DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
by Andrew O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2018 10:16:36
This is great for beginner GMs that have a hard time coming up with custom parts of their world that make it have that "real" feeling. I reccomend for anyone who is thinking about or running a game. The quality is great, the hardcover version in color, please keep producing products like these. Thankyou for a great product, Andrew O'Dell

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Claws of Madness - Extended HD Map Set
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2018 15:34:48

Bought this and the accompanying adventure expecting a high-resolution, VTT-usable dungeon. While the writing in the adventure is good, the maps leave a lot to be desired. As I sit here spending a day off adding the vision blocking layer in MapTool, there are several editing decisions that are are ruining my day.

  1. Large file dimensions do not a NOT high-resolution file make. When I scaled the grid in MapTool to match, it's showing a resoltion of only 35 DPI. That's going to look pretty awful when zoomed to battlemap scale on a 4K VTT. While I can see there being concerns over the file dimensions being too large, this probably wouldn't be an issue if the three levels were split up into three files, which would have allowed for a higher DPI version of the map.

  2. The version that says it has no-grid, no-numbers still has a grid, and the grid isn't uniform in its layout. if I make certain it's aligned exactly in the first chamber of level 1, it's off by half a cell horizontally on the statue hallway, and about a quarter in most other areas.

  3. You can't see it in the preview image, but there are handwritten doodles all over the map. Some a sepia-colored, like what looks like a... cupcake? in the common room. Others are in black handwriting, and typically spoil things that the PCs should need to discover! I'm going to have to edit all of these out in Photoshop, which is going to take a LOT of time. Yet the whole reason I pay money for premade maps is to save time.

  4. Similar to #3, there are still big white letter "S"es over the secret doors that will need to be edited out if I'm to use this on a VTT. Same for dotted lines marking traps. Yet more time wasted.

  5. The map files are in JPG format rather than PNG or PDF. Thus, there's going to be some loss of quality associated with fixing things. This also means that the monster artwork overlapping the edges of the dungeon is on the same layer as the actual map and there's no way to exclude them by simply shutting off a layer or two.

  6. Lastly, if you want to fade around the edges of the map, please don't fade out the actual adventure areas. It ends up looking sloppy in-game like you're seeing behind the GM's curtain.

NOTE on rating:

  • If you won't be using this for a miniatures-scale VTT, but rather an online game, then consider this rating 3-stars. The badly-scaled grid, and background doodles will still grief you, but the resolution issue probably won't matter.
  • If you are not using a VTT at all, but will be drawing this by hand on a vinyl or laminated map, then I'd rate it at 5-stars. Of course, if you're going that route, then why spend money on a map pack advertised as HD?


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Claws of Madness - Extended HD Map Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello Michael, Thanks for posting such an in depth review with feedback (and gripes). I appreciate that. I can see your poiints and must admit this was our very first map product ever, we have come a long way since. Since you are not satisfied, I am happy to refund your purchase. Would you mind mailing me at chris@loresmyth.com? Regards Chris
MapSmyth: Modular Dungeon VTT Tiles - STARTER [BUNDLE]
by James G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 16:28:05

These modular map kits are awesome, and the bundle is a great value with 3 packs. Infinite varieties of dungeon are possible with these. They drag & drop right into Roll20 without any pre-prep, which isn't true for some modular kits like Heroic Tiles (but those are the prettiest sets). I'd love to see a dungeon dressing set from this team. Looking forward to more of these.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MapSmyth: Modular Dungeon VTT Tiles - STARTER [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello James, Thanks for your purchase and taking the time to review. We have many new sets out since the first Genesis, they are all compatible (save for te sci-fi sets not blending with the fantasy ones duh!) so I think you will like them. regards Chris
MapSmyth Maps: GENESIS FOUNDATIONS - Modular Dungeon Tiles for VTT
by Tyler K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2018 20:14:48

A great vareity and works very well with Roll20! I'm happy to recommend it to other DM's looking for dungeon tiles.

I was able to throw together a dungeon in minutes and will be sure to watch for future releases. Thanks



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MapSmyth Maps: GENESIS FOUNDATIONS - Modular Dungeon Tiles for VTT
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MapSmyth Maps: MYSTIUM - Modular Dungeon Tiles for VTT
by Tyler K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2018 18:47:01

I highly recommend the Modular Dungeon Tiles by LoreSmyth, however this particular set (Mystium) is a bit too redundant to the Genesis Core Set. I have since realized that this was intended as a "Core Set" as seen on the image of the product (but nowhere else) and it makes sense, from that perspective, to provide a lot of the core components.

That said, many of the tiles are identical or contain very minor alterations from the Genesis Set.

My recommendation to the consumer is to get the Genesis Foundation and Genesis Foundation 2 sets and skip Mystium entirely. And my recommendation to LoreSmyth is to update the description of Mystium with some explanation that this is an alternative to Genesis, in some respect.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MapSmyth Maps: MYSTIUM - Modular Dungeon Tiles for VTT
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Tyler, Thanks for your great review. Indeed this set uses similar tile shapes, but with a new look. We have since also started varying tile shapes per set (not only changing the look and feel). I think we could have communicated this better using previews of the tiles? If you like mail to contact@loresmyth.com and I am happy to give you one of the newer sets free of charge, so you can sample if our newer releases are to your liking. cheers! Chris
Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2018 09:27:25

I used this to fill in some color in an Inn. I could make some quick chanes to adapt it to my fantasy world. Really well thought out and puts some unique feel into a game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
by Matthew G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2018 10:11:22

Excellent book. Clearly written and formatted. The book is basically in three sections. First section is composed pre made Inn's. The writing is general on purpose. They've made an Inn for the mountains, one for a desert region, one for criminals, one for high magic etc.. They list unique drinks and food for each, some have special effects. They give details on the innkeepers and barmaids. They also include some possible adventure hooks related to the inn and its contents. The second section is how to play the inn and liven things up in it. This includes how the inn affects the surrounding region as well as adding outrageous food and some gambling games and song lyrics. The 3rd section contains most of the tables and is used to make your own inn. Table after table of unique quirks and hooks, nothing duplicated and well thought out.

The most common building visited by players in D&D is probably the Inn. Wherever they travel there is usually an inn nearby. This book is your best source for making this common building unique and fascinating to your players. If you incorporate this book to its fullest, your players will probably begin to like visiting inn's more than their adventure locations. There is a cliche' in D&D that starting adventures in pubs or inn's is lazy and too common. This book breaks that cliche' by taking Inn's to a whole new level. This is a must buy for a seasoned DM in my opinion.

My only complaint about this book would be that the art is primarily pencil art and is of a lower quality. But this does not hinder the functionality of the book and probably helped keep the book price low by reducing art commission costs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind and deep review Matthew!
Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
by Marc P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2018 13:22:18

Perfect tool for building and populating. The print copy is well laid out with very nice artwork. Easy to read and easy to browse to find what you need.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
by Marius S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2018 14:37:44

This is the first print book I ordered from DTRPG, and I am loving it.

It really helps me with my Storm Kings Thunder adventure, and above that its quality is superb. The artwork, the ideas behind the premade taverns and inns is so thoughtful and well executed. Thanks for your hard work making this book, it really is a gem!

Also the print is very good and I can only recommend getting it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
by Erlend P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2018 13:33:34

great book with easy to understand, there is even a chapter were you can create your own inn, cant wait to use this in my dnd



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2018 19:47:46

This book is a great resource for both old and new GMs for any game. The included sample inns are a huge bonus!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2018 15:00:07

This is an awesome book! I already incorporated one of the taverns in my game. Get it, you won't regret the purchase!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
by Frank M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2018 21:17:22

Let's face it, whether it's the Prancing Pony, the Inn of the Last Home, or the Silvery Moon Tavern, the inn/tavern is the basic plot hook that GMs have used for decades to start an adventure.

I am a big fan of this (and works like it) because it starts with some basic archtypes that GMs can use within their own campaigns and then goes into greater depth and detail about the ways which they can develop and flesh out their own establishments, be they highly refined establishments like Rick's American Cafe or wretched hives of scum and villanry such as the cantina in Mos Eisley.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the great review Frank, glad you like it! Cue the cantina music :)
Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
by Phillip B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2018 23:58:57

Nice resource for all sorts of inns. Great resource for GM's to develope information on the fly or just to get a bunch of ideas for a staple adventure setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Remarkable Inns & Their Drinks
by Jay L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2018 07:49:28

this is a great little book i got the softback version and i love it iwould of give it 5 stars if there was flour plans to go with the pre made inns but im sure i can knock some up great product and company thanks guys



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates