DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL08-06 Purging the Blood
by Martijn S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2018 04:37:52

DMed the whole trilogy on Aethercon and IMHO this one is the best one. Or for me the easiest to relate to.

Atmosphere was completely set after showing the players the house from the famous death house map and having Elsa babble about convincing the neigbours to all have their houses designed by this barovian architect.

If you roleplay all four houses, it takes more time than the two hours to run the game.

Would have prefered some more info on the Cult of the Weave and the true nature of the Weave. After disclosing the whole single sentence description in 'Story Objective B', the players went 'that's all?'

Same goes for the Wrap-Up, which a very meager one-liner again. With halve of page 13 still completely empty, there is enough space for a wrap-up that is fitting for an epic time traveling trilogy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-06 Purging the Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL08-04 A Wrinkle in the Weave
by Martijn S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2018 04:13:24

DMing the game during aethercon was a blast, but preparation was a struggle as too many things are not finished or not clear.

The concept of the adventure is cool, but as a product it is just not finished. maybe at the 2$ pricepoint, but for 5$ there are many better modules.

There is already so much feedback by others, so here are only the items i dearly missed:

  • players arrive in a full palace to mingle with dignitaries, but there is not even one noble described, no list of gossip, not a single current affair. There is 0 help to bring them too life.

  • the amount of nobles and servants do not fit on the map

  • as a non native speaker, i like more narrative and text boxes to help flesh out the atmosphere.

  • there is no way to include bonus objective 2, when bad guys swarm the map, it physically does not fit.

  • the cliff hanger... there is none. It is not clear whether the party goes back to the future or hops straight to DDAL08-05

    • after prepping i had the feeling that this adventure could be over way to quickly. i had the players roleplay a lot to buy time and still finished easy within the alotted time.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-04 A Wrinkle in the Weave
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL08-05 Hero of the Troll Wars
by Martijn S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2018 04:07:54

DMed the full trilogy at aethercon, but it does not feel like a trilogy.

Normally i spend an evening reading and preparing the adventure, but for this one i had to ask multiple questions to other DMs. Which yielded good conversations - but i expected a little more background in the module.

Items not mentioned yet by others.

  • the wards: the piece of narrative on Halastars Ward is great. But how does it mechanically work. Do the wards all have to be taken? or can they be calibrated in place? Why is one embedded immovably in the floor - would like to have a statement whether this one can/cannot be calibrated and can/cannot count towards the total of successes. If it cannot, it's a bummer for two reasons: 1) after so much comical ado with the archways not even a chance of success does not feel right 2) my players had so bad arcana rolls , they needed all the chances they could get to calibrate the wards.

  • the puzzles are great, but why do all three puzzles of the trilogy have be in episode 2?

  • please add a good narrative to the nimoar's hold part to make it credible why the sisters would hand over their calibrated lifesaving wards.

the concept of this adventure is cool, but info is missing: too much of waterdeep background expected to be colloqium and known by the buyer. in current state it does not have the feel of a finished flagship adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-05 Hero of the Troll Wars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Durnan's Guide to Tavernkeeping
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2018 02:00:35

I really like this supplement, the ability to upgrade certain parts of the tavern is excellent and the events bring the life and times of waterdeep to life!

I am confused on the specifics of running this in AL, could there be an update explaining how to use this with AL?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Durnan's Guide to Tavernkeeping
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Waterdeep: City Encounters
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2018 02:00:03

This is the best supplement for Waterdeep I've seen, I would recomend this to literally everyone running Dragon Heist. It pads out the chapters that are low on content (2 & 3) while also bringing the whole city to life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL08-05 Hero of the Troll Wars
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2018 01:58:35

Great adventure, much better than the last one. Still a little confused on whether or not the players are actually going back in time, but it didn't matter so much for this one. The part with the nuns and the infirmary is just unfair on the players, especially since they don't know that they only need 3 out of the 5 wards. Overall I would recommend this adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-05 Hero of the Troll Wars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CCC-CNE-03 Into The Depths
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2018 01:35:24

Ran this adventure a whole bunch of times. Got different results every time. There is a lot to it but don't be intimitated by it's size. What it lets you do is run the same adventure multiple times and have different parties experience different things. Not everything needs to be completed. There are some fantastic role play elements, some challenging combat elements and some fun puzzle elements which can stump players.

Overall this adventure lets people be as Silly as they want (I had one group that licked things to death) or a deadly serious as you want. Just play up the characters for what fits your groups play style. I tend to lean into the silly a bit and it's FANTASTIC for that. It's thematic, challenging and has a challenging final 2 encounters no matter the group.

Give it a shot, you won't be dissapointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-CNE-03 Into The Depths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL08-00 Once in Waterdeep
by Erik H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2018 01:02:11

This is a fun little adventure, in that it has three storylines to follow based on what your players determine at the beginning of play. It's a good exercise for teaching new players that D&D is a collaboration, not a competition against each other or the DM. It has nice clear character descriptions of several of the colorful characters, which I enjoyed as a "performing" DM who likes to do different voices and characterizations that are consistent throughout the game. I feel like the ending to all the storylines were a bit of a cop out, in that it basically says "Welp...work out how this plays out on your own!" which is fine, but to new DMs it might be a little worrisome. Additionally there should have been some further guidance on how the climactic showdown with the Mastermind should go.

Nitpicks though.

A fun adventure especially since players who happen to play it more than once have a chance at a different story each time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-00 Once in Waterdeep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Zakharan Bestiary - Monsters of Al-Qadim
by Chase P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2018 21:51:27

Not only do the monsters in this book work well in many games, they are properly adapted, bring an entire setting back into the lime light for the first time in over a decade, but they also bring a new theme/spin on monsters that are largly ignored in conventional D&D. I can not recomend this book any more than I already do.

My only problem with the book is this, there are no pictures. If it did have pictures, or beautiful graphics, this book would be perfect.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zakharan Bestiary - Monsters of Al-Qadim
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Goblin Killer
by Xavier M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2018 21:18:52

its good keep it going, its good keep it going, its good keep it going, its good keep it going, its good keep it going, its good keep it going, its good keep it going, its good keep it going, its good keep it going, its good keep it going, its good keep it going, its good keep it going, its good keep it going,



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Goblin Killer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL-ELW05 Against the Lightning
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2018 19:28:07

My favorite adventure in the series so far. Seems to flow very well and Im so excited to run it soon



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-ELW05 Against the Lightning
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CCC-CNE-03 Into The Depths
by Bruce W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2018 18:30:07

I had the pleasure of running this module at the event it premiered at. From a DM perspective, at first the length of the document threw me but a lot of it is maps, monster stats, etc. Not once did I have to look up anything outside the module which was super nice! The prep time for it was less than I was expecting for a 4 hour module but that is because a good portion of the module is RP based. From the players feedback: this module let all players participate regardless of play style. You want to stab things? That's in there. You want to creep around and explore? Got lots of that. You want to RP and talk yourself out of situations? Go for it. Want good lore to add to your characters background and personality? Tonnes of that as well. Probably one of the best modules that I have run during 2018! 10/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-CNE-03 Into The Depths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D 5E The Leprechaun - Warlock Patron
by Garin J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2018 17:55:00

What a clever and well excuted idea! This is nicely balanaced and really takes off at higher levels. Perfect for a light-hearted Warlock build.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5E The Leprechaun - Warlock Patron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneNote Campaign Notebook
by Chad G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2018 17:18:18

it should be noted that this only works with OneNote 2016. The current version of OneNote via Office 365 or free with windows 10 does not allow for templates.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
OneNote Campaign Notebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DotMM Companion I: Enter the Depths
by Cameron W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2018 15:35:18

I enjoyed reading through this and deeing the changes and additions that were made. The Gameshow Host Halaster is an awesome twist that might make a dungeon crawl a lot less intense/serious and more interesting. I loved the small additions made, like the empty room turned into the upside down room. This was a great tool when preparing the first Level and I hope that more will be made for each Level!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DotMM Companion I: Enter the Depths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 9105 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates