DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Shadow of the Demon Lord
by Vilius D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2022 20:48:44

Very easy to read. The player character build path is really clear.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fine Country Folk
by Yotam G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2022 07:54:28

Fine Country Folk is a fantastic adventure for Shadow of the Demon Lord. It pushes the game's setting to it's limit in a brutal and spectacular fashion and I absolutely love it. The only thing that could've used some work is the initial adventure hook as the ones provided by the adventure itself doen't make much sense. Other than that, this adventure is awesome and you should absolutely pick it up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fine Country Folk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Soulbound Armor
by Hoodie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2022 22:01:32

Soulbound Armor is a good little supplement that provides probably one of the coolest races out there. Whether you're doing an expy, a dramatic identity reveal, or just think playing a walking suit of armor kicks ass, you'll find a flexible, and solid race to fit just about any character build you're going for, not just swordfighting ghost knights.

On top of that, the grosser elements some might have problems with in SOTDL are basically absent. So if you want a flexible race that you could fit into pretty much any party or group, I'd suggest checking this out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Soulbound Armor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Soulbound Armor
by Luke D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2022 11:37:51

Hello there to anyone reading this. I will give a disclaimer that I don't usually review things so forgive me if it's not up to par compared to others and that I am unbiased in this review despite knowing Murphy personally. With that being said, I'll get into my review of Soulbound Armor.

Personally, I love the flavor that Soulbound Armor brings. We only had Clockwork for so long to try and emulate what I think many people would want out of this powerful ancestry. While similiar to Clockwork, it is entirely it's own thing and holds identity and fits nicely into the lore of SotDL without seeming out of place, which takes into account almost every facet you could possibly think of, even including a way to introduce this into your games through new spells. In addition to great flavor, this book also holds excellent customization that I feel other powerful ancestries seriously lack. If you are a Jotuun let's say, you sacrifice your starting class for something that might not fit the kit of your Expert or Master path at all, or at least, not as well as Soulbound. With all the unique bindings to choose from to ensure your choice is rewarded, not to mention that much like Clockwork, you can further enhance your Soulbound characters with upgrades. This allows for unrivaled flexibility, while still not being too overtuned.

It seemed well balanced overall, and is an excellent addition to your collection at a affordable price for all it includes. I highly recommend this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord
by Yann k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2022 10:20:49

I took it as an alternative to D&D, and was very happy with the rule set, and the quality. It solved most of the heavyness, rolls are quick and meaningfull, advancements are fun, and it was easy to plan online. I recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

PunkApocalyptic RPG Quickstart
by Mike N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2021 23:51:20

This is very good as quickstart guides go, both in terms of layout and the amount of flavour and rules content. Essentially, it allows a GM to get this, show players the QuickStart and suggest "hey, let's play this". If enough folks like it, you can then known it's worth buying everything available to keep it spinning for a few games with your gaming group. At a "pay what you want" price (auto-suggestion is $0.50!), it's totally worth getting to see whether you'd like to play this game, and go on to purchase the full rules and the (currently one available) supplement, plus the mission PDFs. It was a good enough QuickStart that it made me go "all in" to hoover up everything else (even though I bought the main rules from a supplier not named DriveThruRPG due to quicker delivery option). Nicely done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PunkApocalyptic RPG Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Scumbag's Guide to Scrapbridge
by Mike N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2021 23:38:20

This is good and well worthwhile. It's well written and clearly written (although those averse to profane language probably shouldn't buy this... or be playing this game!). It has some good flavour on Scrapbridge - it makes it easy to find characters, places and inspiration without having to wade through the type of excessive, padded minutiae that is common to supplements in many gaming systems. Lastly, and importantly for the nuts and bolts of gaming, it includes about a dozen interesting monsters/critters for GMs to throw at players. Many of these creatures provide built-in ways to make the combat a more considered, tactical affair than just running forward and hitting them. Nicely done. A lot of gaming systems could learn from this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Scumbag's Guide to Scrapbridge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In Plain Sight
by Adrian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2021 10:56:59

This is probably one of THE best ancestry books for Shadow. Not every book is as detailed or open ended, in a good way, as In Plain Sight.

My only slight complaint which doesn't detract overall, is I wish they provided priest suggestions for the Old Man Cat Master Path. Suggestions so if you wanted to play a priest to him you had ideas on what to pick for your three traditions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Plain Sight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Soulbound Armor
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2021 13:56:36

This is a product that a lot of people are probably interested in, as animated armor is a common choice for player characters who want to add a bit of mystery to a character. Before now the only real way to do it was through the clockwork race in the official materials, but this offers a more varied and faithful option for people so they don't have to settle for the more robotic aspects of clockworks to play out their character ideas.

Soulbound Armor also integrates into the lore better than most other supplements I've seen for this and many other games, coming with well-written lore of its own that fits seamlessly into the Shadow of the Demon Lord setting. It also offers a lot of customization options for player characters, both in character concept and progression. I cannot recommend this supplement enough, it's an excellent product for anyone interested in animated armor characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Soulbound Armor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Soulbound Armor
by Austin J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2021 09:27:50

Howdy y'all, this is my first ever review so know that I may be unfocused and make mistakes. That being said, let's get into it.

I would like to start by saying that I really love this book, it's got great value for the price. What do I mean by that exactly? Well, the official product I could compare this to is the line of splat books that some of the other races, like orcs and humans get. What I mean by that is that you get the full package here! In depth lore to help you best understand the nature of the soulbound armor, a new spell for creating your own soulbound servant (if you are an evil wiz kid), and the main reason to buy being the creation rules for your own soulbound character.

The Soulbound as an ancestry, to start of this talk, is a powerful ancestry. Some may be put off by this, but let me tell you that the flexibility of the novice path is flexible enough that I can assure you it won't be an issue. It allows for more customization, all of which is appropriate for the ancestry, than say the centaur and yotun ancestries. I do also need to mention for the GMs out there that it is well balanced in my opinion. At first I was worried that it was too low powered, but after I put my mind from 5e and back to SotDL I realized it was well in line with the system.

Overall, I think this is an excellent product, great bang for your buck. I am looking forward to running a one off featuring the all soulbound party pretending to be innanimate suits during the day, carted around by a mr magoo type old man who is unaware of their being alive, and at night slipping into town to fight off some bandits or other force of evil.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terrible Beauty
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2021 00:07:47

Without doubt the finest treatise on Fey for roleplaying games. More murderful than whimsical, bending to their own realities, this is not your father's Legolas: these fey are immortal, alien and aloof. Come for the severed head tied to a unicorn saddle, stay for page upon page of inspiration for upending everything you've ever thought about elves and change your campaigns forever. Five glowing stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terrible Beauty
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord
by Ryan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2021 11:49:50

Every bit of praise this game has received is deserved. The one thing that hasn't been mentioned is how well organized the books are. They are easy to find and reference items quickly. As a long time Game Master this is extremely helpful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord
by Drew U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2021 09:03:00

This is the best classic fantasy sytem made yet. It is extremely easy to modify to fit one's needs in genre, does away with the worse norms of other classic fantasy rpgs, and has a wealth of options. Its cheap and has a wealth of expansions to boot! Buy this asap if you like this sort of game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paths of War
by Liam D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2021 17:58:27

Well thought out paths that add to the collective library of options for any player, Novice, Expert or Master!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paths of War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Glad you liked the supplement! Thank you for the review :)
Tome of Horror and Madness
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 14:06:56

Another amazing addition to the SotDL universe! This time, the theme seems to be all about giving more options to the PCs while they progress through their adventures.

The new Ancestries are incredibly diverse and multi-faceted, and very unique among the other Ancestries I've come across. I adore the Symbiotic Infestation and Truth Seeker paths, especially, since I could easily adapt either into whatever direction my PCs develop into.

Attention Alternative Support (Useful) Players: this book is for you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Horror and Madness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for an awesome review! And we are really glad you liked the supplement :)
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 196 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates