DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Expanded World Generation
by Nathaniel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 02:52:28

the product is of very good quality, and I greatly appreciate being able to make more "realistic" worlds with temperatures, atmospheres, and biospheres that are more cohesive with one anothee. The additional tech level and population tables are honestly far more helpful than they may seem at first glance. I do have a few issues with the guide, though.

1) no temps for "Inert gas" atmosphere. While it certainly isn't a deal-breaker, it does leave me guessing on how to make a realistic world of that type. 2) The Temperature table is missing the 12 row. For the die rolls on the temperature table, it lists 2 through 11 without a 12 row. Again, not a deal-breaker but does make me wonder if it was a mistake or intentional 3) World Tags. The new tags aren't bad, but they can be a bit vague. "Strange Custom" and "Taboo" are prime examples. These tags are good, but the world tags are usually meant to take guesswork on how to put two and two together out and let the GM focus on building the rest of the world.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Expanded World Generation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sword of Cepheus
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2020 13:32:37

This is one of the best " Classic Swords and Sorcery" games around. It is more of a "Conan" feel than standard fantasy feel. Magic is dark and dangerous. The game has many optional rules listed throughout the book to offer various way to scale your game for your needs. Hoping for some published adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sword of Cepheus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Belting
by Ernest B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2020 10:29:37

This is an excellent suppliment for Traveller/CE, going into slightly more depth about belting than the standard rules, while not being too bogged down in details. (if you want more, check out this publisher's URANIUM FEVER file) The tables are helpful and the price is perfect. Stellagama Publishing is great value for the money if you are an old-school SF roleplayer who loves Traveller.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Belting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much!
Cepheus Light
by Gerald M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2020 04:19:31

Cepheus Light is an exceptional compact simplistsic version of the Cepheus Engine OGL RPG. Hands down I like this version very much. It makes many gaming apsects simple and easy. The book has excellent straight up examples to how certain aspects of the game work and flow. Eliminating most cascade skills into smart general categories making other skills incorporate a larger range of abilities, giving guns simple range statistics with each gun. Making personal combat extremely simple and well orchestrated. Simple Starship and smallcraft design rules. Space combat feels almost like familiar older traditional science fiction 2D6 games we are all familiar with. I like the added cybernetics and robots. Also a couple of Alien races. Cepheus Light is a book I highly recommend. If you want a very functional slimmed down version of a 2D6 OGL Science Fiction game this book is a must!!!

Great work!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cepheus Light
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much!
Cepheus Light
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2019 12:06:24

A very effective edit of the core Cepheus rules set. I appreciated many of the choices made to streamline game play, particularly regarding the skill list, vehicle combat, and ship design. It's very close to how I've played Traveller since the LBBs. Would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uranium Fever
by Christoph L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2019 17:05:31

You want to relax in a belt an watch valuable rocks flying by? Then Uranium Fever (UF) is the wrong expansion for you. Why? Sit down and listen... eh read ;)

Sorry if my english is bad. I hope it is good enough to understand ;) I'm new to Pen&Paper RPGs. I started with Cepheus Engine (CE) because the SRD is for free but I like it so much, that I bought a few expansions. Also I'm playing solo. In other games I always liked it to mining ressources. So why not doing that in CE? That's why I'm playing UF. Generally UF is a very nice addition to CE and easy to understand. I found a typo and one table in the rulebook was not clear to me. I wrote a comment at the UF page and Omer from Stellagama Publishing responded very fast to my questions. They will resolve the typo in the next version and the table is now clear to me. All thumbs up for good customer service of Stellagama Publishing. But how is UF playing? I will write down my experiences for you:

First I setup a character for Belting in my own universe. The goal of this character is to become a rich man with a large fleet of ships mining the only belt in this system. So I created a small ship for belting, hired a crew and TADA I'm in the belt and start trying to get rich. Oh i waited 1 year until my ship was finished... In the belt I tried to find some valuable rocks. Damn that takes so much time. But first shot and I found an alien artifact. So much luck, I was motivated and sell it for a good price. First expenses were assured and my life was easier. I used the money to improve my ship and started a second run into the belt. I searched very long for something valuable. Finally I found something very small of not that much worth. I continued my search and it takes a lot of time again. Then I had luck again. I found a small rock of about 200 diameters. I scanned it properly and it was a very strange rock. I will sell this information to the same person I sold the artifact before. But it's risky. The leader of my homeworld is a dictator and Government is strict. So nobody knows if I will be able to sell it without getting arrested ore worse... What my character doesn't know at this point ist that the rock he found is an egg of a Solardragon. One of this kind has triggered a large breakdown ages ago. Nobody remember that today but a small secret society...

Belting isn't boring because it is hard work. The chance to find something very unusual seems quite high. I haven't searched for adventure but I found it. Now I'm into it with characters who are not able to fight. If I ever get into a fight it will get worse. But who knows what will happen? I like that and UF guided me into it. That's the best point of UF.

I recommend you to use UF for getting into adventure. There are plenty of chances to get involved. Random encounters, special finding while Belting, trying to sell special finds at a planet with strict government, etc. Like always playing such games as CE: It is up to you making something exciting out of it. UF is supporting you with a very nice framework of getting into it ;)

Good work Stellagama Publishing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uranium Fever
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your excellent review!
Piracy and Privateering
by Brian V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 12:55:15

This is good stuff, written with care to be useful for a broad range of space opera role-playing games.

Pirates are adventurers, by definition, and space opera often includes space pirates, so I've wondered why there isn't more material that directly addresses space piracy as the premise for a campaign. This starts to fill that gap.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Piracy and Privateering
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kind words!
Cepheus: Faster Than Light!
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2019 21:22:32

As I'm sure most people reading this will know, Cepheus Light is a simplified version of the Cepheus Engine sci fi rpg, based on the classic Three Black Booklets of the first well known space based rpg. This Faster Than Light version contains the basic rules for character creation, mustering out and benefits, equipment and the money system including weapons. Rules for ground, air and spaceship movement and combat. There are example ships with stats. As such, it's not the whole game. But it doesn't claim to be and wasn't designed to be. So, how useful is it? The answer is, very useful, within it's scope. It is clearly written, concise and for someone who knows their way around an rpg, sensibly laid out. How would you use it? I can see two main uses straight away: firstly as a quick reference book for referee and players at the table. You could even give copies to the players before the game if they've not played before. Secondly, if you as a referee are familiar with the genre and are happy to create your own material, you don't need pages and pages on world building or detailed table top spaceship combat rules. You could hack these up yourself. Or, with relative ease you could use source books from other games to give you campaign material. One would only need to adjust the money system and assign equivalent tech levels to do this. In fact, that's probably what I will do for a few games and see how it goes. I gave it five stars because anything else would be churlish. If I do have a quibble, it's only with the lack of artwork. But then, thinking of the game's ancestors, those little black books where just a wall of text weren't they?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cepheus: Faster Than Light!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cepheus: Faster Than Light!
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2019 22:02:40

Pretty much everything available to run an scenario with a group of mates, some beers and some nibbles. The full CE:SRD or CE: Lght rules sets are available for those wanting to run campaigns within a fuller setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review!
Cepheus: Faster Than Light!
by David J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2019 07:33:13

It's free, it's stripped down to the essentials of sci-fi roleplaying, and it's concise. This is a framework--there's no DM advice, and a great deal of the roleplaying elements are left up to the referee to make up (trading, for example, as a previous reviewer has mentioned)....and that's 100% OK. If you need something weightier, get Cepheus Light or the full-blown version.

You really can't complain about a free product that simply and effectively does exactly what it advertises....and best of all, no death at character creation. ;)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! Oh, and you CAN die in character creation. That what happens when you fail a survival roll. ;-)
Cepheus: Faster Than Light!
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2019 01:17:34

Cepheus: Faster Than Light is just about all you'd need to play, but it lacks a few things you'd need to run the game. There is nothing on planet/system building, building your own ships or vehicles or trade. However, that's not a problam though as Cepheus Light is also "pay what you want", available here and that adds everything else you'd need!

I will add one nit-pick, though, and that is the lack of a Trader/Broker skill in both of Omer's Light versions of Cepheus. I typically run Merchant campaigns or, at least, the PC's are having to "do trade" to keep their heads above water and make their ship payments. :) I've decided that I'm going to add it myself at 1/2 the number of terms a character was in the Merchant career...1 term = Trader-0, 2 or 3 terms = Trader-1, 4-5 terms = Trader-2, etc. I know Omer included other skills for the find cargo / negotiate price routine, but I want something specific and I'm going to let the Trader skill replace any of the other skills used for Trading. This is just a nit-pick, though, as using Liasion/Streetwise/Admin/Carousing/Int/Soc would get the job done.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! Indeed, for running the game, you will be well served by getting Cepheus Light. As for trading, I felt that it was context-dependent; the skill depends on what you trade and with whom. Trading with a corporation will use Admin, as you'll have to negotiate a proper contract. Unless you close the deal with their CEO over a cocktail or at the gambling table, in which case it will be Carousing. Black marketeering uses Streetwise. In most other cases, you use Liaison. Oh, and Deception can be handy, too, in some "niche" cases :-)
TSAO: These Stars Are Ours!
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2018 23:23:38

I want more. Not in a bad way. This product leaves me hungry for more of this setting. Don't worry this is a complete, albeit in broad strokes, setting. Plenty of room for adventures in a campaign setting set almost immediately following a war between humans and reticulans. The reticulan masters have been overthrown and other alien races have been liberated. Alien allies and villians populate the setting as well as humanity. Plenty of setting material screams to be used in adventures. There are the typical typos when you have a small publisher, but nothing egregious. Rules are well organized. Overall a solid buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TSAO: These Stars Are Ours!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Variant Psionics for the Cepheus Engine
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2018 23:15:41

This is an excellent product for those used to systems powered by a resource (mana points, magic points, etc). Pump in the PSI points and the effect happens. This book gives a lot of great ideas for any 2d6 game. However, it really shines when used with "These Stars Are Ours". This helps to make the Reticulans truly insidious.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Variant Psionics for the Cepheus Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cybernetics for the Cepheus Engine
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2018 23:11:18

Great material for an unbeatable price. This will get you chrome heads thinking.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cybernetics for the Cepheus Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Uranium Fever
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2018 02:39:53

I’ve always been a sucker for mining, perhaps because of all those hours I spent playing Eve Online digging out Veldspar and Scordite and trying to find a nice load of Golden Omber so that I could upgrade my mining ship … and mining should make a great solo past-time. Uranium Fever provides you with all the essentials for a game of space mining; initially the book describes asteroid mining in the context of Stellagama’s These Stars Are Ours! setting, and there are ideas there for use in any SF setting. I particularly like the miner’s slang table. Neat! To add variety Stellagama has provided three variant careers for miners, the interdependent miner, the corporate miner and the planetary miner. The event and mishap tables are full of flavor and gaming hooks.

The meat of the book is composed of the prospecting and mining rules, and these are made up of dice roll ‘chains’ that eventually lead the player to an asteroid of ‘X’ value that he can mine. Earlier, when I said the Uranium Fever provides ‘the essentials for a game of space mining’ I sort of meant it, this is a ‘game’ in itself that could easily be played solo, the characters trying to locate and exploit bigger and higher yield rocks. Just as free traders chase the next speculative cargo, these miners are searching for that rock full of radioactives. But of course that is the problem, too … few gaming groups want to mine asteroids in every session – there has to be adventure too! Just as Marc Miller envisaged that speculative trade and the life of a free trader should serve merely as a vehicle for adventure, Uranium Fever should be used in much the same vein. ‘What can happen while we are mining?’ ‘What will we really find?’. Alien artifacts, pirate bases, lost shuttles, abandoned cargoes, fugitives from justice, wrecked battlecruisers … the genre is filled with exciting plot elements that sit ‘out there’ in the asteroids waiting to be found. Traveller itself based two of its adventures around such a situation, Adventure 1: The Kinunir and Adventure 6: Expedition to Zhodane. And let’s not forget that the TV show The Expanse opened with the ice mining ship Canterbury responding to a distress call in the asteroid belt…

Buried in the asteroid mining mechanics is a great section on the legalities and processes, including claim beacons, reporting claims, claim jumping and selling claims on to bigger corporate outfits. Rounding off the book are three small mining ships suitable for a little group of mining characters, the 10-ton gig (a shuttle), the 100-ton Prospector and the 600-ton Miner. These designs come with great deckplans, and are purposefully designed to resemble the ‘low-tech’ spacecraft that you see in The Expanse; perfect designs for my own settings in fact.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uranium Fever
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates