DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Waterdeep Primer
by Sean W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 13:42:06

The Waterdeep Primer is an excellent offering for those looking for a resource to get up to speed on the largest city in Faerun. It’s well written and succinct which is it’s most beneficial aspect. The City of Splendors is so rich and layered with history and lore that it’s easy to be overwhelmed by all of it. Jason’s Waterdeep Primer allows you to quickly get a solid overview of the setting while still offering enough specific details to see where you might want delve deeper.

One thing that I would like to see added to the bibliography would be the specific page numbers for each entry to make it easier to know exactly where to look for further details. The citing of sources seems to not be a common practice with guild products for some reason though, so Jason has actually gone beyond the norm to even include a bibliography at all.

Let Jason take you on his walking tour through the largest city in Faerun with his Waterdeep Primer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep Primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Finders Keepers
by Brad R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 08:51:36

I particularly liked the section on how this adventure was made it gives real insight into how to create things for the DM's guild and the choices creators struggle with when forming content. See my full review here: https://youtu.be/SzlVr8vyn9E



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Finders Keepers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Epic Level Characters level 21-40
by Finn D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 01:06:38

Incredibly well put together with inventive ideas, going to use this weekend in my now epic level game, DM already agreed to use it. Definite 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Epic Level Characters level 21-40
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pudding Faire
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 00:40:04

I initially bought this product thinking it could make a nice downtime setting to spin other events and plot hooks out of, but after reading through it, I am in awe of the masterful work the authors have done in putting this product together! The description of the setting, a Faire held among a village of Gnomes and Halflings, is utterly adorable and quickly drew me in. The various events and custom-made map and will easily speak to any Ren Faire afficionado. The descriptions of all of the various events are lush and detailed, but what really stands out is the how well organized the whole product is given the large amount of content and surprisingly complex storyline that is woven into the module.

Before even laying out the Faire setting, the authors spend a good amount of time describing how to effectively run the "Groundhog Day" style time loop that pervades the storyline and offer good suggestions on how to make each reoccurring day feel both unique and increasingly unsettling. Also notable is the list of dramatis personae that remain unaffected by the time loop and how their actions should change and trigger different events as time repeats itself over and over. After the comprehensive list of Faire events, the authors provide a summary page of the notable NPCs as well as what "good deed" the party can accomplish related to that NPC to help ultimately break the time loop. With such a long list of events, locations and NPCs, recapping this information in a short list gives DMs a very handy reference for keeping track of the large cast of characters and the events that affect them.

The only real drawback to this product actually derives from the positive things I listed above. The authors have provided a large amount of content, and the complexity of managing such a large cast of characters, events and locations, as well as the added task of having to make each recurring day seem different in some way, is definitely going to test your organizing skills and improv chops as a DM, and may deter inexperienced DMs from running this module. A map of the woods in section 3 that surround the Faire area would also be nice to have to give more context and scale to the setting. But other than that, I would wholeheartedly recommend getting this product and am looking forward to the opportunity of using it with my own group at some point (once I find a Ren Faire-style recording of "I've Got You Babe" to use as background music).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pudding Faire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
by Jonathan U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 23:19:19

The uniqeness of the underwater combat is a nice change of pace and deffinetly changes things up for groups, but the motivation for the adventure is lackluster only really happening cause the DM says it. In addition the finale part is way too high of a check for chracters unless they are strength based or have some form of experties.

It's not a bad mod, it's fun the combat is fresh and engaging, the boat ride can be a blast for roleplaying; just the motivation isn't there to start off.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Havarti Job
by Lauren W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 22:26:16

This was my second time DMing, and what a perfect one-shot to do it! It has just enough description to get going, but also allows for a lot of creativity and freedom as far as how the night progresses. I found it easy to improvise when needed. My group may have facilitated the death of Donovan in their quest for all the havarti. We all loved it. Constant laughter, creativity and chaos. Excellent work. Our only critique is that the PC stats felt high compared to the fights they did encounter. But overall, we loved the stealthy, heisty nature compared to all-out conversation or fighting. A refreshing break from our more serious main campaign (Curse of Strahd).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Havarti Job
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Labyrinth of Thorns
by Joe N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 20:07:42

I ran this adventure for my group, and they all agreed that it was very fun. You DON'T have to run it on/near Valentine's Day. The scenes within are quickly customizable to add or subtract difficulty, and it's also pretty simple to run it via a non-D&D system (such as Dungeon World).

Surreal imagery, easy to pick up and run, I am definitely glad I purchased and ran this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth of Thorns
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Simple Combat Tracker
by Brandon G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 17:11:25

Saw the author post this on MyFace and thought I'd take a peek... was glad I did. I'm a pencil/paper kind of guy for the past few decades and pretty set in my ways, but that doen't mean I don't like to try new things. I like the simplicity of it, and for AL games it seems that it can be quite handy. I'll be using this tracker tomorrow night.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Simple Combat Tracker
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Poisonous Clover - A D&D Murder Mystery
by Daniel T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 17:00:43

I would say a very good attempt at creating a murder mystery,it had all the elements that are needed and all the information required but it could have been slightly better set out.This could just be personal opinion but I always think a good mystery module should read like a storyline rather than just being given a group of information,a few places to check out and some people to go through.There were quite a few good red herrings that would make it difficult for the players to figure out who did it right away and with a little work it could be an amazing adventure.All in all I think the author has style and potential :-)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Poisonous Clover - A D&D Murder Mystery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
by Zachary S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 15:11:54

This review is for Giantslayer

I ran "Giantslayer" as introductory adventure that will influence and kick off both Lost Mines of Phandelver and Storm King's Thunder, and I have to say, that as a table we loved this adventure for its story, its NPCs, and the learning opportunity it presented our one brand-new player.

The satyrs taught them that murder is a last recourse, the mephits that there is always a risk for reward, the NPCs that there are lovable albeit with flaws in a living world, and the giant taught them that comradely, planning, goodly intentions, and elbow grease can go a long way against the least reasonable and mightiest of foes.

I highly recommend this adventure for any party (level 1–3). To those DMs who run this, might I recommend the following: 1) Keep a mental image of an abandoned Scorton in case your PCs decide to head there and investigate, 2) Write a short script that gives Pello, Grigor, and Tastra some personality. I played Pello and had two volunteers from the table read the other two. This was the true highlight of our session, 3) You can always ramp up Yegor's hp if you have a large or capable party. I gave him +40, and they still made short work with zero casualties, 4) Yegor is easily linked to Grudd Haug in Storm King's Thunder. That area is too difficult for them now, but if you make it clear that Yegor came from the south, they'll connect the dots later on, 5) Link the giant that Jahan slew with a giant, tomb, or monument that your PCs can discover somewhere down the line; and 6) pre-roll some random goodies from the "giant's bag" table in the SKT hardcover. My party found a barrel full of bees and honey. Risk-to-reward, my friends!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Curse of Strahd: The Abbot's Journal
by Clay T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 13:55:55

Like the author's (Carl Huber, who has several nice products on DMs Guild) other "book" product, Curse of Strahd: The Tome of Strahd with Cypher UPDATED, this "Abbot's Journal" has great artwork and will make your player's say "oh cool!" when you give them this handout.

Unlike his Tome of Strahd product, this PDF file isn't print-ready for double-sided booklet printing (you can't just print and fold). But that's not a big deal. Just:

  1. print all the pages single-sided,
  2. fold the cover in half and set it aside,
  3. cut the rest of the pages in half,
  4. stack the interior-pages half-sheets in sequence (just like they appear in the PDF),
  5. put the interior pages in the folded cover,
  6. staple the edges of the interior pages to the cover,
  7. optional: trim the outside edges with a paper cutter to remove the white margins

It's well worth the $0.75 suggested pay-what-you-want price, to give your players a fun D&D moment while advancing the plot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of Strahd: The Abbot's Journal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Curse of Strahd: The Tome of Strahd with Cypher *UPDATED*
by Clay T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 13:45:15

This is a fun little supplement to enhance the play experience of Curse of Strahd. Player's love handouts and this one is really well done and worth the suggested $1 pay-what-you-want. It comes with two PDF versions of the "Tome". Tip: to print this as a booklet, use the "Double-sided print" version, but for most printers, you'll need to rotate the 2nd, and 4th (last) pages upside-down so that the booklet pages print top-to-top.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of Strahd: The Tome of Strahd with Cypher *UPDATED*
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

How Not to Host a Murder (5e)
by Haley P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 11:26:02

I chose this for my first time as a DM and it was an excellent choice. Memorble NPCs that were a joy to play. It was just enough information to get me going and left some wiggle room for me to embelish. My group absolutely loved it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How Not to Host a Murder (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Xanathar's Character Sheets (Unofficial)
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 08:13:44

Love the set up for both of these style of sheets. Would love to see a fillable PDF version as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Xanathar's Character Sheets (Unofficial)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Grounds 5E Spell Effects Coding
by Lubo J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 04:11:08

This module is making everything so much easier, you think about your game and you don't have to worry about it and stop your game because of spells.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds 5E Spell Effects Coding
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 7474 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates