DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Dark Dungeons X
by XERXES L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 08:44:57

This work is really a rare piece of art. I could just say "it's better than the original", but it would sound too fanatical. The truth is that to create Dark Dungeon (and Dark Dunegon X), it was certainly necessary for the author to acquire a great intimacy with the original work. We all know that nothing is perfect, and the same applies to the original work. There are always small spaces for improvement. The author managed, through his experience, to create a system fully compatible with the original, but filling in the gaps and trimming edges. Perhaps this would happen naturally if the original work was not discontinued. Well, thank goodness we have Dark Dungeon X!

PS.: Sorry for any error, my language is Portuguese. Ah, how I wish there was a Portuguese translation of Dark Dungeon X!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons X
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Dungeons X
by Edward A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2021 01:05:39

Ok so I've read a lot of core rulebooks. (a LOT). I have the Cyclopedia this book was originally written to emulate. This book is one of my favorite to read. Certainly the best book I have gotten from DTRPG. It has nice thick pages that smell of freah ink. Its an enjoyable experience. I dont agree with the whole book. I hate what he did to Elves. And Magic-Users could maybe use better weapons but certainly not armor. I don't even like his reason for doing it. Lupines are meh, but certainly not worth losing the Monk! (Mystic, Whatever OK) Ask any player you know who started with the Red Box if they want a (not)Wearwolf or a Monk. Everyone will choose Monk.
Throw all that out the window when you start reading it. This book is slick. It's better than the book it emulates. The layout makes absorbing the material easy. And it is so easy to add material.
There is no rule for 3 dimensional movement like flying or going underwater. All movement is 2 dimensional based. I just added the rules from an AD&D retro For Gold and Glory and it works fine.
The Immortals rules are cleaned up. I think I finally understand how to run that. The mechanics behind Thief skills and Cleric Turning Undead are now streamlined. I like the feeling of symmetry this promotes in the book. I even like the name. I remember those chick pamphlets from the 80's he named his book after. That was a dope move. I'm starting my first campaign next week. Running all the classic Modules fronm yhe 80's. I fixed the Magic-user, Elf and resurrected the Monk.
5 Stars



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
by Donald H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2021 21:24:15

The product is fun and well put together. The info is in an easily understood format and the artais callingcallingrtartartartrtartartart



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Dungeons X
by Sandra S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2020 14:30:53

The previous edition of Dark Dungeons (gold logo, no X) was my first D&D and I've since gone back and read every other edition and many of the clones, played many of them too.

On a meta level, I agree with the decision to merge in Darker Dungeons, and I appreciated the commentary so much. That made it worthwhile to read the book even if I'm not gonna use it.

It does make more sense to release a Darker Dungeons sequel than a clone of a game that is now once more readily available.

However, I disagree with every single change in the character' chapters! MU and elves swapped? Where's my Elric? Mystics are lupines now but not werewolves. (Which also exist...?)

On the domain and War Machine level is where this variant is the most worthwhile; it seems like it builds upon the Immortals Companion and simplifies it even further. The "public works" innovation from IC was a brilliant simplification, compatible with the full rules a few pages earlier when you do need the specifics. I love these chapters, they have all the deets I love from the vanilla RC War Machine and none of the cruft I didn't love. It almost makes me feel bad for buying a POD RC (which I got primarily for War Machine, and as a reference for old school that's easier to find things in, and clearer written, than the Old School Essentials clone set) since I'm more likely to use this ruleset. Or, to build on it, since it's so generously open source, which is one of the best features of this fantastic publisher's games.

Overall a fun read, clearly written, I like it. I really don't wanna play it as is because of the way the character-level game works with the sword-wielding MUs and such. It's easy to swap everything back, it's all clearly labeled (kudos for that!) but I'd rather use the RC than an un-Darkered DDX.

Summary: Get the RC for characters and get this book, or the Immortals Companion, for domain level stuff.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons X
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Dungeons X
by Sami K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2020 06:47:52

I like a lot how warmachine and domain rules are simplified. I'm using them in my game which is based on original game rules othwerwise. Great layout and clarity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
by Matthew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2020 23:17:36

I played the old game that inspired this one quite a lot, and own quite a bit of it still. I'm glad to see someone bring these mechanics back to life. Looking forward to trying to run a new campaign using these ruies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Dungeons X
by Frank W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2020 18:39:14

What an exquisite document. Congratulations on being in print/pdf for 10 years and having accomplished so much in the decade that has elapsed. I can’t begin to share how immensely helpful this book has come to be for me. I never had access to the original growing up as a kid and this TOME (all 400+ glorious pages of it) has bridged a gap in my gaming knowledge and understanding of this game (nay life experience) that has been a part of my being for going on 30+ years now. I only hope these words do your work a small service. The layout is impeccable, well designed, carefully laid out, and presented in such a fashion as to highlight the content and make it both more enjoyable and more accessible to the reader. The liberal use of examples and developer commentary sprinkled throughout adds immensely to the readers understanding of how/why you designed this game as you did, but also provides contextual clues to develop a greater understanding of in-game strategies, concepts, and stratagems. A fantastic, thorough table of contents and index allow numerous ways to locate frequently used information (not to mention being a fully searchable pdf). Numerous charts and tables add value to help understand key concepts and ideas. My only criticism, and I hate to share this at the end, hoping it won't overly detract from the awesomeness of your work, is that it could have only benefited from more pictures (even if they did belong to the public domain). It is entirely clear you spent every bit of 9 months and 500 hours creating this labor of love. Thank you for your dedication, perseverance, and hard work, in your willingness to sacrifice to offer the gaming community this hefty contribution and here is to many successes I hope you have in your game design future!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons X
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Faserip
by Jim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2020 12:52:26

A great bit of nostalgia as someone whose first EVER RPG was the original TSR Marvel FASERIP. i was able to quickly make up some characters and refresh my knowledge of the game

minor critques would be a lack of more personal protection powers like hardend skin etc which somehow got left out but beyond that most everthing is in order and those powers are not that hard to recreate

great work overall and thanks for the memories



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lightmaster Core Rulebook
by Tomas R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2020 03:32:32

Very easy and playable Rolemanster clone. It uses d20 instead of d100, but all the good aspects of Rolemaster are here. It's a very well done and professional game. I have the print copy Pay What You Want. The pdf is free.

The art is sparse, but very good. I only miss more details of the world, and the solar system, but it seems to blend correctly with with the SpellJammer campaign and, in less extent, the Space 1889 rpg. So it will be easy to adapt all of that stuff to LightMaster.

All in all, a hidden gem!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lightmaster Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood, Guts and Glory
by Newbie F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2019 04:15:18

A great and seamless mashup of two very different systems (Rolemaster and D&D) with a unique victorian setting tucked in, where society had been suddenly pushed into co-existing with anthropomorphic animals.

While it does borrow a lot of concepts from Rolemaster; the main die used to resolve actions is a D20 (or more specifically, an E20, which explodes on the maximum natural number) as opposed to a D100. But even with the obvious inspiration from the heavy reliance in tables and charts (Chartmaster ring a bell?), the system still feels tight and polished; being its own unique beast.

If you like a deadly, impactful and gritty combat, where each weapon type has its own chart, with encounters being a dangerous affair that shouldn't be initiated lightly (and the setting interest you). Then go play this (free) game, it's quite enjoyable.

Recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood, Guts and Glory
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Faserip
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2019 00:52:05

I'm an old fan of MSH, but it has problems. Over 30 years, everyone I've played the game with solves those problems differently. I really want to read this version to see a fresh view of fixing those problems, but the physical composition of the material is infuriating.

First, the page size isn't Letter, so it doesn't scale correctly on screen, and it doesn't print correctly if you can't find the right paper size. The font is terrible, and the italics are worse. It's still super heroes, just use comic. The blue used to highlight special words has bad contrast making those words harder to read. Use a darker blue, a hue shift it for better contrast.

One of the difficulties with the original system was learning the rank words. But once you learn them, they are burned into your brain forever. So when the clone changes those words, it is painful. If you can copy everything else, why not those words? Or name the ranks by their numbers, R0 to R10, then either S(hift)1, S2, S3 or S11, 12, and 13. What's wrong with Green, Yellow, Red? Bronze, Silver, and Gold have a good theme, but those colors print as brown, gray, and yellow. Using the word "yellow" will be confusing, because it could mean old-yellow or new-gold.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lightmaster Book of Tables
by Newbie F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2019 23:54:53

A set of 200+ pages full of tables and charts! It might look daunting, but the majority are spell paths (Read: Spell Genres) and the rest are tables for attacking and criticals (A character sheet, equipment section nil, is also included in the back). Also, keep in mind that each page has only a single table/chart, meaning you can print it easily without cutting excess sections.

Nonethless, It is very easy to read and the color scheme is warm on the eyes. I think the author did the right thing here by seperating both books, as I found it kinda tedious in Blood, Guts & Glory (Another game of his very similar to this one, but the tables are in the back, in the Appendix section precisely).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lightmaster Book of Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lightmaster Core Rulebook
by Newbie F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2019 01:07:48

A great mashup of two very venerable systems: Dungeons & Dragons and Rolemaster.

The author created a game similar to this, titled Blood, Guts & Glory. But the tables aren't seperate and anthropomorphic animals aren't the spotlight. Nonetheless, this is basically BG&G but pulpy, fantasy and science-fiction (To some degree), and maybe... Even better. [;)]

So go grab it and see for yourself! The PDF is free so you got nothing to lose (In fact, all of the author's products are Pay-What-You-Want, which is quite generous for the insane quality he provides).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lightmaster Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lightmaster Core Rulebook
by Ward M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2019 20:00:37

Overview: Imagine if the d100 system and the d20 system had a love child. Lightmaster would be that baby.

Lightmaster requires two books to play: the core rules and the book of tables, both available on this website.

Fair Warning: I am a huge fanboy of the original famous d100 game. Your mileage might vary.

LIKES: -Much easier to navigate than the famous d100 game it emulates. -No "humans in funny clothes" races. All PC's are considered to be human. -The setting is a combination of C.S. Lewis, H. P. Lovecraft, Robert Howard, and Spelljammer. The GM is largely free to construct a world of their own choosing. -The entire character sheet is ONE PAGE long!

DISLIKES: -A minor quibble, but I would like to see more interior artwork. -Some spells take up to thirty seconds to cast, making any spell user a sitting duck for archers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons
by Benjamin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2019 13:55:27

Excellent game. I also have the RC and reread it alongside Dark Dungeons. Dark Dungeons has clearer rules and, imho, better organization; but with public domain artwork. I think the only place where it's a toss-up as far as organization, is with weapon feats/mastery: both are okay, and have their own strengths and weaknesses. There are some house rules baked-in, and a few other (welcome) minor differences from the RC.

All in all, a great effort by Blacky! You can't go wrong with DD!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates