DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
36 Dramatic Situations
by Thomas V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2021 07:59:42

Useful in writing RPG adventures especially for time strapped this can spark ideas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
36 Dramatic Situations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Great Book of Random Tables
by Kristopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2021 10:20:05

This would be a decent collection of tables, IF I thought I could use them easily at the table. Unfortunately, it isn't hyperlinked for ease of navigation, which is fairly inexcusable for a reference PDF. Worse than that however is that the PDF is locked such that I cannot even manually add my own. Usability is KEY and as it currently stands, I'm likely not going to get this PDF to the table and I feel like this was money better spent elsewhere.

EDIT: Hyperlinks have been added! I'd like to be able to bookmark certain tables, but the security features that prevent editing are still in place.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Book of Random Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I added links and updated the file.
The Great Book of Random Tables
by Hh W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2021 10:26:12

After owning the composite books in pdf, I'm glad I picked this up in print! I went with standard colour because I didn't think the art would be the focus of a book of tables, but I have to say what art there is here is really well done, and definitely punches above its weight for a utility book. I'm a little sorry I didn't go for the premium option, but at nearly 40% increase in (sale) price, it's probably for the best. The border art, as thematic as it is, I'm pretty sure is there to make people think twice about printing their own copies, and comes a little close to some of the text than I'd like in places. I've been scouring my copy for defects as the POD service in the UK has been lacking in QA, but apart from the glue binding, this is as good as it gets to a perfect hardback copy.

Apart from some odd editing issues with almost every option 100 at the bottom of each page (seems to be a rogue tab character between 100 and the text), and in places the instructions to GMs could be made distinct from the flavour text, It's a wonderfully creative book to dip into when you can't quite think of a good insult, or blessing, or annoying cursed magic item. I chuckled out loud at the cursed wand of magic detection.

Between the presentation and humour, it's a book I find myself flipping through without intent, and not many books of tables make me do that.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Facility Generator
by Saif A. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 04:44:38

Ok for one buck. But out of the 7 pages, only 3 are random tables. The planetary and asteroid stuff is unfortunately useless. It is way too shallow and very few options (3 to 5 options?). The value is the Facility purpose, the current status of the facility and the malfunctions. The rest can be disregarded.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Facility Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables: Cyberpunk
by Saif A. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 04:34:53

Its OK, the big downside: I know the description mentions it, but... names take way too much of the book. 25 Pages for names, more than half of the book. There are random generators online for free. So unless you get too much stuck at coming up with names of people and corporations, and online sources are not sufficient, you may find this useful, I guess.

Stuff to find in places is just "ok", some of them give cool ideas, others are mostly fluff, the rest are not even Cyberpunk but rather modern, like a candy bar or Toothpaste. The rumors and encounters are good, most of them can serve as plot hooks.

The best: Failed hacking attempt side-effects and failure in cybernetic implants is the gem of this. For this the product is rescued.

Conclusion: I wish it had more useful stuff, like cyberpunk traps, weird technology, video feeds, security level of a building, camera set ups, drones, etc. I don't recommend it for 3 bucks but the hacking and cybernetic failures are great. Otherwise, really little of Cyberpunk, since you can find "Sunglasses" or a "Vodka Bottle" in any modern setting and there is nothing Cyberpunk on that. The items to find on a "Streetdoc" don't have anything Cyberpunk either, just rather modern clinical stuff like a pair of gloves, a smartwatch (??) or antibiotics. I was wondering whether it could have Cybernetic implant installation stuff, or future medicine stuff, remainders of implants, bioware, etc.

Maybe the author is not really into Cyberpunk? Where is the virtual reality or augmented reality stuff? :)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables: Cyberpunk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables: Modern
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2021 15:19:34

Of all of this author's products, I have probably used this one the most. I find myself running games set in the "normal" world more and more often. This is a great tool that makes filling the modern world with fun information that makes my games much more immersive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables: Modern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables: 1920s-1930s
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2021 05:53:08

This just falls short of five stars, but many because I'm being picky.

The book has a section on names, Amercian (200 female, 200 male and 200 surnames) and then British (again 400 first names, but just 100 surnames this time). It would of been nice to see this expanded to French, German and perhaps Russian and Eastern European names considering it is to support espionage and noir between the two world wars, no need for 400. I think if I was doing a list like this I'd put a little check box next to the names so I could easily tick off ones I've used.

The section on items is great, particularly "Items in a ..." to help with set dressing and descriptions.

But here comes my little picky complaint, more dates on things would be great. It first shows as an issue in the Best Selling Books, list, but is an issue on other list. The first item is "We Are Not Alone ‐ James Hilton" this was only published in 1937, so if your running a 1920's CoC game it shouldn't be about. Just adding a first published date to this list would let you know if you'ld picked something that was anachronistic so you could select something else. The author has gone to the trouble of putting dates and even costs for the Automobiles list making it much more useful in play at the table. The other lists where this information is missing means you will need to do some research of your own, so while they help with inspiration you need a bit of preparation.

The People lists (due to the lack of dates and much additional information) is probably going to be more use in preparing a scenario rather than in play. The World Leaders list particularly seems to not be very useful at all without additional information. Although the Jobs list will be great if player interrogate random NPCs a bit more in conversation.

The media list again suffers from a lack of dates, except for the Movies which are dated by year, but even better are split into 20's and 30's movies lists.

In Places there is a list of 200 Ghost Towns, which the book suggest could be used as locations of strange events, meeting places or hideouts. I think I would have liked Places chapter to perhaps include a list of small towns, or cities NPCs might have come from, a list of locations like Speakeasy names, or things like warehouses, docks, bowling allys, etc. To be more useful in play.

The Rumours section is great for some background colour, inspiration or adventure seeds.

There is also a very extensive Slang section that's a great addition to the book.

I bought it as a softcover book, and am very happy with my purchase. The book is a bargin as a PDF, and you will probably want to print out a few pages to have to hand at the table, the rest make it an invaluable resource to have during preparation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables: 1920s-1930s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The King's Road: An Epic Fantasy RPG Campaign
by Carson W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2021 13:02:51

TLDR: For a free campaign outline, it presents some compelling ideas, though it would definitely require some work on the GM's part to make for an interestingn campaign.

I feel like this is an interesting campaign outline or idea, but it has some shortcomings to consider. At the bottom is a spoiler section for some more in-depth analysis and suggestions at the bottom.

First of all, it is very, very bare-bones. It has a few ideas and descriptions for what the PCs could encounter during the campaign, and a handful of instructions towards the beginning and end, but most of it is left to the GM. This has pros and cons.

On the one hand, as long as your players have bought into the idea that they are traveling to the end of the titular King's Road, it's very simple to throw things along the path that they can encounter. It kind of serves as a soft railroad (in a good way), as the PCs are literally traveling in a roughly straight line towards their goal. Again, as long as the players are fine with reaching the end eventually, it's not a problem.

On the other hand, there's not a lot of concrete things that you might encounter, just suggestions. As a GM running this for your group, if you have a solid grasp of the system you plan to use and feel comfortable improvising or putting in the work to populate your setting with NPCs, monsters, threats, and obstacles, then it works great. But if you're newer to GMing or don't feel confident pulling threats out of your hat, avoid this until you have more experience under your belt.

Also to it's benefit is it is very system agnostic. Aside from a mention that it's intended to reach level 20 and a random piece of loot mentioned in passing, you can easily use any system you want, as there are no stats to convert.

In addition, it has an interesting hook about the setting (discussed below) that distinguishes this campaign from a lot of otherewise generic fantasy settings, although I feel like it isn't used as much in this campaign.

Spoilers Below

The setting takes place on a ring megastructure, also called a bishop ring or a Niven ring, rather than a planet. This justifies why the PCs need to travel the King's Road to their destination, rather than circumnavigate. I feel like this is an interesting idea, and could be used to tie into broader space fantasy concepts, though the outline doesn't really use or explore the idea that much.

As the campaign is intended to take several years, I feel the starting hook is not as compelling as it should be. It describes the PCs as a generic adventurer party responding to a job posting, but to take such an arduous journey, in my opinion, would need the PCs to have a much stronger personal reason for traveling the Road. Perhaps the PCs could be crusaders seeking a lost holy land, or the GM can use a plot similar to Final Fantasy X or Tales of Symphonia, where the PCs are some kind of pilgrims seeking to save the world or fulfill some grander prophecy.

While the campaign does list a final antagonistic force, it isn't encountered until the very end. A more persistent threat is something that this adventure needs.

I also feel the ending is a little lackluster, given the nature of the setting and the years-long journey it takes to reach it. The end goal should obviously tie back to the revamped start of the campaign, but should also have a heavier connection to the idea that you're on a gigantic ring that some, presumably, built. Again, that's just my opinionn on that, and your milieage may obviously vary.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The King's Road: An Epic Fantasy RPG Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

36 Dramatic Situations
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2021 12:09:09

I'm writing this review just to laugh at the idiocy of the review written by Maury B. As Jim B. mentions, THIS is a trimmed down version of a well respected treatise written in 1895. That version was intended to help playwrights generate ideas to help create good intriguing dramatic stories for stage and theater.

INTERESTINGLY, 1895 is ALSO precisely when the original American feminists started rolling up their sleeves and (rightfully) demanding fair treatment under the Constitution, as God's law dictates. THOSE feminists knew the value of being a strong female and sought to elevate femininity in general, as opposed to today's anti-feminist feminists, who've got their heads screwed on backwards and think that femininity is a curse.

The truly gut-ripping hilarious aspect of all of this, is that even if today's overly sensitive 'snowflakes' can't handle the idea of a well-centered female thoroughly enjoying the idea of being rescued by a big strong handsome knight in shiny armor... the true intention of THIS book was to stimulate your mind. If this book has offended you... then it has accomplished its goal. That is its entire purpose in existence. :D :D :D

Write some NEW story lines. ACTUALLY, before you declare yourself an official torch bearing new age playwright for the ‘woke’ generation.. I highly suggest that you study the field and human nature in general first. I’ve seen a handful of ‘woke’ RPG content coming out over the last few years, and most of it flops horribly.. not because people hate its wokeness, but because it sucks. I’ve even commented on a few of them to try to help.. but it’s kind of like trying to tell a fish how to plant potatoes.

THIS version is intended as a simple, easy and ultra-quick reference guide. If anyone actually wants to do a scholarly study on the actual content, then you really should get ahold of the original English translation and study that. Then you could make an actual informed opinion to present to the public. I'm looking at you, Maury.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
36 Dramatic Situations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The King's Road: An Epic Fantasy RPG Campaign
by Cameron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 15:14:28

To call this a campaign is a vast oversell, considering well over three quaters of the book is mostly maps presented without context or any real descriptions.

The first sixteen or so pages rough out a setting that you can mostly ignore if you're playing with an established setting, besides three pages that give you the hook for the adventure the rest of this book is all fluff without any real direction.

As a campaign book, this is very lackluster. As a setting guide, it's a start. As a contextless map booklet, it's pointless since these are all recycled FREE maps.

The only value this book holds to me is a helping hand on how I can structure my own personal setting guide.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The King's Road: An Epic Fantasy RPG Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables 4
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2021 01:02:31

I love the first three of these books, but this one is just not as good. The names are good as always, the encounters are not bad, but the rest tend to be of little general use. I don't see much need to roll up a fictional spice or a random note in a bottle. The magical and cursed items, as well as the bounties, would require significantly more development, making them better as ideas than as random tables. The song titles are just silly. There are a few gems (NPC physical descriptions in particular make a great random table), but overall this book is merely okay.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables 3
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2021 00:53:57

This book, while good, is not as good as the first two. The items and encounters tables are good, and the "Dungeon Health Side Effects" table is something I did not realize I needed until I had it. On the other hand, the food and drink tables highlight a significant weakness of all of the tables: everything is a 1 in 100 chance. There is no accounting for more and less common results. A banana or a strawberry is just as likely a fruit as a rambutan or something called a junglesop. There are a lot of very obscure things on some of these tables, and the common ones are not any more common. This reduces their value as random tables, though they still offer a lot of ideas. Overall, though, this book is still worth having.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables 2
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2021 00:47:54

Not as good as the first one, but there is still plenty here to make it worthwhile. The "Insults" table just didn't resonate with me, and the "NPC Reaction to Failed Pickpocket Attempt" table gives about 1 in 5 pickpocket marks magical powers and makes another 2 in 5 openly violent, with lots of frankly silly responses. On the other hand, the dungeon rooms, market stalls, and various items were quite good, not to mention the ever-useful town names. The reasons for a PC absence, while not necessarily useful, are very funny. I'm fine with two weak tables out of twenty-five.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2021 00:39:59

An excellent collection for adding bits of flavor to an adventure. Not every entry on every table is great, but the vast majority are quite good. The book titles are probably my favorite, but nothing is quite as helpful as a long list of names for those minor NPCs that show up rather unexpectedly just because the players have questions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables
by Adam T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2020 06:47:25

Absolutetly spectacular! Works great in conjunction with Roll20 decks and other randomization applications. That alone makes the digital version more useful than paper I think! Toatally recommend this to any GM!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I rebuilt the file and updated it. I have no idea why it would be password locked.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 109 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates