DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Terrain Guide: How to Use Wetlands, Forests, and Mountains in Fantasy Role-Playing Games
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2018 01:24:18

I liked this book for two reasons. First of all, if you think you know the various types of wetlands/forests/etc., this book might have one you have not heard of or thought of before. Second, I liked this book as a worldbuilder and gamemaster, because it offered quests and random encounter ideas for each type of terrain. I did wish it offered more random encounters and quests, with perhaps some quest tables for dice rolls. It was worth the small price of $3.99 on sale though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terrain Guide: How to Use Wetlands, Forests, and Mountains  in Fantasy Role-Playing Games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2018 14:13:28

This is great for "instant flavor" or, as I saw in a YouTube video, even as a plot starter. "You find a room with X, Y, and Z in it..." -- it provokes the curiosity. A very handy collection of useful tables.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mountains
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2018 14:10:58

I'm not sure what I was expecting, but after reading through it, I feel like I could have gotten much of this information from National Geographic or web searches. I'm trying to think back at the time I purchased it v. when I tried to use it as a resource -- perhaps I was looking for more suggestions of settlements and full-page scenes.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mountains
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

50 Fantasy Catastrophes - 1D100 Table
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2018 12:50:35

It isn't bad. It isn't really a d100 chart though. It has 50 events that can be rolled twice basically. That isn't to say that it isn't a bad thing but don't expect 100.

I like most of them but some of them are a bit too setting specific. I won't encounter a tsunami in the mountains for example. Of course, you could just roll again though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fantasy Catastrophes - 1D100 Table
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables: Science Fiction
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2018 13:24:12

There where more just random name tables then I expected. It was not really what I was looking for. The job tables and Encounter tables feelt light in a way. Would want it to be more filled out tables with twists and not just a straight message about "Stage a Coup". It would have been a better book if all the table was more like the Illegal Drug tables.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables: Science Fiction
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

36 Dramatic Situations
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2018 23:21:36

This is a copy-and-paste job on the century-old English translation, except it's just the headings. The one-page introduction slapped onto this version can be summed up as "Pick one of these situations." This document adds nothing to the original.

Do a web search for Georges Polti Thirty Six Dramatic Situations and you'll find the full text. Reading a 100-year-old English translation of a 19th-century French work about classic (mostly Greek or French) literature can still present some challenges, but at least you'll have the full text if you want to read more.

Your web search should also turn up articles that will help you put the "36 Dramatic Situations" to use, although generally from a fiction writer's perspective, not from an RPG perspective.

Whichever source you use, keep in mind that these are situations, not plot outlines. Suppose you go with the sixteenth situation ("Madness"). You find that you need a Madman and a Victim. Suppose you pick variant B ("Disgrace Brought Upon Oneself Through Madness"). In this stripped-down version, that's all you get. If you use the full text, you'll get Polti's discussion of the topic, but it's still not going to help you with inciting incidents, plot points, encounters, or possible goals.

If you can run with "Madness" and "Disgrace Brought Upon Oneself Through Madness," this document may be enough for you. If you want to get more understanding of what Polti meant by those things, dig up the full text. If you want more help and inspiration to turn this seed into a fun adventure, neither this document nor the full text are enough.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
36 Dramatic Situations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Items on an Adventurer’s Dead Body
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2018 16:51:06

I want to know who this adventuer was. It must have been rich and OP as hell.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Items on an Adventurer’s Dead Body
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Items in a Bandit Hideout
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2018 16:41:40

Its an okay list. It seems more like just a random list of mundane stuff without the bandit concept but it is still a good list. I wish it was easier to print onto one page.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Items in a Bandit Hideout
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gemstones - Three 1D100 Tables
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2018 16:35:50

Its just a list of gem names... Not easy to print and not useful in terms of giving stuff away considering I have no idea how much value they have.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Gemstones - Three 1D100 Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Warehouse - 1D100
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2018 16:34:27

I wish it was easier to print. Otherwise it is a good list.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Warehouse - 1D100
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Rumors & Odd Jobs
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2018 16:33:57

I wish it was easier to print out. Some of the things are meh but others are great plot hooks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Rumors & Odd Jobs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables: Science Fiction
by Blake P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2018 11:06:52

Wow this book of Science Fiction tables is sorely needed and very high quality (not cheesy or silly like a lot of "random generators", especially those for Science Fiction). Provides many much needed system agnostic events, items, and more for sci fi settings (even names of books, there are so many of these for fantasy settings but have not seen it yet for sci fi). Definitely worth the low price I love it. Great work from the author and I really hope to see more Science Fiction resources from Dice Geeks soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables: Science Fiction
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables 2
by Sean P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2018 22:40:29

Simply put, this is what it says it is: a book of random tables. It serves its purpose. Is every table exactly what I need right now? No. But are many of them intruiguing and time-saving? Yes. Knocked a star off for the regular price, which is a bit steep. I'd like to see a collection of them somwhere down the road. Good work, all of you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeons for the Master
by Ken S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 19:57:41

Excellent resource, expecially for the price. The maps (177!) are one page spreads of varying complexity, with an old-school stylized black and white look. For me the random tables really make this product shine. The maps themselves are unfilled by detail, furnishings, etc, but the amount of inspiration in the large number of tables will easily help make the dungeons come alive. I particularly recommend this for new Game Masters or GMs with less time for prep, but it is also a very good buy for GMs who simply want A LOT of material to work with at a reasonable price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons for the Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2018 23:39:28

A great resource full of all the little details that flesh out an environment, which would otherwise take the most time to devise manually. Very useful for random encounters or side-quests too. A veritable multitude of valuable tidbits of information. At this price, you can't go wrong!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 68 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates