DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Bite Marks
Publisher: Black Armada
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2022 00:26:13

This is another game which so beautifully captures the genre it is encapsulating, in this case the soap-like dramas of an ongoing werewolf serial. And conveniently I had just watched a couple.

Sadly this game is not for me, the soapiness of these shows started to irritate me by the end. But I admire the craftsmanship and if you do want to replicate those shows you aren't going to get half as good anywhere else.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bite Marks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Masks: A New Generation (Phone Edition)
Publisher: Magpie Games
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2022 00:23:25

I think we all know how good Masks is, so just focussing on the phone version: it is really well put together and the navigation for half the book is amazing.

However the character sheets are much longer in this format and the internal navigation was awkward. Trying to compare the different classes was notably painful. However, once you have picked your class it's pretty straightforward, and there shouldn't be a problem mid-game.

I was very impressed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masks: A New Generation (Phone Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
A Taste For Murder
Publisher: Graham Walmsley
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2022 00:19:53

A Taste for Murder is very simple, but it's also just elegant: it captures the genre in a beautiful and easy to follow method. (I also love the cover... very similar to the Father Brown I have in my bookcase.) So if you want to recreate Agatha Christie style novels with a small group of friends (or just want a shining example of on-point game design) then get this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Taste For Murder
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Magical Kitties Save the Day 2nd Edition
Publisher: Atlas Games
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2022 00:16:09

Currently my favourite cat game by a margin (and you bet I've made a beeline for them). It makes it both easy AND fun to play a magical kitty.

Two comments: I found the play time was closer to 105 minutes than my usual 150 for one-shots (including character creation). I don't think this is a bad thing but worth noting. I would really have loved some random tables for creating plots - for such an innovative game it was frustrating that it relied on prewritten stories or ST planning. Although it does have quite a lot of prewritten material available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magical Kitties Save the Day 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Space Aces: TNG (The New Guidebook)
Publisher: T-Rex Games
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2022 00:10:36

Yes, it's 95% random tables, but they are the best random tables and really make improvising a one-shot easy. Bought it on Kickstarter, very pleased I did.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Aces: TNG (The New Guidebook)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2022 00:09:24

I really dislike 1d20 games, so I am appalled at how much I like Godbound. It's mostly the setting, the fact that you can have almost any genre or culture and then hop between them and the rules allow for that. The game has potential for epic stories very quickly, but includes the human element. Overall I compare it to Spire for imagination, which is high praise. Sadly you are left with the randomness of 1d20s and no degress of success, but I think the game succeeds despite that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Devil's Run the Roleplaying Game (2d20-SWADE)
Publisher: Red Scar Publishing
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2022 23:59:03

I love the set up of Devil's Run: factions, plot, drama all just waiting for the PCs to stick their nose in. Lots of options for less violent approaches. My only comment is that the game would have benefitted from the more streamlined approach to 2D20 as found in Star Trek and Dune (sadly unavailable at the time). Definitely recommended if you want a largely low-fantasy post-apocalypse - Mad Max style.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Devil's Run the Roleplaying Game (2d20-SWADE)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Operators RPG
Publisher: Samjoko Publishing
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2022 23:09:29

I really love the elegance and efficiency of this action game and the imaginative use of FATE dice. It captures the genre 100% and I totally recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Operators RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2022 23:05:18

Fantastic toolbox game with simple and mostly effective rules and mechanics. Slightly lacking in narrative elements like bennies and margins of success but so much inspiration. Good job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates