DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures $7.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
60 27
10 4
4 0
0 0
0 0
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Click to view
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Charles C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2019 11:30:49

This game is amazing!!!!! So glad I found it, wish it would've been sooner. My gaming group has been turning into a bunch of number crunching, power gaming, murder hobo's. This brought the role playing back to the table. I've bought the Hardcover book and will be doing what I can to support this game and the company's efforts. I'm ready for a kick starter or something to help fund some more playbooks and adventures. A very big thank you goes out to Flatland Games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Benjamin S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2019 19:10:01

It's been a long time since I bought a game that impressed me as much as Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures. My group of D&D players had enjoyed another game (Dungeon World), but felt it lacked the crunch needed for them to get their fix. They wanted something with as much narrative focus as DW but a bit more rules to sink their teeth into.

I came across BtW by accident, and it's now a happy accident. My group has been playing this game for a couple of weeks, and the feedback is good. These guys, who are all much younger than I am, have played everything...Pathfinder, 4th Edition D&D, 5th Edition D&D, etc...and I have longed to run an old school game like I played in my youth.

BtW knocked it out of the park. My players feel really attached to their characters thanks to the playbooks and really attached to their village and surroundings thanks to the rules for them helping to create the sandbox they play in.

Worth every penny I paid. Please make more supplements. I will insta-buy anything you put out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Zachary A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2018 21:51:34

I've picked through a lot of OSR styled games before and have never been impressed. Then I learned about Beyond the Wall and the unique twists it put on the concept. Powered by The Apocalypse style playbooks expanded so that they tie together the PC's to eachother and the world.

This turned what I might have passed over into exactly my jam. The quick character and game creation tickles my narrative player and GM bones just right and the expanded rules for combat and game creation found in the Further Afield book helps lay the groundwork for a more expansive sandbox style campaign.

The included character playbooks with just the core rulebook alone are nice and the literally dozens of others avaliable for free or for a generous donation give a delightful amount of options for stories and group makeups.

Though all this talk of playbooks doesn't mean it doesn't have good ol' fashion roll your stats and pick your class character creation. And here's where it gets better smooth. With only three classes, Warrior, Mage and Thief with limitless options for hybridzing the classes (with proper GM discussion of course) making the kind of character you want to play is quick and virtually painless.

I don't think I'll be drinking deep of the well of OSR games myself but this particular game is going to be one of my go to systems for the kind of coming of age, small scale fantasy adventures that I adore.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Matthew G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2018 00:52:14

Beyond the Wall and other Adventures is, without a shadow of a doubt, the best new roleplaying game I have played this decade.

Eschewing complex rules and finicky balance, the authors have returned to what made early roleplaying games great. The rules are simple and streamlined with a really nice twist on magic spells and rituals for mages.

Character creation is one of the gems of this game - it's such an obviously wonderful idea, I really can't understand why other games haven't picked it up. By the end of character creation, the characters have intertwined backstories and a shared history that just cannot be replicated by traditional means.

The game itself does not have the Cleric as the character class, but that's not as bad an idea as you might think. Healing can be performed by magic, so it's easy to imagine visiting the local wise-woman or witch to get those boils cured, which is much closer to the perceptions of those living in the West in earlier times.

If you are planning to play for more than a few sessions, then I would suggest getting the supplement "Further afield", as Beyond the Wall is designed as a pick up 'n play game without much attention to long campaigns. However, a DM worth his salt with a bit of experience under his belt could easily run a campaign from this one book.

I ordered the hardback POD version of this game, and though it arrived with slightly rounded corners, the printing is beautiful and the artwork eery and dreamlike. I will forgive the printers the rounded corners as it had to travel 6,000 miles to get to my door.

If you don't own this game, then I suggest to anyone who enjoys D&D to order it now. It's easily my favourite fantasy RPG since Second Edition AD&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Jake S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2018 17:11:47

Wonderful book, I will be excited to play with my college games club. With all of the free material you can get here it is well worth the price of a download. I love the ethos the writers are trying to make and the system is an excellent stripping-down of the D&D system to its basic components. The focus is on story, and I think if you and your players can immerse yourself in the mythology the game asks you to create you will have a blast!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2017 15:05:26

I truly love this system. Though it appears geared to new players and game masters and seems to be focused on single-night adventures the design method for both the characters and the environment give it a depth typically only found in full length campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Nicolas F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2017 04:52:39

This product really shines in two aspects:

  • Creating characters with an interesting, shared background, by rolling on random tables to determine your past. This ensures you have a history that includes bonds with other characters and plenty of story hooks (e.g. you rolled that your wizard mentor left one day without a word, but how and why is something you'll have to figure out at the table)
  • Providing Scenario Packs which are broad templates where you again roll on tables to determine the key aspects of the scenario (e.g. which villager is the cult leader or what does the fey king really want)

This makes the game excellent for one shots! However, besides this, the game mechanics themselves are uninteresting and uninspired. It's watered down 3.X DnD. The game apparently aims at keeping things simple to get rules out of the way, but does this poorly: somehow you still need to have 6 attributes, 6 corresponding modifiers, 5 saving throws that are totally unrelated to your attributes or the way you create your character. Worse, why do we need three different resolution mechanics? Skill checks need you to roll under your attribute on a d20, saving throws need you to roll over an arbitrary value on your sheet, and combat is d20+bonus against AC...

I'm definitely going to use playbooks and scenario packs, but I'm getting rid of the rest of the rules and keeping only the roll under mechanic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Matt C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2017 11:15:12

I've played RPGs before, but had never been DM until last week. Beyond the Wall gave me the perfect starting point and framework to build plots and stories around, and the playbooks were helpful for players who were completely new to RPGs. The simplified rules (compared to traditional D&D of various editions and Pathfinder) I found massively helpful, while still containing elements that I found familiar and was expecting, like ability scores, alignment, etc.

The premise of all the PCs knowing each other and all living in the same village was helpful too, and makes the world seem more real, while giving plenty of opportunities for plot hooks and motivations.

I really liked this, and after purchase I downloaded the other free materials that contain plenty of ideas for future adventures, how to build encounters, monsters, villains, and the like.

There are a few elements here and there that aren't explained perfectly from a new DMs point of view (I had to read through how hit dice worked a couple of times) or don't seem to quite work (breath weapon saving throw to dodge things that aren't breath weapons) but there are alternative rules and workarounds, or you can just adapt these as you see fit.

Overall this massively helped me to springboard back into RPGs after a break, and was a lot more accessible than many other systems I've seen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Travis H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2017 01:46:32

This is a gem aamongst OSR titles. The combination of familiar mechanics with story-game style collaboration in character creation and the game setting are lightning in a bottle. You can run this, as adveritsed, with minimal prep and have a great time. If you have the time to work on your setting/prep, it can make for a truly epic hex crawl with tons of heart.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Justin G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2017 19:29:03

My group had a blast playing this game! We spent easily two hours in character creation using the playbooks to really flesh out the bonds between our characters. Once we got going, the Scenario pack (we played 'The Angered Fae') let me produce a compelling story without doing any prep beforehand. The rules are simple and logical, and the magic system is truly one of a kind. If you're tired of spending hours in prep before game time every week I really recommend you give this a shot, it's like the best parts of a narrative game such as Dungeon World (or other PbtA game) combined with the feel of old school D&D.

Honestly one of the best tabletop games I've ever been a part of. Buy this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Laurence W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2017 15:33:33

I feel very satisfied with the purchase; there are many good reasons why the system has such sterling reviews.

The book is the best written I've seen (compared with D&D, DH, WoD and Dungeon World), and has excellent alternative rules options to help make the game your own. The playbooks are fantastic and have made for some fantastic roleplaying from my group, which is a nice rarity.

Beyond the Wall is simply brilliant and brilliantly simple.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2017 05:23:01

BTW is two games in one. The headline game emulates a particular genre of low-fantasy fiction by deploying Dungeon World-style playbooks and a collaborative world-building mechanic. Under the bonnet lies a very intelligently house ruled D&D engine (the only real irritation is the old school five saving throw system). The stripped down rules can be hacked into low magic playstyles quite different from the assumed setting. BTW could work for Hyboria or, of all things, Glorantha - the three tier magic system looks a bit like spirit magic, Rune magic, and ritual magic if one squints. Some iPad users may be driven to distraction by Flatland's love of the .zip file.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Bill T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2017 14:20:56

BEYOND THE WALL AND OTHER ADVENTURES is a stripped-down version of modern D&D (mostly circa 3rd edition, but substantially simplified here) that will appeal to a lot of players who are less interested in the "epic" fantasy experience. If you were one of the people who felt 3rd edition lost its way with too many feats, skills, and welded-on bits of crunch, this will please you very much. The magic system is short and flavourful, dividing up spells into quick-but-risky cantrips, spells, and long-but-powerful rituals. No different spell lists here -- there's only one, no matter if you're a magician or a priest of the old gods.

Although it has three core "classes" that can be played much like traditional D&D games, and they remind me quite a bit of the classes in Green Ronin's TRUE20, to be honest, you're not going to want to play them. The authors don't even recommend it. What you want to play are can be found in the character Playbooks, which bring a lot of modern gaming ideas to the F20 experience. The Playbooks are a bit like what you find in APOCALYPSE WORLD-based games, providing you with a lot of flavour and a strong foundation to start play quickly. Make a few rolls (or choices) and you're playing right away with a well-fleshed out character. The rolls provide you with what used to be called a "Lifepath", describing the events of your character's life up to this point. Each roll gives you some flavour, and provides you with appropriate bonuses to your ability scores. You start with a base amount, and by the end of finishing your playbook, you have fully developed stats with a rationale for why they developed that particular way.

I loved this game a lot, and I recommend it to everyone! Full review at my blog: http://hightrusthighdrama.blogspot.ca/2016/05/beyond-wall-and-other-adventures-review.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Julian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2017 20:15:06

I really like the character setup in this rpg. The bonds for the starting villagers really ties the party together and aids with roll playing.

Julian



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2016 12:49:00

I love it. My kids love it. My wife even loves it. Thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates