfortunately, the whole thing feels too generic: the evil robots are aesthetically and design-wise unremarkable, and the world's mysteries summarized in this book are very conventional for post-apocalyptic settings. It's evidently a version without the Horizon Zero Dawn brand. The problem is that HZD invented something very cool: robot dinosaurs and a very interesting ecological cycle story. Here, there's none of that. So, the universe feels too superficial—certainly pretty, but lacking in flavor and originality.

The Nanograms concept are not developed in this book, it's a shame because it's a really good idea. The bestiary is really lacking (giant spiders and boring mechs... meh). Some factions are interesting (River people, Dreamers...).

Finally, I think the game doesn't quite understand its audience: if I believe the authors' biographies and the graphic style, it's aimed at young teenagers. However, I doubt that the audience interested in Modiphius is anything other than expert geeks...

Sorry, I don't feel the "Dream" of Dreams & Machines. I hope future sourcebooks will enrich the game design, robots and factions.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dreams And Machines: Gamemasters Guide (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Old Gods of Appalachia Player's Guide
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by REMI [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2024 07:28:04

This players guide seems a bit rushed, and it surprise me because the Monte Cook productions are usually top notch. You can't create a character with this book. Bummer. You still need to use the big corebook... There are 2 entire pages of spoilers (!!!) in the middle of this booklet about the secret supernatural forces. Really I don't understand why. It's an horror game, and players needs to discover by themselves these threats. There are some references to rules that doesn't exist in this booklet. Some equipment depicted in the PG are not in the lists... So, this booklet needs a better editing and the price is too high for this. I hope you will update it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Old Gods of Appalachia Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
No Gods, No Masters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by REMI [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2024 06:23:16

An official campaign! Finally! Scion is a complex game, and having an example of ambitious scenarios was really essential for me to get started with it. I was afraid of basic or conventional ideas, but that's not the case at all. Here is an interesting story that considers a group of Scions from different religions, well-developed NPCs, and useful tips for running the campaign... A big BRAVO to the Scion team, and I hope you continue to publish scenarios and campaigns!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Gods, No Masters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Curseborne: Ashcan Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by REMI [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2024 17:06:24

As a CoD fan Im curious about this.

Needs more lore to really make my mind about it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Curseborne: Ashcan Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Transformers Roleplaying Game Core Book
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by REMI [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2024 17:03:49

+++

A good lorebook (except for the Cybertron war story, not much too learn here) if you want to learn more about this world and characters. Buy the Decepticon sourcebook as well.

Lots of nice and cool (comics) art.

There is an introductory scenario.

Some good lore and scenarios ideas inspired by places around the world.

Lots of NPCs and baddies.

However the rules are an alternate version of d20 system. Instead of the easy advantage/disadvantage rule, they added another layer: you can change the dice type (like Savage Worlds) up or down. It’s slowing the pace of the games.

Obviously a level-based system don’t match this kind of action movie stories. We need to be big heroes from the start. So you need to start at level 5 or 10 to have a cool character with cool powers you expect from Transformers.

You can’t really play Dinobots without some tweaks. Bummer. Perhaps a future book?

There are no interesting and narrative chase rules, no catalog of cool cars and planes to choose from. No list of places and towers to destroy. The massive and impressive scale of the Transformers movies seems missing here.

Some editing problems like a mistaken reference to a table (even with the updated PDF version), unfortunately this publisher seems famous for editing errors.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Transformers Roleplaying Game Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Terminator RPG: T2 - Judgment Day
Publisher: Nightfall Games
by REMI [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2024 06:20:33

This sourcebook is really nice and honestly buy it with the corebook.

Rules to play Terminators (however, I think it lacks the min/max Terminator PC Role scores, isn't it?) interesting NPC profiles, an useful explanation about the 1990 era, characters, good advice on time travel paradoxes, two scenarios (however the last one is really a "endgame" one, not really useful).

No one asked for more Hacking rules and here we are: more rules, I don't know why I need to spend hours to hack something with this crunchy stuff when I just want to blow things up. Is it the Matrix saga?

Some artworks are just photo stock, but it's OK.

No bookmarks and this PDF is poorly optimised.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Terminator RPG: T2 - Judgment Day
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dreams of Avarice
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by REMI [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2024 13:32:54

This book is an amazing read, full of legends and mythology, the history of the Heretic (a famous character in the lore), and it reveals everything you need about the Mummy secrets.

Read this book if you're in love with Book of the Deceived.

Impressive work as always with the Mummy the Curse line!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dreams of Avarice
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by REMI [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2023 04:45:59

I played more than 20 scenarios and 2 Delta Green campaigns with these corebooks. I am more impressed by the quality of the scenario books and campaigns, and less by the corebooks unfortunately.

+ +The setting is grounded in our real society, it's now, with politics issues, with real events, real places and for a horror mood, it feels real. Perfect!

+The rules are smart, and a LOT better than any Call of Cthulhu edition. Still too much skills, but it works.

+A good starting adventure.

+I love the publishers ditched all the conspiracy stuff (I can't stop laughing when I read the old Nazi faction from the 1st edition books). Now the enemy is lone crazy individuals or monsters, it's more personal. I like this kind of horror.

- -Too much historical lore dump in the Handler Guide. I understand why they did it, but it's useless for the most part. Better explain all this info on another book and use the space to add more scenarios. The strenght of DG is the official scenarios.

-The corebooks needs a more developed chapter on how to run investigations, on how the players can use the clues given by the GM, and some explanations about the USA laws.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Eclipse Phase: Router Case Files
Publisher: Posthuman Studios
by REMI T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2023 11:06:42

Eclipse Phase is a great and ambitious game without, unfortunately, a big campaign to support it. This book however provides a lot of good synopsis about a wide range of subjects. Highly recommanded for every new or experienced GM!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Router Case Files
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: From the Dust
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by REMI T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2023 12:14:49

Great adventure inspired by Horror at Red Hook, and weird monsters, lot of details useful for the GM. Quality work, as always for Delta Green.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: From the Dust
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tome of the Pentacle
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by REMI T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2023 12:24:16

An incredible book for all Mage storytellers! The chapters about the Orders past, about the "awakened nations" (and their Mysteries to solve!) around the world are awesome and very, very useful for any storyteller. It's full of plot hooks. In fact, I can imagine an entire chronicle around the world, where PCs are the Order ambassadors and try to find allies against the Seers, learn of the complex history of the Orders, or discover the many magical weird things found in this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of the Pentacle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Kuei Jin: The Hungry Ghosts
Publisher: White Wolf
by REMI T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2023 16:31:01

An impressive new take on Kuei Jin. I'm glad that a great team published this new take on them. It's a true creative vision, with a professionnal layout and art. I can't wait to buy more from this project and team! However, there are still too much rules, and not enough lore or adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kuei Jin: The Hungry Ghosts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Trinity Continuum: Novas Worldwide
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by REMI T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2023 16:18:24

There aren't enough pre-written adventures (I don't why only D&D and Cthulhu have a lot of adventures!!) for this kind of sophisticated roleplaying games. Novas Worldwide is a great adventure anthology, lots of good ideas, interesting themes, NPCs, even a map (!). If you want to start an Aberrant campaign (or even for another superheroes RPG), read and GM this anthology!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum: Novas Worldwide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by REMI T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2023 14:17:22

When I buy pre written adventures, it's because i don't trust myself to write a good story and good NPCs, and events I cannot have without a lot of thinking. A good chronicle book will save me a lot of time and thinking. In this book none of the stories gave me surprising or inspiring ideas. Exemple: the "monster in the field" story is just a poor Call of Cthulhu adventure without any surprise, there is even a baaad ritual at the end!! The other chronicles are just not inspiring or compelling either. Trails of Ash and Bone is a lot better, if you really want a good chronicle book for Vampire or the WOD.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: The Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by REMI T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2023 14:09:18

Four really good adventures for Vampire! I didn't like at all the poor ideas of other recent chronicle books (Chicago Folios, Let the streets run red) but this one is stellar. Each adventure offer something new or surprising for your players. A weird cult, a necromantic murder investigation in Florence, a mysterious vampire who performs true or false miracles and a modern thriller. Lots of detailled NPCs, even ready-made characters to play immediatly!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: The Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates