DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Twilight Trails: The Lakota Terror
by Dwight F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2019 20:41:58

Two pages plus a map with half the second page being stat blocks.

I used this originally with Cepheus (some added bits from Mong2 and using Cowboys vs. Xenomorphs as the baseline) and then with Traveller 5.10 both to great success. I do not yet own 2d6 Magic nor Twilight Trails however will purchase them soon along with more adventures.

It's a quicky easily done in 2-3 hours (easily expanded upon or even done faster if needed).

I found it had enough information to make a good go of it. It was well worth my $1.50.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Twilight Trails: The Lakota Terror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Marrying Kind
by Kurt F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2019 20:50:20

Three stars...I'm not sure what the author was trying to do, win the prize for degendering and using x-this and x-that in such a confusing manner or using a legitimate mental health issue for profit. Had the weird gender pronouns been dropped and the sex of the NPC stated as male or female and then a note added that the GM should adjust the sex accordingly but for the text one specific sex would be used, it would have perhaps gained a fourth star. However, the mental health angle, which was a centerpoint of the entire scenario, should have been more developed than just a paragraph or two.

So...Mike, stick to one gender's pronouns and flesh things out a bit more. The Sex Worker supplement was far, far better than this.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Marrying Kind
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I've made the NPC one gender, even though I believe I'm doing a great disservice to readers who don't identify with that gender. To them, I apologize; I was trying to be more inclusive. The "fleshing out" will not happen, however, for two reasons: (1) it's supposed to be a short adventure; a meaningful discussion of the mental problem will take more space than is allotted (and in any case, I'm not an expert); (2) any explanation of the mental condition beyond what is needed to run a game character is out of place, trivializes the issue, and definitely does real-life sufferers a disservice. Therefore, a paragraph or two is all that will remain. All that said, thank you for reading and for the feedback.
SYSTEMLESS SCENARIOS The Concrete Maelstrom: A Cyberpunk Campaign Starter
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2019 10:19:56

A nice and compact scenario that can get players into the action fairly quickly. Will require some aditional work to prepare some non-player-characters, in order to tailor it you your specific gaming system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SYSTEMLESS SCENARIOS The Concrete Maelstrom: A Cyberpunk Campaign Starter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Asklepios Recovery
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2019 14:50:38

I don't recall ever being disappointed by Michael Brown's adventures. This is one of the lengthier ones at 14 pages, plus licensing, and as usual, worth much more than the cost, which the reader probably has on the dresser by the alarm clock. The adventure does assume that the group has access to a ship and perhaps a streak of altruism, but the latter isn't strictly necessary. A good group size is 4-6, but encounter numbers can be adjusted without damaging the adventure. The adventure itself could easily be the starting point of a mini-campaign depending on the whims of the referee desires of the player. I do recommend this adventure, and it's a pleasant departure from some of the more standard traveller group escapades.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Asklepios Recovery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I am honored. Thank you.
Nightfall
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 04:46:09

An interesting small adventure that ends with the adventurers finding a madman infected with a deadly and highly contagious virus. Unfortunately, no frills adventure means no map. I wish that was stated in the description. When I think of no frills, I think basic layout with no pretty pictures. However, selling adventures without a map sucks so I am deducting 2 points in my reveiw.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Nightfall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback. I agree the adventure should have a map; I had left one out in an attempt to be generic and not step on the Ref's toes. Keep a lookout for an updated version with map (can't promise a specific timeframe at this juncture, though.)
Lifeform Reading: Vermin
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2019 19:04:47

Having just infested my players ship with critters I was glad to have this framework for resolving the issue published before the next session. For a one-pager it has plenty of ideas for plagueing a ship with pests. The rules presented here are simple and flexible, and can be used to abstract the problem or spur roleplayed problem solving according to taste. There are a couple of new equipment options too. At the price it would be foolish not to add it to your collection, whatever rules you game with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lifeform Reading: Vermin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I am honored. Thank you for your support!
Afterday: 2D6 Adventure After the Apocalypse
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2018 11:25:32

Please note, this is a read-thru review, not a play review.

If you are already familiar with other 2d6 Sci Fi games, then this product gives you new careers, equipment lists, and brief but usable rules on post-apocalyptic settlements, animals and travel. The author also includes a brief listing of some different types of apocalypses that could have brought the old world low, which is alays a nice read in these sorts of games. If this is your first 2d6 system game then the actual rules content may be a bit sparse. For instance, some of the one line skill descriptions (such as Steward) are not too helpful in figuring out what the skill does in this campaign context.

There is a one paragraph section on post-humans in the apocalypse that basically points you to other products that will give you more details and generation systems. This is understandable, but a bit disappointing as I feel the author could have presented brief workable rules in less than a page that would have done the trick.

My one single complaint about the product is that the first 10 pages consist of the same image repeated 5 times, single sided, first as the product cover in color, then the exact same page in gray scale, then the gray scale image with publisher text, then the gray scale image with a table of contents, then the gray scale image with an author's dedication. Besides being a bit of an ink waster, it just felt like it was an unneccesary use of space.

For the price, I am very well satisfied with this product and could easily see myself using it for a short campaign or two. A bit more development and this would be 5 stars for me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Afterday: 2D6 Adventure After the Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Omega 99
by J D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2018 17:54:11

Fantastic ! I can just see the bell-bottoms and hear the funky basslines with this ! Space:1999 was my favourite sci-fi epic in the early 1970s, and I've always been wanting to play the setting in 2d6 Sci-Fi ! Thanks Michaell for another great setting resource for our favourite gaming framework !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Omega 99
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Violation of Truth: 2D6 Adventure in a World of Spies and Secrets
by J D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2018 16:59:18

Great to-the-point resource for contemporary and near-future espionage characters and adventures for our beloved 2d6 Sci-fi / Cepheus Engine rules framework. Highly recommended !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Violation of Truth: 2D6 Adventure in a World of Spies and Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Of Realms Unbounded: 2D6 Adventure in an Age of Sword and Spell
by Shawn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2018 21:42:16

Aye, what you see is no mirage. It's a chest of gold in the middle of this 10' x10' room. You've found treasure! And just like his Under Western Skies, and Thrill of the Thirties, the Of Realms Unbounded is an outstandingly good value practically free for the taking. It's only 5 pages of content, but it's jam-packed. You could use it and Cepheus Engine alone to make a very satisfying medieval or fantasy game. You get careers, including pre-career training as an apprentice, and various races. It's neat as a pin and simple to use. I actuall like his treatment of specialties better than the bigger more expensive products because it's simple and it makes sense. There's plenty of equipment (including a 3m pole), weapons, and armor (including rules for fluted plate, and shields). My only complaint is the armor is too powerful, but it's a simple matter to reduce the armor levels if you so choose. Frankly, I suspect the armor is high here for play balance reasons. The combat rules are simple and straightfoward, followed by a section on animals, and then fantasy monsters. There are stats for orcs, trolls, goblins, ogres, and yes, even a fantasy dragon. It's brilliant. I confess I did not use the magic rules as I'm running a mundane game with it, but they looked easy to use. Frankly, if you run Cepheus Engine, or any of the 2d6 clones, for $2 you'd be crazy to pass it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Of Realms Unbounded: 2D6 Adventure in an Age of Sword and Spell
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Always a thrill to see that customers are getting good use out of my little contributions. Thanks for your purchase and your kind reviews!
EDIT: I took your concerns about the armor values to heart and made adjustments; it's less powerful now without leaving the characters totally unprotected. I also took the opportunity to clarify that the Cultures table can also be used to detail Orc and Barbarian tribes.
Under Western Skies: 2D6 Adventure on America's Frontier (Deluxe Edition)
by Shawn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2018 23:31:42

Listen up, 'pard. I swear, by my pretty floral bonnet, whether you are going to play it straight historical and use a 2d6 system for your game, or if you just want to add some cowboys to your space camapign, you can't go wrong with Under Western Skies. It's brief, at only five pages, but I challenge you to find any other 5 pages on DTRPG with such a dense and useful information. You get careers, equipment, weapons, animals (horses, wolves, bears, etc.), wagons, trains, and a variety of native tribes (with 66 different charactecteristics!). There's also an outstandingly useful town generator I'll be using in other settings. Plus, you get a ton of hazards and so forth (stampedes, flash flood, wild fire, thunderstorms, avalanche, etc.). Several disease are included, but sadly Tuberculosis is not -- it's in the Thrill of the Thirties! book -- and for anyone playing a certain "doc" who started as Other Folk (Medic) and became a Cowboy or Agent, it's a shame. But hey, go get that book too, it's got plenty of uses in a turn-of-the-century Wild Bunch western game. If you are playing Classic Traveller, Mongoose Traveller, or Cepheus Engine, this book is shiny!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Under Western Skies: 2D6 Adventure on America's Frontier (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Caecis Manibus
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2018 19:30:25

This short little adventure packs a solid punch for its one page size. From the description, I thought I might find an adventure with d6 possible outcomes as a nod to the Original Science-Fiction RPG, and although the referee can easily improvise alternative endings as players are adept at the unexpected, the adventure proceeds in a straightforward fashion with some very nice twists that caught me by surprise. I consider the adventure an absolute bargain at the asking price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Caecis Manibus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Kind words indeed! Thank you for your support!
Caecis Manibus
by Richard T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2018 17:07:03

I cannot fault the writing, idea or the format of what really is a 1 page adventure. The issue I have is I would prefer to have punted a few more £££ on a book of these one page adventures. I am sure there are bundle or collections of them but the format of other products such as 101 or 50 <insert thing> is preferable than a single article. At 50p it's a cheap purchase though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I don't consider the OGL license as a page of the document, even though it's required (thus, "one-page" or one page less than the sidebar on the product page says.) After writing 10 of them, I create bundles of them (7 so far, with an eighth on the way) because there was a demand for them. I might do an omnibus with all the published ones to date, But I haven't decided when. Either way, thanks for your support!
Omega 99
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2017 04:56:47

If you're expecting an adventure that can be set in a well-known 2d6 universe, don't buy this - however if you want a homage to the TV series Space 1999 and love the idea of having a homebase the size of THE Moon flying through a hostile universe and some fun ideas then this is definitely for you. Be warned despite the page count there is a lot of information crammed into 2 pages and is obviously a work of love.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Omega 99
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Omega 99
by Timothy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2017 20:09:12

This made me smile, gave me ideas, and is a nicely conceived and well done microsetting. Space: 1999 for Traveller, sorry 2d6 SF role playing, for less than a quid in just 2 pages. Now if I can just meet Maya, I'll be more than happy... ;-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates