DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Son of a Portable Hole
by Thomas K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2021 17:18:06

Almost 20 years later I decided to look over this "relic."

Behold, the humor still holds up. As does some of the oddities which may actually see game time.

The production values are a little dated (Landscape, trash borders, clunky art and formatting), though the text makes up for that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Son of a Portable Hole
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

War of the Burning Sky 4E Subscription
by Niki K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2021 17:09:54

Solid and fun high fantasy campaign, wonky balancing on encounters (but one-size will rarely fit all for a 4th Ed party so this is easy to forgive). The reason this is 3 stars instead of 5 however are the subpar or simply MISSING maps you'll throw out and replace by hunting around online.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky 4E Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Judge Dredd Case File #5: Red Dredd Redemption
by Steve T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2020 07:13:18

Ridiculous price for 4 or 5 pages pdf. no maps included so if you want to buy this to save preparation time...forget that. it is not even a good or full scenario but a short encounter. not what i expected....total waste of money. 5 bucks for just an idea of a scene? a stat block steals at least half a page. google for old judge dredd adventures and buy the old white dwarf issues with jd scenarios. for 2 bucks you get a complete adventure with a damn good story (maps included). you have to imporovise stats from games workshop jd to woin...but that is no problem with the npcs in the rule book.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Judge Dredd Case File #5: Red Dredd Redemption
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Judge Dredd Case File #3: Night of the Living Dredd
by Steve T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2020 11:15:29

Ridiculous price for 4 or 5 pages pdf. no maps included so if you want to buy this to save preparation time...forget that. it is not even a good or full scenario but a short encounter. not what i expected....total waste of money. 5 bucks for just an idea of a scene? a stat block steals at least half a page. google for old judge dredd adventures and buy the old white dwarf issues with jd scenarios. for 2 bucks you get a complete adventure with a damn good story (maps included). you have to imporovise stats from games workshop jd to woin...but that is no problem with the npcs in the rule book.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Judge Dredd Case File #3: Night of the Living Dredd
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[5E] A Touch of Class (Revised): 7 New Classes for 5th Edition
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2020 19:51:28

(Full disclosure: I was a Kickstarter backer for this. I also support EN5ider on Patreon.)

A Touch of Class is a collection of classes (and related articles) presented in ENWorld's EN5ider series. There are seven in all:

  • Alchemist: A spellcasting class with a focus on bombs and potions. While I liked the class overall, they failed to clearly describe just what their spellcasting looks like, as distinguished from other classes like the wizard. (It's implied they use chemistry to generate spell effects, but I didn't see that spelled out.) They do, however, also include some cool alchemical items.
  • Cardcaster: A spellcasting class that uses tarot cards. I loved the concept, but was disappointed with the execution - instead of a distinct class with flavorful powers based on each card, we get an upgraded diviner wizard with some thematic limitations. Some of the mechanics are also a bit odd, especially the King of Pentacles and its money powers. They also included a Jack of Beasts subclass, which is essentially a Pokémon trainer - fun, but it feels like it was thrown in, and doesn't feel particularly D&D.
  • Diabolist: A class with fiend-related powers, clearly meant for evil characters. Honestly, it seems unnecessary when we have the warlock. They also include a section of "Conjured Horrors", but I only liked one, the tiny cacodaemon.
  • Feywalker: A class with fey-related powers. Despite some neat abilities, like the "feystrike", I don't see why we need this when we have the archfey warlock. It also has the same Hit Die as the fighter, for some reason, which makes it feel like someone building a class just for their personal tastes.
  • Morph: A dedicated shapeshifting class. It's OK, I suppose, but very specialized, and takes away one of the chief appeals of the druid. I also predict balance issues from the menu of shapeshifting options.
  • Noble: A thinly veiled 5th Edition version of 4E's warlord. As such, it runs into the same problems 4E's warlord would have in 5E (explaining non-magical healing; the effects on combat from granting player characters extra actions; and the fact that most of the warlord's flavor and other features have been given to existing 5E options, like the battle master fighter). That all said, they do a good job of designing the class; I particularly like the Path of the Heart subclass, which reflavors them as a non-violent Disney-style princess. (Though giving them disadvantage in combat seems excessive and harsh.) I'm not sure I'd use this class, but I would understand if others did.
  • Occultist: False advertising. This is built as a class, but it's not any sort of occultist - it's a way for players to be a constructed creature, a vampire, or a werebeast. These should have been presented as character race options instead.

Overall, the book is mechanically sound, but many of the class concepts seem too specialized or redundant to be used in the typical D&D game. The alchemist and noble are the best of lot, and the main reason to seek this work out; the others are just OK. Unless you're looking to create a very different campaign using a number of these classes, I would recommend signing up with EN5ider and seeking out the specific class articles you prefer, rather than buying the entire work. (Originally posted on Goodreads)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[5E] A Touch of Class (Revised): 7 New Classes for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Masterclass Codex: Sixteen New Character Classes For Your Fifth Edition Campaign
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2020 19:27:38

(Full disclosure: I was a Kickstarter backer for this. I also support EN5ider on Patreon.)

This book compiles together two other ENWorld collections, A Touch of Class: 7 New Classes For Your 5th Edition Game and A Touch More Class: 9 More Character Classes For Your 5th Edition Game. (I previously reviewed A Touch of Class individually, but I'm including parts of that review here for convenience's sake.)

The Masterclass Codex includes new character classes for D&D 5th edition, along with some related articles, all originating in ENWorld's EN5ider series. There are sixteen in all.

From A Touch of Class:

  • Alchemist: A spellcasting class with a focus on bombs and potions. While I liked the class overall, they failed to clearly describe just what their spellcasting looks like, as distinguished from other classes like the wizard. (It's implied they use chemistry to generate spell effects, but I didn't see that spelled out.) They do, however, also include some cool alchemical items.
  • Cardcaster: A spellcasting class that uses tarot cards. I loved the concept, but was disappointed with the execution - instead of a distinct class with flavorful powers based on each card, we get an upgraded diviner wizard with some thematic limitations. Some of the mechanics are also a bit odd, especially the King of Pentacles and its money powers. They also included a Jack of Beasts subclass, which is essentially a Pokémon trainer - fun, but it feels like it was thrown in, and doesn't feel particularly D&D. (Also, considering they added the Monster Tamer in A Touch More Class, it seems redundant to have both in this compilation.) I do admit I liked the Cardcaster better on a reread, but the above criticisms still stand.
  • Diabolist: A class with fiend-related powers, clearly meant for evil characters. Honestly, it seems unnecessary when we have the warlock. They also include a section of "Conjured Horrors", but I only liked one, the tiny cacodaemon.
  • Feywalker: A class with fey-related powers. Despite some neat abilities, like the "feystrike", I don't see why we need this when we have the archfey warlock. It also has the same Hit Die as the fighter, for some reason, which makes it feel like someone building a class just for their personal tastes.
  • Morph: A dedicated shapeshifting class. It's OK, I suppose, but very specialized, and takes away one of the chief appeals of the druid. I also predict balance issues from the menu of shapeshifting options.
  • Noble: A thinly veiled 5th Edition version of 4E's warlord. As such, it runs into the same problems 4E's warlord would have in 5E (explaining non-magical healing; the effects on combat from granting player characters extra actions; and the fact that most of the warlord's flavor and other features have been given to existing 5E options, like the battle master fighter). That all said, they do a good job of designing the class; I particularly like the Path of the Heart subclass, which reflavors them as a non-violent Disney-style princess. (Though giving them disadvantage in combat seems excessive and harsh.) I'm not sure I'd use this class, but I would understand if others did.
  • Occultist: False advertising. This is built as a class, but it's not any sort of occultist - it's a way for players to be a constructed creature, a vampire, or a werebeast. These should have been presented as character race options instead.

From A Touch More Class:

  • Bloodweaver: A class with powers based on the manipulation of blood. Many of said powers ("disciplines") are close to existing spells, which makes one wonder why they didn't just give them spells. However, some of the strongest disciplines are rather interesting (such as "amalgamate"). The class has an unusual structure, with a skill-tree approach to disciples, plus the requirement to damage yourself (though that also feels kind of edgelord-y). Overall, the class seems too specialized for many campaigns, but I imagine there are some that will embrace it.
  • Fatebender: A class that gives you luck-manipulation powers, similar to superhero characters like Domino. Mechanically, it feels like a hybrid between a bard and the wild magic sorcerer. Looks like a lot of fun to play. The only issue is that it doesn't feel like much of a fantasy archetype.
  • Gemini: A very odd class concept, based around creating duplicates to aid you, with a duality theme (young-old, etc.). It honestly feels like someone really wanted a character with duplication powers, and built a class just for that specific character; I can't see it fitting into most campaigns. (As written, it also sounds like it might be meant for a more modern-day setting.)
  • Geomancer: Kind of a druid-monk hybrid, loosely themed around the five Chinese elements (earth, fire, metal, water, wood). The lore is pretty vague and doesn't seem to quite connect with the class's features. I was pretty disappointed, as the concept had promise, but never quite seems to gel.
  • Gunfighter: A pretty good class, as long as you're fine with firearms in your fantasy. However, there's one big problem... they don't include rules for firearms! So it's unusable as written. (They apparently did include the firearms rules as bonus content with the PDF release... but not having them in the actual hardcover is inexcusable.)
  • Lodestar: Another odd class, this one focuses on orbiting stones that can be used to strike enemies and for other effects. It feels like a gimmick you'd see in a video game, not particularly archetypal in any way. Another I can't see much use for in most campaigns.
  • Monster Tamer: Basically lets you create a Pokémon trainer, but with D&D monsters. (There also seems to be a touch of Beastmaster in there.) This could be fun to play, and the pet rules seem solid, but teaming a tough PC (they even have a d12 Hit Die) with tough monsters could make this a little strong for many campaigns.
  • Savant: An Intelligence-based class, which reminds me the most of Robert Downey Jr.'s Sherlock Holmes. Love the concept, though a few of the "tricks" seem very powerful. I would have also appreciated subclasses that weren't so reminiscent of other classes. This does seem like one of the more broadly useful options, however.
  • Tinkerer: An ideal class for a world that mashes together magic and steampunk tech. Certain elements are clearly inspired by the comic Girl Genius. One interesting design feature - all the level 20 features are part of the subclass, rather than the main class. This could be a lot of fun in the right kind of campaign.

The classes in the first half (A Touch of Class) are more mechanically sound than the ones in the second half (A Touch More Class), though both function. Both halves share a problem that many class concepts are too specialized for many D&D campaigns, or redundant with other classes; specialization is especially a problem in the second half (again, I just can't see the gemini or lodestar being in many campaigns). I also wonder if some would have worked better as subclasses of existing classes, rather than classes unto themselves.

The alchemist and noble from the first half are definite highlights, and would work well in most campaigns. But even though I like some of the classes in the second half, I can't recommend any of them without some caveats. Most of the classes in both halves (but especially in the second) require you to change some fundamental D&D assumptions to fit them in. If you're up for doing that on a large scale, it may be worth buying the entire compilation. Otherwise, I'd probably sign up for EN5ider and get the classes' information individually. (Originally posted on Goodreads)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Masterclass Codex: Sixteen New Character Classes For Your Fifth Edition Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2020 22:30:44

This was the first ever D&D campaign I ran, and the group made it through the first 3 adventures before scheduling broke us apart. The story, characters, and adventures all captured my imagination and that of my players. Honestly, I'd buy this just to read it, and I recently pulled it out to reread, and promptly decided I want to run it again, so that's the next campaign I'll be running with my current group in the new year! This is a campaign that requires high levels of trust and communication between players and DM, but if you have that, it's a campaign that leads PCs through an oddysey to remember and talk about for years to come, even from the very 1st level.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
by norbert p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2020 18:23:17

Please check out my YouTube review to see what Mr. Mean thinks of W.O.I.N. system: https://youtu.be/a2_IYeHDMGA



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2020 21:01:57

Got my book sooner then expected but, the front and back covers seem to have been bent up. This looks like it was done before or during packaging. Don't see how the corners could get folded while in the box. Other then that I am extremely excited to start reading so I can run this. Does seem like a little extra care in packaging could be taken. Would have given 5 stars if it were not for the condition the book was received in



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Simply6: Spaceships
by Peter M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2019 18:00:28

I have recently pruchased Simply6 to play solo with the Mythic Deck and the GMA Deck. Simply6 Spaceships tweaks the Simply6 rules nicely and also works well with theTitan Gate setting. Very much worth the low price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Simply6: Spaceships
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Titan Gate - A Simply6 Campaign Setting
by Peter M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2019 17:55:41

I have recently pruchased Simply6 to play solo with the Mythic Deck and the GMA Deck. Titan Gate is a nice little scifi supplement with a enough detail to get you thinking about possibilities but with lots of room to build it your own way. I am combining it with Zozer Games Hostile setting. If you are buyinng this I recomend you also buy Simply6 Spacesships.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Titan Gate - A Simply6 Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Simply6: A Fast Universal RPG
by Peter M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2019 17:46:48

I don't usually comment on products I buy. However, Simply6 howeve deserves one! It is fast, fun and simple and works well with different genres. I have been playing it solo using the Mythic deck and also the GMA Deck. Simply6 compliments them both nicely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Simply6: A Fast Universal RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elements of Magic (Revised)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2019 07:07:53

So many years after I first purchased this product, this is still one of the best supplements I've ever incorporated into my games. My players really love using this magic system - it's completely spoiled them for the old Vancian ways of doing things. When I've got a new idea for a fantasy game I want to run, I'll often give my players a choice of systems, but I don't know why I bother. They always choose the same thing: our bastard mix of D&D 3.5 and Pathfinder 2, with Elements of Magic. They just want a chance to play with EoM again.

From what I've read about the new edition of Pathfinder, it sounds like EoM won't work with it very well. This makes me sad. Because this is a really fun and wonderful product, and it will be sad if later generations of gamers never encounter it because the systems can't support it anymore. As for us, we'll probably always keep our old system books around, just so we can run an adventure with Elements of Magic once in awhile.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elements of Magic (Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[WOIN] Starship Construction Manual v1.1
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2019 01:42:46

I bought the WOIN Starship Construction Manual in both print and pdf. Upon receiving my download, I was anxious to start reading on how to design ships. After reading it, I am pleasantly suprised how easy the system is. Campared, to Traveller's ship construction, this is a breeze! Simply, choose from a list of options and keep track of everything via the provided worksheet.

Ships are rated according to their Hull Class which represents the overall size of the ship and each Hull Class provides specific values for Tonnage, Cost, Crew requirements, Cargo Units, Defense, Fuel, and Initiative penalties. Cargo Units or CU represents the total number of components that you can add to your ship. Your ship has a Super Structure that represents how much damage the hull can take before the ship is destroyed. It has to be manually calculated and starts at 3 times the Hull Class.

Then you buy your CPU budget which represents the maximum capacity of your computer to operate ship sytsems and components. Your CPU can reduce the total crew requirement, give bonuses to your SOAK and Defense as well as determines the number of CPU Cycles which is basically the total number of things the computer can control. Max FTL determines the limits of your ships ability to calculate FTL navigation coordinates to get somewhere, which effects the ships overall speed.

Sensors will be needed as well to detect ships as well as scan planets to determine atmosphere composition and whether there is life. They have a range and can provide bonuses to Defense. Then you can buy a Navigation Computer, which can increase your FTL speeds by making your ship more efficient in the routes that it plots to take advantage of hyperspace shortcuts or gravity slingshots.

Your ship will need an engines for propulsion as well as to provide power to all the various systems. There are a number of options for a variety of settings and tech levels such as engines using liquid fuel, fusion reactors, ion engines, solar sails, hyperdrive engines, and anti-matter engines that are the equivalent of Star Trek warp engines.There are even optional exotic engines such as probability drives and a rotor drive capable of making your ship travel in space and time.

There are a ton of weapon options as well such as phasers, projectile cannons, nukes, missles, railguns, quad cannons, ion cannons, railguns, disruptors, torpedos, particle beams, blasters, and even mines.

As far as defensive options, the book has a variety of shield systems and deflector shields that provide a SOAK value for the ship and absorb damage. There are variants for armor such as ice armor, rock armor, fluidic armor, organic living armor that heals, and regenerative nano composites that can heal both the armor and hull underneath.

Additional systems such as cloaking devices, tractor beams, fuel scoops, external cargo bays, command and control systems that provide bonuses to friendly ships that are in range for their Initiative and attack rolls, Electronic Warfare Systems and Counter Measures, as well as Hardened Electronic Shielding.

You can provide additional crew and passenger compartments, add hanger bays, repair bays that can fix your ships Super Structure, cabins, galleys, messhalls, ship bays, brig, sickbay, and holodecks. Finally, the book ends with 6 new ships designs such as a transport, cargo ship, battleship, research vessel, Seeker Scout, and Carrier. Then there are 3 ships that we have seen before in the NEW Core Rules such as the ugly egg-shaped Junker Courier, the Talon, and the Endeavor Cruiser. The artwork for these ships are grainy as well.

My only complaint is that there are no rules to damage any of these specific ships systems. I'm also surprised that it does not have rules for adding a hydroponics garden to feed your crew or options for Life Support Systems as well as rules for adding gravity to your ship. The head/bathroom should be added as well. These areas are completely ignored yet they play a critical role to a star ship. It would have been nice to have rules about building ships that can only stay in space as well as models that can land on a planet. There are no rules about manueverability either.

There are no bookmarks in the pdf either. It makes trying to reference rules in it a pain in the ass.

Overall, I am impressed with the Starship Construction Manual. It allows you to build a variety of ships for your game in a manner that is straight forward and not too complex. Unfortunately, most of the art in this book is recycled images that appear in the NEW Core Rules. I'm also disappointed that there were only 6 new ship designs and I wish the artwork for them was better too. They look so blurry! There are still no deck plans either for any of the ships either. Plus, I wish that there was a way to damage a ships sub systems. I give this book a 4 out of 5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] Starship Construction Manual v1.1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bride of Portable Hole
by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2019 17:21:48

It's like getting really drunk and then suffering through the hangover; at some point, and after a certain age, you're going to have to go there; so you might as well just take the plunge, and go there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bride of Portable Hole
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 727 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates