DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Dark Dungeons X
by Sami K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2020 06:47:52

I like a lot how warmachine and domain rules are simplified. I'm using them in my game which is based on original game rules othwerwise. Great layout and clarity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons X
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Faserip
by Matthew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2020 23:17:36

I played the old game that inspired this one quite a lot, and own quite a bit of it still. I'm glad to see someone bring these mechanics back to life. Looking forward to trying to run a new campaign using these ruies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Dungeons X
by Frank W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2020 18:39:14

What an exquisite document. Congratulations on being in print/pdf for 10 years and having accomplished so much in the decade that has elapsed. I can’t begin to share how immensely helpful this book has come to be for me. I never had access to the original growing up as a kid and this TOME (all 400+ glorious pages of it) has bridged a gap in my gaming knowledge and understanding of this game (nay life experience) that has been a part of my being for going on 30+ years now. I only hope these words do your work a small service. The layout is impeccable, well designed, carefully laid out, and presented in such a fashion as to highlight the content and make it both more enjoyable and more accessible to the reader. The liberal use of examples and developer commentary sprinkled throughout adds immensely to the readers understanding of how/why you designed this game as you did, but also provides contextual clues to develop a greater understanding of in-game strategies, concepts, and stratagems. A fantastic, thorough table of contents and index allow numerous ways to locate frequently used information (not to mention being a fully searchable pdf). Numerous charts and tables add value to help understand key concepts and ideas. My only criticism, and I hate to share this at the end, hoping it won't overly detract from the awesomeness of your work, is that it could have only benefited from more pictures (even if they did belong to the public domain). It is entirely clear you spent every bit of 9 months and 500 hours creating this labor of love. Thank you for your dedication, perseverance, and hard work, in your willingness to sacrifice to offer the gaming community this hefty contribution and here is to many successes I hope you have in your game design future!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons X
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Faserip
by Jim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2020 12:52:26

A great bit of nostalgia as someone whose first EVER RPG was the original TSR Marvel FASERIP. i was able to quickly make up some characters and refresh my knowledge of the game

minor critques would be a lack of more personal protection powers like hardend skin etc which somehow got left out but beyond that most everthing is in order and those powers are not that hard to recreate

great work overall and thanks for the memories



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lightmaster Core Rulebook
by Tomas R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2020 03:32:32

Very easy and playable Rolemanster clone. It uses d20 instead of d100, but all the good aspects of Rolemaster are here. It's a very well done and professional game. I have the print copy Pay What You Want. The pdf is free.

The art is sparse, but very good. I only miss more details of the world, and the solar system, but it seems to blend correctly with with the SpellJammer campaign and, in less extent, the Space 1889 rpg. So it will be easy to adapt all of that stuff to LightMaster.

All in all, a hidden gem!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lightmaster Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood, Guts and Glory
by Newbie F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2019 04:15:18

A great and seamless mashup of two very different systems (Rolemaster and D&D) with a unique victorian setting tucked in, where society had been suddenly pushed into co-existing with anthropomorphic animals.

While it does borrow a lot of concepts from Rolemaster; the main die used to resolve actions is a D20 (or more specifically, an E20, which explodes on the maximum natural number) as opposed to a D100. But even with the obvious inspiration from the heavy reliance in tables and charts (Chartmaster ring a bell?), the system still feels tight and polished; being its own unique beast.

If you like a deadly, impactful and gritty combat, where each weapon type has its own chart, with encounters being a dangerous affair that shouldn't be initiated lightly (and the setting interest you). Then go play this (free) game, it's quite enjoyable.

Recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood, Guts and Glory
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Faserip
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2019 00:52:05

I'm an old fan of MSH, but it has problems. Over 30 years, everyone I've played the game with solves those problems differently. I really want to read this version to see a fresh view of fixing those problems, but the physical composition of the material is infuriating.

First, the page size isn't Letter, so it doesn't scale correctly on screen, and it doesn't print correctly if you can't find the right paper size. The font is terrible, and the italics are worse. It's still super heroes, just use comic. The blue used to highlight special words has bad contrast making those words harder to read. Use a darker blue, a hue shift it for better contrast.

One of the difficulties with the original system was learning the rank words. But once you learn them, they are burned into your brain forever. So when the clone changes those words, it is painful. If you can copy everything else, why not those words? Or name the ranks by their numbers, R0 to R10, then either S(hift)1, S2, S3 or S11, 12, and 13. What's wrong with Green, Yellow, Red? Bronze, Silver, and Gold have a good theme, but those colors print as brown, gray, and yellow. Using the word "yellow" will be confusing, because it could mean old-yellow or new-gold.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lightmaster Book of Tables
by Newbie F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2019 23:54:53

A set of 200+ pages full of tables and charts! It might look daunting, but the majority are spell paths (Read: Spell Genres) and the rest are tables for attacking and criticals (A character sheet, equipment section nil, is also included in the back). Also, keep in mind that each page has only a single table/chart, meaning you can print it easily without cutting excess sections.

Nonethless, It is very easy to read and the color scheme is warm on the eyes. I think the author did the right thing here by seperating both books, as I found it kinda tedious in Blood, Guts & Glory (Another game of his very similar to this one, but the tables are in the back, in the Appendix section precisely).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lightmaster Book of Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lightmaster Core Rulebook
by Newbie F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2019 01:07:48

A great mashup of two very venerable systems: Dungeons & Dragons and Rolemaster.

The author created a game similar to this, titled Blood, Guts & Glory. But the tables aren't seperate and anthropomorphic animals aren't the spotlight. Nonetheless, this is basically BG&G but pulpy, fantasy and science-fiction (To some degree), and maybe... Even better. [;)]

So go grab it and see for yourself! The PDF is free so you got nothing to lose (In fact, all of the author's products are Pay-What-You-Want, which is quite generous for the insane quality he provides).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lightmaster Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lightmaster Core Rulebook
by Ward M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2019 20:00:37

Overview: Imagine if the d100 system and the d20 system had a love child. Lightmaster would be that baby.

Lightmaster requires two books to play: the core rules and the book of tables, both available on this website.

Fair Warning: I am a huge fanboy of the original famous d100 game. Your mileage might vary.

LIKES: -Much easier to navigate than the famous d100 game it emulates. -No "humans in funny clothes" races. All PC's are considered to be human. -The setting is a combination of C.S. Lewis, H. P. Lovecraft, Robert Howard, and Spelljammer. The GM is largely free to construct a world of their own choosing. -The entire character sheet is ONE PAGE long!

DISLIKES: -A minor quibble, but I would like to see more interior artwork. -Some spells take up to thirty seconds to cast, making any spell user a sitting duck for archers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons
by Benjamin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2019 13:55:27

Excellent game. I also have the RC and reread it alongside Dark Dungeons. Dark Dungeons has clearer rules and, imho, better organization; but with public domain artwork. I think the only place where it's a toss-up as far as organization, is with weapon feats/mastery: both are okay, and have their own strengths and weaknesses. There are some house rules baked-in, and a few other (welcome) minor differences from the RC.

All in all, a great effort by Blacky! You can't go wrong with DD!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Dungeons
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2019 18:40:08

Been running this for about a year or so. Its pretty much perfect. My old group was bored with 5e. Nothing in particular, we all sorta fell out of love with it, everything started to feel the same after a while. Someone had an old RC laying around and we dove into that, then someone got sick and that group broke up. New group, playing 5e again, couple people mention wanting something more. I am about to get an RC pdf (before the latest POD), then find DD. Cleaned up RC with frankly simpler combat calcs and full Immortal rules/wep profiencies......sign me up. Most of the group bought a pod copy via lulu.

Love the game, the group is very happy with how the characters are turning out and to be honest its just more fun than 5e for campaign games IMHO!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons
by Jose R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 06:42:02

Great game! I already own a printed and PDF copy of the Rules Cyclopedia, but the rules in this book are better explained and maybe better organized, without mentioning that it also includes the immortal rules. It is clear that there is a LOT of work in this book. Just read one 4 star comment complaining about the fact that this game is a retro-clone. Just think it's completely unfair, considering that the author makes it very clear in the book about the nature of the game as being a clone, and that if you were looking for a modified version of the game you should go for Darker Dungeons. The funny thing is that the person giving the 4-star review already knew this... Well done Blacky!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2019 23:29:37

This is an outstanding take on a classic game. It's a cleaner system than the original, with novel tweaks that make for interesting tactical decisions and character design. I can't wait to play it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Dungeons
by Rudy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2019 16:32:46

Overall Dark Dungeons is a solid retro clone of the Rules Cyclopedia, although it's not 100% perfect (as with most retro clones). The author chose to incorporate a few of the optional rules in the RC and made them "canon", such as removing level caps for demihumans and allowing them to attain any level desired. The only offset to this is that a demihuman requires more XP to level up than a human. In all honesty this isn't that big of a deal breaker because let's be real, who used the level caps back in the day? Get Dark Dungeons if you want to play Rules Cyclopedia but refuse to pay the price-gougers on eBay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 33 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates