DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Front World War II RPG
by Tristan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2016 01:48:04

This is a Hack for The Black Hack, though it makes no mention of The Black Hack in any way. It is a super streamlined RPG set in World War Two. It is playable, and looks decent, but it would be nice if the publisher would mention that The Front is based on The Black Hack rules system, as that would have helped in my purchase decision.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Front World War II RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GangBusters-The Blue Book Detective Agency Beginner Game
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2016 17:11:03

At first glance, I really liked this game. I bought the PDF and liked it enough to order the print copy. I now wish I had waited until I finished reading through the game.

This is indeed Gangebusters, basicly the same as the TSR original (maybe cleaned up a little here and there) The artwork fits perfectly, the layout is clean and easy to use, and the addition of weird powers was a nice touch, though the implimentation seems a little weird to me.

My problem is this was sold as a stand alone game, and it isn't. If you don't have the original Gangebusters this game is unplayable.

I have a few other minor nitpicks, but nothing too serious.

Although they cover combat, they forgot to cover damage. On pg. 49 they mention that a .38 caliber bullet does 3d6 damage (which is incorrect), but nowhere else is there a list of weapon damage, or how to calculate damage (other than brawling)

Other than that, this game really looks promising. Fortunately I have my original TSR copy of Gangbusters, so this will ba a mostly useful addition to my collection. Once they fix this omission, this will be a 4 star review.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
GangBusters-The Blue Book Detective Agency Beginner Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Front World War II RPG
by Kyrinn E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2016 16:52:25

Full disclosure: I did not receive a comp copy, but used my own money to purchase the Lulu print, sight unseen, before buying the pdf here.

The Front Field Manual by Mark A. Hunt is a hack of The Black Hack. The system is a Roll-Under d20 based resolution method which greatly reduces the need for lengthy explanation and formulae. Everything about The Front is economical, getting the GM and Players directly into the action of adventures in a war environment, and in the specific case of World War Two. While Europe is assumed to be the centre of action, there are examples of the sorts of campaigns (and how appropriate that term is when dealing with a military RPG) one can run with The Front. Among this section are listed action in the Pacific Theatre, both from an Allied perspective, as well as indigenous peoples' fighting in resistence to Imperial Japanese ambitions. Other campaign suggestions include the Maquis across Europe, as well as more exotic fighters, on all sides of the conflict(s).

In the small framework of The Front, a great variety of information is conveyed in a very direct and approachable manner; Hunt's writing is informal, but not discursive, and each topic feels resolved when one has digested the encapsulated data. I am especially appreciative of his method of resolving short bursts and full-auto rules for SMGs and MGs. Once those two rules are understood, aircraft MGs naturally flow from that and a GM will know how to conduct air to ground fire. Expanded vehicle rules are in the works, but one section that struck me as both interesting and very useful is that during the time of the war, Jeeps are incredibly common. Further on in the text, there is an anecdote about the Officer operating the vehicle with the troops in the back, unlike Wehrmacht cars being driven by underlings. Between the sparing rules and the flavour text, The Front encourages play in the conflict depicted.

Hunt, however, expands things with both the possibility of using the rules set with modern warfare, as well as fantastical fodder, such as ghouls, werewolves, and vampires. With The Front, a GM willing to read a few articles on the Web and spring a unique setting or angle can cater to virtually any group of players. The Front is as mucha toolbox as it is a fully functional RPG.

I am rather taken with it, and its approach has made me think about other, future hacks of theis versitile game system. I highly recommend you give it a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Front World War II RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Front World War II RPG
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2016 08:55:49

Out of 48 pages, 46 are the content, including the introduction. A variety of different covers (colour) that look pretty good.

Errors: only one I've seen so far (P6: pre-war professions): it says roll d220 (I'd like to see that dice).

97% of the WWII pictures are American in source. I saw 1 French (resistance), 3 others that I believe were 1 African (desert war, possibly north Africa), 1 German, the other picture showed a group of Asian partisans. All are B&W and clear. Some pictures of the other nations might have been welcome (British, Japanese, and other nationalities perhaps), to give the players a better 'mind picture' of their players or opponents (but that, I'm guessing, would take more time and work). Players can use the internet for more pictures, etc to give them a better idea of the other nationalities involved (and there were many).

Ranks (P12) only shows American ranks, no other nationalities. Will need to Google those methinks, in case any players want ranks for British, German, etc. Weapons: Generic. No lists of the many different weapons used by the nations involved; but still good. Some weapons have a dice usage that decreases down 1 level if a 1-2 is rolled. Not bad. Page 45 give you the phonetic alphabet (good). This should certainly help the players in certain situations.

Page 3: Kilroy was here! Funny. 1 page devoted to the jeep (Willys). Other vehicles are handled generically.

Equipment (P14) is slightly covered, the list would be quite long. Twilight 2000 by GDW is one example. As for encumbrance, you could use the D&D 3.0 (p142), 3.5 (p162) or even Pathfinder (P171) if you wanted to go 'deeper' into what each soldier is carrying (rations, water, medi-packs, etc). Healing (P32), seems good. OofA I'm guessing is Out of Action?

Overall, it's quite good just as it is, or the GM and players can add more to it (equipment, etc); but that might slow the action down a bit. For £2.08/$3.00, it's definitely worth getting. Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your comments, I am working to make updates. I am working on a more detailed expanded hardback.
GangBusters-The Blue Book Detective Agency Beginner Game
by Trevor h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2016 22:14:57

I just bought and skimmed through this. The artwork is nice, and the PDF looks beautiful. I just started a call of cthulhu game this year, and my players all gravitated toward prohibition type careers. (They manufacture and sell booze. ) I bought this knowing the rules were not complete, but hoped i could get something useful to gansta up my CoC game. I think this will do nicely! I especially like the random tables for rolling up plot lines. I will certainly buy the full rules when they come available. I am interested in the criminal class as PCs. This game looks like a lot of fun. I am going to enjoy reading this 90 page intro to the game tonight! I am already thinking that it would make for good times to start with this gangbusters and work into some Lovecraftian horror later on.

If the full rules are still being written by someone who is reading this, please do not feel compelled to stick some lovecraft into the game based on my reason for purchase! I dont need anymore monsters or spells, just more of the flapper and gangster flavor!

If you are wondering if you should buy this, i suggest you do.

There is alot to play with here, and it is well done.

Trev



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GangBusters-The Blue Book Detective Agency Beginner Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GangBusters NPC Cards
by gary f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2016 12:19:47

This is the first POD product I have purchased from DriveThru. I love it! I honestly didn't know what to expect in regards to the production value of them.

The cards have the pertinent data on it for the Gangbusters game, along with a picture of the NPC on it as well.

The card stock they are printed on is the equivalent of a regular deck of playing cards. Firm, but still flexible if you wanted to shuffle them for some reason. The NPC's presented represent a wide range of levels, careers, and ethnicity. There are 18 cards total in the set.

I can't wait to use these in game!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GangBusters NPC Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GBE2 Mans Best Friend
by Will T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2015 15:38:40

Another great offering here. The module revolves around dogs but in so many interesting ways. There is so much going on here, enough in fact, to fuel an entire campaign or to add new twists and flavor to an existing one. Also there are a whole bunch of NPC stats as well as visual aids that lend everything an air of authenticity. Well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GBE2 Mans Best Friend
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Police Dispatches
by Will T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2015 18:06:56

Yet another wonderful addition to the growing collection of new additions for the venerable Gangbusters RPG. The author of these is Mark Hunt and he really knows his subject.

This is a collection of police dispatches like an old time police blotter which you can use for an existing campaign or as a starter for a new one. There is also a helpful chart where you can get some quick stats for an NPC or new character.

Excellent!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Police Dispatches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GangBusters Character sheet
by Will T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2015 17:55:48

Another fantastic offering from Mark Hunt. This character sheet is just gorgeous as you can see from the preview.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GangBusters Character sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GBM-1 Joe's Diner
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2015 08:57:31

First class job, Mark A Hunt !!! Can't wait to see what's next.

Rick Krebs



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GBM-1 Joe's Diner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GBM-1 Joe's Diner
by Will T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2015 18:30:59

This is like an early Christmas present. This is some beautiful work! Everyone within the sound of my voice: If you own Gangbusters, buy this now! If you don't own Gangbusters (and you should, It's fantastic), buy this anyways. The author really evokes the era this is set in through the writing and pictures. You can use this for a single session or an entire campaign. In any case it is worth well more than the suggested price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates