DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE] $102.99 $19.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
94 22
8 2
1 0
0 0
0 0
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by William [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2023 21:54:09

As a long-time player and DM/GM of TTRPGs, I just love the modularity of the Hero Kids system. I just ran my wife and 4-year-old through Basement O' Rats and they loved it. Looking forward to expanding on the system complexity as she gets older and needs more of a challenge. Also a fan of how simple it is to prepare and run the adventures so far, as it allows me to pay more attention to her learning and enjoyment. Thanks for the great game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jarrett [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2023 22:37:17

“Just as much fun as a video game” - Leo, 8 “WHAT DO YOU MEAN WE DON’T HAVE TIME TO PLAY HERO KIDS TONIGHT?! WAAAAAHHH!” - Henry, 5 (after playing basement o’ rats and 3/4 of Tomb of the Lost King) We played Friday night and Saturday. They talked about it all weekend. I’ve got some prep to do! Incredibly good value. Tip for paper minifigs: cut out a row, fold in half, (blank side in), then fold tabs out. Glue w/ a gluestick. Cut between each figure. A sm square of cardstock on bottom.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by DD W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2022 09:59:00

Absolutely the best way to bring kids to the table. Kids hate prep. Rules confuse them (they want to make their own!) Let's not even get to kid's attention spans. Hero Kids gets everyone to playing fast and keeps things moving. Art is solid, adventures are good, and plenty of goodies to print and hand out for everyone included.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Mike B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2022 22:19:33

Hero Kids is an INCREDIBLE system and I HIIIIIGHLY recommend it!! As an elementary school counselor, I frequently use Hero Kids with the young children I work with; the mechanics are simple and accessible, the art is WONDERFUL and SO kid-friendly, and the adventures are VERY GM-friendly.

I recently had the opportunity to run Basement-o-Rats for a friend and his young son. Working with littles, I fully expected him to lose interest after 30 minutes or so ... two hours later, he was BEGGING to start the next adventure straight away!!

The corebook is extremely affordable (also -- the bundle price is even better!!!). DMs, GMs, storytellers, parents, mental health professionals, teachers ... this is SO worth picking up! Plus -- the creator constantly puts out new materials, publications, blogs, and is very responsive to questions and suggestions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jon m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2021 09:59:56

Great intro for kids into RPG. Easy to play this has all you need to run adventures. I do suggest getting some figures off ebay to add to the fun, or use lego figures like we did!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by iana i. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2020 15:20:24

I got this very reasonably priced buidle for my son's 5th birthday. Two days later, he was running a game for me & my spouse with a 3 level dungeon and teleporting rats. He doesn't read well yet, but is easily able to use the character sheets. If it was such a hit, why give it only 4 stars? Two reasons:

  1. The minis are very unstable. I much prefer the ones from Printable Heros, which we started using after the first adventure .
  2. The adventures aren't very printer-friendly as they are landscape with 2 columns like a booklet, but cannot be printed as booklets. You end up with 11x8.5 pages stapled in the corner.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Ben T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2020 18:12:41

Well worth the sale price highly recomend. i bought this after purcasing the lockdown bundle there is so much here to keep us busy for a long time with the intention of getting offical D&D merch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Craig H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2018 05:58:24

Fantastic. Just started it, at my the school I work at, as a lunchtime activity, thought it would be a bit of fun for the kids but was worried if they would get into it. They loved it and keep asking me if it's Friday yet (when we play). I also had an absolute blast and was a bit annoyed when lunchtime was over, it's actually my first time GMing and I was a bit nervous but the bits of story it gives you to read before and after encounters really helps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Curtis B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2017 13:56:08

Absolutely amazing! I figured my seven year old son and myself would have fun, however I did not expect to have as much fun as we did. He is very imaginative in general, and it applied very well to this game. The modules are very easy to use and require very little preparation, so we can play without delay. The rules are simple and fun and leave plenty of room for improvisation if desired.

I cannot recommend this enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by damien a. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2017 13:33:56

Bought this for my students to play during lunch (grades 3-5) as sort of incentive for doing homework/positive behavior. I modified it slightly due to time constraints, etc...but so far they freakin' LOVE it. I have 2 kids on the autisism spectrum and a very shy child in one group and they are really into it (doing voices, giving them character traits, etc.) I intend to rotate groups of 4 kids at a time. Really well done game mechanices, etc. I never write reviews, but I felt like this realy deserves a wider audience. A really good tool in the hands of a creative GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Colin R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2017 14:13:37

I spotted that the Hero Kids Complete Fantasy Bundle was on sale for an absolutely massive reduction - $19.95 down from $63.83 - and so decided to pick the thing up. I'd played a few simple homebrew scenarios with my 5-year-old son, and had heard some neat things about this game.

I'm delighted with the results. A simple ruleset for my son, a clear guide for his first-time-GM Dad, and a rich collection of printables, inventory items and character sheets to really add to the experience. My son and I have both been having a great time with this - well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Brad C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2017 12:27:41

OK, if you have little ones and are trying to get them involved, this is worth every penny. I was lucky enough to pick it up for the $20 sale price and could not be happier with, #1 the amount of content, and #2 the scenarios are very good. Being a DM and creating stories myself we added some things to a few of the scenarios to make them more involved/ difficult but in general they are good as is. I originally picked up the first scenario by itself and scince was hooked on the system design. Again if you have first timers, this is a great way to bring them in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2016 01:11:31

My daughter, not quite 4, really likes this game (we've played Basement O' Rats over two sessions) and the bundle has a lot of great content that should keep us entertained for a long time. The rules, hero cards, monsters, and adventures are thoughtfully designed to be fun for the youngest gamers, and the rules are flexible enough for a wide age range. Every character has a varying number of d6's for Melee (Strength), Ranged (Dexterity), Magic (Intelligence), and Armor. Each character also gets a normal attack, special attack, and a bonus ability. An inventory of items like rope, bag of gold, and heals and skills like lore, tracking, and stealth round out the characters. You can use as much or as little of this as you want depending on the complexity your players can handle. The rules offer very helpful tips for running the game for players at different ages.

My daughter quickly picked out a character, gave her a name, and was able to move her paper mini around on the map and roll dice to fight monsters. I wasn't sure she would get the concept of the game at such a young age, but I needn't have worried. If your child loves fairy tales, inventing stories, pretending to be other people, and can recognize the number rolled on a d6, they'll have a lot of fun with Hero Kids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2016 13:22:08

I had stumbled across this system online and had a PDF of the book shared to me. I was so impressed by the system that I came and bought everything they have. I am running a weekly game with my 2 kids (11 and 5) and they love it. This is my 5yo's first rpg and at the end of our first session (against the ghost pirates) we was picking what is next. She said her character wants to go see her grandfather in the wizards tower. Totally on her own, she decided that the wizards tower is where her characters grandfather would be. (she is a healer BTW)

After this month we will run the space kids and then will be working on a super hero mod to run in Aug.

The print version of the book is a little smaller than I thought it would be, but is nice to have at the table or when you dont have a tablet handy to look things up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2016 18:04:38

If you want to introduce young children to TTRPG, buy Hero Kids now. Look no further, you've found what you need.

My oldest son, now in 3rd grade, having observed parts of the monthly D&D game I DM, asked if he could play D&D. While he is mature enough that I could create some appropriate adventures, his younger brother is in kindergarten and I know he is not ready for D&D. I've noticed Hero Kids in the past so I decided to give it another look. They had a bundle with the core rules, all expansions, and all adventures to date for only $15 and that also came with a discount on the printed version of the rules. I bought it, and ordered a print copy of the rules, immediately.

I probably didn't need to order the print book. I read the PDF rules in one short sitting. They are easy to pickup. Still, it will be nice to have a print copy to refer to and for my boys to use for running their own games.

I ran the first adventures, Basement O' Rats, last night. This is the intro "easy" level adventure. My boys were able to get through without any knock-outs (like Pokemon, nobody "dies", they are KO'd). We used the pre-created characters, but after the game they wanted to make their own, so they ended the evening writing up and coloring new characters they made up.

They wanted to play again, so today I ran Escape from the Ghost Pirates. It was "normal" level and was a good challenge for them. Enough to keep them on the edge, but not so hard that they were overly frustrated. It was great to see my two boys learn that they had to work together to succeed and to watch them learn to take time to plan their next steps.

All adventures come with battlemaps and paper minis and stat cards for any new monsters. All you need to do is print them out and obtain six-sided dice and pencils. The encounters for each adventures suggest the number of monsters based on the number of heroes, including only one hero. You can play this with just one kid, no problem, and it will still be fun.

The expansion packs given you additional pre-gen heroes to chose from and special equipment that the game master can give out as loot.

After the second adventure, my 10-year old asked if he could create his own dungeon. He roughed out a simple map on graph paper, which I turned into a number of battlemaps in Dungeonographer and he created a new monster (mole men) for it. So this evening, he'll be DM running his adventure for his brother, my wife, and I.

I do not see my 10-year-old being able to pick up D&D and run a game, certainly not after only two games. To me, this is Hero Kid's brilliance. It is is a well-balanced, simple to learn system, requiring a minimum of investment, but all the TTRPG fundamentals are there. It is a fabulous introduction to TTRPGs for children.

My only complaint is that if you want to create your own adventures, the rulebook doesn't provide any guidance for creating monsters and there are not blank monster cards or blank paper-minis. We just used the cards and paper minis that are used to create your own heroes and pretty much winged it in terms of creating stats for homebrew monsters, using RAW monsters as templates.

This game really needs to be put into a boxed set and sold in Target. I think it is one TTRG that would easily be attractive and adopted by mainstream families. If I could buy this in a box set, I would be giving it as a gift to every young kid I know who doesn't have it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates