DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Call to Arms: The Warlord
by Benjamin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2019 22:53:48

Got suckered into buying this because it says Warlord on it, which used to be my favorite class, but this seems like it was written by my 11 year old cousin.

The class doesn't follow any standard class building rules or powerlevels whatsoever; A brief look at any legal class in comparison will show the blindingly obvious power difference between them. Until this is re-written or at least very heavily edited and toned down, this PDF is not worth your money unfortunately.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Call to Arms: The Warlord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call to Arms: The Warlord
by Richard M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2019 14:11:41

HELL YES.

The Warlord was easily my favorite character class in 4E. I loved the ability to be the master of support, giving tactical bonuses and niche effects while also being a potent healer. Sure, I could do some damage on my own, but my main benefit was making everyone else better. This meant that I needed to be hyper focused throughout the combat to make sure each of my bonuses were being used, movements were clear of my triggers, and healing occurred at the proper times. I was a bureaucracy of one. So I completely understood when the Warlord was not among the light-hearted 5E classes. Even so, I mourned my favorite class.

Then Rob Schwalb shows up like he's Santa Claus and I'm on the nice list.

This version of the Warlord is outstanding. It grants positive benefits in both active and passive ways, requiring tactical thinking and play, but without taking too much away from the cleanliness of 5E combat. Issuing Battlefield Commands at the start of combat adds minimal time to a moment when everyone is waiting for the DM to organize combat anyways. The Warlord only gets a few temporary hit points to throw around, which is fine, since healing works so differently in this edition. Attack Command is a fantastic ability, especially with Extra Attacks at higher levels, and high level Warlords overall seem like a ton of fun.

Also, coming right out of the gate with SIX class archetypes is fantastic. These Military Stratagems each give a unique feel to the class, though none of them stray too far from the theme of a tactician. The Daring Gambler has a very strong ability at 3rd level, granting a kind of Reckless Assault to nearby allies. The Golden General has a great ability to inspire troops to fight at their very best. But my favorite might be the Resourceful Leader, who can find success even when things are about to go wrong.

The Warlord is an incredible addition to 5E, allowing you to play like a tactical genius without needing to micro-manage your adventuring party. Go click the button and buy it right now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead by Dawn (Starting)
by Oliver C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2019 08:19:41

Played this with a starting group, and it's a great introduction to the system. It really gets a survival horror feel across, which can be quite difficult to do, so congrats to the writer. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead by Dawn (Starting)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord Screen (PDF)
by David J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2018 19:39:25

The tables are very helpful, and the artwork is excellent, however I feel like it was hastily put together.

There are quite a few typos. ("Stabalize" on page 3, as well as "targets" instead of "target's", "hous" instead of "hours" on page 5...) Every other page in the PDF is blank for some reason. I don't think there is anything missing, it's just that an extra blank page is inserted after every page. Landscape is an interesting choice. I'm sure it works for some people, but my table is not that large. It would be nice to have a portrait option. A printer-friendly version would be welcome as well. The pages don't quite fit right on Letter-sized paper, and a background-free or B&W version would save a lot of ink.

All in all, useful, but could be much better. I ended up using the tables to create my own printer-friendly screen.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord Screen (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord Character Portfolio
by Andrew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2018 17:47:14

Updated review 06/18/18: They added a fillable version, so my old critique is no longer valid. This is a steller sheet totally worth getting! Old Review: Organized with plenty of room for notes. The only down side to this product is that there is no fillable version ( heck I would pay for a fillable version). Other than that extremely petty gripe, this is a must have for any spellcaster or rabid notetaker.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord Character Portfolio
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Necessary Sacrifices (Novice)
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2018 19:25:41

The story of the adventure is good, but be warned most of the opponents in the adventure are expert level monsters that will handily wreck level 1 PCs. Difficulty 100 and 50 creatures are recommended for expert tier. It wasn't a fun challenge for my PCs, it was just hopeless frustration.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Necessary Sacrifices (Novice)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Deeds in Last Hope (Starting)
by Damien L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2018 08:24:45

This was the first time we played SotDL (been playing RPGs since 1979) and Dark Deeds in Last Hope (DDiLH) was the perfect choice for SotDL noobs like us. Not only because there is a lot of suggestions on how you might run things, but the adventure itself is very enjoyable and easy to run. Although the page count of DDiLH is a "whopping" (when compared with other SotDL published adventures) 15 pages! this is simply because it provides a lot of advice useful to both new players and new game masters. Within these pages you get:

  • Art filled cover and adventure premise snippet.
  • Suggestions how different ancestries fit into the community of Last Hope (the town where the adventure starts).
  • List of equipment that PCs may find over the course of the adventure (in addition to rewards at specific locations).
  • Six clues, each one handed to a PC based on their profession type.
  • Optional Path Point System aimed at assisting which Novice path a player should choose at the end of the adventure based on the actions of their PC during the adventure.
  • Suggestions for replacing PCs who die with randomly rolled townsfolk (names & professions) together with a “Local” (townsfolk) stat block.
  • Rules for “creating” Last Hope where you drop dice on the supplied empty map of the town and buildings are assigned based on where the dice fall.
  • Descriptions of the people/places of interest in town – A priest, temple (with cemetery), tavern, abandoned workshop, and constables’ office.
  • Two of the main characters (and their stat blocks).
  • Five pages of story dived into scenes with each scene containing suggestions on which scene to do next based on the players actions.

Good:

  • The story itself was quite good and had some unexpected twist and turns. It’s also worth noting that the adventure isn’t as dark/horrific as some of the other SotDL adventures.
  • The suggestions for what scene comes next were handy (even more so for novice GMs).
  • The clue handouts were a nice touch – who doesn’t like a handout?
  • The town creation rules were simple but added some Player/GM ownership and depth.

Bad:

  • Nothing really but if I had to pick on something some might say the scene descriptions are unnecessarily long (but given its usefulness to a novice GM I disagree) and given all up its 12 pages of adventure (including the cover) it’s still not a lot to read for one night of adventure.
  • I also didn’t care for the Path Point System myself as it seemed extra book work for little gain but others might like having such decisions based on in game actions which is definitely in the spirit of SotDL.

In Play (Potential Spoilers)

We are a small group of three RPG players and with one player “on leave” for two weeks, the rest of us (two) decided to try SotDL having never played it before. That said we are quite familiar with d20 based systems (Basic D&D, AD&D, 3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 5E, and PF) and it was pleasing to find during play the rules were never an issue. I made my own 6 pages of “cheat sheets” which pretty much covered everything one would require in play without opening the rulebook just in case and that should indicate how simple the game is to run.

Given we had only 3 hours I had my friend roll up 4 Staring PCs, a dwarf acolyte, a human, a clockwork, and a goblin, beforehand. So already the acolyte and clockwork fitted into the story well.

Opening scene sees a panicking NPC running from the temple towards the players who grab him and manage to calm him down. The acolyte was immediately concerned for the priest so after some quick questioning sent the stranger on his way without escort to the tavern – whoops! They also failed to notice a bulge in his pants that certainly was no squirrel!

At the temple they took in the scene, discovered a relic was missing, and decided to split the party – yay! Two went towards the woods where they thought they saw some movement deeper in the trees. One stayed in the temple to read the priests letters. The fourth went to talk with the constable. All the while they wondered where the priest, Father Solomon, might be.

The goons in the prison cell were none too pleased to hear a description of their leader being sent to the tavern for a stiff drink as the fourth PC described the nights events to the constable. The PC made a mental note of their reaction but failed to notice the state of the cells lock. The party regrouped and went to see how the guy from the temple was fairing only to discover he was a no show at the tavern. “What the ?”

The party then decided to venture into the woods and came upon a woodman’s body, stripped of clothing. Pressing on they came upon a camp where the same woodsman, now apparently alive, ran from a tent straight towards then as an animated corpse stumbled towards him. The “What the?” moment here was really cool. Dispatching the corpse was not an issue and after questing the woodsman's double they realised they had a changeling on their hands.

They ignored her pleas to look for the mayor’s son (and her friend/lover) and took her back to town only to discover a jailbreak had occurred and a break in of a nearby house by the 4 goons was currently underway. They of course went to the occupant’s rescue and after a slightly protracted battle, where despite the acolyte’s crap armour not a single blow could a goon lay on him the goons were dispatched. Surely evidence of the New God ability to protect their own? The goons boss also tried to sneak up on the PCs goblin archer but failed and was quickly set upon in turn and died when he decided things weren’t looking good and tried to run.

With the goons and their leader dispatched and the relic recovered, they got the bad-tempered tavern owner to clean up the mess and returned to the camp in the woods. From here they followed another trail to a small clearing where the mayor’s son whimpered and spat at the “witch hunters” to stay back. A short fight broke out but the necromancer in the making soon surrendered just as three ‘goat’ headed Beastmen investigating the sounds of combat gate crashed the scene. Alas for them the PCs again quickly dispatched their new opponents and returned to town with mayor’s son in toe.

Conclusion

We easily wrapped up the adventure in the short time frame which given we had never played before was really cool. I was quite surprised not a single PC went down. My friend and I both really enjoyed the adventure and look forward to next week when we will try a Novice adventure. So that’s a thumb up from both of us for the adventure and another thumb for SotDL itself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Deeds in Last Hope (Starting)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The God Below (Novice)
by James P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2018 10:54:06

I ran this adventure for my homebrew campaign ( where I'm testing the SotDL rules ). We knocked this out in one session of around 4 hours. Around 2 to 3 hours of which was investigation, which went well. Each of the characters went about with their own ideas of how to look into this, i was able to use the rumours/clues to fit their choices. For the last hour, a fairly intense fight scene as the characters tried their best to not die whilst dealing with the problem.

At $1.49 this was excellent value for money.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The God Below (Novice)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The City of Lorden Gazetteer
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 20:44:04

Very good. It was descriptive and detailed. Looks like a lot of work went into it. It will help my game and I would buy from them again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The City of Lorden Gazetteer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2018 02:09:05

An interesting evolution of d20 system, more simple in most things, and adding sanity and corruption mechanics, but is the fluff I love. More details here



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord Character Portfolio
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2018 13:30:28

Great character sheets! Easy to use, lots of room for notes. I like them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord Character Portfolio
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disciples of the Demon Lord: Creator Resources
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2018 12:26:04

I thought it was fantastic. An awesome way for fans to get involved or for new writers to get involved. I'd recommend it to anyone trying their hand at gaming.   I'dKI'I



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disciples of the Demon Lord: Creator Resources
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Knife in Your Hand (Novice)
by Christian L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2018 12:39:14

The Good: A very evocative delve into a single location dripping (literally) with flavorful detail, where the players will face some uncomfortable decisions, at least one of which is likely to have ramifications lasting long beyond the end of this adventure. The Bad: The balance seems way off for a novice adventure. For my 1st-level party, even cutting the monsters by more than half led to a near TPK (and I can't see much hope for a non-combat resolution to the scenario as written). Also, the conclusion offers the party a staggering reward of 150 gc -- 30 times the maximum limit recommended for a novice party in the core rulebook! Still, if the GM is prepared to adjust for these issues, the scenario offered is a very interesting and memorable one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Knife in Your Hand (Novice)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Deeds in Last Hope (Starting)
by Christian L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2018 12:24:38

A very impressive adventure for a group of 0-level characters. I cannot say enough good things about the non-linear design of this scenario, with a number of interesting things going on in different places at the same time, leading to a lot of variety in how the adventure might play out depending on the decisions made by the players. GMs are well-served by the "choose your own adventure" style guidance directing them where to turn based on what their players did in any particular scene. Definitely one of the best single-session adventure designs I've come across for any system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Deeds in Last Hope (Starting)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Foulest Reptiles
by Peter R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2018 14:35:35

Foulest Reptiles is somewhat of a baseline for the Monstrous Pages series for Shadow of The Demon Lord. It provides GMs with a large aount of material for using Lizardmen and variations in an SoTDL game. Overall, I was very pleased with this product(besides the fact that "crocodile-folk' are catergorize as generic Lizardmen. 5 Stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foulest Reptiles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 116 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates