DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Black Horizon: An Eventful Spelljammer Horror Adventure
by Scotty P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2024 19:21:59

Provides a great framework for a one or two shot. I'll definately be running this for my crew.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Horizon: An Eventful Spelljammer Horror Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pantheon of the Anunnaki
by christopher W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2024 12:40:01

Adding in the best of the WHY files meets GREYHAWK, do yourself a favor and pay this kind human for their work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pantheon of the Anunnaki
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
A Guide to Baldur's Gate: Descent Into Avernus
by Julie Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2024 11:37:42

A great resource for quick-and-dirty prep. It's like you have a secretary who went through the adventure and took notes for you in advance on things to watch out for and what to make sure you do before the session starts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Baldur's Gate: Descent Into Avernus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Forest Battlemaps
by Mitchell D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2024 09:40:19

Used a couple of these in my own DMsGuild product and they look great! Not to mention generously affordable. Definitely recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forest Battlemaps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Black Horizon: An Eventful Spelljammer Horror Adventure
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2024 09:33:50

Disclaimer: I received a free copy to review.

TL;DR: This is a great adventure for a DM who wants to embrace more of the horror potential of the spelljammer setting and I'm excited to use it as a side quest for my table. You will probably want to consider how to adapt the tone to your campaign/table, but this is a consideration I've found inherent with pretty much all Spelljammer adventures.

A design choice that will probably have a significant impact on how you feel about the adventure is that the author put in a lot of work to make sure there was sufficient flexibility to insert the adventure into an existing campaign or as a one-shot, at different possible difficulty levels, etc. I really enjoyed this; it gave me ideas for how I could modify things and it made it feel easier to use. That being said, this may not be as great a fit for a DM looking for an adventure that can be played more or less right out of the box.

The Good: My primary concern going into this was that if my players had seen the movie (they have), a lot of the story beats would be spoiled. I actually don't think this is the case, and I think that's a real strength of the adventure. The author has put a lot of work into building an immersive, environmental story that feels unlike a lot of other Spelljammer content, which players should enjoy on its own merit, but also makes it clear that the real themes of the adventure are built on PC introspection and character exploration - all of which is very easy to implement even if they know the general plot the story will follow.

The Less Good: As another reviewer has mentioned, there are some fairly long walls of text at points in the adventure. The author has added a lot of great visual inspiration throughout, but some sub-headings might help to make it easier to consume. I definitely recommend giving this a thorough read before trying to run it (theoretically always the best approach, but more necessary in some cases than others).

The Mixed: The adventure makes explicit reference to the movie numerous times, explaining why choices have been made to adapt aspects of the film in certain ways. This shouldn't come as a surprise for an adventure that is explicltly inspired by a film, but I'd definitely recommend giving it a watch or a re-watch before running this. Not required, but will probably give you a richer (and easier) experience.

Final Note: I'm excited to run this. I think my major adaptations will be to add a bit more combat and crank some DCs higher since my table is a bit higher level than the recommendation for this adventure and my table likes combat. It's a great opportunity to explore a different tone for my campaign and I think there will be some great threads to follow up on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Horizon: An Eventful Spelljammer Horror Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Black Horizon: An Eventful Spelljammer Horror Adventure
by Martin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2024 06:49:27

BLACK HORIZON review

Disclaimer: Received a free copy of the adventure. There will be grammar mistakes as English in my second language. Contains spoilers!

Hey kids, do you like ancient horror movies? Do you like to play pretend in a magical fantasy setting that is Spelljammer? Then I got a adventure for you. Back when horror was more about the ominous feeling of the unknown. This adventure follows pretty much the story beats of the movie it is based on – Event Horizon. It starts of with a great disclaimer in the PC Death sidebar. Many Event Horizen fans might need to be reminded that this is still a DND game and you don’t really want your players dying too soon, so they just have to sit around. Shows clear intent and expectation with the adventure.

The good: The set up for the module would fit great with the Fel Ardra character in the Light of Xaryxis adventure. The smuggler doesn’t have a clear mission and this adventure could be a candidate. The adventure got a lot of great suggestion in the skill challenge sections. Great inspiration for what skills to use and for what purpose if my players or myself for that matter feel less creative that day The bulk of the story take place on the Black Horizon ship - a modified Hammerhed ship. There is a lot of references to the ship layout and should be easy to follow if you own the Core Spelljammer books. Although I had a little trouble figuring out what specific events are happening in the Storage and Cargo Hold – are the morphed together, making one big chamber? I really like the idea if the players use spell level (resources) for checks/ skill challenge investigation then they succeed but at that cost. Maybe that’s standard for games but I like being reminded that players are getting recourses drain and with a time sensitive mission like this players need to make choice how to spend their spellslots.

The not so great: Glyph of Magic Mouth first time mention at page 10 but it really needs to be explained earlier. I know based on the movie, what the dramatic plot point it is setting up, but when reading through the module it kind of comes out of nowhere to me.

Personally the most important part to me as a reader/DM: In order to run this adventure I need more sub division of titles for sections fx the success/failure parts of docking the ship near the black horizon. Or at page 10 and 11 with each room with its own title, so it’s easier for the reader to scroll back to find the current room the PC’s are in.

“Part 2 Section B. Any PC that fails both investigative checks will have an increased sense of disorientation and fear going forward, and will make any saves and attack rolls in Part 2 Section B with Disadvantage.” I hope for a reminder for those debuff when it becomes relevant. Maybe I missed that.

The villain: Dr. Samuel Weal, is based on a Githyanki Starseer, which is a CR 7 mob. But his hell beast form are CR3 and 5. Even tho you are unlikely to ever fight Samuel before his transformation I still find it amusing, that he receive a massive debuff. There is something poetic about this - the temptation of power from evil lords – doesn’t always grant any real power.

All in all a great adventure, especially as an Event Horizon fan. Got a few notes but nothing a slight update can’t fix.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Windseeker's Guide to Brawlball
by Jakob B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2024 02:05:27

Very fun to insert into your campign and very engaging for players and DM alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Windseeker's Guide to Brawlball
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Honey, I Shrunk the Party!
by Laura P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2024 22:57:14

Run this twice now, and the groups have had a blast - lots of laughs. You can easily finish this in one session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Honey, I Shrunk the Party!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Plague Doctor
by Laura P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2024 22:52:25

I run a really dark medieval homebrew with classes like rat and dung collector. I was thinking of making a barber surgeon, but this is just perfect :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Plague Doctor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Combat Maps, Encounters and Tokens for Chains of Asmodeus
by Kevin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2024 22:42:47

Stunning set pieces. The updated set of tokens at the back of the pdf is useful - cheers! PS.. I don't run CoA yet, but it's all useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Combat Maps, Encounters and Tokens for Chains of Asmodeus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Black Horizon: An Eventful Spelljammer Horror Adventure
by Emily B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2024 20:58:33

I was given a copy to review! I enjoy that the adventure has two tiers easily built in for the DM to run. This makes it easy on DMs that might want to run something higher level. The storyline itself I think is very interesting. Looking to run this for my group sometime soon!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Black Horizon: An Eventful Spelljammer Horror Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Class Character Sheets - The Bundle
by Michael [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2024 17:35:50

It took me a minute to recognize that the additional sheets I needed for a high-level spell caster were simply to be found in the additional sheets. After that, it occurred to me that those would be a great way of "finding" new spells in another caster's spellbooks. Nice! That's the only complaint I had with these sheets. My other issue is that I'm mostly using Level Up Advanced 5E for my characters now, so there are some significant differences between these sheets and what I need for those, but that is something else. For 5E itself, these sheets are very, very good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Character Sheets - The Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Black Horizon: An Eventful Spelljammer Horror Adventure
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2024 16:43:37

a really well written and thought out adventure. Went perfect with my sci-fi themed spelljammer campaign. Brought a horror and suspense element which was a nice change of pace from the nornal side quests. Highly reccomend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Horizon: An Eventful Spelljammer Horror Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Black Horizon: An Eventful Spelljammer Horror Adventure
by Ba K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2024 14:10:40

Well written and good suggestions for scaling the adventure! Just add some scary/ horror ambience music and you are all set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Black Horizon: An Eventful Spelljammer Horror Adventure
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2024 11:15:52

Great adventure, and well explained, all check made sense and the character's backgrounds added so much to the suspense of the setting. It was really enjoyable to keep the suspense, and the pacing of the adventure allows for this suspense to be well managed. I ran it in a Spelljammer session so it made sense to use other races other than human (Player's preference). I'd recomment to create a playlist of sci-fi void ambience for maximum effect



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28926 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates