DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Rite & Ritual
by totoro r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2020 17:36:49

The idea sounds nice, but due to the spells in SotDL rarely having long-lasting effects, things like "double the AOE range" and "increase duration from 1 minute to entire 2 minutes" are mostly useless, when the rituals take a long time to perform.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Rite & Ritual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dread Hauntings
by Attila G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2020 09:19:47

Top notch design and quality, as always. Plenty of creatures for different power levels and terrifying lore.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dread Hauntings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2020 16:03:24

Damn this game is fun. Sure, it's juvenile and often very, very gross but a @#$%ing. I've played through all of the published missions and a few of my own with two different groups with widely different conclusions to the tales presented. Both groups really loved being able to randomly create characters and dive right in. The twisted shit that players have come up with to do to themselves, each other, and the world at large has been memorable. Shadow of the Demon Lord while more horror and decidedly metal, Punkapocalyptic is definitely more irreverent and, well, punk. If there is one thing I will remember more vividly from being sheltered in place during Covid-19, it's this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Only Human
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2020 23:06:31

This was a suplament that I enjoyed a lot. It takes the most common and under appreciated ancestories. This gives a lot of good player options to the shadow of the demon lord players who like to be only human.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Only Human
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2020 13:03:31

This game actually gives the right number of fucks in the right places. The world’s a fucked up place. Then shit-heel motherfuckers found new and even more fucked up ways to ruin it with a fucking apocalypse.

Now, you’re one of the poor wastoids that has to try and make it in the world, and you’re probably the correct kind of fucked-all-over to make a difference. Good or bad is up to you, but shit’s gonna change. The Demon Lord system lets you advance your character on drastically different paths to become the right kind of unique weirdo that you want to be, all within a simple and straightforward ruleset that covers anything the imagination conjures without bogging itself down in simulationist hell.

Buckle up fucko, it’s the end of the world, and you’re about to make it a whole lot nastier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2020 12:44:21

Dark fantasy in a brutal world - a Mephisto review

Shadow of the Demon Lord

For the world of Urd the end is near. The mighty empire crumbled after its army of orc slaves has killed the emperor in a bloody uprising. But this civil war is only a symptom of a much worse truth: the shadow of the demon lord has fallen on Urd, and the terrible entity of the void is pressing to destroy the world. The cracks between the worlds are still too small for the Demon Lord himself to break through, but his influence is continually expanding...

Even with the significant threat in the background, at first Shadow of the Demon Lord seems like just another fantasy roleplaying game in which daring heroes face the forces of evil. However, if you take a closer look at the roleplaying game, you quickly realize that at least heroes are less than radiant. Even the selection of races for the player characters is not the typical standard. While humans and dwarves are certainly found in most fantasy roleplaying games, there are also unusual candidates: Goblins - outcasts of the fairy folk who live in the dirt and have disgusting habits; Orcs - the bestial slave soldiers who have fought for their independence; Clockworks - mechanical creatures powered by stolen souls and changelings that can change their appearance. The game statistics are not determined by the roll of dice but are fixed. Physical traits, strange habits and backgrounds can be rolled to emphasize further that the player characters also have their dark sides.

The characters start at level 0, with the whole group always advancing one level - up to the maximum of level 10. The game is designed so that at level 0, the characters are ordinary people who have regular professions. From level 1, players choose an apprentice path that includes the usual classes such as warrior, priest, rogue and warrior. At the next levels, expert and master paths are added, which further develop the character and give them special abilities or access to individual magic schools. These career paths are not hierarchical, but the player can choose freely: A character who started as a warrior can also learn magic later. Magic is divided into a vast arsenal of different schools, each with their own spells and in some cases special rules. Some schools change the personality or appearance of a character - and some evil schools corrupt it. Despite all the advancements, the characters always have a limited number of health points and are also threatened by corruption and madness, which can make life even harder for them.

Many of the rule mechanisms are based on D&D and Warhammer and developed further in a meaningful way. For example, there are advantage and disadvantage dice, which are included as d6 with the standard d20 roll.

The game world is presented with a wide range of regions and challenges. Rules, tips for the gamemaster and the inevitable bestiary round off the book. The book's illustrations make it clear that Shadow of the Demon Lord is a tough setting, and the game starts by stating very clearly that the player characters not only have a good chance of dying, but that their death is definitely a relevant game element. The world is dirty, ugly and brutal, and there is little room for shining heroes.

Thus, Shadow of the Demon Lord succeeds in carving out its own niche in the broad field of fantasy setting. From my point of view, this is a unique roleplaying game. The rules are coherent, the background is exciting, and the game has its own flair. However, Shadow of the Demon Lord is certainly not a roleplaying game for everyone, because of the very dark and drastically brutal world (both in description and illustration). The clear message that players have only little chances here will not please every gaming group. Friendly fantasy is something else, but here players will find a very exciting and also quite easy to learn challenge (which is probably brutal enough to kill the player characters often).

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
by Joe M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2020 12:34:41

I knew when i read the Page 4 Tone section, that this game was going to use as many fuck bombs as it could, that i had made the wisest fucking purchase of the year.

I can't wait to play this. I can't wait to tell every human being i know to stop fucking around and play Punkapocalyptic, including my parents and my church group, if i had one.

It did what i wanted which was to give me an Post-Apocalypse setting and encourage the maniacal fun side of things, and it exceeded all of expectations on read/review.

I cannot wait to give you more money for future supplements and follow-up material for the line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In Pursuit of Power
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2020 04:44:44

Easily the most complicated addition to the streamlined paths system as of yet, but Christ is it worth the complexity. Rather than making a number of new novice paths like they did for the priest and the warrior, and with no existing class-central customization like the rogue, when the time came to expand the magician, they made it modular. Whenever you gain a new feature from the magician class, you can replace it with a number of options depending on what traditions you know at the time.

Want more castings of level 0 spells? Replace cantrip with the Arcana option. Don't plan on using sense magic, but want to get a burst of speed to charge your enemies at the start of combat? With Battle, you can make that choice. Want to be a master at avoiding damage? If you have the Soul tradition, you can give up counterspell to enhance the effects of damage-avoiding challenge rolls. Want all three of these for some reason? Sure, just have discovered the Arcana and Battle traditions by level 1, and the Soul tradition by level 5.

10/10 would trade soul for again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Pursuit of Power
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nessus: City of Decay
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2020 04:30:52

I love Nessus. I love the idea of it, I love the history that it was given, and I love the execution. I've even got a full 0-10 campaign set in Nessus waiting for an opening in one of my gaming groups, and potentially to be added to the Disciples lineup. With rules for relatively quick generation of playable ruined areas, a number of threats that could be the focus of either an adventure or campaign, and a number of neighborhoods separated by miles of monster-infested ruins, you won't be disappointed with your purchase. It seems a little pricey for a Lands in Shadow expansion, but given what you find within, I'd put it on the same level as Tombs of the Desolation, and more than worth your money if you plan to spend any amount of time within the city or any similar ruins.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nessus: City of Decay
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bred for Battle
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2020 03:56:34

An expansion of the warrior novice path that is essential for anyone who wants to build a martial character in SotDL. Whether you want to play a monk and punch people, a soldier and gain and provide benefits from and to those around you, an armiger and exemplify mounted combat, or a spellguard and start arguments over whether or not you're overpowered, you'll find what you need herein.

10/10 would buy again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bred for Battle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2020 14:02:27

First of all, this is a really entertaining product to read. It was a blast to read for me personally. The system is fun and engaging and the Tone of the product was particularly excellent. I need to inform you though, the tone of this book is unlike any other product on this site.

It contains a model Punk additude. I appreciated it after the initial shock. But the candid, in your face, blatent text was very pleasing after a while. It felt like a conversation with an anger-fueled, monster-energy drink smashing disillusioned war veteren. I'm telling you the reader this, so that you can understand just what you are purchasing. A number of my fellow readers whom I've shared my favorite snippits with were somewhat shocked. I was dismayed. However; the game DOES come with an apt warning label for the language used in the book on the inside cover.

Mechanically; The game feels pretty simple. The hardest part of the game is the Roll-On Charts. Which isn't that difficult to be honest. The character sheet isn't too difficult to read.

Pros: Solid Internal Tone, Feels Conversational, World is interesting, Simple, easy-to- grasp mechanics, Dat Old-Skool feel, Neato-burrito creatures.

Cons: VERY aggressive text could be a turn-off, Old-school feel might be a turn-off for newer roleplayers

Personal Note: In the first chapter I was promised the can of beats would be explained and it was not explained. It was almost like the guy telling me how to play this game got distracted by verything I'd need to know to survive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Songs of Shadow [BUNDLE]
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2020 18:17:09

THE DEMON LORD WILL HAVE HIS TUNES

I'll be honest, I bought this because the woodcut of Rob made me laugh, and I was intrigued, but damn this is a superb dark fantasy record.

The opening tune "Shadow of the Demon Lord" starts with disquieting violins and then kicks it up with chunky guitars and theramin style vocals, exactly capturing the gleefully Satanic B-movie vibe that is this exceptional RPG.

The remaining tracks are dark abmient threat and menace. I ran through the whole album twice during our game last night, and it always underscored the menace and doom of the action perfectly. We had an exceptional session. "This one's called 'The Last Days of Man'" I announced cheerfully, as the hateful dead scrambled up the walls of Martyr's Point. Each track layers on emotions of doomed heroism.

The last three tracks have vocals. "Scary" has a growling death metal feel, "Shadow Inside Me" is operatic metal, and "The One Who Whispers" blends the two styles. I can't see myself using those tracks as much ingame except maybe as session intro theme tune perhaps, but they are rockin' tunes completely at home in any metal collection. The composition, production quality and playing by Sonor Village are just fantastic, and I'm off to find more of their work.

I'll be listening to this record for years to come, when I play the game, read the game, or any time I want to get my dark fantasy brain ticking over. Schwalb has brought the same quality to his first music release as he has to all of the print and PDF material. Next time I'm facing the depths of hell, this will be the sound I hear.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Songs of Shadow [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
by Jeff R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/29/2020 15:42:59

I'm a sucker for Post Apocalyptic games, but even with that in mind this stands out.

The author set a tone for the game that most others wouldn't have had the balls to: it is very rough, very profane and very appropriate to the setting he's cooked up.

So yeah, it has a lot of swearing, and frankly, this is a huge value add for me. I appreciate someone who will follow their inspriation where it goes and come out with a super-fun game to both play and simply read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

PunkApocalyptic: The RPG
by Randall B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2020 03:35:08

4.5/5

TLDR

Trade out grimdark for grindhouse in this modified SotDL system. If you want a streamlined D20 experience with a wide array of character customization options that rivals pathfinder(without the option paralysis and super crunch) with a over the top mad max experience, this is the one to get.

I'm a big fan of this system, so I will be going over a summation of the rules and also how some differ from the base SotDL game for both newcomers and those on the fence for this new iteration of the system.

Base Dice Mechanics:

Not reinventing the wheel, this system is composed of a d20 attribute over-roll to resolve skill checks and attacks. However, the big feature of the DL system is that all additional modifiers are based off a d6 dice pool system that you either add or subtract the highest number die from the base attribute roll, these are called assets and complications. Have a talent that lets you use firearms really well? That would add 1 asset to your attack roll. Same character firing at a mutant into a obscured fog? That gives you 2 complications to your roll. Assets and complications dice cancel each other out, so in the case I outlined above would have you rolling 1 complication die(2 complications - 1 asset) where you would subtract that number from your attack roll. Let's say that same character was also fatigued, adding an additional complication and thus bringing the total complications to 2 (3 complications - 1 asset). That player rolled a 2 and 4 on their d6s, thus they would take the highest from that pool and subtract 4 from their attacker roll.

Why is all that good? Because it eliminates the need to memorize specific numerical modifiers for various conditions. This also means that stacking conditions are significant but have diminishing returns, allowing for more nuance than say the DnD 5e advantage system but not allowing for absurd stacking that can occur in crunchier games such as Pathfinder.

Oh and another thing, all basic skills checks (i.e. not combat) are set at a target difficulty of 10, never changes. Adjustments to difficulty of a task are modified by how many assets or complications they imbue.

Character Generation

The game uses a traditional attribute system, with 8 here vs the 4 presented in SotDL. SotDL in essence also had a 8 stat system, but they were derived from one of the four main attribute. It's a minor adjustment that allows for a bit more freedom in builds. You can have a strong fighter but weak in taking punishment for example.

The game replaces the ancestry system of SotDL with the background system. Generally, you will be playing as humanoids but nothing really prevents you from playing a robot or bizarre mutant. Backgrounds gives you a general theme( such as brute or scavenger), an attribute buff and a talent. A bunch of tables to generate looks, personalities and quirks are provided. The professions system returns here with specialties. You have a character that is good with nuclear physics and has it as a specialty? Cool! Your character either outright knows stuff pertaining to the basics of radioactivity or at the very least gets a asset on checks concerning things that glow green. Simple, but effective.

Character Progression and Campaign Flow

Just like sotdl, this game is designed for campaigns around 11 sessions or so, with characters leveling up each session and getting new abilities from their selected paths. Path selection starts at level 1 with a choice from 4 novice paths, level 3 with 12 expert paths and finally level 7 with 20 master paths. All these paths can be mixed and matched allowing for a wide range of character options. The design of starting with a small amount of broad paths and then branching out helps greatly with option paralysis for many players and I think is a intelligence way to approach progression.

Characters will be doing "missions" and then get various loots and money afterwards. Rules are here for travel, economy, survival and equipment. Tables for activities between missions, settlements, dead zones and other points of interest to populate your world are also provided.

One difference between Sotdl and PA is that the sanity/corruption systems are replaced totally with the mutation system. Mutation come into play when encountering radioactive environments and some enemies. Mutations have cosmetic, negative and beneficial forms, all which often are often completely random. Expect some wackiness that will add to the fun.

Combat

Combat is generally like other d20 games like DND or Pathfinder. Grid-based, various different attack options(martial attacks and mutations which functions as spells and abilities). How the system handles initiative is a standout. Initiative is divided into two main phases: fast turns and slow turns; with a surprise phase going first if it applies for things such as sneak attacks. Fast turns allow one action, while slow turns allow movement and one action but take place after fast turns. Players always go first for each respective phase, deciding however they like on who goes when. As such, the layout goes like this:

  1. Surprise Phase
  2. Player Fast Turns
  3. GM Fast Turn
  4. Player Slow Turns
  5. GM Slow Turns
  6. End of Round

Again, very easy and fast without the need to keep track of initiative with dice rolls.

There are also rules for chases, vehicular and social combat, which are mostly borrowed from the forbidden rules supplements and older sotdl products but are a welcome addition as core.

My only pet peeve of this system is a matter of preference for many: this fast system is still tied to the slowness of grid based combat. With so much of the rules being made to be fast, I feel like this was the only thing holding it back. I would have liked to have seen this game built from the ground up on a zone system similar to the MYZ system. It can still be hacked, but rules regarding converting AoE damage can still be a bit clunky with RAW. Thankfully, I believe future DL products will move towards zone combat based off a recent podcast, but I would have liked to have seen it implemented for this product.

Worldbuilding

A weaker point of the book, although I know this is intentional as supplements will be used to expand in this area. It's more for inspiration to make your own campaigns, which I often do anyways. Lore is provided, but it's fairly generic and not quite inspired. Everything got nuked to hell and the remnants of civilization have vomited forth. Factions are generic, wasters, mutants and mutant hating nazi-fetishists. Don't expect Degenesis levels of world building here, although the locale of scrapbridge does give plenty of plot points to fill in the gaps so it's not really a big downside for me.

Bestiary is small, but imaginative. Can range from landsharks to mind controlling bees to explosive rabbits that can provide some interesting plot points by themselves. No radioactive roaches, kill 10 rats or other boring fodder that no one really wants to fight here.

Conclusion

Get this game or a three-eyed junkie will harvest your liver and throw your sad carcass in the churro pit!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hail!
March Lands
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2020 07:18:21

The map has been added to the book and I am now completely happy with another great setting book in this series. Lots of interesting locations and adventure seed ideas, perfect for setting a campaign in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
March Lands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Sorry for the delay. The file has been updated to include the map.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 165 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates