DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless) $19.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
15 9
6 1
3 1
1 0
0 0
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Click to view
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2014 10:57:17

Jewelers' rouge works like gunpowder? Well. that preconceived notion cost me a few of years of reading Amber. Fortunately, Christmas and a girlfriend who accepted role playing games as presents changed my life forever. I remember going through "dice withdrawal" and trying to roll things that were not in my hand. Amber Diceless changed gaming for me forever. The first campaign was two years and my character diary became impossible to carry. My girlfriends Trump Deck had become similarly problematic. I had often thought that it would be fantastic to try and use a "non-Amber" setting. I gave Lords of Gossamer and Shadow a rating of 4, mostly because Amber was a 5. They did a fantastic job with the rules and setting; but it lacked some of the motivations that being of the Royal Family of Amber had. The right GM and players could possibly tie a good story together; but The Grand Staircase, itself does not bind players the way being related does. It also seemed that all the characters presented had a "Cold War Style" escalation of toys. Not only do these create a "point sink"; but it focuses to much attention on "out gearing" each other. It can not be done. Amber nicely kept the focus away from this trend. Pattern Sword, Trump Deck and a "gifted" riding crop were all that was required, the rest was out in Shadow somewhere waiting for you. Access to the Stairs also seemed fairly limited in Lords of Gossamer and Shadow and did not have that feel of "Shifting Shadow". The war for the stair also did not have the "feel" of Amber, Order verses Chaos; but with no clear right or wrong, except both were required. Lords of Gossamer and Shadow had an "ancient enemy" that seems to be clearly bad guys but very two dimensional with conquest for conquest's sake alone. So, criticism done. Should you buy this product? If you are a fan of Amber, it has some very useable ideas. This could make a very interesting "new power". If you are have not played Amber, this is a chance to discover some of the real depths of role-playing. It is not in anyway like any other gaming book, except Amber itself. Even if you never play it, because it does require the right group, it still forms part of a cornerstone that every RPer should have. It is not about how many "inches" a fireball will travel. It is about beating Benedict's record for holding the Alamo.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Jay S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2014 12:12:46

This is an excellent book and RPG.

The setting material is well thought out and provides for exciting campaign ideas. The setting fixes some of the issues I had with the original Amber material from a roleplaying perspective by making all worlds equally real and opening up PCs to be anyone from anywhere.

I'd have liked to see more variety in powers; they're addressing that with supplements, and the powers given in the core rules are sufficient, but expect to need to use the examples provided to build your own versions of powers to match the wide range of character concepts your players will generate.

Overall, an excellent game and one I'm having a lot of fun with already.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by joe b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2014 00:43:57

This RPG is awesome! I've tried a lot of games and have always scurried back to D&D 3.5 or Pathfinder. Lords of Gossamer and Shadow is an amazing game that needs more exposure. I never played Amber and wouldn't be able to compare, but because of LoGS, I wish I had known about Amber in its hay day. The diceless rule set will be a hard sell for some that will think the game is completely arbitrary. If you/they can get over that mental hurtle, you'll find a RPG full of infinite possibilities that won't become a headache because of having the crunch rules and mechanisms.

Lords of Gossamer and Shadow is definitely a RPG that will flourish in play-by-post forums. I don't know how well I would a game like this in person, but I have been running a fairly interesting pbp group on RPGpost.com and I think I have 3 players that are just as hooked as I am on this game.

I look forward to supplementary books for the system, but I just don't know how they could improve it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/04/2014 03:08:49

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This massive sourcebook for Erick Wujcik's Diceless system is 168 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page list of patronage/Kickstarter-thanks, 1 page ToC, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 163 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?

Born from Amber Dicelss Roleplaying, LoGaS depicts a setting which, unsurprisingly, makes use of countless worlds - the Gossamer worlds, made real by ethereal, true power. These countless worlds are connected to another via the Grand Staircase, an unfathomably huge staircase that features countless doors leading to countless gossamer worlds. Behind the screen, the forces of eidolon and umbra wage war eternal - eidolon being the force of supreme structure and organization, the ideal form of the multiverse, whereas umbra, its opposing principle, is essentially the chaos and entropy that seeks to undo all - the shadow lurking between gossamer worlds, constantly striving to claim worlds - whether temporarily or permanently. You are one of the travelers of the grand stairs, made aware of its countless possibilities, as mere wandering it starts to enhance your prowess to superhuman levels - the lords and ladies of gossamer are indeed powerful enough to change the destiny of whole worlds and have carved mostly secure worlds from the vast number of them. But balance demands duality and hence, there are the Dwimmerlaik, servants of the shadow that wage war unending on the self-anointed wardens of the great stairs.

Now after a short glossary of basic terms for newcomers, we dive into character generation - First, you choose a concept (more on those later) and then, you assign 100 points - you have to buy attributes, powers and extras from this array of points - the thing is, you may undercut or overstep this - earning good or bad karma. Rather cool! Also unique: All characters start at superhuman levels in all 4 attributes - you can get more points by cutting down to various mortal levels, though. Now attributes are handled via an auction at character creation - whoever bids highest, becomes ranked one - this character cannot be surpassed by the others in the given field, only approached. The auction per se comes with step-by-step guidelines, two alternatives/modifications to the system and easily and comprehensibly presented. Essentially, the player's bidding determines the relative power rank and how many points its costs to be up there -almost, for later buying attributes nets you .0.5 ranks on the ladder - you're almost, but not as god as the one that has the full rank. It should be noted that only characters who do not bid for an attribute can diminish it to paltry mortal levels, thus gaining more points budget. And you'll want those points, for powers, among which easy egress to the great stair, can be found, also cost points - a LOT points. Mastery of the power of eidolon or umbra e.g. costs a whopping 50 points. Now I mentioned bad karma - it's essentially what is called "Stuff" - having bad stuff means that the universe treats you rather badly: Rain, unpleasant reactions etc., while good stuff means the opposite. It should be noted that the book does something smart in offering players points for e.g. selecting background music, making quote lists, campaign diaries, quest logs etc. - which is awesome and a practice I'm using in a modular version in campaigns throughout the systems I play.

Of course, a Gamemaster also has some say regarding e.g. parents, allies, mentors and items - character creation is essentially a dialog here - which is great for storytelling and assures a more fulfilled playing experience for everyone. The 4 attributes (psyche, strength, endurance and warfare) are well explained and the powers also have a lot of material herein - from essentially having a list of magic (including words of power to utter when invoking the spells) to the privileges that powers grant, each has a lot of different options available - with the exclusion of hard numbers/dice, the sky is the limit for more than a few of these, including a very wide array of different modifications of creatures and artifacts, allowing you to essentially design beings and items to your heart's content - again, costing those precious points, though... And the interesting thing here is, that secret bidding and precise capabilities are not known to the other players - after all, much like in Amber etc., intrigues and yes, potentially even fighting among the player characters is a distinct possibility... - which also makes character advancement interesting - upgrading to the next rank on the attribute ladder is done by the GM (since you don't know the final results of the auction after the secret ranks have been added...) and may mean you incur bad stuff - rather interesting.

Of course, combat is rather different from most other settings due to a) the PCs being essentially demi-god-level paragons and b) there not being any dice around. Hence, GMs get a lot of advice and examples on how to handled combat, PC death and similar situations -and on how running a diceless game changes the overall tone of a roleplaying session. And yes, these are things to consider and make players aware of - with immature players, every situation could turn into an argument and much like in character generation, all is dialog here and hence, Gamemasters in particular should take a very close look at all those examples and take them to heart as well as explain to the players how different the experience will turn out to be.

Now, of course, we also get the setting-information - R'lyeh, Valhalla, Hell - everything you can conceive exists on the Great Stair and the Gossamer Lords & Ladies and their war with the Dwimmerlaik as well as the opposing principles of eidolon and umbra already make for a compelling and rich tapestry of options before the sample lords & ladies of gossamer and the both named and generic dwimmerlaik are presented - the latter of which get access to a deadly tool called channeling, which does btw. an awesome job at keeping them a viable and deadly versatile threat to even the powerful demigods the player characters are. Add to that undead, minotaurs and similar mythic beings, shapechangers etc. and we have a nice arsenal of adversaries ready.

The book also contains a short introductory module, adventure seeds, a list of inspirations, a reference-appendix, a note of thanks by the author, an index and a total of 3 sheets, one of which allows a player to design his/her own domain. (Yes, I forgot to mention that one - you can, of course, have your own home-base/world/plane...) Oh, and the pdf comes with form-fillable char-sheets.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed scarcely any minor glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard with purplish/violet, unobtrusive borders. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. Beyond the books initial patronage model, Rite Publishing ran a kickstarter for more art - and oh boy, does it show - this is one of the most beautiful books I've ever seen a 3pp produce - the artworks are classy, awe-inspiring and make you want to craft the depicted characters immediately, evoking a wide plethora of associations and at the same time carrying a very distinct flair and unifying artistic vision. Glorious!

When I was a child, I played diceless with my friends - though not the system. We'd run around outside in the garden, venture into the forests, and our characters would have special powers, which we determined beforehand - thus, by climbing on top of trees, lying down on mossy earth, scavenging raspberries and evading noisy squirrels, we walked through a land crafted by our own imagination, a world layered atop our own, where wonder and endless potential loomed, where our fantasy was the only limit. Video-games proved to be fun inspirations for us, but nothing ever came even close to our holistic fantasy of universal wonder, the countless tales we had woven.

Then life happened - one can, alas, not remain blissfully ignorant and this world's gossamer weave clings closer and closer, until the doors of one's fantasy start slamming shut, becoming mere windows that still can provide a glimpse of the exceptional, but that's it. And sooner or later, we have to concede that "The kids aren't all right", as harsh realities come crashing down.

Roleplaying, to me, recaptures a tiny fragment of this spark of immediacy once lost, a means of weaving a yarn greater than the sums and ambitions of its parts. The catch is - ultimately, more often than not, the rules get in the way. "You can't do that." And while I love the thrill of the rolling dice, at times, I long for a storytelling where one jumped across a bed of flowers, imagining carnivorous plants or seething magma, one essentially all but unhampered by restrictions or balance-concerns - and this is as close as you can probably get to it. Jason Durall has created a setting that is similar enough to Amber's tradition to keep fans happy, while at the same time, at least in my opinion, expanding the possibilities - this setting transcends fantasy and sci-fi, horror even, as genres and allows you to tell YOUR story - with no limitations to your imaginations but those you and your players compromise to adhere to. This book does so much in inciting the imagination, it's almost unbelievable - this is collective storytelling, codified by a solid, easy to grasp ruleset that keeps balance sans impeding any sort of creativity. I am extremely positive that just about any DM (and even player) can benefit from reading this book, even if one does not intend to run a campaign - why?

Because this book makes it possible for you to experience once again the wonder, when you fought Godzilla with Excalibur, when your cyborg-buddy cast the spell to seal the devil in your lamp, when the power rangers duked it out with the Ninja Turtles and you were caught in between.

Oh, and one thing - this system does not require you to be at a table - provided everyone knows the rules, you could quite frankly play this system with tucked in char-sheets while hiking, camping and doing similar activities, perhaps adding a slight LARPish tint to it for additional fun ("All right, if you manage to jump across this little tree stump, then your character can do XYZ") - be responsible, though! I know that's how I will probably use this game.

If you haven't noticed by now - I love this system. Will I make it my dominant one? No, I love rolling the bones too much and a bit of roll-playing, frequent character deaths etc. are exciting to me and my players. But once in a while, a very pure ROLEplaying experience, one that omits the "roll", is glorious and quite probably might change how you think about our hobby, storytelling etc. Oh, and if you're like me, this book will open doors towards realms of inspiring, unbridled creativity you deemed once lost - recapturing some components of that magic, where everything, for a moment at least, is possible. My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars +seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.l



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Mark K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2014 20:23:02

Lords of Gossamer and Shadow is the new diceless RPG from Rite Publishing. I was a backer of this game via Kickstarter and it has now come to fruition after being released on the 1st of December 2013.

Lords of Gossamer and Shadow is essentially Amber with a new setting. It has been called the "spiritual" successor to Amber which is something I can't really comment on. As much as I have wanted to play Amber I never actually got around to it. I can say that the new Rite Publishing game is right on the money though. I have often wondered how a dice-less system worked and I have to say that it works well!

The characters are made in a group setting and an attribute auction is held with every player having a set number of points to spend on these attributes. In game play the actuality is all actions are referred back to the attributes and in essence the highest wins (of course tactics and circumstance have a role to play). In essence, the system is elegant and streamlined. It is quick and painless and allows for a focus on story.

This game is a story tellers wet dream. For both the GM and the player it offers an open set of realms to play around with. This game is GURPS except you play with one character across as many settings as you want to! It is a version of Rifts or the TV series Sliders with much, much more powerful lead characters! The setting of Lords of Gossamer and Shadow is that of the Grand Stair which in essence is a realm that exists between realms! It is a stairwell that alters its appearance and structure throughout its entire length (not that anyone has found a top or a bottom to it) and the Lords and Ladies of Gossamer and Shadow travel its paths to enter realities that are connected by doorways.

A Lord/Lady of Gossamer is what the players are. They are beings capable of finding, and opening, the doors to different realities on the Grand Stair. They may only be new to the stair or have had the ability to traverse it for some time. They are an elite few among all of the realities and they see the forms of power that create the realities in the form of the Eidolon (structure and form in magic) or the Umbra (Chaos, destruction and wildness in magic). Players can draw from either aspect but generally a Lady of Gossamer is a follower of the Eidolon or Umbra whilst a Lady of Shadow would be something more sinister altogether.

The lords and ladies of shadow are a race of creatures known as the Dwimmerlaik who use a power separate to that of the Eidolon and Umbra. They war with the Lords as they see the Grand Stair as theirs and theirs alone. They had recently been thought but a myth by the travellers of the Grand Stair but have made attacks that cannot be explained away recently.

So, you have a meta-plot (the Lords of Gossamer vs. the Dwimmerlaik or Lords of Shadow) and you have a Grand Stair that has doors to an infinite number of realities. Realities with any setting and any genre to play with. Same characters for the players and an infinite number of realities. I can see why I love this game so much. I wander the internet and see so much good stuff going on and right here is a system I could use to represent it all, in one game! The book is beautifully written and is a great system for those of us who are story tellers at heart. It talks more about the way to weave a good story and tackles some big topics in its pages.

It is a game that focusses on players and their wants and needs. It seeks to generate conflict and drama for the players and may often even pit them against one another with crossing one players goals with another. The attribute auction from the very get go points to the possibility of this as the players compete against one another to develop their character. So although they may align and travel the Grand Stair together it is quite possible that they will end up at odds with one another in the long run.

The illustrated PDF that I have is lush and filled with full coloured gorgeous artwork with lead artist Jason Rainville . Most of these images focus on one individual giving a feel for them and the world they may come from. You feel like you know these characters immediately and the images help you overcome the initial shock of "so many genre choices" as they are laid out across many genre fields. You may laugh but when I read the rules as a straight pdf I was a little numb to how I would GM this game because of the immense scope of the realities! The artwork really helps me factor all this in to the game as a whole. The small game I did run all occurred on the Grand Stair so I could avoid putting it in a setting! The art is not on every page though and you will get runs of up to six or seven pages at a time where you will see no art at all.

This game will of course not be for everyone. I have had some very strong reactions when I have talked about the dice-less nature of the system and how it works. There are a large number of people that believe that what happens is purely up to the GM which is simply not true. I have had people say that you might as well have no character sheets at all and sit around a circle and tell a combined story. Again not true. I really wish that this game would appeal to everyone but if you are a player that must hold on to the random element or loves the tactile nature of dice and will feel lonely without them then perhaps this is not the game for you.

I do implore anyone though that has a slight interest in this system to give it a go. I love this game and its possibilities. I will eventually run a campaign with this game. It will not be immediately but it will happen. The beauty of the setting combined with the elegance of the rules is just fantastic. I am keen to build a story in this world that centres around the characters and their abilities. The book is beautifully presented and I can not wait to get my game provided by one of the developers that is on offer as part of my Kickstarter backer level.

This game is for me (and see above about dice-less systems that will cause some to turn away from this) a five out of five star game. It ticks every box for me and is written in a readable and interesting format. Once you get your head around the rules and the setting you will see the infinite possibilities that this game brings to your table. No more rolling!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Jason D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00

The Short of It: As a long time Amber GM, I am pleased that this game was published. The setting material is interesting and well thought out. The system is the same as Amber Diceless, which wasn't a surprise due to the license. However, I am disappointed in the quality of the printed book.

The Longer Version: The PDF is nice and shows off the lovely artwork well but is hindered by the large ugly border on every page. Happily, I can crop the file on my tablet and ignore it.

Sadly, the same cannot be said for the book and, though I own a tablet, I prefer to read longer material on paper.

The book has a beautiful hard cover. Inside, the full color artwork is hampered by what feels like thin and substandard paper when compared to any other gaming book that I've purchased in the last decade.

Adding to the muddy look of the artwork on the page is the huge ugly border. The border not only closely hedges in the text on every page, making the reading experience somewhat unpleasant, but it is also boring and repetitive with no apparent connection to the material presented.

The fact that the text is also set in tiny 8 point type doesn't help the readability, either.

Conclusion: I am pleased with the setting that author Jason Durall presents. The artwork is gorgeous. Unfortunately, the physical product is marred by poor layout choices and substandard paper.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Cale R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00

Well laid out, amazing artwork, and a grand system working off of Erick Wujcik's Amber Diceless, LoGaS is a book for any gamer's collection. This book will teach how to run, play, and enjoy a rich multiverse themed game. Want to be a thirty foot tall ogre with shadow wings made of darkness itself? This book and system will let you do it! I've always been a fan of multiverse theme'd products, and LoGAS is one of the best I have found. If you have ever thought of playing or running diceless, or you are interested in breaking the ordinary boundaries of character creation (why play a human when you can play a shapeshifting dragon?), then this book is for you. It also has amazing Item Creation and Powers to play with. This is not your standard run of the mill role playing book, expect to find new ideas and new gaming experiences! Buy it and enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Josh W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00

I was a backer of the kickstarter, and that was one the things that impressed me about the whole product and the company.

I'll start with the campaign to fund it. It's been my experience as a backer that I tend to notice bad kickstarters, but not the good ones. For them, the campaign just disappears into the background. That wasn't the case for Lords of Gossamer and Shadow. It ranks among the very best of all the crowdfunding campaigns I've ever seen. Regular updates, constant communication, it was extremely professional at every point of contact. The bulk of the work was done by the time they began the campaign. The funding goals were well-planned. Too many kickstarters give away too much or too little, but this campaign offered value at every level. They even released on time! If they made any missteps at all at any point in the process, they weren't visible to me as a backer. I can stress this enough. Too often, companies that publish RPGs treat it as a hobby instead of a business, but Rite Publishing was rigorously professional.

I was on the fence about funding it in the beginning. It seemed like Amber Diceless without the Amber part. I wrote as much on my blog, prompting one of the principals behind the project to answer my concerns. I figured I'd kick in fifteen dollars for it.

The PDF is gorgeous. Full color pictures all over the place, bookmarked, cleanly laid out. Again, no complaints about the presentation. As a supplement to the ADRPG, it's a wonderful product. Ambiguous rules are clarified, more options are outlined for psyche and strength contests, powers have been refined.

As a stand-alone product, I'm less enthusiastic. The system for Amber Diceless was developed in the 1980s and released in the 1990s. It revolutionary when it was introduced, and has held up fairly well in the years since then. While there were elements that were genuinely innovative, such as the Attribute Auction, I never felt it was the best system for Diceless role-playing (I happen to like Nobilis a little better myself), but rather the system we wound up with. It was neither good nor bad. I never felt it got in the way, and while the rules allowed you to play the game, they never drove the game like the rules in certain systems do.

The setting for the original game is what sold me and I'm probably not alone.

I don't like the setting of G&S. (Also, I think Dwimmerlaik sounds a little bit silly). This is something entirely subjective, so your mileage may vary. I'll admit, I'm judging it against the original, one of my very favorite fantasy worlds, so almost anything is going to come up short. It reminds me of the "let me tell you about my campaign" short stories from Amberzine (which isn't necessarily a dig, because I still like Carolan's Diary). They were generally good, and sometimes even great, but they were always eclipsed by the source material.

Again, the creators were very candid about this. I can't complain that the I didn't know I was backing what amounted to ADRPG without the A. They told me that in the pitch, and it's right there in the introduction. You can play Amber and you can play MORE than Amber.

I think I'm happy that they designed their own characters and didn't give us "Not-Eric" and "Not-Benedict" to go with the "Not-Pattern" and "Not-Logrus", (and the powers aren't simple one-to-one analogues to Pattern and Logrus, but I'm exaggerating a broad similarity to make a joke). I personally didn't find them as as deep or as interesting as the Elder Amberites, but that's not a fair comparison, as the ADRPG didn't create Brand or Corwin or Oberon. They were able to draw on existing characters who had been developed over the course of many years and thousands of words. There's just no way a character sketched out over a couple paragraphs can compare.

I don't think it's a bad game. In fact, I think it's a pretty great one. The rules are refined and improved in almost every way. As I said above, I like it a lot as Amber 1.5. Rite Publishing has been scrupulously professional, and they've turned out a very polished product, about which they are extremely, and rightly, enthusiastic. It's not the game for me. If I want to play Amber, I still have ADRPG. And now, thanks to Rite Publishing, I have a better version of Amber.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Jean-Christophe C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00

Jason Durall offers his inspired vision within a nice book from Rite Publishing. The system is brilliant. The universe sounds familiar if you know the Chronicles of Amber series of course. But the universe is different enough and will surprise you.

Lords of Gossamer and Shadows is diceless, brilliant, well written, nicely illustrated. Lords of Gossamer and Shadows is about exploring limitless multiverse, about wheels within wheels within wheels intrigues.

I can't wait to play!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Kristin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2013 13:50:33

Its an amazing piece of work. The Book itself is well bound, and the pages are gorgeous (purple pages which go from light to darker purple as you go down the outside!)

The System itself is simple 4 Stats , an a host of Powers with point costs, not to mention the ability to make Artifact and Creatures- who by most standards are just as powerful as your character.

The Game doesn't hold your hand, but encourages you to imagine and explore your character(s), and they world they inhabit. The game also is a book to GMs who maybe a little lost in trying to figure out how to run a game, that lacks 'dice mechanic' or may just be 'new' to GMing but its a wonderful product.

The NPCs are well realized (dedicating usually a page+ to the major 'Players'- their powers and their responses as Ally, Enemy ect).

This game would be an excellent place to start for roleplayers- who are perhaps transition from another medium (say play by post/forums) to Table Top games- or for people who want to introduce people in general but don't want to worry about Dice, Levels, or other 'fiddly bits'.

This game is about Narration, thought, and overcoming or dealing with obstacles not because you have a Sword of 2+ Smiting- but because you've thought your way through, tricked, trapped, outwitted, or otherwise corned your enemy, or perhaps turned him to your side against a common foe.

Lords of Gossamer & Shadows is ultimately about what happens when characters are given a taste of power.. and for good or ill use it to define themselves.. and the worlds they visit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by sean l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2013 15:29:55

Excellent successor to the venerable Amber DRPG. The world is much more open and hopefully rite publishing will take advantage of this and produce more content and more flexible rule sets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to do a review sean.
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates