DriveThruRPG.com
Recherche
 Info Editeur













Retour
Autres commentaires laissés par cet éditeur:
Vous devez vous acheter ceci pour évaluer ceci.
PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
par Joe M. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/06/2020 12:34:41

I knew when i read the Page 4 Tone section, that this game was going to use as many fuck bombs as it could, that i had made the wisest fucking purchase of the year.

I can't wait to play this. I can't wait to tell every human being i know to stop fucking around and play Punkapocalyptic, including my parents and my church group, if i had one.

It did what i wanted which was to give me an Post-Apocalypse setting and encourage the maniacal fun side of things, and it exceeded all of expectations on read/review.

I cannot wait to give you more money for future supplements and follow-up material for the line.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

In Pursuit of Power
par Joshua W. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/20/2020 04:44:44

Easily the most complicated addition to the streamlined paths system as of yet, but Christ is it worth the complexity. Rather than making a number of new novice paths like they did for the priest and the warrior, and with no existing class-central customization like the rogue, when the time came to expand the magician, they made it modular. Whenever you gain a new feature from the magician class, you can replace it with a number of options depending on what traditions you know at the time.

Want more castings of level 0 spells? Replace cantrip with the Arcana option. Don't plan on using sense magic, but want to get a burst of speed to charge your enemies at the start of combat? With Battle, you can make that choice. Want to be a master at avoiding damage? If you have the Soul tradition, you can give up counterspell to enhance the effects of damage-avoiding challenge rolls. Want all three of these for some reason? Sure, just have discovered the Arcana and Battle traditions by level 1, and the Soul tradition by level 5.

10/10 would trade soul for again.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
In Pursuit of Power
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Nessus: City of Decay
par Joshua W. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/20/2020 04:30:52

I love Nessus. I love the idea of it, I love the history that it was given, and I love the execution. I've even got a full 0-10 campaign set in Nessus waiting for an opening in one of my gaming groups, and potentially to be added to the Disciples lineup. With rules for relatively quick generation of playable ruined areas, a number of threats that could be the focus of either an adventure or campaign, and a number of neighborhoods separated by miles of monster-infested ruins, you won't be disappointed with your purchase. It seems a little pricey for a Lands in Shadow expansion, but given what you find within, I'd put it on the same level as Tombs of the Desolation, and more than worth your money if you plan to spend any amount of time within the city or any similar ruins.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Nessus: City of Decay
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Bred for Battle
par Joshua W. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/20/2020 03:56:34

An expansion of the warrior novice path that is essential for anyone who wants to build a martial character in SotDL. Whether you want to play a monk and punch people, a soldier and gain and provide benefits from and to those around you, an armiger and exemplify mounted combat, or a spellguard and start arguments over whether or not you're overpowered, you'll find what you need herein.

10/10 would buy again.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Bred for Battle
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
par A customer [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/05/2020 14:02:27

First of all, this is a really entertaining product to read. It was a blast to read for me personally. The system is fun and engaging and the Tone of the product was particularly excellent. I need to inform you though, the tone of this book is unlike any other product on this site.

It contains a model Punk additude. I appreciated it after the initial shock. But the candid, in your face, blatent text was very pleasing after a while. It felt like a conversation with an anger-fueled, monster-energy drink smashing disillusioned war veteren. I'm telling you the reader this, so that you can understand just what you are purchasing. A number of my fellow readers whom I've shared my favorite snippits with were somewhat shocked. I was dismayed. However; the game DOES come with an apt warning label for the language used in the book on the inside cover.

Mechanically; The game feels pretty simple. The hardest part of the game is the Roll-On Charts. Which isn't that difficult to be honest. The character sheet isn't too difficult to read.

Pros: Solid Internal Tone, Feels Conversational, World is interesting, Simple, easy-to- grasp mechanics, Dat Old-Skool feel, Neato-burrito creatures.

Cons: VERY aggressive text could be a turn-off, Old-school feel might be a turn-off for newer roleplayers

Personal Note: In the first chapter I was promised the can of beats would be explained and it was not explained. It was almost like the guy telling me how to play this game got distracted by verything I'd need to know to survive.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Songs of Shadow [BUNDLE]
par Mark M. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/02/2020 18:17:09

THE DEMON LORD WILL HAVE HIS TUNES

I'll be honest, I bought this because the woodcut of Rob made me laugh, and I was intrigued, but damn this is a superb dark fantasy record.

The opening tune "Shadow of the Demon Lord" starts with disquieting violins and then kicks it up with chunky guitars and theramin style vocals, exactly capturing the gleefully Satanic B-movie vibe that is this exceptional RPG.

The remaining tracks are dark abmient threat and menace. I ran through the whole album twice during our game last night, and it always underscored the menace and doom of the action perfectly. We had an exceptional session. "This one's called 'The Last Days of Man'" I announced cheerfully, as the hateful dead scrambled up the walls of Martyr's Point. Each track layers on emotions of doomed heroism.

The last three tracks have vocals. "Scary" has a growling death metal feel, "Shadow Inside Me" is operatic metal, and "The One Who Whispers" blends the two styles. I can't see myself using those tracks as much ingame except maybe as session intro theme tune perhaps, but they are rockin' tunes completely at home in any metal collection. The composition, production quality and playing by Sonor Village are just fantastic, and I'm off to find more of their work.

I'll be listening to this record for years to come, when I play the game, read the game, or any time I want to get my dark fantasy brain ticking over. Schwalb has brought the same quality to his first music release as he has to all of the print and PDF material. Next time I'm facing the depths of hell, this will be the sound I hear.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Songs of Shadow [BUNDLE]
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
par Jeff R. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 02/29/2020 15:42:59

I'm a sucker for Post Apocalyptic games, but even with that in mind this stands out.

The author set a tone for the game that most others wouldn't have had the balls to: it is very rough, very profane and very appropriate to the setting he's cooked up.

So yeah, it has a lot of swearing, and frankly, this is a huge value add for me. I appreciate someone who will follow their inspriation where it goes and come out with a super-fun game to both play and simply read.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
par Randall B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 02/27/2020 03:35:08

4.5/5

TLDR

Trade out grimdark for grindhouse in this modified SotDL system. If you want a streamlined D20 experience with a wide array of character customization options that rivals pathfinder(without the option paralysis and super crunch) with a over the top mad max experience, this is the one to get.

I'm a big fan of this system, so I will be going over a summation of the rules and also how some differ from the base SotDL game for both newcomers and those on the fence for this new iteration of the system.

Base Dice Mechanics:

Not reinventing the wheel, this system is composed of a d20 attribute over-roll to resolve skill checks and attacks. However, the big feature of the DL system is that all additional modifiers are based off a d6 dice pool system that you either add or subtract the highest number die from the base attribute roll, these are called assets and complications. Have a talent that lets you use firearms really well? That would add 1 asset to your attack roll. Same character firing at a mutant into a obscured fog? That gives you 2 complications to your roll. Assets and complications dice cancel each other out, so in the case I outlined above would have you rolling 1 complication die(2 complications - 1 asset) where you would subtract that number from your attack roll. Let's say that same character was also fatigued, adding an additional complication and thus bringing the total complications to 2 (3 complications - 1 asset). That player rolled a 2 and 4 on their d6s, thus they would take the highest from that pool and subtract 4 from their attacker roll.

Why is all that good? Because it eliminates the need to memorize specific numerical modifiers for various conditions. This also means that stacking conditions are significant but have diminishing returns, allowing for more nuance than say the DnD 5e advantage system but not allowing for absurd stacking that can occur in crunchier games such as Pathfinder.

Oh and another thing, all basic skills checks (i.e. not combat) are set at a target difficulty of 10, never changes. Adjustments to difficulty of a task are modified by how many assets or complications they imbue.

Character Generation

The game uses a traditional attribute system, with 8 here vs the 4 presented in SotDL. SotDL in essence also had a 8 stat system, but they were derived from one of the four main attribute. It's a minor adjustment that allows for a bit more freedom in builds. You can have a strong fighter but weak in taking punishment for example.

The game replaces the ancestry system of SotDL with the background system. Generally, you will be playing as humanoids but nothing really prevents you from playing a robot or bizarre mutant. Backgrounds gives you a general theme( such as brute or scavenger), an attribute buff and a talent. A bunch of tables to generate looks, personalities and quirks are provided. The professions system returns here with specialties. You have a character that is good with nuclear physics and has it as a specialty? Cool! Your character either outright knows stuff pertaining to the basics of radioactivity or at the very least gets a asset on checks concerning things that glow green. Simple, but effective.

Character Progression and Campaign Flow

Just like sotdl, this game is designed for campaigns around 11 sessions or so, with characters leveling up each session and getting new abilities from their selected paths. Path selection starts at level 1 with a choice from 4 novice paths, level 3 with 12 expert paths and finally level 7 with 20 master paths. All these paths can be mixed and matched allowing for a wide range of character options. The design of starting with a small amount of broad paths and then branching out helps greatly with option paralysis for many players and I think is a intelligence way to approach progression.

Characters will be doing "missions" and then get various loots and money afterwards. Rules are here for travel, economy, survival and equipment. Tables for activities between missions, settlements, dead zones and other points of interest to populate your world are also provided.

One difference between Sotdl and PA is that the sanity/corruption systems are replaced totally with the mutation system. Mutation come into play when encountering radioactive environments and some enemies. Mutations have cosmetic, negative and beneficial forms, all which often are often completely random. Expect some wackiness that will add to the fun.

Combat

Combat is generally like other d20 games like DND or Pathfinder. Grid-based, various different attack options(martial attacks and mutations which functions as spells and abilities). How the system handles initiative is a standout. Initiative is divided into two main phases: fast turns and slow turns; with a surprise phase going first if it applies for things such as sneak attacks. Fast turns allow one action, while slow turns allow movement and one action but take place after fast turns. Players always go first for each respective phase, deciding however they like on who goes when. As such, the layout goes like this:

  1. Surprise Phase
  2. Player Fast Turns
  3. GM Fast Turn
  4. Player Slow Turns
  5. GM Slow Turns
  6. End of Round

Again, very easy and fast without the need to keep track of initiative with dice rolls.

There are also rules for chases, vehicular and social combat, which are mostly borrowed from the forbidden rules supplements and older sotdl products but are a welcome addition as core.

My only pet peeve of this system is a matter of preference for many: this fast system is still tied to the slowness of grid based combat. With so much of the rules being made to be fast, I feel like this was the only thing holding it back. I would have liked to have seen this game built from the ground up on a zone system similar to the MYZ system. It can still be hacked, but rules regarding converting AoE damage can still be a bit clunky with RAW. Thankfully, I believe future DL products will move towards zone combat based off a recent podcast, but I would have liked to have seen it implemented for this product.

Worldbuilding

A weaker point of the book, although I know this is intentional as supplements will be used to expand in this area. It's more for inspiration to make your own campaigns, which I often do anyways. Lore is provided, but it's fairly generic and not quite inspired. Everything got nuked to hell and the remnants of civilization have vomited forth. Factions are generic, wasters, mutants and mutant hating nazi-fetishists. Don't expect Degenesis levels of world building here, although the locale of scrapbridge does give plenty of plot points to fill in the gaps so it's not really a big downside for me.

Bestiary is small, but imaginative. Can range from landsharks to mind controlling bees to explosive rabbits that can provide some interesting plot points by themselves. No radioactive roaches, kill 10 rats or other boring fodder that no one really wants to fight here.

Conclusion

Get this game or a three-eyed junkie will harvest your liver and throw your sad carcass in the churro pit!



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Réponse de l’éditeur :
Hail!
March Lands
par Christopher R. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 01/16/2020 07:18:21

The map has been added to the book and I am now completely happy with another great setting book in this series. Lots of interesting locations and adventure seed ideas, perfect for setting a campaign in.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
March Lands
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Réponse de l’éditeur :
Sorry for the delay. The file has been updated to include the map.
The Haunted Shores of Hymen Caul
par Rob R. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 12/23/2019 20:00:30

Tom Robinson does it again! Another thrilling one page adventure from an amazing author. This one is both thrilling and chilling. It's amazing how he can pack so much adventure into just two sides of a sheet of paper. You truly will not be disappointed!



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
The Haunted Shores of Hymen Caul
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Ruin Under A Burning Sky
par Rob R. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 11/30/2019 14:26:42

The sky is on fire and death awaits you - at least some of you!

My group had a great time battling our way through this one-page adventure. We loved the story hooks and were left feeling exciting about the cliffhanger at the end! Can't wait for more adventures by author Tom Robinson!



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Ruin Under A Burning Sky
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Demonic Solo Rules for Shadow of the Demon Lord
par Warp M. W. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 11/19/2019 05:51:47

Seems like I can finally leave a review! I bought the product a week ago and I couldn't post it. In the meantime I left one in reddit which I will be putting in here:

----Tool Presentation.----

Demonic Solo Rules for Shadow of the Demon Lord (which I'll abbreviate to DSR4SotDL from now on) is a 12-page PDF with some rules to help playing Solo with the Shadow of the Demon Lord system in mind. As such, the format of the PDF has the standard SotDL supplement format.

However, unlike most supplements that I have seen, there's quite a lot of space in between sections which I believe, if removed could make the PDF reduce a couple of pages. Adding some more images could have made these blank spaces less noticeable.

Same goes for some sections with the 3 example tables at the end. They are mostly empty so they could have been compiled into a single page instead of having them occupy a single page each.

----Solo System----

SotDL plays primarily with 2 dice: d20 and d6 and therefore so does DSR4SotDL.

In order to get started with a Solo game, similarly to Mythic, the system proposes to work setting scenes. However, the way that DSR4SotDL approaches it is simple: roll a 1d20 to get a scene objective but it is up to the player how to implement this objective.

The scenes can also be altered. Rather than having a Chaos Factor like in Mythic, the 1d20 roll already includes results that alter scenes. For example, if you obtained a Rest+altered scene result then you roll a 1d6 in the Scene Alteration table. These alterations can be the introduction of new NPCs, changing locations, making the situation harder, etc.

As a Solo Tool, we have an Oracle. Quite similarly to the one in the Solo Adventurer's Toolbox (SAT) for DnD, it works asking a yes/no question and rolling a 1d20. Unlike the Oracle in SAT, it follows the Yes/No + and/but from MUNE. However, the likelihood of obtaining each result is not the same however.

Just like in SAT, the result of the 1d20 roll is modified by the likelihood of what you are asking given the situation. This is done adding or subtracting modifiers: (almost certain) +6, +4, +2, -2, -4 and -6 (almost impossible). Moreover, the Oracle adds another dynamic from straight from SoTDL: Fortune. If the character obtained any fortune during his/her travels it is possible to spend it to improve the result of a question to the Oracle by +/- 1 (whatever is more favorable for the PC).

When a yes/no question is not enough, the Oracle is exchanged by the Augur. Instead of a verb list, the response is obtained by rolling 2d10 to form a two-word sentence. There's a single table for the first roll but 5 tables for the second. The idea is that you would roll on the first of the five tables until you obtain a result you already got before so instead you will roll on the second table. I am not sure if I like this system or a traditional Verb table better but I would need to try it to compare.

Lastly, there system describes a mechanic to interact with NPCs. I personally love it because it seems simple yet effective. You start by setting the NPC's disposition towards your PC. Unlike in MUNE, you don't roll for this, the system proposes that you set it yourself depending on the general situation that you are in. What this disposition does is give you a modifier for the way the NPC reacts while you interact with them which is what you will be actually rolling a 1d20 for. Moreover, just like with the Oracle, Fortune Points can also be used to improve the result of the NPC reaction roll.

----Extra information----

While the PDF could have just stopped explaining it's Solo Tools it also does a couple of nice things for players and gives them several tips in Chapters 2 and 3.

Chapter 2 provides recommendations for journaling Solo Games. I personally like a more narrative approach but the author summarizes his journals as bullet points. Quite interestingly for any type of Solo player are the 3 tables I already mentioned at the beginning of this post: an NPC list, a Scene List and a Plot List. And gives examples of how to fill the 3 of them.

Chapter 3 gives general tips and advice for playing Solo. These start as general Solo Advice and then come some tips geared towards SotDL (stats, level to start with, what to do with Insanity and Fortune, etc)

----To sum up----

The system still needs some work but I see many things that I like and I will definitely use it in my next Shadow of the Demon Lord game. Despite having been released for SotDL this tool is quite system agnostic. With the exception of the Fortune points everything could work for other systems. As a matter of fact, I think I'll be using the NPC reaction mechanic in my games from now on since that is something I had wanted to implement in my games for a while now (with limited success, I think).

Some more specific SotDL stuff that I would love to see in the future would be:

  • I would love for it to have an encounter generator for solo players similar to the one in SAT (as in my own SotDL games the first problem I've run into was creating an appropriate encounter).

  • An NPC generator is also something that could be quite handy. Their race, age, personality trait and occupation are the first things I look for when generating a new NPC. I've been using a hybrid of SAT and UNE for now.
  • Perhaps the Augur should be a little bit bigger. For example, the first roll could also be expanded with more options. Or a sixth table could be added for the second roll and instead of jumping from one to another when a result is repeated, the table could be selected by rolling a 1d6.


Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Demonic Solo Rules for Shadow of the Demon Lord
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

For Gold and Glory
par Ryan S. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 11/15/2019 20:40:09

It is a small one, but it is pacted full of useful information. Ideal for players while providing useful setting info for the player who is playing a Dwarf in this setting. I liked it because it has a good balance of world build and game mechanics to make it useful to refrance.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
For Gold and Glory
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Tombs of the Desolation
par Ryan S. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 11/15/2019 20:37:34

It is a good supplament for Shandow of the Demon Lord, and it adds a lot of player options, world building, and flavor. I am not quite sure who it is for, though. It has some world build stuff that I would want to keep out of world knowledge for the players if I GM (like enemy STATS), but it also has a lot of player options that I would like to as a player. Having it it in the same suplament makes less sense because it is kind of directed to both at the same time which means there is a section in it that is largely useless for both.



Classement:
[3 sur 5 étoiles!]
Tombs of the Desolation
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Lair of Death
par Rob R. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 11/15/2019 17:57:06

You're probably thinking "liar of death, it can't be that hard."

You're wrong.

You're going to die.

And you're going to love every minute of it.

This deadly adventure was perfect for our group. Lots of twists and turns to make the sessions fun, engaging and most importantly, super deadly. Our group had a blast, and even though we all died a horrible spidery death, we're ready to spin up new characters and take another chance at throwing new hapless, eager, willing adventurers against it to die an early death - because that's what SotDL is all about!

This was well worth the price and I'm looking forward to other adventrues Tom puts out.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Lair of Death
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Affichage 1 de 15 (sur 159 critiques) Pages de Résultats:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Prochain >>] 
0 article
 Derniers Produits
 Gift Certificates