DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
For Gold & Glory
Publisher: God Emperor Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2022 09:06:33

I bought this as a high quality hard cover, hoping it would be a worthy replacement for my aging, 1989 2e AD&D PHB/DMG/MM. Unfortunately, the author barely mentioned Specialty Priests... For me, the Specialty Priest was one of the greatest innovations in the entirety of 2e core rules. Reading its short description within the original 2e PHB, in the gaming store aisle, sold me on 2e, when it first came out, in 1989; until I read that entry, I considered it to just be a money grab by T$R. That one thing sold me, completely, on 2e rules.

Imagine my disappointment in opening up For Gold & Glory, discovering the author barely mentioned it: "Clerics represent a generic member of a clergy. The Druid is an example of a specialized priest with specific tenants and abilities." That is the sum total of what the book says about Specialty Priests.

If the Player/DM wishes to utilize Specialty Priests within the FG&G games, they will either need to design and build it entirely on their own, or they will need to refer to official 2e AD&D books to figure out how to do it. In all fariness, there is a brief outline as to which Spheres of spells both the 'generic cleric' and the Druid have access to, and a mention of how Minor Access limits a Cleric to 1st through 3rd level spells only, within such a Sphere, but this is hardly a descripiont of how to build Specialty Priests! Talk about disappointing! No discussion of Granted Powers, other than what the 'generic cleric' and the Druid get. If I knew nothing about Specialty Priests, this books would leave me ignorant of the whole concept for them, aside from the Druid. This reduces these rules to a mildly revised version of the 1e game, IMO. There really are not many drastic changes between 1e and 2e rules. The Specialty Priest concept, along with the Thieves being able to assign percentage points to the skills they desire to beef up, the Bard as a class to be played from 1st level, without being a Fighter and Thief, first, using a d10 for Iniiative, really are the big differences between 1e and 2e. Those differences make 2e more desirable than 1e, by a wide margin, for me.

As to the qulaity of the book, it is fantastic. I love the artwork, I love the organization, such as listing the Character Class's Saving Throw chart below their XP tables. It is really well done, aside from leaving Speciatly Priests virtually out of the entire book.

For me, the Specialty Priest makes 2e rules stand out from all other Editions of the D&D rules. That feature makes 2e rules the only ones I will play. I was so excited to get my hands on a hard cover, high quality POD copy of these rules... And I was so crushed to see the author ignore the greatest feature of 2e rules.

This book is basic, covering just the original core rulebook topics, lacking more advanced rules for crafting magical items, and such. Again, the 2.5 era AD&D books are still useful, if you need more than what is covered in the original 2e core books.

If, like me, you love the Specialty Priest rules, and concept, hang onto your official 2e AD&D books, or buy a PDF/POD copy of it from WotC. This is still a great core rulebook for 2e fans, covering the original three core books, in a single volume, it just has one crater in the rules (causing a 2-star loss in my rating), which I think potential buyers need to be aware of. Cheers!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
For Gold & Glory
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Priest's Spell Compendium Vol 3 (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2020 11:20:41

I have not had time to go through it, entirely, but what I've seen/read thus far, is impressive! For players and DM's who use 2e Specialty Priests, with limited Sphere access, as well as unique Granted Powers, these three books are amazing! The spells for water, alone, are incredible. For sea priests, these new spells are awesome! I would higly recommend them, for expanding your game's horizons. I assume there are spells for fire and earth and air elements, as well.

While not all of the spells are balanced, as they may have been written by game enthusiasts who were published in Dragon Magazine, they are worth consideration. I would suggest each DM will need to carefully review, and perhaps modify, many of the new spells. They are laid out according to Spheres, which is a monumental task, by itself. I would further suggest that the listed Spheres may not be enough. There is one water spell, for example, listed in Protection, alone -- it is not listed in the Water sphere...

I printed all three of these volumes, single-sided, excluding the covers, on an HP color laser printer, using gray-scale printing (black toner only), at full quality (more toner), not the econo-mode (less toner, less quality). It used up one-half of the black toner cartridge, at a cost of $79 per full, standard capacity, toner cartridge.

That means that each volume in this 3-volume set, cost me around $40 to print, in toner alone (roughly 270 pages, per book). I printed all three volumes, with the first and second volumes emptying what was left in my almost-new black toner cartridge. After I replaced the toner, it emptied 50% of the new cartridge, printing the third, and final volume of the series of books. Your experiences may vary, but I wanted to give folks an idea of how much it will cost, to print a decent copy of this, at home, using a LaserJet printer.

To put this into perspective, I bid on OOP hard copies, on e-Bay: they consistently sold for $92 per volume! I was bidding $80 per volume, and I was outbid repeatedly. For me, a $40 copy, which I then 3-hole punched, and placed into D-ring binders, was worthwhile.

If Hasbro/WotC ever make POD copies available, I will jump on them! The D-ring binder versions will work, but they're clumsy. I did, however, color code them by printing on different colors of paper, for each volume. This will allow us to know which volume we are in, at a glance. I hope this is helpful to folks. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Priest's Spell Compendium Vol 3 (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Priest's Spell Compendium Vol 2 (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2020 11:20:05

I have not had time to go through it, entirely, but what I've seen/read thus far, is impressive! For players and DM's who use 2e Specialty Priests, with limited Sphere access, as well as unique Granted Powers, these three books are amazing! The spells for water, alone, are incredible. For sea priests, these new spells are awesome! I would higly recommend them, for expanding your game's horizons. I assume there are spells for fire and earth and air elements, as well.

While not all of the spells are balanced, as they may have been written by game enthusiasts who were published in Dragon Magazine, they are worth consideration. I would suggest each DM will need to carefully review, and perhaps modify, many of the new spells. They are laid out according to Spheres, which is a monumental task, by itself. I would further suggest that the listed Spheres may not be enough. There is one water spell, for example, listed in Protection, alone -- it is not listed in the Water sphere...

I printed all three of these volumes, single-sided, excluding the covers, on an HP color laser printer, using gray-scale printing (black toner only), at full quality (more toner), not the econo-mode (less toner, less quality). It used up one-half of the black toner cartridge, at a cost of $79 per full, standard capacity, toner cartridge.

That means that each volume in this 3-volume set, cost me around $40 to print, in toner alone (roughly 270 pages, per book). I printed all three volumes, with the first and second volumes emptying what was left in my almost-new black toner cartridge. After I replaced the toner, it emptied 50% of the new cartridge, printing the third, and final volume of the series of books. Your experiences may vary, but I wanted to give folks an idea of how much it will cost, to print a decent copy of this, at home, using a LaserJet printer.

To put this into perspective, I bid on OOP hard copies, on e-Bay: they consistently sold for $92 per volume! I was bidding $80 per volume, and I was outbid repeatedly. For me, a $40 copy, which I then 3-hole punched, and placed into D-ring binders, was worthwhile.

If Hasbro/WotC ever make POD copies available, I will jump on them! The D-ring binder versions will work, but they're clumsy. I did, however, color code them by printing on different colors of paper, for each volume. This will allow us to know which volume we are in, at a glance. I hope this is helpful to folks. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Priest's Spell Compendium Vol 2 (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Priest's Spell Compendium Vol 1 (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2020 11:17:56

I have not had time to go through it, entirely, but what I've seen/read thus far, is impressive! For players and DM's who use 2e Specialty Priests, with limited Sphere access, as well as unique Granted Powers, these three books are amazing! The spells for water, alone, are incredible. For sea priests, these new spells are awesome! I would higly recommend them, for expanding your game's horizons. I assume there are spells for fire and earth and air elements, as well.

While not all of the spells are balanced, as they may have been written by game enthusiasts who were published in Dragon Magazine, they are worth consideration. I would suggest each DM will need to carefully review, and perhaps modify, many of the new spells. They are laid out according to Spheres, which is a monumental task, by itself. I would further suggest that the listed Spheres may not be enough. There is one water spell, for example, listed in Protection, alone -- it is not listed in the Water sphere...

I printed all three of these volumes, single-sided, excluding the covers, on an HP color laser printer, using gray-scale printing (black toner only), at full quality (more toner), not the econo-mode (less toner, less quality). It used up one-half of the black toner cartridge, at a cost of $79 per full, standard capacity, toner cartridge.

That means that each volume in this 3-volume set, cost me around $40 to print, in toner alone (roughly 270 pages, per book). I printed all three volumes, with the first and second volumes emptying what was left in my almost-new black toner cartridge. After I replaced the toner, it emptied 50% of the new cartridge, printing the third, and final volume of the series of books. Your experiences may vary, but I wanted to give folks an idea of how much it will cost, to print a decent copy of this, at home, using a LaserJet printer.

To put this into perspective, I bid on OOP hard copies, on e-Bay: they consistently sold for $92 per volume! I was bidding $80 per volume, and I was outbid repeatedly. For me, a $40 copy, which I then 3-hole punched, and placed into D-ring binders, was worthwhile.

If Hasbro/WotC ever make POD copies available, I will jump on them! The D-ring binder versions will work, but they're clumsy. I did, however, color code them by printing on different colors of paper, for each volume. This will allow us to know which volume we are in, at a glance. I hope this is helpful to folks. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Priest's Spell Compendium Vol 1 (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
DMGR8: Sages & Specialists (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2018 22:43:33

Bought the POD version: excellent print qualtiy, very close to the original, wihich is long OOP. As to the contents, it is typical of the period. It details various classes of NPC's. These classes of NPC characters detail them with levels, Experience Point requirements, as if someone might play them, but it would not be entertaining to do so. The NPC's do gain powers and skills as levels increase. It is not a bad product. If a DM wants to have a detailed method of gauging such NPC specialists for their campaigns, this will fit the bill. Cheers!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DMGR8: Sages & Specialists (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
E-Z DUNGEONS: Borderland Keep
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2018 22:21:32

Fantastic paper model... However, I gave up on card stock models, beginning with this model. I buy 3mm-thick cardboard, from a framing shop, at Michael's. I print out the pieces of this castle, on full-sheet label paper, apply it to the cardboard, and cut it out to size. The 3mm-thick cardboard tends to bow, so I use Wood Glue, and I apply a balsa wood rectangular beam, from the craft store, to reinforce the long sections. It works, quite well, creating a durable 'paper' model, with strength, and heft. My cardstock models lasted about two games' worth; my 3mm-thick cardboard models have endured 3+ table games, with miniatures, without issue.

The Gatehouse comes in two versions: simple, and complex, with a working portcullis. I built the complex version. The wall sections have a 1.5-inch wide catwalk. The Towers are all square. The textures are superb, there is great looking shadows. Though the finished models are really nice looking -- with no painting required!

Furthermore, I am using the printouts from this set to cover round, oatmeal tubes, to create round Towers. This does require cutting and pasting, to match things up -- it requires some skill and technique, but most average adults can accomplish this without too much effort. I am applying the same techniques to rectangular oatmeal boxes, to make custom, though much larger, Gatehouse, for really large cities.

This set is worth every penny. Printing on full-sheet label paper, and applying to 3mm-thick cardboard, makes beautiful, durable models, which should last for years. As for appearances, they are very good. For mini's gamers, and role players who want to build a city wall, or a castle keep, this is the bomb! Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
E-Z DUNGEONS: Borderland Keep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2018 08:50:47

I ordered the POD softcover book. My original, orange-colored hardback, is wearing a bit, after purchasing it back in 1989. My players mostly have the reprint version, so when referencing page numbers, we have issues as they are not the same between the original printing, and the reprint. This POD softcover solves that problem. The page numbers in this POD, are identical to the hardback versions printed in the mid-1990's -- I verified they were the same, to be sure.

POD: excellent quality, no complaints on format, binding, printing, etc. I would recommend you practice what you learned in grade school, in breaking in a new book: hold it on its spine; open 20-40 pages in the front, and press your hand against the pages, in the fold, to gently press them open, then repeat for the first 20-40 pages in the back; repeat with another 20-40 pages, front and back, until you reach the center of the book. This will help the binding, and the pages, open for you, without damage.

The POD version was a long time coming, but it is worth the price. The quality is excellent, and it is wonderful to have these books back in print! Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Generic Adventure Magazine #1, May 2018
Publisher: PenguinComics
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2018 12:18:01

The magazine is short, which is why I took off one pip in the rating. Aside from that, the article is spot on. It covers the topic of speed-writing an adventure quite well. I look forward to applying the techniques. It seems so easy, and obvious, once the author points it all out... "Why didn't I think of that?" To me, that is a sign of some genius work at hand. Looking forward to the next one. This is definitely worth the cost for the 'how to' article.

Some nice artwork, decent, artistic layout, well done, really. I suspect the author will continue to improve his offerings over time. I look forward to seeing more from him. Cheers!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Adventure Magazine #1, May 2018
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Print & Paste Dungeon textures: Pillars
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2018 13:58:15

Simple, basic, can be used for multiple purposes. Work best if printed on full-sheet labels: print, cut to size, peel and stick! Couldn't be easier. This product is worthwhile, but I highly recommend the artist's videos which show additional, intereting ways to employ his products. Visit his YouTube channel for his videos. The link can be found on his homepage. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Print & Paste Dungeon textures: Pillars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Draconomicon: The Book of Dragons (3.5)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2018 16:27:09

I play 2e AD&D, not 3.X, but after reading reviews of the different versions of this title, the 3.5e version sounded the best. I purchased the standard heavyweight POD version: superb print quality! This book is one inch thick! The quality is superb. For me, the POD is worth every penny -- much less than I could get a used copy for, on e-Bay, or Amazon. POD is fantastic quality, and the price is often much cheaper than a used copy, as discussed already.

Now for the contents... It covers the major D&D Dragons: both chromatic, and metallic. It gives examples of each Dragon type, in each of their growth, or maturity classes. It gives examples of a typical lair for each type, as well. There is great artwork for each type of Dragon, in each listing. There is a large amount of 3.Xe classes, feats, etc. None of that is of interest to me, since I play 2e, and none of this material is trasferable. They changed up the wing designs on several types of Dragons. There are glaring similiarities for some, with wings stretching to the tail, running nearly the entire length of the body. They tried to illustrate how these body-length wings would work, in flight. I give them props for trying.

They give CR ratings on each Dragon type, and age group. This is where it becomes like a video/PC game. A Hatchling, for example has 34 HP! The Hatchling is all of 2-feet tall! The Ancient Worm, or whatever they call the largest age/size group of Red Dragons, tend to have 500+ HP!... Even the deities, back in the DDG book, from 1e, did not have that many HP, typically. This seems ridiculous, to me. The CR rating for this monster, is 36, by the way. The highest CR is the ancient Gold Dragon: 37. To me, this really is over the top for size, HP, etc. Still, it is easy for the individual DM to massage the statistics to more acceptable levels.

One of the most interesting things I noticed, is that some Black Dragons can change their breath weapon from a narrow stream, into a a cone, one-half the normal length. Neat option, which makes great sense. They also name every example printed, so you get around five names for every true Dragon type, listed. They also cover lesser Dragons, but in much less detail (more than the Monster Manual, typically, but less than the space alloted to the true Dragons.

There is a section dealing with generating a Dragon's hoard of treasue, as well as other crunch on Dragons, their larirs, and minions who serve, or even worthip them.Just about every aspect of Dragons is covered.

They list magical items for use by Dragons, such as a magical mouthpiece, which increases their bite damage. They cover uses for Dragon body parts, making armor out of their hides, and such. As stated, there are a lot of pages in this book! It is packed with fun-to-read information on the most iconic monster in the game. This book is just fun to read, whether I use the material in my games, or not.

I would highly recommend this book to any DM. There is, however, a Pleyer's Section, as well, for would-be dragon slayers. I skipped that section. I feel my players need to research that on their own.

Anyway, I highly recommend this book, regardless of what rules set you play. It is a fun romp through all things Dragon. I feel it was worth the price of hard-copy admission. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Draconomicon: The Book of Dragons (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Trolls of Mistwood
Publisher: Shinobi 27 Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 15:46:39

This adventure is very well written: it consists of investigative work for the players, red herrings to mislead them, and multiple enemies to both deceive, and confuse them, at a most critical point in the adventure! There is a cast of numerous, interesting, and potentially misleading characters to encounter, and interact with. The plot is not overly complex, but the fact that they are facing two enemy factions, using them as a tool to defeat their opponents, makes for some interesting challenges for the players.

Without giving too much away, things are not what they seem. The players may imagine they have solved the numerous mysteries, but more likely, they have not. This is a story with depth, complexity, and challenges which are not particulary common. It involves far more than trute force, or horrendously powerful magic, to overcome the machinations of the powerful adversaries in this adventure.

If you are planning to run this adventure, a quick read-through will give you the whole, twisted, story. After that, strap yourself in for a wild ride, because you will not know how the players will choose to navigate this maze of decisions, until they voice their choices at the table... Then watch the chips fall as they may. It get a little crazy. Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Trolls of Mistwood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind review, Bruce.
pixel_trans.gif
Infinite Dungeons: Core Set
Publisher: Paper Realms
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2018 15:08:21

I purchased this set for use in a non-standard way... Bear this in mind as you read my review. I have added my version of how I will be employing this set, below a review of the standard, designed approach for this product. Now for the review of the product, as it is intended to be used:

This set has nice wall sections, with/without torches ensconced in the walls, doorways, and openings. The wall sections are designed to interlock with posts, at the corners. It comes with its own floor system, which is designed to be pasted to foamcore boards. As designed, the system will work quite well. However, there is an issue with square posts being required in each corner, for the wall sections to interlock with. This is a minor quibble, but one I thought worth mentioning. Tabs on the wall sections will interlock in a slot on the corner sections, hence the need for the square posts, to create room for the wall tabs to interlock with something in the corners -- cuts are made in the corners of the square posts to allow the tabs on the wall sections to slide into the posts, hooking the two pieces together. This approach could be adapted to allow the wall sections to be pasted to 2mm-thick cardboard, as discussed below, but it would also increae the construction time, and effort, dramatically. The finished product would be far stronger, and also much heavier. I will leave you to experiment with this approach, on your own.

The system, as designed, will allow you to stack layers/levels vertically. It is a decent system, as designed, and I would highly recommend it, as such. However, expect to produce many, many pieces, to make a truly versatile, and useful, dungeon setup. You will need to wash-rinse-repeat, numerous times, ad nauseum, really, to get a useful set. This is true with ANY dungeon model system, including 3D printing of any type. Even if you went with a 2D product, you will have to make typically 100+ pieces for your chosen set, in order to have enough to make a typical dungeon. Just a word to the wise.

Now for how I will be using this product:

I will be using full-sheet label paper to print these out. I will then cut, peel, and apply them to 2mm-thick cardboard from the local picture framing shop. I will then be inserting these double-sided, cardboard wall sections, into a slot cut into foam floor pads, such as are used on the floor, in front of a work bench in a garage. I cut 1/4"-deep (6-7 mm deep) grooves into the foam pad sections, forming a 1-inch grid pattern (done using a Table Saw with an 120-tooth blade, with a narrow kerf). This allows me to make completely modular dungeon layouts using these wall sections inserted into the slots in the foam, end-to-end, forming rooms, hallways, etc.

Before cutting the grid pattern into the foam floor mats, I paint them with various shades of gray, white, and even some yellow and brown colors of craft paint, using a natural sea sponge applicator, to achieve a mottled paint pattern (painting technique borrowed from DM Scotty's YouTube video series of crafting dungeon tiles). The foam floor mats are naturally gray in color, they have interlocking edges which allow them to be connected to one another, which allows me to make any configuration needed. The mottled paint patterns create a varied floor surface, broken up by the upright wall sections, and doorways.

It is a great deal of work to create the wall sections, but once completed, I will have a completely modular system, infinitely adaptable, and re-useable for my lifetime, and my childrens'! It will be 2.75D, easy to store, and easy to transport.

My intended use will be for both miniatures gaming of dungeon crawls (using 2e's BattleSystem Skirmish rules, published by TSR, formerly available here, for PDF download), and occasional use for RPG's. I am planning to run G3 Hall of the Fire Giant King (1e), as a convention game, using miniatures, and these dungeon pieces, mapping out the entire first level, and possibly the second dungeon level, as well. These dungeon pieces will make that possible, along with the foam floor mats. It will be faster to insert the wall sections, into the mats, than it would be to interlock the wall sections, and mount them into foamcore floors. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Dungeons: Core Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
City State of the Invincible Overlord, Color Map
Publisher: Bat in the Attic Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2017 08:23:11

I have the original hardcopy of this product. Picked it up in the mid-80's, NOS. What a difference color makes!!! This map is gorgeous! I bought the printed poster copy. It is amazing. Looking forward to mounting it on some 3mm cardboard, and then mounting that to some 1/4" plywood.

The details on the maps are superb. It is clear, sharp, and amazing in color... Would love to see Judges Guild produce their other magnificent city maps in full color... I'd buy every one.

This poster map comes in pieces, which is fine. They come folded, not in a tube. You will get a smaller version, on a single page, which is nice. I am tempted to take my other maps into a shop with a large format photocopier, so I can get busy with colored pencils, as I seriously doubt JG will produce the other maps in full color (Tarantis... Hint! Hint!)

The color really brings this map alive. It was inspiring on the brown paper maps, but in color, it takes on new life. Amazing difference. Looking forward to more!... Would love to see the Castle Books, Villages Books, Island Books, and the Temples Book, all done up in color. A lot of work, but I bet they would sell plenty of copies! Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City State of the Invincible Overlord, Color Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Siege Engines
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2016 10:05:49

I took this set to the next level: I mounted it to 2mm thick cardboard, for the tower and the battering ram, to make them durable. While this meant I had to alter the construction techniques slightly, it still came together quite well. I used some plastic MK base discs to create the wheels, but using the printed paper wheels, mounted to the same cardboard, would also work. I edged the thick cardboard with gray craft paint, and the finished model turned out incredibly durable, much heavier, and extremely strong for holding mini's, and resisting flexing, and damage, from handling. I am applying the same 2mm thick cardboard construction technique to the FD Castle set I purchased. My wall sections, gates, and towers, are quite sturdy, durable, and heavy, compared to 110# cardstock versions of the same constructs!

I print my pieces on regular, 20# paper, then I use a permanent glue stick to adhere them to the 2mm cardboard, burnishing them to ensure proper adherence to the cardboard. Once assembled, using White PVA Glue, they are quite strong, secure, and ready to put on the gaming table. I also mount the mobile pieces on textured bases, which helps finish their looks, as well as making them easier to pick up, and move on the tabletop, as needed. Perfect for fantasy, and medieval miniature gaming. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Siege Engines
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
D3 Vault of the Drow (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2016 16:57:30

Classic module which truly explained, and demonstrated, the legendary Drow Elves. This module maps out a large Drow city, in the Underdark realm. It is classic, old-school, in every way. Much of the city is left blank, for description, to allow the DM to develop it as they see fit. Key encounter areas are detailed, of course. It is not a place for the blundering warrior to waltz through, smashing every evil creature he sees... That would be suicidal. It is quite daunting to look at the city map, and realize just how much of it is a blank canvas for the DM to paint in their vision of the city. While the DM could fill in all of the blank areas, it is also possible to just gloss over the blank areas of the city, and only play those areas detailed by Gygax.

With regards to quallity of the scan, it is quite readable. The maps are clear. It is fully complete. The price is a bargain compared to rare copies which occasionally appear on sites like e-Bay, Amazon, and other online vendors of OOP books, and gaming materials. If you want a copy, buy it now. There is no guarantee it will be around in the future. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D3 Vault of the Drow (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 83 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates