DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG $5.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
248 99
38 8
8 4
1 0
1 0
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Aaron [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2024 09:49:14

Myself and another teacher used Hero Kids to try bringing a TTRPG club to our alternative school. I wanted to do an interesting club that wasn't overly done! This was my first time using the system or playing any TTRPG in my life. I loved how simple everything was. I ended up creating all my own content using some of the blank cards, AI picture generation, and some general ideas for delves. The kids loved making their own heroes. They shared in telling their story even when it meant bending the rules! I once gave a student an extra damage because they came up with a combo attack. Now, students are wishing the club wasn't over. I have even seen three wearing a custom drawn hero kids t-shirts! Thank you for making a system that gave me the confidence to try something new and provide students with an interesting and potentially hobby starting club.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Clay R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2024 08:39:13

I've been playing this with my 6-year-old and 3-year-old and they both love it! We've played all of the "easy" adventures so far and they're all age appropriate in my opinion. As the DM you can of course lean-in or lean-out of anything you think might be a problem. We play very loose with the rules and more-or-less ignore movement speed, but I appreciate the effort that went into creating the rules. My intention is to move my kids towards using more of the rules as we grow more comfortable with the act of playing. I still believe this is a smoother on-ramp to TTRPGs than just springing 5E on them and I'm very happy to have purchased it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Nick [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2024 05:10:03

This has been great! My 5 year old has been loving Hero Kids and spends hours after each session replaying out what happened and getting jazzed for the next sessions.

I have also had a great time GMing the game for him and his friends. The simplified rule set and settings has allowed me to focus on building as much of an immersive environment as possible with my little players. It has been a great tool to not only boost their confidence in playing games but mine in leading them as well! Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Kevin [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2023 21:46:14

Really like the dice pool system. It's easy to setup and get started. The family loves it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Ian P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2023 11:01:47

Awesome family fun for younger kids and their caregivers. While I was eager to get my children into RPGs, I knew that D&D was going to be asking alot of 4 and 6 year olds. So, when I heard about Hero Kids (via a Will Wheaton video), I took the plunge. We had many many hours of fun. It also was not long before my kids were creating their own adventures with the monsters that they had cut out and coloured.

I highly recommend this easy to learn game system for anyone looking to get their little ones (or introducing adults) to RPGs.

Ian Panth Professional Game Master



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2023 09:39:15

I got Hero Kids a few days ago and I think it's a great product for kids. The rules are simple and easy for even little ones to use. And the book has so many good strategies for you to use when GMing kids. I found them to be very helpful since I usually GM for adults. Those alone made the book worth it for me. There is also some scaling complexity which I like for when my son gets older. The encounters also scale by the number of players you have, which makes things very flexible. This is a great system for any parent GM to pull out at a moment's notice and improvise a game on the fly. However, it is lacking in a few ways. First, there are no real rules for making monsters. That may be in another book but the intent seems to be for you to buy the supplemental adventures. There does not seem to any equivalent of a bestiary or monster manual to buy either. That's disappointing since my kid's favorite thing to do is fight dragons and I have to buy an adventure that has them. I'm pretty sure I could reverse engineer the process but it shouldn't be needed. Second, I would love even a small amount of equipment/treasure to give out rewards and make my own encounters. Again, the intent seems to be for you to buy the supplements which is not typical of other TTRPGs. Every TTRPG I've played has had rules for equipment. I'm glad the supplements exist but I shouldn't be pressed into buying them when I bought the core system. Finally, there is next to no representation or diversity in the artwork. All the heroes are white and the same is true for the NPCs. I do see the company addresses that a little with the additional Hero Card supplements but again, no one should have to buy supplements to have a hero that looks like them. Even with the supplements there is exactly one black PC (the drow does not count) and one (maybe two) brown PCs. There are no characters who are East Asian-coded. I want all my son's friends to feel welcome at my table and feel like they can be a hero just like they are. It's disappointing to see that the artwork does not reflect those values.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2022 19:12:29

So I pulled the trigger on this game a while back and never ended up using it. Started my kids on basic D&D instead, but it was a close call. I looked pretty hard for a game I wanted to run with my kids and found the majority of games designed for kids were just downright awful and underestimated the kids ability and was very clearly what an adult thought someone elses kids would like. Hero kids isnt like that, it allows them to go on very similar adventures to what the grown ups are doing at the table, and the game resolution system is very simple and leaves most of the content up to the gm. I also liked that the game doesnt preach "the message" or anything weird from whats going on in the real world and focuses on allowing kids to enjoy these games that their parents might. If I was going to pick a game oriented towards kids, it would be this one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by George S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2022 09:02:17

The kids loved it! Easy to understand and follow the story and play the game. Kids between 4-7 yrs old.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Mike B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2022 23:00:18

Hero Kids is an INCREDIBLE system and I HIIIIIGHLY recommend it!! As an elementary school counselor, I use Hero Kids with the young children I work with; the mechanics are simple and accessible, the art is WONDERFUL and SO kid-friendly, and the adventures are VERY GM-friendly.

I recently had the opportunity to run Basement-o-Rats for a friend and his young son. Working with littles, I fully expected him to lose interest after 30 minutes or so ... two hours later, he was BEGGING to start the next adventure straight away!!

The corebook is extremely affordable (also -- the bundle price is even better!!!). DMs, GMs, storytellers, parents, mental health professionals, teachers ... this is SO worth picking up! Plus -- the creator constantly puts out new materials, publications, blogs, and is very responsive to questions and suggestions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Joel C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2022 20:56:25

Absolutely LOVE Hero Kids...and more importantly, so do my kiddos. Very easy for anyone to pick up, and really great encounters for them. Cannot recommend highly enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Shawn S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2022 15:03:57

Exceeded my expectations! My 7 year old daughter LOVES the game - which isn't as surprising as the fact that all of us "ADULT" TTRP gamers sitting around the table LOVED it too! Rules light and imagination heavy! Simple and perfect = Simply Perfect! Worth far more than you'll pay for it, but I highly recommend you pick up the entire bundle (https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/115827/Hero-Kids--Complete-Fantasy-PDF-Bundle-BUNDLE?manufacturers_id=4846) because it also is worth far more than the modest price and can get you up and playing in no time. Thank you to Justin and his team at Hero Forge for adding enjoyment to our weekends!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Elvyler E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2022 18:59:15

Hero Kids is a really great way to introduce your children to the world of tabletop RPG's. The rules are easy for children to understand and the setting and scenarios are very kid-friendly. Here's my full review of Hero Kids: https://elvyler.com/2021/01/hero-kids-ttrpg-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2022 12:06:57

Absolutely fabulous for kids. My four year old loves it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Laura W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2022 08:47:48

My 5-year-old daughter loves this game! Super flexible and easy to get started, with entertaining stories.

We often play with 3 people (one parent DM, other parent plays a hero) but sometimes it is just the two of us, so I will DM and play a hero but leave all decisions up to her. She will happily play the Basement of Rats adventure over and over even though we purchased the additional adventures. But the repetition is great for learning as she gets used to how the game runs: we have been gradually adding in some of the game mechanics (like health/damage) that we left out initially. I have to keep things moving quickly so right now we do a simple dice roll for every action.

We use Lego people for the heroes (and NPCs when possible), and playing with them keeps her pretty busy while I am setting up the game. We also added in Lego treasure chests with things like magic wands and treasure. I also bought some inexpensive rainbow dice which she just thinks is amazing. At the end the innkeeper rewards the heroes with a treat which is usually a cookie - occasionally we remind her of this to keep her on task and finish the adventure, but usually she is so wrapped up in playing she forgets all about it.

I'm really excited to see how her play style changes because there is room for things to get more complex as she gets older.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2021 18:28:39

Hero Kids is great! I bought this a little while ago and finally sat down and played it with my almost 4 yo. He absolutley loved it. He loves playing with dice anyway and immediately wanted to create his own characters with their own powers, so it was great to have the extra empty stat blocks. He absolutely loved knocking down the paper standee rats on the map and was very worried about Roger. Afterward, he helped to heal the rats with his potions and made them promise to be good from now on and then they invited them back up to the tavern for a birthday party. This was simple and a great way to spend some quality time with my creative child. He actually stayed in his seat the whole time, too. Although, during most of it, he was jumping up and down.

Thank you for making this and we look forward to picking up more volumes. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for an entry level TTRPG for a younger audience. With a little instruction, it was easy enough for a 3 year old to understand and very simple to run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 111 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates