DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $
 Publisher















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
2 Post-apocalyptic Maps/ The high school and the steakhouse + 41 Vehicles
by Richard [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2024 15:17:13

Absolutely amazing maps. but the true value for this release is the 3D views it includes for each location. If your players look at a map, and immediately start planning strategy, this is a new tool for the GM.

With a 3D view of the area, a GM can give the players a view of an area, without the map grids, or overhead view that can lead to what I call "combat pre-planning". These views will allow your players to begin to rely more on communication with each other and the gm, and less on measuring distance and planning AOE for spells.

This pack contains multiple detailed 3D views of areas within the building, and each view and map can tell a story in and of itself. GM's purchasing this will find new ideas, and players may well begin a side-quest based on items within the artwork alone.

This is a purchase well worth the cost, and a valuable addition to any GM's toolbox!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2 Post-apocalyptic Maps/ The high school and the steakhouse + 41 Vehicles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Post Apocalyptic Giant ''GM STARTER PACK''
by Iger T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2023 19:38:50

This was a mixed bag for me. The post-apo assest and tokens they offer - fantastic! 5 stars! They are plenty and they are different. The 6 maps that came with it... 3 starts at best. They are beautiful and set the mood, but are very limited in how they can be utilized. It's a map of just a small house, or just a corner of a highway, or just a military base full of sand. There are all these fine details in the maps, but there isn't much you can do with it. Aside from the map of just a house, the buildings all have roof, so they cant be utilized for play. They're just a scenery or obstacles. I was hoping that at least Basecamp would have some "camp" to play in, but it's just a front of the building (not even the whole thing) and even that has a roof on it. For a price of $15 i got it - totally worth every penny simply for assets and tokens. You get zombies, a couple of heroes, broken cars, working cars, debris of every accord - you can really fill up a map (a map you buy somewhere else). A full price of $39.95? ehhh i think there are better options.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Post Apocalyptic Giant ''GM STARTER PACK''
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Art Pack For RPG Maps. Over 500 Objects !!!
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2023 08:44:32

Kindly ignore the other review of this product. As ALWAYS, all assets from Map Alchemists are absolutely TOP notch. You literally CAN NOT find higher quality assets, as these are 3d rendered! That is why some of them have a "slightly different quality of lighting" as mentioned in the other review. They really are THAT good!

This particular pack stemmed from a kickstarter. Yes, it is mostly an expansion pack. Steve has a PLETHORA of item packs you can grab, and these days he adds dozens of items in with pretty much every map he releases. So, YEAH.. you can pick up dozens of beds and dressers and boxes in his assunrdy packs.

THIS pack might be more for rounding out and polishing off your assets to put on your maps. It's still a defeinite must have. If you already HAVE 3 dozen bads and 42 boxes, then you probably NEED 500 assundry doo-dads and hard to find items to polish off a haunted manor or a pirate cave.. or whatever.

Giving this pack a low review because it doesn't have the assets you want it to have in it.. is like blaming a sppon for making you fat. Shame on the other reviewer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art Pack For RPG Maps.  Over 500 Objects !!!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Joyful Goblin Inn and Tavern
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2023 14:31:12

Need a decent tavern & cellar for less than $1? Look no further!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Joyful Goblin Inn and Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk maps & art Kit
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2022 15:45:26

OK.. I don't know WHO the loser is that rated this at two stars. Pardon my French but that guy must be a couplete douche.

LOOK at all of the STUFF you get here!! You get a pile of maps, a bunch of vehicles, and a bunch of tokens. ALL of them are TOP DRAWER, and you can NOT beat the price for high quality content!

I vocarciously consume nearly every product that this author offers, because the quality is unparallelled. The author instantly addresses any issues with quality, so even IF something slips through the cracks, it's not an issue. Honestly.. you might find one or two authors out there making top-notch content, but NONE better than Map Alchemists.

..and ..come ON! This is for the Cyberpunk/Shadowrun genre. It's hard enough to find content for the setting already. WHY would anyone discourage an author presenting top quality content, at rock bottom prices, for a genre that NEEDS the attention??

I don't get it. Steve..? You're awesome! You keep doing you! :D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk maps & art Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Well I didn't see it and like you I really don't get it ...at least write something as the ''why you don't like it , not satisfied ask me for a refund, but do not rate 2 stars for no reasons at all come on. We all know it will affect the sales... seems unfair to me . And James , thanks for the huge support you are showing us, we work real hard to provide the best content we can and it's because of people like you that we can still do what we love. So big hug and thumbs up for you....for the rest , not much I can do! Steve, Map Alchemists
pixel_trans.gif
Well I didn't see it and like you I really don't get it ...at least write something as the ''why you don't like it , not satisfied ask me for a refund, but do not rate 2 stars for no reasons at all come on. We all know it will affect the sales... seems unfair to me . And James , thanks for the huge support you are showing us, we work real hard to provide the best content we can and it's because of people like you that we can still do what we love. So big hug and thumbs up for you....for the rest , not much I can do! Steve, Map Alchemists
pixel_trans.gif
2 Modern maps The Bank & Police Station for Roll 20 & Printing
by Yann P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2022 04:19:52

(Review in english below)

Deux cartes modernes d'excellente qualité. Les détails sont nombreux et on a vite envie de jouer dans un de ces environnements !

Two modern battlemaps of excellent quality. The details are numerous and one quickly wants to play in one of these environments!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2 Modern maps The Bank & Police Station for Roll 20 & Printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
9 player's and npc's house maps and art pack
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2022 15:16:48

Do any of you old-timers remember the hey-day of Dundjinni, when there were so many map assets online, you'd have to sift through them for half a day before you were satisfied you found all of the cool stuff you wanted? (For you young whipper-snappers, the Dundjinni forums were a MASSIVE treasure trove of quality assets, where artists shared items with each other, and advised each other on how to do it better. It was around for.. at least a decade.. then one day Roll20 decided to hot-link to their assets and ran their monthly bandwidth billl so far down in to the depths of hell... Well, the forum disappeared a few weeks later and never came back. Just one reason why I despise Roll20.)

ANYWAY.. These maps remind me of those Dundjinni maps.. precisely. These maps are just as good as any that came out back in the day. If you still have a pile of them laying around somewhere, GRAB these!! It's nearly impossible to find new maps in that style these days! For the rest of you, you won't find better quality semi-realistic maps to use than this style, right here! They're close enough to real that they can easily fool the human eye at times. :) If you've found semi-realistic maps or assets online that match that description.. these are the first new maps I've seen to match that level of quality in YEARS.

Bonus: One single-level cottage and two multi-level buildings come with blank floor plans, so you can build out your own settings!

Bonus Bonus: THIS pack comes with a PILE of furnishings and assets to build out your own maps! WOOT-WOOT!! To be 150% honest.. a couple of the furniture items look a bit flat if you zoom in on them too far. Here's the trick, though.. The artist is providing the assets at a resolution 6x bigger than you could use them at! You will NEVER need them that big, not even on a large format 43" TV. SO.. every piece of furniture will look utterly as close as realistic as you can possibly get in any scenario you will use them in. ..it's a non-issue. (Knowing the author though, if he reads this review, he'll go try to fix them anyway!)

HONESTLY.. Everyone with maps / assets of this style OUGHT to grab this pack JUST for the opportuinty to pick up some new assets in this style! ..and there are close to 250 of them, PLUS another 250 with shadows!

There DOES appear to be one chair and one candle missing from the official counts.. but I think that we can safely blame that on the goblins that the night watch reported sneaking around town last night. ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
9 player's and npc's house maps and art pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
3 Underdark Battle-Maps for Roll 20 and printing
by Dave F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2021 11:15:39

The Road to Underdark map: Attention to detail is fantastic. Great colors that contribute to the contour of the setting which creates dimensions. Plenty of opportunity to layer in atmospheric and terrain tokens.

Lost Pyramid Map: Great contrast between the rust colored rockface terrain and the glowing emerald gem that pulls in the viewer/player toward the pyramid entrance. Plenty of space and interesting terrain for a battle near the entrance!

Underdark Drow Attack Cavern: Once again, immaculate detail with an intriguing glowing orb that should incite some story/encounter hook ideas. Great lighting and rock formations throughout.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
3 Underdark  Battle-Maps for Roll 20 and printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
New map compendium bundle [BUNDLE]
by Joel A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2018 23:02:30

I misread the description of the bundle and thought everything was both PDF and JPEG. Most of this is PDF, but (thanks to some excellent customer support) I found that the PDFs all export very nicely to images suitable for VTT use with any of the many free tools out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New map compendium bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Art Pack For RPG Maps. Over 500 Objects !!!
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 06:50:15

This is my second review for a Map Alchemist product. Unfortunately I cannot recommend this product, and it's mostly due to price but also the assets you get vs the assets you don't get.

The assets Map Alchemist chose to bundle are some obscure, random things. I purchased this expecting to be able to populate my towns & taverns, dungeons & ruins - instead I can very nicely outfit a cemetary. There is only 1 type of bed (fancy queen sized), 1 type of armoire, and maybe a desk. Looking at the actual maps Map Alchemist produces there are literally hundreds of assets that are better, more usuable, and are higher quality. I looked at the weaponsmith map and maybe 10% of those assets are in this bundle. There are a LOT of assets, but 1/3rd of them are duplicates with only a slight color variation.

I wanted tables, chairs, shelves, rugs, beds, chests, boxes, etc. I was expecting to get a plethora of items that I have seen on Map Alchemist's maps. When I saw what I got, once again, it's probably less than 10% of what they have available. You can not outfit a tavern with what's provided - mostly because there are no chairs. There are 9 different colored coffins - all the same size & shape, but 9 colors...

I don't know what else is out there, but I'd suggest finding your assets somewhere else if you can. Perhaps these are the only ones available in which case, go right ahead, but if not I think you'll get more of what you're looking for from another seller.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Art Pack For RPG Maps.  Over 500 Objects !!!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fantasy maps all of map alchemists maps for rpg 's [BUNDLE]
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 06:32:24

Hey everyone, I recently bought the Map Alchemists map bundle. I thought it was a good deal at 1/2 off. Unfortunately for me (and this could be different from you), I'm quickly realizing this is not the direction I want to go. First and foremost, this review will be more critical and praise. It's to justify the star rating. Overall the company produced and sold what was promised. I hit buy knowing what I was getting - my feelings changed after I looked at them more closely. To me, that does not equal automatic 5 stars.

My major problems are these: 1) Some maps (most) are overpopulated with assets and items. The Mine map for example; almost every single tile has some sort of item or obstacle. There are also weapons and treasure and all sorts of things strewn about the maps. As a DM this is frustrating because players will automatically associate those with receiving some sort of award.

2) The grids are on top of all of the assets. I've seen other cartographers who put the grid layer over the terrain and assets on top of that. After this purchase I realized that was my preference. It's very distracting seeing the black lines all over the map.

3) There are no blank maps. For example, the castles, caves, mines... they all have junk in them. I bought the 500+ asset bundle in hopes that I would get blank maps to populate myself - no go. The assets are almost unusable, but I'll review that separately.

4) Cost - This, even at 1/2 price, is extremely expensive for what you get. The maps are usually 1-piece and are inflexible as far as use goes (you can use it once and it's done).

5) Art - The art looks better smaller. When it's blown up the lack of consistency in shadowing, asset placement, and the terrain becomes more apparent. I think that's a byproduct of the software &/or style and likely not the artists however.

Overall I personally regret the purchase, but for the most part these maps are what the seller says they are. shrugs 3/5 stars - average.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy maps all of map alchemists maps for rpg 's [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Joshua , thanks for the honest review here , I am very sorry that you don't like populated maps . I do understand that is not what you needed and feel sorry about you regretting your purchase . I don't really do empty maps , and I think I should, that would bring me to a totally new avenue . Creating art packs and empty maps should really go together as you said . For the grids ( I personally don't use them ) but I will consider in my future map to put them under objects and stuff. Again I apologize for the fact taht this was not what you needed and If you feel I can do something to make things better for you let me know . For the time taken for me to answer you review I am also sorry, I don't even get notified for comments and that is Why I din't know I had some questions and critique. I will now check all my products and try to figure out if they are any problems with them to make things better for all buyers. Thanks again and hope you can find things more suited for your needs ;-) Steve
pixel_trans.gif
Joshua , thanks for the honest review here , I am very sorry that you don't like populated maps . I do understand that is not what you needed and feel sorry about you regretting your purchase . I don't really do empty maps , and I think I should, that would bring me to a totally new avenue . Creating art packs and empty maps should really go together as you said . For the grids ( I personally don't use them ) but I will consider in my future map to put them under objects and stuff. Again I apologize for the fact taht this was not what you needed and If you feel I can do something to make things better for you let me know . For the time taken for me to answer you review I am also sorry, I don't even get notified for comments and that is Why I din't know I had some questions and critique. I will now check all my products and try to figure out if they are any problems with them to make things better for all buyers. Thanks again and hope you can find things more suited for your needs ;-) Steve
pixel_trans.gif
The Crow's Nest Luxurious Inn & Tavern
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 00:09:24

While I really like the look the fact that the one inch grid is actually 10ft squares and not 5 ft makes it such that these are only good to me for reference. I bought several maps from the Mad Alchemist. Once I printed them I realized the scale was way off. I left a comment but there's not been a comment on it so I'll at least leave a review so others will know. If you need it for a reference or maybe VTT it could work. If you want to print, I'd look elsewhere.

Update: Steve- thanks for the reply! If you ever increase the scale to 5 foot squares I'd be interested. The artwork is awesome, its just the scale. If hey were 2-4 pages per image instead of one we'd be perfect!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Crow's Nest Luxurious Inn & Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
IHi Stephen, I don't know why I never received a message about your review and just found out about it ! I'm terribly sorry for that . I will see if I can make another grid version of 5 feet. If I can send it to you I will . Again sorry for that !
pixel_trans.gif
The Fort
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2016 17:36:06

You don't see too many Fort maps on the market. And this one looks great too.

The only thing that would make this better would be if it included a Grid version.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fort
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Fort
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 15:49:11

A very nice rustic fort. A number of house exist. All clearly occupies as their chimnies puff smoke into the air. The attendants obviously live in the smallest and most in need to repairs. It is hard to imagine how the stay dry with the gaping hole in the roof in the back room. The local bull seems to have scared off the woodsman as there is a lrge pile of split but unstacked wood waiting to be organized. Traveling merchants display there wears in a tiny market. Their horse still hitched to the traveling wagon. A well maintained villa offers a cosy garden. The center of the fort is an ancient circle. This an the crumbling walls indicate the fort may be be from a bygone age.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Evil Librarist
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 15:35:13

Boy is this librarian living in 2 different worlds. In front you find what you would expect. Tables and desks. Books and scrolls. A nice reading area. Wall scones light the areas casting unique shadows over the unlit portions of the rooms. Lighting is very unique and interesting. In back the world turns upside down. Skulls line the wall and a throne befitting any demon worshipper. A blood red pool offers nightly opportunities for all your nightly rituals.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Evil Librarist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates