DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2018 22:39:24

This supplment is fantastic, its a real throw back to the Lost Boys and those vampire films I remember from my youth. The system is easy to learn and the little plot hooks located all the way through the book is great for involving all the characters and not only focusing on a main plot but giving your pcs side plots, to help further develop their character and myself as a gm to develop the world.

I can't wait for more products to come out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
by Seth P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2018 23:08:17

I bought this book a while back after hearing about it through the grapevine of the internet. After reading up on it some more I was impressed! And once I got the book in my hands I was blown away! For being a small company, Bloat Games has really put out a wonderful book which just screams "PLAY ME!" As I read more and more of the book adventure ideas of taking my party through J-Town kept bubbling up, old ideas and inspirations from things like Goosebumps and Steven King constantly coming forth.

So what is DP&D? Well the game itself is based heavily on older editions of the World's Most Popular Roleplaying Game but with plenty of modern twists to make it both familiar and different. With the classic 6 ability scores and a brand new one (Survival) as well as twists on the classic saving throws, the game is easy to pick up for anyone with even a passing knowledge of any d20 system but with enough depth and differences to keep even diehard veterans engaged for many, many adventures in 1980's J-Town.

Would I recommend this game? I already have on several occasions! And here, have a free adventure idea on the house: the party heads out to the country fair and while exploring the spooky haunted house they belive they encountered a real zombie!

5/5 This is a game everyone should play!

Have fun and game on everyone!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Ghost Hunter's Handbook - and use w/other OSR games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/02/2018 06:19:27

Nothing beats a good ghost story and the early 80s was full of them. From the old school hauntings of 1981's Ghost Story to 1982's Poltergeist to the old guard in House of the Long Shadows (1983) and even to 1984's Ghostbusters. And this is now where near all. If you loved ghost stories it was a great time.

Thankfully Bloat Games hears you and has what you need.

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Ghost Hunter's Handbook is 60 pages (digest sized) with color covers and black and white interior. It has the same feel as the other books in this series. The art is good and I recognize a lot of the names inside.

With this book, like the others, we start out with new classes. The Clairvoyant can see things the others can't (we have a couple "I see dead people" classes already, but this is a good one). The Parapsychologist is great, but I think it is stretching what it means for a "Kid" class like the core book is filled with. Though, I guess reading the starting equipment this is also the class that best fit me in High School! Yes, I did write a program to emulate a PKE meter on my TRS-80 Color Computer. The Mystical Ghost Hunter covers your basic exorcists/cleanser type. But the class I was happiest to see was the Nullifier! This is the guy who walks in the room and all paranormal activity stops. The class might have limited growth, save that they are the ones that will survive any magical attack, but I like them all the same. In college one of my "hippie" friends claimed I was a "Null" because his Ouija board never worked when I was around!

Pages 14-24 cover different kinds of ghosts, spectres, and haunts and their reasons for haunting. This is one of the parts that make this book "and use w/other OSR games". You can drop these spookies into any OSR game (some will require tweaks) and you are good to go. They can all be run as-is really; especially if you are playing Swords & Wizardry. In fact, there is a lot here in the DP&D that the S&W game master can use.

A few pages on what you can find on The Other Side! (uh...Thanks! but I didn't get you anything. OH! THAT Other Side.)

There are a couple pages on equipment including Ghost Hunter kits to fit your price range. Next, we have some new ghost-related magic items. A couple pages of minor and major spells.

And what book on ghosts would be complete without a haunted house? Well, this one taped into that 80s feeling well and gives us a haunted asylum! It's like you guys read my Christmas lists or something!

Information of the J'town Paranormal Society (which feels like it is somewhere between Supernatural's "Ghost Chasers" and Doctor Who's LINDA).

We end with a great, but incomplete, list books, movies, and television shows.

Author Josh Palmer did a hell of a job here and this is a worthy addition to the DP&D line. The book is worth every penny. In truth at just $5 and 60 pages you are getting a hell of a deal.

Print on demand is coming soon.

It's Halloween. Get out there and bust some ghosts!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Ghost Hunter's Handbook - and use w/other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Werewolf Sourcebook & other OSR games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/26/2018 11:28:29

36 pages, color covers, black & white interiors.

Same size, but a step up from the Vampire book to be honest. There feels like there is more material here and I will admit I was surprised to see the page count was really the same.

We get a little background on werewolves as a horror trope. Different means of causing lycanthropy are also covered. There is also a section of infecting humans and how it alters their stats, including Player Characters. Now I would say that being a werewolf runs counter to what a GM might normally want to do with a DP&D game, I can see it coming up. Good for drama really.

Now anyone that knows me well knows I am "the Witch guy" and before that I was "the Vampire guy". So I was totally expecting this to be my least favorite book, but no chance of that! This is a great book and even better than the Vampire book.

There plot hooks, NPCs, monsters AND a complete adventure. The book is packed. Well worth the money spent.

IF you can only afford one of these books, Vampire or Werewolf, then I would put my money on the werewolf one. Plus it has some fantastic Jacob Blackmon cover art, so what could be better?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Werewolf Sourcebook & other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/26/2018 06:47:51

36 pages, color covers, black & white interiors.

With the Vampire Sourcebook, we move DP&D a little further away from "Stranger Things" and "X-Files" territory and more into the realms of "Fright Night", "Lost Boys", and "Buffy the Vampire Slayer". The cover in fact is very reminicent of all the above.

We start off with an introduction to basic vampire pop-culture lore and quickly move to a list of vampire movies of the 1980s. It's a solid list, I knew all the titles so it feels complete, but I am sure there a couple Euro flicks missing. Not a big deal since that is not the focus of this book.

We get stats for a variety of vampires and plot hooks/backgrounds for all of them.
The book is designed for DP&D, but it really can be used with any OSR game.

For more 80s fun combine it with some New Wave Requiem from the World of Darkness game.

If you want to play a vampire then I suggest The Blood is the Life - Basic Vampires as a mostly compatible solution.

It is a thin book and I would have liked to see more varieties, in truth this probably the perfect size. Vampires are series-ending "Big Bads" not just your monster of the week. So characters are only likely to see one or maybe two their entire game life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Player Options & GM Guide
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/25/2018 21:49:08

124 pages, color covers, black & white interiors.

Now this book. I knew I needed this one the moment I read the table of contents. This book expands the game in a number of really awesome ways. Now all classes can go to 7th level and all the core classes get a boost. That is great, and we get 13 new classes. They are Equestrian Show Rider, Equestrian Rider, Monster Hunter, Party Animal, The Performer, Phantasmagon, ROTC Cadet, Soviet Spy, Spy in Training, Street Tough, Survivalist, Teen Ninja, and the Telepath. We also get five new Magic classes! Black Witch, Mechano-Mage, Nature Witch, Voodoo Practitioner, and White Witch. All with a bunch of new spells! So yes, I am quite excited about these. Worth the price on the cover alone for me.

Additionally, we get a bunch of new skills.

The last half of the book is everything 80s. I have seen a lot of 80s guides in games before, but this one is very comprehensive. These sections include 80's Crushes/ Idols, Your Songs of the 80's, Your Movies of the 80's, Random 80's Movie Quote Table, and Your TV of the 80's. And just listing these does not do this lists justice at all. I consider myself an 80s aficionado and there are things here I had forgotten or even never knew. I am little surprised there isn't a Dark Places & Demogorgons 80s mix list on Spotify.

Really glad I got this book and I consider it a must-have for fans of this games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Player Options & GM Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - JEFFERSONTOWN SETTING GUIDE Survive This!!
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/25/2018 21:22:42

140 pages, color covers, black & white interiors.

This book covers the Jeffersontown setting introduced in the core rulebook. I have to admit, I was not going to buy this book. I was not really that interested in the J'town setting; I had my own setting, settings really, to try out and this one did not grab me.
That would have been a mistake. This book is really freaking awesome.

Reading through this book you begin to realize that all small towns are the same. I read through this and was mentally replacing J'Town details with my own old hometown Jacksonville (J'Ville, no really that is what we called it). There are a ton of great ideas here for any type of campaign.

So who should buy this?

Well if grew up in the 80s then you know this already. You lived it. But this book is a wonderful trip down memory lane. It's someone else's memory lane, but it looks like yours; it looks a lot like mine too.

If you didn't grow up in the 80s then this book is a must-have. Really sets the tone and tenor of the game perfectly.

This makes this book a must buy, I am glad I picked it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - JEFFERSONTOWN SETTING GUIDE Survive This!!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/25/2018 11:53:02

Originally posted here: http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2018/06/review-survive-this-dark-places.html

I'll start off my week-long look at Survive This! Dark Places & Demogorgons with the core rulebook. A little bit of background thought first. I love the 80s in the way a true child of the 80s only can. Everything about the decade still fascinates me, fills me nostalgia and is a creative well I keep going back to. In truth, I had better decades. The 90s were particularly good to me and the 2010s are also really nice, but the 80s hold my interest more, especially when it comes to gaming.

Dark Places & Demogorgons (DP&D) taps into all of this in such a deep and profound way that it pisses me off me to no end. Pisses me off, because I wish I had come up it myself!

A few things upfront. DP&D owes a great deal to Stranger Things (which in turns owes a lot to D&D), but as fantastic as that is, that is not enough to sustain a game. DP&D draws on deep 80s culture as well. And deep I do mean shallow! Nothing here about the Cold War, or USA for Africa, or the 84 Olympics, or the home computer revolution. This is about what was going on in YOUR small town USA and how it felt like it was the strangest place on the planet. All that "important stuff" is just background noise to what is really important; what are we doing Friday night and who's going to drive around cruising? That of course until your friends start to disappear.

Dark Places & Demogorgons (DP&D) is a 200 page 5"x9" book with color covers and black & white interiors. The art is a mix of new art, some art purchased from collections and (my personal favorite) some photos of the authors and friends from some 80's high school yearbooks. I am reviewing both the physical book and PDF. Both of which were purchased by me so no books were contributed for review.

The book is divided into an 80 page Player's Section which includes the Classes and Basic rules, and a 120 Page Game Master Section. The Players section introduces the concept of a Role-playing game and what you can do. We also get a little background on the town this all takes place in, Jeffersontown KY.

We go right into building a character. Now while the book tells us that this is a version of the same game played in 1974, there are more 21st Century rules here. The rules feel like a Swords & Wizardry variant with some Basic (Holmes in particular) thrown in. There are multiple types of saving throws (ala OD&D, Basic, an on up) and ascending AC (S&W, 3e). In short though if you have played any sort of OSR game in the last few years you will pick this up fast. If you have never played before, well you will still pick this up fast.

Unlike its progenitors, this game has Seven Abilities. The new one is Survival. At first, I was not a fan of it, but now I see how it works in the game it makes more sense to me. Much like how another seventh ability, "Luck", works in The Heroes' Journey. I mentioned there are new saving throws too, Courage, Critical, Death, Mental, and Poison. Courage works a lot like a Fear/San test and there is even a terror table.

Where DP&D takes off though are ways you use to describe your characters. We start off with Backgrounds. You can roll randomly here in true 80s style, or choose. Rolling seems better. These include things like "Parents are never home" or "Bratty Kid Sister" and they have in-game effects. Not having your parents home makes for your house to become the natural HQ of your monster surviving endeavors, but having to watch your "Strawberry Shortcake" obsessed little sister is going to slow you down.

After that, you can decide on what your Class is going to be. Classes work here like everywhere else really. They decide your skills, they let you know where you fit in the world and they provide a role-playing guide. The classes in this book are largely based on 80s High School stereotypes. There are five main classes with three subclasses each (similar to how 5e does it) You have The Brain (Kid Scientist, The Nerd, The Geek), The Athlete (The Jock, Extreme Athlete, The Karate Kid), The Outsider (Break Dancer, Goth, Metal Head), The Popular Kid (Preppy, The Princess, Teen Heart Throb), and The Rebel (Bully, The Hood, the Punk Rocker). That pretty much covers everyone in a small high school.

Each class gets 5 levels and new abilities and/or skills each level. So the Karate kid gets new moves and martial arts, the Princess can affect others and so on. Skills cover the things you can do. You can get some via your class or be improved by your class. Others you can pick. Combat is a skill and if you want to be better at it then you need to take the skill otherwise you are just a kid with a +0 to hit.

Character creation then is largely rolling up Abilities, picking a Background, a Class, some skills, determining your saving throws and finding out how much cash you have in your pocket. Then you are set! I recommend a Session 0 for character creation and concept. Sure it is not in the rules and certainly not old school, but it better than everyone showing up for the game playing all playing "The Bully" or "The Nerd".

Lastly, you come up with your age, Alignment and various combat-related stats (AC, attack bonus). DP&D is not a combat focused game. You are kids and the monsters are, well, monsters. You might score a hit or two, but that is it. Otherwise, run!

XP and Leveling are a little "easier" then and there are other ways to gain levels. We end this section with some sample characters, examples of play and a quick breakdown of the 1980s vs. Today.

The Game Master Section is next and this is where the fun is! Here the advice of not making this a combat heavy game is repeated. This is a game of mystery, investigation, and deduction. From the book:

This game draws inspiration from movies like The Goonies, ET and The Lost Boys and T.V. shows like Stranger Things, Eerie Indiana and Scooby Doo. Talk about hitting me where I live!

The rules might say 1974 on the tin, but they are much easier than that. Nearly every rule is simplified and straightforward in a way we never would have tried in the 80s. Among the "new" rules are Difficulty Classes (circa 3e) and Advantage/Disadvantage rules (circa 5e). It makes for a very fast-paced game and the rules will fall into the background.

We get some weapons and explosives, but not a lot.

There is a nice section on magic and the occult which include some really nice Psychic classes. In case you want to dial your game up to 11 (see what I did there!).

The fun part of the book are the Adventure Seeds. Some are familiar to anyone that watched movies or TV in the 80s. But others...well I can only conclude that these must be local legends and myths from the author's own home. Which reminds me how much all these little towns are really the same, just the details differ.

Replace the Pope Lick Monster with the Mobil Monster and they could have been talking about my old hometown of Jacksonville, IL. We even had giant cats, giant birds and bigfoot. But if you know what is good for you stay away from Magical Mystery Lane (if you could find it) or the glowing "things" out by Lake Jacksonville.

The book also has a bunch of monsters in Swords & Wizardry format (more or less). You could add more, but be careful. Just because I have the stats for a Manticore in a S&W book that would work with this there had better be a good reason to include it.

There are stats for animals and various types of NPCs. There is even a table of random monster generation. Delving into more game specific tables there is a table (1d100) of basic adventure hooks.

We also get a small guide to the setting, Jeffersontown, or J'Town (I grew up in J'ville. AND we used to call it a "Sinkhole of Evil" YEARS before anyone ever said the words "hell mouth"). The guide is great, not just for use in the game but for the sheer nostalgia. It read like someone had taken a fictionalized version of my old hometown. I think that it is also flexible enough that an lot of people reading it will feel the same way.

We end with a nice solid appendix (the PDF is not hyper-linked here) and their own "Appendix N" of movies, television, and music. Music was too important in the 80s for there not to be a list like this.

We end with a copy of the character sheet.

Wow. Where to begin.

Ok first of this game is very nearly perfect and I hate it so much. That's not true. I hate that I didn't come up with it and publish it sooner. But in truth, I am not sure if I would have done the same quality job as Eric Bloat and Josh Palmer. Plus the inclusion of their yearbook pictures and own background made this book for me. I LOVED reading J'Town because I could see and feel my own J'Ville in it. I would not have been able to do that if I had written it myself, so much kudos to them.

This is a work of art and I love it. Everything feels right about this game, to be honest. I even have a potential "Series" in mind for it.

Can't wait to do more with it! I would love to get some of my old gamer friends from the 80s and have them play versions of themeselves in a "Stranger Jacksonville" or more to the point the Jacksonville we all WISHED it was.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - FREE SNEAK PREVIEW
by William W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2018 20:24:57

It is somewhat challenging to do a true review of a Sneak Preview for a yet to be released game. I think the art is fantastic, and the overall look and feel of the game has definitely sparked my interest. I now have a good idea of the classes (includes Anthropomorphs yay!!), and powers that will be available, and a solid feel for the art. I would, however, like to know a bit more about the mechanics (OSR based) but again this is an early sneak preview, with presumably more information to come. I will definitely be looking hard at the Kickstarter for further details about the game, and at this point from what I have seen in this early sneak peek I intend to jump on board the kickstarter for this product. Thanks Eric for this early preview. I can't wait to see and learn more about this game, which to me equates to this preview being a success.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - FREE SNEAK PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
by CONRAD H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2018 14:45:16

I purchased this and read through it but haven't played it yet. They have taken the D&D system (Str, Int, Wis, Dex, Con, Chr, HP, AC, etc.) and have added skills system that is just enough and not too much to get the job done they want to do. There are no revolutionairy game mechanics in here but that is a good thing because that means you probably know how to play this already. Should you purchase this? If you loved Netflix's Stranger Things then YES. Stop reading now and go purchase this.

The real magic that they have baked into this game is everything beyond the rule system. I honestly they believed they watched every 80s kid adventure movie that I wanted to be a part of and made a game for me. And I know why they did it. See, and I got this from the Stranger Things "Behind the Scenes" interviews, the '80s was the last time when kids could go have these kind of adventures. Parents were not as concerned where you were. Cell phones and instant data wasn't there so hearsay, rumors and superstition was still a parge part of our life. There was just more mystery back then. Things were just starting to get computerized and 2048 bit RSA keys were not in the way. You just had to sneak into the school office and turn on the computer to look at someone's grades. If you wanted to know about a kid, you had to go to the file cabinet.

Being a kid in the 80s in a strange rural town was awesome and I believe they have captured all that with this game.

I couldn't stop thinking of adventures I wanted to write and run. I think this game and setting is best for investigative type adventures. It takes only a little more than a beginner GM to write and run those but if you can then you will rock your table with this book and the other add-ons.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2018 10:41:47

When I think 80's horror, I think of bloodsuckers. Many of my favorite vampire movies are from the 80's: The Lost Boys, Fright Night, Near Dark.... and let's not forget The Monster Squad (though it's not just vamps). That's why this book interests me so much.

The book starts by talking about the saturation of vampires in 80's entertainment and then gives stats classic vampires. After this section was are presented with a great collection of vamps presented in a monster of the week format. With A Stranger Comes to Town we're given a Salem's Lot inspired adventure idea. Technically Salem's Lot came out in 79 and isn't from the 80's, but it's close enough. This is followed by Ancient One. This vamp is very Dracula-like. Bump In The Night is an homage to the classic, Fright Night. The Lost Children section might be my favorite. If you couldn't guess, it's the homage to The Lost Boys. These are the weakest vamps in the book and there's a great chart about what happens when they die because "when a vampire bites it, it's never a pretty sight." Nosferatu - The Devourer of Beasts is a new pet eating beast. The Sangiest - The Blood Spirit is a rare breed of vampire that needs to bath in blood. Finally, The Thrall Keeper is just a creepy addition to any game. This vampire doesn't create vampiric brood but rather has a group of bonded mortals in it's service.

If you like vampires this book seems like it would be an invaluable addition to any Dark Places & Demogorgons collection. Even if you don't play that game, this is a great OSR vampire book. You can definitely take stuff form this to use in B/X or Labyrinth Lord.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Zombie Hack (EXTRA BLOODY MCDEVITT COVER)
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2018 11:53:15

The Zombie Hack is another adaptation of The Black Hack by Bloat Games.

The pdf is 38 pages counting covers, legal text, dedications/acknowledgements, and such.

The rules are a stripped version of OD&D. There are a few new rules (such as Usage Die) and some familiar thing from modern games (Advantage/Disadvantage). Players do all of the rolling. Armor is damage reduction. This also has the Bloat Games Hack variants, such as multiple advantage and disadvantage. These are the classes: Fixer, Leader, Scavenger, Slayer, Survivalist, and Tracker.

The enemies section of the book is full of the obvious... zombies!!! We're presented with rules for infection and 7 different types of zombies which do a great job emulating zombies from a variety of movies (such as Night of the Living Dead, 28 Days Later, and Return of the Living Dead). There's also a bonus pwyw zombie that you can grab here

The book ends with a short piece of in-universe fiction.

If you want a nice, simple set of rules to play a zombie game, The Zombie Hack is the game for you. It's simple, concise, and seems like a lot of blood fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Zombie Hack (EXTRA BLOODY MCDEVITT COVER)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WHITE BOX ZOMBIES Dark Elf Zombies - by request
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 10:02:30

A neat little edition to S&W White Box. Even if you don't have White Box zombies, this gives you dark elf stats for White Box, which is nifty.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WHITE BOX ZOMBIES Dark Elf Zombies - by request
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Vigilante Hack
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 10:00:23

On it's surface, The Vigilante Hack by Bloat Games seems like just another supers game. The cover is rather plain (which a thing with The Black Hack and it's alternate versions) and features a Captain America-esque woman. However, this is not a supers game. Seriously, if you turn the book over the first sentence you'll see is "THE VIGILANTE HACK IS NOT A SUPERHERO GAME."

This isn't the Spider-Man rpg. This is the Kick-Ass rpg.

The pdf is 37 pages counting covers, legal text, dedications/acknowledgements, and such. Like The Black Hack, the rules are a stripped down and stream-lined version of original D&D with a few new rules (such as Usage Die) and some familiar thing from modern games (Advantage/Disadvantage). Other than (optionally) villain damage, the players do all the dice rolling in this game. Armor doesn't make a character hard to hit, it reduces damage. While I don't really want to use the original Black Hack to game because that's now how I want to D&D, these rule modifications make for excellent non-powered vigilante play. There are a few different ways to play the game. For example, damage can be determined by class or by weapon. Also, there is a nice house rule about advantage and disadvantage.

You might be wondering about characters in this game. As mentioned they're regular folks that have no powers. They can choose from several classes though. Here are those classes (with comic book examples).

Archer - Green Arrow Dark Avenger - Batman Martial Artist - Elektra Mercenary - Deathstroke Protégé - Nightwing True Vigilante - Kick-Ass

The book then gives a page of goons, mooks, and thugs with relevant stats. Because of the simplicity of the system these are super light. After this we get some named villains. These are presented with HD, backstories, weapons of choice, and other useful info. A few have other abilities and one or two are something more (or less than human). These villains feel like Batman villains and that works just fine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Vigilante Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A CITY FULL OF SINNERS - Game Master's Guide for The Vigilante Hack
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 09:59:19

A City Full of Sinners is the game master's guide for The Vigilante Hack. It's roughly the same size as the core book. While you don't need it to run a game using the hack, it's a damn fine book that's really useful.

The book starts with a discussion of city building and dice drops. This is followed by a brief description of Dreamsend, the worst neighborhood in the corrupt Apollo City. The book then presents a drop table and several pages of tables. These let you decide what buildings are in the neighborhood, then give you unique aspects of the buildings, denizens, and activities. There's also a handy little worksheet to go along with it. This is followed by an instant street gang drop table and a useful random villain generator.

The book has things for the players too. There are some nice kits that make vigilante work a lot easier. There are also rules for utility belts and additional equipment. The most important thing on this list is boomerang, because now I can alter the Archer class and make a heroic Captain Boomerang (that has trick boomerangs instead of arrows). There are also some gadget rules, which makes sense because many non-powered vigilante aren't much without their toys. These equipment rules are all optional. This is followed by vehicle rules, including things you can use to pimp your ride. The Vigilante Hack is a dark game and there's discussion of drugs, as well as some super drugs (primarily named after comic book heroes). This includes simple addiction rules. Since vigilantes are street level there's a page discussing contacts, which is a wonderful addition.

Finally there's a one page adventure for 1st level characters which is followed by a 3rd level Martial Artist that can bail the party out if they get in over their heads.

If you play The Vigilante Hack, you definitely need to pick this up. Actually if you play any gritty modern games, I think this is a useful book to have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A CITY FULL OF SINNERS - Game Master's Guide for The Vigilante Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates