DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Aquilae: Arvadarre Gazetteer
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2022 12:53:40

i have the full gazeteer which is incredible, this is just 1 of the countries in that. Gives a good feel for the full book because its the full whole section from the big book, nothing missing.

you may not wanna run an aquilae campaign but just the layout and thoughts of this one country help me plan my own world i wanna make someday.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aquilae: Arvadarre Gazetteer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm Abridged, Vol 1 (5E/Fifth Edition)
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2022 22:28:27

One star is lost for what seem to be simple editing issues. Misspellings ("solider" for "soldier"; "Golaith" for "Goliath") are just frequent enough to be notable. Meanwhile, some information seems incorrect (a young blue dragon is bigger than an adult blue dragon, and deadlier than an ancient blue dragon) or missing (the only age of black dragon provided is adult, while every other traditional metallic and chromatic dragon has listings for young, adult, and ancient).

That said:

If you're looking for a monster resource that is pure crunch, you will not do better than this. If you're looking for a monster resource that helps guide you to how a monster should be run, you will only do better than this if you also have the FlexAI Guidebook. This book assigns much-needed combat roles (lurker, skirmisher, elite, brute, etc.) to monsters, helping you design and run encounters that are more than pounding on a bag of hit points.

In conjunction with the FlexAI Guidebook, the monsters can almost literally run themselves in a plausible way. Obviously, a decent DM will do a better job than a collection of tables and die rolls - but the collection of tables and die rolls provides a "baseline" behavior for monsters that is interesting and more sophisticated than "it attacks" for the DM to fall back on.

The quadded statblocks do a pretty good job of scaling monsters to keep them relevant throughout more of an adventuring career - being guided by them is at least as good as being guided by the official monster challenge ratings or the CR formula for homebrew monsters.

Again, of course, the provided scaling will not do a better job than a good DM will of tailoring monsters, but like the FlexAI system, it provides a workable baseline.

What these mean is that the DM can spend less time choosing or buffing mooks, and more time tailoring the "hero" monsters. The DM can spend less time trying to decide if bugbear #4 is smart enough to attack the caster, and more time making sure the important monsters are playing smart and true to type.

Do note that when I say pure crunch, I mean it. Very little space is used to provide art, and no space is used to give background, lore, social/cultural, or behavioral details of the monsters. If you're looking for mythos, you won't find it here. But that's entirely fine, because you can get all of that for these monsters elsewhere, even assuming you don't have your own version of those things for your world already.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm Abridged, Vol 1 (5E/Fifth Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aquilae: Western Realm Gazetteer
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2022 08:31:57

insane. all of infiniums stuff is crazy but this might be the most. description says 21 gazeteerrs in one and thats true, big booklength section on each country. I could use this for years. Disapointed i have to wait for the adventure book for even more detail about the points of intrest but itll be worth the wait thats for sure. Im not planning on running aquilae but ill mine this for years to add to my own campaign setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aquilae: Western Realm Gazetteer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Obelisk 1: Berinncorte: Players' Guide (Unisystem)
by Lucas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2022 19:03:12

Broke my TTRPG cherry with this book and I have to say, I was somewhat spoiled. The world that is sewn into Berinncorte makes even a nervous, slightly embarrassed first-timer comfortable enough to get into it, and fast. In no time, you will be wondering what the linkage is between the creepy apothecary and the noble sellswordess. This book provides all the relevant details you need to have an immersive experience, regardless of if your GM is using a map generator or TotM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Obelisk 1: Berinncorte: Players' Guide (Unisystem)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FlexTale Environmental Encounters (system-neutral)
by Lucas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2022 18:59:01

Busy DM's, take heed! If you are looking for a way to quickly and easily get the intrigue and surprise to develop (or maim) your PC's, this is it. This book reduces the need to keep the creativity dial turned up to 11 all the time. Infinium Game Studio puts out another great product to allow you to focus on the details of an encounter specific to your PCs, rather than whether it should be 1d3 kobolds or scorpions in the desert.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Environmental Encounters (system-neutral)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aquilae: Western Realm Atlas
by Lucas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2022 18:46:04

Still incredible! The amount of detail going into this is second to none. Temperature, altitude, factions, poitns of interest, and so much more. Everything you need to construct a defined, but very open world to your whimsical pleasure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aquilae: Western Realm Atlas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FlexTale Environmental Encounters (system-neutral)
by Matthew O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2022 13:08:38

Yet another great product from Infinium that should be in every DM's library. Give yourself a break in preparation and allow yourself to focus on the big stuff, as this will help offload random encounter content to a talented writer who does the heavy lifting. Makes travel between cities exciting and interesting providing random encounters with depth and meaning and impact. Very easy to tailor to whatever setting and context you need. Highly reccomened!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Environmental Encounters (system-neutral)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FlexTale Environmental Encounters (system-neutral)
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2022 09:10:15

Once again Infinum Game studios is revolutionizing the DM's toolbox. This is so comprehensive, by region, environment, condition, never be at a loss for how to make "rest" exciting again! This is such a great resource & each of the options can help build your story line as a DM. Love some of the more unique encounters, like Stranded Aventurer, Wandering Cartographer, or Lava Burst. Each encounter is unique and each one is certianly written with extreme care. The Flavor text and DM text provided gives great context and guidance to work from. Love this studio and they continue to delvier excellent content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aquilae: Western Realm Atlas
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2022 08:49:06

Absolutely incredible! Almsot 400 Pages of extremely detailed High Resolution Maps. I'm immediately sending this link to our forever DM. This is legitimately enough map content to provide land overview maps for a lifetime of adventure sessions. The detail is staggering. I also love the naming conventions of points of interest, towns, etc. They're all unique. I think the coolest part is that the individual regions and locations can absolutely be played independantly, OR a smart DM could use this to stick together individual campaigns/adventures into a super one by tying the locales together with the "global" map.

Awesome product once again from this author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aquilae: Western Realm Atlas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aquilae: Western Realm Atlas
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2022 14:47:32

igs stuff is crazy detailed but this is insane even by igs standards. i could use this for a decade and still keep going with stuff.

the one thing is its just maps no adventures or stuff but thats ok theres another book coming with that stuff i think and i cant wait for that.

i dont use aquilae the igs realm but these maps are so detailed and nice im gonna totally use them in my homebrew. sure beats drawing all of this crazy detail myself!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aquilae: Western Realm Atlas
by Matthew O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2022 09:56:57

This is a HUGE atlas of insanely detailed maps. Author produces some of the most useful DM and Solo adventuring material and the Western Realm Atlas is no exception. Even though it's for this homebrew realm of Aquilae, the maps are so detailed and nice looking that you can drop them right into whatever fantasy game setting you are playing without any issues. Highly reccomended for any DM looking help speed up prep sessions and provide top notch player immersion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit (multisystem: Pathfinder, P2E, 5E, OSR, DCC)
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2022 20:04:31

At first I sided with the reviewers that were overwhelmed and pondered why on earth this many tables and sub systems could be needed. Then I slowed down, read entries that interested me, then read more and I realized this is an incredibly well thought out toolkit for more solo RPG situations than you can imagine. That's why it is a five star product. This isn't meant to be an oracle, you can use Mythic, the Encounter Buiilding Decision Deck or my favorite, The Gamemasters Apprntice for that. This massive book is meant to be your go to for thins like "What does the Big Bad Guy do next?" or "How soon do we need to leave on this quest before it's too late?". There's also a section on how to alter the rules of your favorite system to optimize play. In summary, this is a solid encyclopedia for solo play. If you want something more focused I recommend the Flex AI Guidebook that centers on monster/NPC actions and is excellent or the also excellent Flex Encounters sourcebook.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit (multisystem: Pathfinder, P2E, 5E, OSR, DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit (multisystem: Pathfinder, P2E, 5E, OSR, DCC)
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2022 14:22:56

The Green Hack SRD (free/pay what you want at DriveThruRPG) is a 25 page fantasy RPG. The game designer started with the Black Hack rules and created his own version (He did a great job). I rolled up five characters. To solo this, I used The FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit.

So, on the first day in the dungeon, the adventuring group had to deal with a puzzle, a tripping hazard, and then a lightning trap. This trap killed Sheena the conjurer. After this, they exited the dungeon, buried Sheena, and then went back to the inn (and recruited another conjurer). On the second day, they fought a manes demon, recruited a fighter they found in the dungeon, and killed some kobolds. The team was damaged again, had only found one gold piece, so they retreated and spent the night in a barn. On the third day, they found another trap, a slippery obstacle, and more kobolds. This time they found a total of 13 gold pieces. They were wounded and headed back to town, but ran into a group of deranged bandits. The team won the battle but were disgusted when it was discovered that the bandits did not have one coin on them. They then made it back to the inn for a good nights sleep. Give this a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit (multisystem: Pathfinder, P2E, 5E, OSR, DCC)
by John B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2021 11:07:39

I appreciate that a LOT of work has gone in to this publication but I cannot see how this level of complexity would ever be something I can use in a solo game. There are some great solo products on Drivethrurpg but for me this is not one of them. It appears to be pages and pages and pages of explaining new systems to use in your game - new experience systems, new handicapping systems and so on but with little context of why this is a better way of doing these things than the core rules you are already using in your game. The text is constantly referring to other products in the same system despite being almost 600 pages long is not actually the complete thing. Why is this all needed instead of a decent Oracle and some keywords? One of the main issues with solo play is stopping the game flow to look up rules which can break the immersion and all of these systems (using a mass of icons) just add layers of this intrusion to the game.The design and layout is confusingly busy full of solid colour blocks and is really tough to use. The sheer amount of "stuff" in here is just overwhelming. Example : Table 650 : D12 table to generate month between January - December.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi John--Thanks for your feedback! I'd summarize by basically pointing out that the reasons this book didn't seem to work for you is ironically kind of the reason it exists, in a way. :) If you're looking for a simple five-page book of "Yes/No/Yes But Also" tables in the vein of oracles, those are plentiful already, and I'd encourage you to explore the many established booklets in that space. That's not this book, for sure! Nor does it pretend to be that. I know that many solo players enjoy those sorts of tools, but they've never really helped much for me, or if they have, they've only just barely scratched the surface of what it is to truly replace a DM and group of players in a traditional gaming table. In terms of the new rules and systems in this book, there's nothing to say that they're necessarily *better* than the rules system of your choice. They're there as options. Mix and match and choose whichever combination of elements and changes you wish--it's your solo game, after all! The reason they're there, other than simply offering more choices and options and tweaks, is because solo play tends to be harder, fundamentally, than traditional play, especially if you use OPOC (one player, one character). I can well appreciate that it's easy to overlook things in a 600+ page book, but this is discussed in the intro to those sections. Other IGS books are referenced because, even at 600 pages, not everything can fit into a single book. Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm is six separate volumes, totaling more than 3,500 pages. FlexAI Guidebook is over 400 pages. And the upcoming FlexTale Encounter Generator books will each weigh in at several hundred pages. This book was designed to be a one-stop shop, complete in and of itself, for pretty much any possible thing you might want or need to run a solo game. It goes far, far beyond that, and includes tons of options that are immensely useful in a traditional game setting as well. Do you *need* all of that? Good lord, no. Here at IGS, we tend to err on the side of overkill--we even have a DMs Guild book with literally that word as a suffix. I write the kind of books that I myself as a massive collector of RPG books enjoy buying and using. Your tastes, needs, and preferences might very well differ. From your reaction, it looks as though this book isn't for you, and of course that's okay. Thanks for posting your thoughts--because maybe there's another potential customer who is looking for a simple 5-page oracle book, who won't accidentally buy a 600+ page in-depth host of over a thousand unprecedented and useful tools for dynamic rewards and penalties, generating infinite dynamic quests, and so on. :) That's meant completely honestly with no snark or sarcasm; some people want something quick and cursory, and that's totally great. Onward!
FlexTale Environmental Encounters (system-neutral)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2021 12:06:49

might be the smallest infinium book ever. still awesome tho. tons of stuff to do on the road. not a lot of monsters but i have lots of lists of those already.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Environmental Encounters (system-neutral)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 90 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates