DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results











Back
Snowball Wars $9.95 $7.46
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 6
0 4
0 0
0 1
0 0
Snowball Wars
Click to view
Snowball Wars
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by David F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2018 20:01:51

Deep in a Winter Wonderland No One Can Here You Scream!!!

What can I say other than this is more than worth the price you pay and is a great paper miniatures game to play with the family and kids in mind. As a long time tabletop board, role-player and war gamer the rules have just enough complexity that new people to the hobby or to this game could pick it up in a couple plays and master them after a series of games which only makes the game faster and more fun the less you have to keep looking things up.

The theme is superb and a great game to play during the winter months and over the holidays when you are looking for something to play with the kids or even older ages as it gives enough skirmish miniature game here to pass a night of gaming or to definately scratch that itch. The artwork takes you into a whismsical world of kids having snowball fights and the paper terrain gives you all you need for your first bunch of games. I found as a creator of terrain for my tabletop rpgs and wargames that this game has lots of room and potential for creating new pieces of terrain or making the paper pieces in 3D and really exploring the different places kids could meet up and settle the score.

I love the wildcard deck (whether you print off the cards or use the handy dandy random chart in the rules booklet) they add some interesting variety and can alter events through random encounters or add to the overall narrative if you are a fan of writing creative battle reports. I hope there will be more wildcards in the future and more expansions (already a Booster Pack of Elves) in the future as I think there is lots of room for more teams and random baddies to throw a monkey wrench in the kids plans for a day out lobbing snow balls a each other next to the Zombie Snowmen already in this pack.

This is definately a paper print n' play game you need in your collection to play with your kids, nephews and nieces, grandchildren or older friends and family.

Pick it and the first booster expansion up today. You will be glad that you did.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Snowball Wars
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Chad M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2013 13:21:34

When it comes to table top gaming most of the time, very little seems to be published with kids in mind. That is what is so refreshing about Snowball Wars. This game I can ease my children into the world of miniature gaming without dealing with some of the more violent aspects of other games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Snowball Wars
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by john b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2013 15:20:04

It is the greatest little game. If you ever lived in snow it will bring back memories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Snowball Wars
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Tod C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 08:56:54

Just played it wiith my 8 year old daughter and we really enjoyed the zombie snowmen. It has a lot of effects that are hard to mark and could do with some counter but the rules are fun and the right level for an 8 year old. I will be running these at a con this spring.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Snowball Wars
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Alan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2012 05:46:14

Great figures and playing pieces but I didn’t like the rules. The colouring of the teams could be more distinct because the pastel shades don’t show up well. I found the rules over complicated for a kids snowball fight, I have rules for Corps level WW2 games printed on one side of A4, these rules were about 4 pages and not at all clear in thought or layout. If the rules need to be so complex, a few examples of game play would have been helpful or perhaps a beginners level game with minimal rules to get it started. Maybe it should have been play tested by less experienced players. I was disappointed and confined it to the bottom of the pile.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Snowball Wars
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2012 12:13:26

This is a great little game and is written to be extremely kid friendly. I play this with my God son who is 7, and he enjoys it and picked it up just fine. The art is whimsical and reminds of all of the fun having snowball wars as a kid. It is easy to print out and has a minimun of components, so you are playing pretty quickly. Overall an enjoyable game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Snowball Wars
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Guy S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/18/2012 15:50:16

Snowball Wars is a great game. The rules are written very clearly and pack more tactical options than I thought I would get from a 6 page rulebook. What you have is an easy to learn system that features alternating activation, an action point system and even rules for cover and overwatch (called "On Guard" here) within the game.

The components look top notch for the price point as well. If you print them out on some card stock and attach them to foamcore, you will have yourself some great pieces. I plan on playing this through the winter as the theme and timing is great.

Good for beginners, enough meat for gamers.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Snowball Wars
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by William W. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/18/2012 08:03:53

Snowball Wars is a fast and furious snow battle between warring factions of kids, and a great intro to wargames for any budding gamers in your household. It includes rules for morale, indirect fire, critical hits and fumbles, Wild Cards that are drawn and applied when two opponents roll the same number, plus several optional rules (including ZOMBIE SNOW MEN!), six missions, and a solo variant.

Best of all, you can print as many copies of the board and terrain as you wish, making the play area as large and cluttered as you wish!

The rules are well-written and very clear, and the art on the pieces is excellent. The price is very reasonable, though there is the other cost of time spent cutting and preparing the pieces, which does take a while. Don’t expect to play this one right away. You’ll want to prepare everything a few days in advance, especially since sharp objects are involved and you really don’t want to rush it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Snowball Wars
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2012 10:01:16

OkumArts strikes GOLD in this fun-filled and thrilling game. It features an imaginative storyline and great figures that would work well in other games, not just this one.

This is a great game for players of all ages, and is a brilliant addition to "Teach Your Children To Game Month."

Pure and simply, just a great bundle of fun! The one thing I personally like about this is the bases are very easy to adapt for my style of flat basing figures!

Great work, as always! A MUST-HAVE for the holidays!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Snowball Wars
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/14/2012 08:17:05

This is a neat, furious game suitable for all ages to blast away a bit of Christmas fug and have some light-hearted fun.

It is well worth picking up, and investing the time and effort required to make the game pieces and board in advance, especially if you suffer the common problem of being the only gamer in your family and finding that all your gaming friends are busy with their own families. This is a game that is easy to understand and to play, accessible to the non-gamer who is probably too full of Christmas cheer (or at least, dinner) to understand your explanations of your role-playing game of choice.

The rules are clearly explained and actually quite sophisticated - so even a gamer will find enough tactics and variety to keep themselves amused - yet they are straitforward enough to be explained and picked up fairly readily by complete novices. The game is turn-based, with a selection of actions that can be performed by each player on their turn. You can play a straight snowball fight or explore more complex scenarios as you become comfortable with the ruleset.

The resources for creating the game board and pieces have been well considered, and the building notes are clear. Get some foamcore in to make everything solid enough - so get this in advance of the holidays and make sure that you have everything you need before the shops shut! Everything's bright and colourful...

... all the fun of a snowball fight whilst staying warm, and no snow stuffed down the back of your neck!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Snowball Wars
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Istvan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2012 22:21:25

Super-fast gaming fun perfectly themed for the holiday season. This game has simple rules that allows for quick setup and minimal staging to get going. The artwork for the game pieces is of the usual Okum high-quality. Included in the zip file are easy to follow instructions for printing and making the figures, terrain, and other pieces needed to play the game. Well worth the $10 price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates