DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
In the Heart of the Sea - A Procedural High Seas 'Hex Crawl’
by Dave [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2023 08:49:14

Simple, straightforward set of rules that I could grab half an hour before game time and use to resolve a search for a mysterious island. The rules for weather, and precipitation are very straightforward and the encounters are simple but offer plenty of examples to get the GM's creative juices flowing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Heart of the Sea - A Procedural High Seas 'Hex Crawl’
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Carapace - Expanded Art Version
by Sarah M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2023 02:08:18

Love this! When I solo'd this, I started out at the entrance to the ant mound (I didn't much care to deal with the town or travelling to there).

Using the Hex Flower exploration (haven't tried the Point Crawl or the Labyrinth Move Zone Crawl methods yet), I rolled 8 rooms (gaining and spending one Recon along the way) to get to the queen room. I had a blast abstracting the map! I enjoyed rolling to find out what the rooms were like (size, shape, and notable feature), and where I was in relation to the Hunter.

I appreciate the beastiary being multisystem (1e, OSE, OSRIC, 5e) with page numbers for each system for easy referance. The treasure is simple yet well done, with 3 magical items to make the game more interesting!

I will likely continue this game exploring the temple with another title: In the Heart of the Delve & Dangerous!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carapace - Expanded Art Version
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hex Flower Cookbook - an overview and some thoughts on Hex Flower Game Engines by Goblin's Henchman
by Andres R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2023 08:59:29

This is a very interesting tool for creating random events that depends on the previous ones. It takes a bit to understand properly because it's not a pure table, but easier to run than some random events tables.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Flower Cookbook - an overview and some thoughts on Hex Flower Game Engines by Goblin's Henchman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Weather Hex Flower | Random weather generation - by Goblin's Henchman
by fedinand g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2023 07:21:05

Independently, I came up with a linear scale based on Beaufort scales. I ran hex flower and it's pretty good to determine weather, but the wind speeds are left to be implied. Which is OK in 99% of cases (unless you're doing naval stuff). I think I'll make a wind speed hack for the weather hex flower, but it's a 5 stars for innovation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weather Hex Flower | Random weather generation - by Goblin's Henchman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Weather Hex Flower | Random weather generation - by Goblin's Henchman
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2023 16:50:48

Very cleaver and yet simple and clean. Love how you gave ait a "memory" of the previous action. This is a tool That will get used for sure.

I did add some funds in, I say to anyone who is getting this, give the creater something. It is worth it.

Now I just need to figure out what in game effect these different weather elements may have, if any beyond setting.

Thank You :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Face Folio
by Shannon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2022 12:25:49

Great product. The drawings are very good. The name generators help a harried DM on the run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Face Folio
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Master’s Hoard
by Aaron S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2022 18:29:39

Like so many of the offerings Goblin's Henchman has on dtrpg, this piece of work is simple, highly imaginative, useful, & costs (almost) nothing. Great stuff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Master’s Hoard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hex Flower Cookbook - an overview and some thoughts on Hex Flower Game Engines by Goblin's Henchman
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2022 18:24:56

Love the idea, I have been looking intoto creating one for Twilight:2000, Keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Flower Cookbook - an overview and some thoughts on Hex Flower Game Engines by Goblin's Henchman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks Robert! Sounds fun!! :O)
pixel_trans.gif
Grimbo Grotto - Christmas Farcical Horror Adventure
by Edwin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2021 12:53:34

I ran this as a one-off last Christmas for my regular gaming group, and we had a whale of a time! As it says in the description this is farcial - lots of scope for silly voices (and silly hats!) - but there's still some good game-play in it.

If you want something to make for an enjoyable evening over the festive season, look no further!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimbo Grotto - Christmas Farcical Horror Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Weather Hex Flower | Random weather generation - by Goblin's Henchman
by Jayme A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2021 15:45:01

This is all I could ask for in a useful GM tool. It's system neutral and works for anything from weird horror to heroic fantasy to alien planets. The icon graphics are nice, I can print it out on one sheet, and best of all I can generate realistic weather patterns in about two seconds, without consulting some big confusing chart. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weather Hex Flower | Random weather generation - by Goblin's Henchman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Glad you like it! :O)
pixel_trans.gif
Grimbo Grotto - Christmas Farcical Horror Adventure
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2020 05:58:16

Last week I soloed my way through Grimbo Grotto. It is a fun d20 adventure available at DriveThruRPG for free/pay what you want. This adventure is for a dungeon master and several players. I used a solo engine I have been testing out to solo this adventure. The RPG system I used to play it was FinalDungeon (free at DriveThru). The adventure is four pages long. It includes one map, no stat blocks, and one chart. I did make some changes to the adventure. This is how I started it – Og was attending his transfiguration class with the rest of his classmates. He was trying to transform his piece of charcoal into a piece of black licorice. Instead, he created a licorice lich (12 inches high). It immediately sent him and five of his classmates to a pocket dimension. They were in a series of interconnecting caves with several exits to the outside (mountains/snow and they were not dressed for that). - -I randomly populated it with dungeon stuff, stuff from this Grimbo Grotto adventure, and my candy monsters (jawbreaker, daffy taffy, tootsie troll, jelly baby, gummy bear). And don’t forget the atomic fireball (trap – no radiation). My characters eventually found the licorice lich and Og took him out with a magic dual. This sent them back to the classroom. The adventure ended with the class eating the jelly baby which was stuck to Mog (long story and pretty gross). . Gave this a try! -



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grimbo Grotto - Christmas Farcical Horror Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Carapace (basic version)
by Alastair M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2020 14:11:24

There's a surprising amount of material in this product. The main booklet ostensibly presents a basic adventure for a small group of 3rd to 6th level ADandD characters (or similar - the monster stats are from the ADandD Monster Manual, however), a raid on a giant ant colony causing problems for an isolated wilderness town. The material here could easily last several sessions, as there's a small wilderness area to investigate, and the vested interests of the plot-hook NPCs to get embroiled in, aside from delving into the ant nest itself. A supplementary download with the booklet provides a sheet of portraits for all the NPCs listed. These are very well-drawn, to the point where I felt I could see possible familial links just from the faces. A second optional extra item adds a fresh level of problems for the players to solve over in the ant nest, which pushes a little towards Lovecraftian horror.

However, the meat of "Carapace" is the three variant random mechanics for generating the ant colony, two of which are mapless. One of these naturally employs the hex-flower method Goblin's Henchman products are noted for. All three can be used on-the-fly, with player participation, and allow the creation of chambers of varying sizes, shapes and significant features within the nest, plus random encounters that increase in difficulty with distance into the colony. There's also a ready-reference stat-block appendix page for all the monsters, including one new monster for this set-up.

Such random-generation mechanics clearly have uses beyond just this giant insect colony setting, as the booklet's introduction notes. As the "Point Crawl" method uses schematic maps to give a 2D overview of key places and links within the colony, it can be used as a base to construct more detailed maps, should you wish. I did just that recently, by randomly creating a series of three vertical colony "slices", and then linked them up with the normal "Carapace" semi-random number of passages, before drawing the series of what had become complete maps of the 3D colony layout. Think three linked ant-farm panels, basically.

Much to explore and think about here as a GM, exactly what I want from an RPG product. Don't forget to drop the Henchman some cash if you too find it useful!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carapace (basic version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi Alastair Thanks very much for the great review. Interestingly, before I introduced the two mapless options, I did just what you suggested. I had interlinked colony "slices”. I think that is a great way to go for an extended point-crawl generated insect colony. :O)
pixel_trans.gif
In the Heart of the Delve & Dangerous - Procedural Network/Dungeon Crawling Engine
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 20:37:19

For the past few days I have soloed my way through In the Heart of the Delve Dangerous, a hex crawl tool. Now this is not your normal hexcrawl. This one page tool (which is free/pay what you want on DriveThruRPG) generates dungeon rooms/placement and then what is in that room. It has other uses too. Because my wizard and his companions had been sent to a dimension (botched spell), I was looking for a way to generate the adventure. So, I the DM call this Tarot Card World Dimension. It is a 3D world, but all characters and things are in 2D. The PCs were in the shape of a playing cards with arms and legs. On day one they started on a road. After several hours of walking, the 5,6, &7 of swords came out from behind the bushes (think tall fence). They were men-at-arms from the local castle (swords) and told us we were guilty of being spies and that we would be tried in court. My team won the battle (no one was killed) and we sent them home. On the second day they returned with the army and we were captured and taken to the castle. On the third day the sorcerer had a fling with the queen (the king was cursed by her and was now a piece of origami). The fling lasted for about 24 hours and then it fell apart. They were tried and convicted by the judge to die by guillotine. The queen said they could live for another year if they could pass her test. To wrap this up, spells were cast at test time and the King, who was back in human form, killed the queen. A portal was created for the trip out of the dimension, but not home. Great fun. Give this a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Heart of the Delve & Dangerous - Procedural Network/Dungeon Crawling Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hex Flower Cookbook - an overview and some thoughts on Hex Flower Game Engines by Goblin's Henchman
by Tim P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2020 07:38:40

I got this little guide ages ago on a recomendation but only now got round to reading it on a whim. While the writing style is a bit dry and more remeniscent of a sientific disertation rather then a "handy quick GM tool!" as we might be used to these days, it is a extremely handy tool indeed. While it might take a moment to get your head around it, the notion of a chart with effectivey 3 axis and "memmory" as the author describes it does indeed open up amazing posibilities and I would recomend all interested game designers and creative game masters to read it, remmember it, and you will find it offer a great solution to all sorts of issues.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Flower Cookbook - an overview and some thoughts on Hex Flower Game Engines by Goblin's Henchman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi Tim - Thanks for the review and I hope you get something out of this guide!
pixel_trans.gif
Simple Excel Mapper
by Anthony B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2020 15:13:50

This was a fantastic tool! It was perfect for running my very first DND game, and because it was compatiable with google sheets I could easily run it from my tablet to the tv.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Simple Excel Mapper
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates