DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Necessary Evil: Invasion (Revised)
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Yann [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2023 12:04:23

So, I'm a bit disapointed by this product.

To be honest, I am running the Necessary Evil Campaign with the Supers! Revised Edition rules and not Savage Worlds and I already own the Explorer Edition (both PDF and print). I didn't really need the updated version but I still bought it out of curiosity and to see if there was new stuff.

The good : art is very good, I like the random encounter mission complications also.

The bad : well, apparently there is at least one statblock which is incorrect. The Shocklord. His template isn't even an update but a totally different character a lot like the v'sori scientist statblock.

Another issue to me : in Explorer, everything you need for the setting is included like gear for instance. In Revised, the special v'sori gear...is in the SWADE Super Powers Companion (I own it so I checked).

And about that. The v'sori shocklord on the Swade spc has the same issue



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Necessary Evil: Invasion (Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Awesome Powers Omnibus
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2023 06:22:00

Bash! Ultimate Edition is not the Superhéro RPG of choice in my gaming group it's Supers RED but still I've bought BASH UE a few years ago and I was curious enough about this Awesome Powers Omnibus to buy it. I was not disapointed :) .

A lot of stuff in there: mainly all the powers from the various Awesome Powers series but to my surprise, also a few erratas and rule corrections.

This book is a little gem if you are a Bash GM so don't hesitate to buy it, it will improve your games options a lot!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Awesome Powers Omnibus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
SWADE Fantasy Companion
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2023 06:18:29

Nice companion to have and a lot of good stuff inside. Species creation, new powers, new powers Hindrances and Edges to make several kind of magic-user. A lot of creatures and monsters to use, several new Setting rules and even some advices to "recreate" DnD classes with suggested Edges, Hindrances and Skills.

Why 4 out of 5 ? Well because two things : several nods to Savage Pathfinder I'm not interested in and several things which were already in the SWADE Super Powers Companion and adapted to fantasy: Strongholds for instance. I like the idea of Strongholds as I liked the Headquarters in the SWADE SPC but it's a bit of a skinned copy paste and it's kind of lazy.

Still 4/5 for me is a pretty good product and I'm waiting eagerly for a new Science-Fiction Companion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SWADE Fantasy Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Cthulhu
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2023 06:12:43

For me this is the best TinyD6 product I read. I never played or ran the game but I like the simplicity of these rules and the Cthulhu flavor does not disapoint. It was not sufficient to find the already good rulesets of the other products but you will also find some pieces of Cthulhu mythos: creatures, books, magic everything is here to make a good game without searching in another rulebook. The best TinyD6 product (for me) so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
Publisher: Encoded Designs
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2022 08:41:30

Hello,

I bought this PDF last year or maybe the year before, I don't remember well. I know I bought it because it has been advised to me by an ex-friend.

I begun to read it once but stopped after buying Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master which became my method of prepping of choice, including for totally other games than D&D 5.

In fact, Never Unprepared is quoted in the "References & Additionnal readings "of Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master so I recently decided to read it completely.

And I'm glad I did it. This is a great reading and a great explanation of the creative process and I understand why Sly Flourish has put this book on his reference works.

The two PDF can work together. I explain myself: while I like the Return of the Lazt Dungeon Master method, it works better when I have already an idea of the adventure I will run. Never Unprepared helps me brainstorming, selecting and conceptualizing my adventure and Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master helps me on the Documentation Phase.

Plus Never Unprepared is setting-neutral and system-neutral while Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master, while versatile, was written with D&D 5 in mind so Never Unprepared is still unvaluable for that.

Buy it, you won't be disapointed as even if you don't need it, there are still plenty of great advices.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ancestry & Culture: An Alternative to Race in 5e
Publisher: Arcanist Press
by Yann [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2022 05:18:31

Read the book, totally like the ancestry and culture replacement of the old outdated concept of races. Must better done than in the Tasha (no offense to Tasha, it was still the right move from WotC to do it))



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestry & Culture: An Alternative to Race in 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
[SUPERS] Extreme Earth Campaign Setting
Publisher: Fainting Goat Games
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2022 04:20:38

Hello,

I like the setting in that PDF and they are really good ideas inside. Still this is a 3 for me and here's why:

  • there are several errors on several NPCs
  • members of the Wolfpack are supposed to be playable by gamers but none are built with the same budget in dice.
  • the authors indicate that supplements will come out to address more in depth Mantis and the Pantheon but ultimately nothing has been done.

As it stands, we have a very good implementation of the Supers Revised Edition role-playing game in a dark universe, but if we want to play something other than Fist, it will require additional work from the gamemaster.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[SUPERS] Extreme Earth Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Freedom City (Third Edition)
Publisher: Green Ronin Publishing
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2022 13:36:40

I just finished reading the Freedom City 3rd Edition PDF for Mutants & Masterminds 3rd Edition and here is a quick review of the book.

I've been a big fan of Mutants & Masterminds for a long time and followed the line over three editions, and I was able to read the two previous editions of Freedom city. So I can compare too, at least in terms of memories.

In terms of layout, the PDF is divided into two books, the first book is mainly for the players (including the GM) and the second for the GM only.

The player section is very interesting because it finally covers the basic premise of this campaign setting but also the whole history of the city. The most interesting chapter for the players remains for me the chapter 2 "Life in Freedom" where the players can learn everything about the local life: business, education, arts and leisure, health, media, military, parks and recreation, restaurants, science and technology, social life, sports, city life...it's a lot of information that clearly allows the players to make the city their own and to feel at home there

What has changed in terms of chronology (and without spoiler because all this is in the part for players). The timeline of the 1st one stopped in 2002, the 2nd one in 2005 with the construction of the Lighthouse in orbit by the Freedom League after a repulsed invasion, so the Freedom City timeline is now in 2015 and a lot has happened in Freedom City: there is no longer a Master Mage on Earth, Seven has unwillingly become a Dark Lord, the Republic of Lor has fallen after the appearance of an entity called the Collapsar, and Star Khan has allied with the Grue shapeshifters to create a Stellar Empire, Freedom City served as a staging area for alien refugees who were parked on Star Island causing great tension until Daedalus relocated them to Starhaven, a former Preserver habitat on Europa, one of the moons of Jupiter. Local financial magnate Jonathan Grant became a two-term mayor and was murdered on his way to revealing who was behind the creation of the alien hybrid creature that killed his daughter, an alien rights activist, Captain Thunder lost his powers and his son is now a living electrical form who needs a suit to stay coherent, the new Lady Liberty is transgender, Siren is no longer an active member of the Freedom League but a reservist, in short, a lot of changes.

The players' section ends with different types of possible campaigns and some proposals for alternative versions of Freedom City.

The GM's part is much more interesting, but of course the players are not supposed to read it. Without being a secret universe, this is superhero lore and not Vampires the Masquerade, there are grey areas that players are not supposed to know about, unless the background justifies it. For example, if a player wants to play the new incarnation of the Scarab (a legacy hero), his or her base is described as well as an archetype of powers (even if all freedom is given for a player who would like to change a little the powers of the new incarnation). Without going into spoilers, there is a much more complete timeline than the two previous editions but also descriptions of factions, organizations and places that were in different books of the second edition: the Claremont Academy, The Scarab I mentioned before, SHADOW, AEGIS (the SHIELD of this universe) etc.

Note that this chapter also includes many proposals to change Freedom City to your liking; You want there to be less superhero NPCs? Simple, during the Terminus invasion in 1983, all the heroes died and poof settled.

The next two chapters cover the heroes and villains of Freedom City. So what can I say, there have been some changes, I mentioned the changes in the Freedom League or the death of Master Mage Adrian Eldrich, but they are not the only ones. Some villains I liked like Maestro are gone, others have changed like The Silencer and Tarot (and in case I'm playing in this universe, I'd rather not reveal anything)

What about this book? Well, it's a more than complete campaign setting to take your players on a superhero adventure, there's a lot, I mean, a lot of information... Where the Superverse chose to describe mostly the things that relate to the four adventures of the book and leave the GM's and players' imagination for the rest, Freedom City chose to deliver a complete turnkey city. I like this aspect but it makes for a lot of reading and choices to be made.

However, some things in this book refer to other books of the M&M3 series. You want to know more about Collapsar or the Stellar Empire, we refer you to the Cosmic Handbook supplement which has a chapter on that. Want to know more about the Claremont Academy? Then buy Hero High Revised, which has a chapter on it. Want to know what's going on in France? Buy Atlas of Earth-Prime. Well, I happen to have these supplements in PDF and it's still dispensable for a campaign taking place only in Freedom City.

As stated in the introduction: Freedom City is a campaign setting for superhero adventures using the third edition of the superhero role-playing game Mutants & Masterminds. But it can be used with any superhero RPG and even though a GM doesn't need permission to adapt a campaign setting to another RPG, I think it's cool that Green Ronin Publishing states this in full, it clearly means that they think their setting is so good that you might want to play it with any super RPG



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Freedom City (Third Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Doctor Who: The Roleplaying Game Second Edition
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2022 13:12:21

I really wanted to give a good rating. I'm a fan of the show, I liked the first edition of the RPG and buying the 2nd edition last year was compulsive .

I like the art, the PDF is gorgeous though too much orange but still gorgeous.

I like some of the new concepts like Focus, Concept, the very good looking experience system.

But Distinctions...well no.

So I'm suppose to determine with my players how the Distinction works, without guidance except a few examples which does not explain the rationale of how they work.

In the current state, this is a deal-breaker for me.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Doctor Who: The Roleplaying Game Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Seas of Vodari (5E): Swashbucking & Sorcery on the High Seas
Publisher: Angryfish Games
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2021 10:50:48

My review is based on reading only. I have bought the product in august 2020 when I was looking for another setting that the usual Forgotten Realms.

I liked this product very much, I don't know if I will run adventures in it but I'm impressed by the Quality of the work. The PDF is thorough: you have species, a new class, backgrounds, a full pantheon, a gazetteer of the important kingdoms and a few adventure seeds, you have also new monsters, spell and magic items. The icing on the cake? An introductory adventure with a treasure hunt :).

Clearly it's a very good third-party setting I strongly recommend if you like seafaring swashbuckling adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Seas of Vodari (5E): Swashbucking & Sorcery on the High Seas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
Publisher: Angry Games, Inc.
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2021 09:10:12

I've decided to do a better review of Game Angry, a more objective one if I may say so.

So I read it thoroughly trying to be as neutral as possible and there are some really good tips in it for new RPG players and GM, however I really don't like some others things in that book. The authors is always telling he is smarter than you and cricizing GM who does not do as him and I feel personnally attacked when I read that I am not a smart GM to do things my way instead of his.

So I've decided to take the interesting advices of this book and leave the tone out of my reading just to keep the good advices.

. Still the book's tone is taken in account in my note.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Star Trek Adventures - Le Quadrant Bêta
Publisher: Arkhane Asylum Publishing
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2021 16:04:52

La traduction est correcte (j'ai l'ouvrage en VO) et je n'ai rien à dire sur le sujet, je n'ai lu le PDF qu'en diagonale alors je n'ai pas remarqué s'il y avait des coquilles. Ce que je trouve dommage c'est que le PDF n'a aucun marque-page.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures - Le Quadrant Bêta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fate Condensed
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2020 11:12:21

I read this one after reading Fate Core so.

I liked a bit more the reading of this Fate book, the rules are much better explained than Fate Core and the book is less big to read (60 pages only).

The issue is I don't thinks this book is useable if you want to use the thing called Extras in Fate Core because they aren't present here. If you create a setting which does not need extra, it"s fine but if that's not the case, well there are no explanations on how you deal with it. If you never read Fate Core before, you don't even know that you lack tools to improve your Fate Experience.

Still the book has plenty of optional rules so...I think you better with Fate Condensed than Fate Core.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Condensed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2020 11:06:19

I tried to read thrice this book, in english and in french. I liked character creation and how the mechanic runs. I'm stil lost on how to gm these rules. They seem a lot too abstract to men, I'm confused by the lack of true rules for Magic, Hadware or whatever they call "Extras" so maybe I will play it in the future as a player but not as a GM, I don't feel it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
[SUPERS RED]Improbable Tales: Helicarrier Heist
Publisher: Fainting Goat Games
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2020 18:16:38

I'm not totally convinced by the Supers Red version of this adventure (I have the original Icons one). Reason number one is common to Icons version : there are a lot of random encounters table which reminds me of a fantasy dungeon and that's not something I expect from a superhero adventure. Reason number two is specific to Supers version: Supers has Mooks and Henchmen simple rules which are not used here. Each mook is fully created like a full fledged super-villain and not with the simpler mook or Henchmen rating. That's more a character to character conversion than a rule conversion so the adaptation is not entirely correctly done. The adventure is still good however and that's why I give it three stars.I'm not totally convinced by the Supers Red version of this adventure (I have the original Icons one). Reason number one is common to Icons version : there are a lot of random encounters table which reminds me of a fantasy dungeon and that's not something I expect from a superhero adventure. Reason number two is specific to Supers version: Supers has Mooks and Henchmen simple rules which are not used here. Each mook is fully created like a full fledged super-villain and not with the simpler mook or Henchmen rating. That's more a character to character conversion than a rule conversion so the adaptation is not entirely correctly done. The adventure is still good however and that's why I give it three stars



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[SUPERS RED]Improbable Tales: Helicarrier Heist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 46 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates