DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Darkest Night (5E): A Christmas Adventure
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2021 12:11:16

Ran this at Christmas for my neices and nephews. It was a great intro to DnD for them! Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Darkest Night (5E): A Christmas Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alchemist (5E)
by Elijah W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2021 13:14:26

Very cool, very fun, and well thought-out. It is pretty complicated, though. There's an awful lot going on at 1st level. I would definitely recommend this, but probably wouldn't recommend it to a new player.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alchemist (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Darkest Night (5E): A Christmas Adventure
by Jericho A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2021 07:13:31

Ran this on a local event by one of my D&D communities a week before Christmas. Some of the players were newbies and they enjoyed the session very much. The module, I feel, provides the backbone of the adventure, but I like to put some personal touches on the story. But nothing tops the ending and the gifts suggested by the module. Some players were getting emotional over the holiday presents. Overall, my players really had fun. Thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Darkest Night (5E): A Christmas Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Darkest Night (5E): A Christmas Adventure
by Jonathan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2020 09:56:47

Comdined this with another smaller adventure for some frineds as a small Christmas DnD session. Everyone enjoyed it and witht he addition of some fun voices had everyone laughing and enjoying themselves. It has a really well constructed stroy and the maps are good too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Darkest Night (5E): A Christmas Adventure
by Erica B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2020 20:53:55

I ran this as my first campaign as a DM ever. It was lots of fun and super easy to follow. I loved the opening poem and stage setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Seas of Vodari (5E)
by Luiz R. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2020 01:30:43

Finally i got the chance of getting it, and reading it was a literal adventure, the special classes are well balanced and wonderful, the art is amazing and there is a good variety of options for the masters and players to make.

I still think deep sea creatures and a wereanglerfish could have been creatures that will shock players at night. But Weresharks are a great option, and all gargantuan monsters like the sea dragon can do as well. I will follow further playing options provided here like i did on day 1



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Seas of Vodari (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through Their Own Eyes (5E)
by Martin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2020 19:04:32

I have used it so much already; it is a great addition to look for unique traits based on ancestry instead of background



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through Their Own Eyes (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

NAVAL COMBAT (5E) - Running Sea Encounters for Ships & Monsters
by Shane B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2020 10:45:14

Excelent - this product is 28 pages. 1 cover page and one for the OGL. 26 pages of rules for running Naval Combat. Small enough that I can find what I want quickly and has enough detail to get going with a Naval campaign. The Pdf has bookmarks as well - Awsome! I havent tried to print it, but really not alot of issue that I can see but I guess that would depend on your printer. Text is copiable so those that need a printout have minamal work if they have MS word. and the price is right! I think the Author did an excellent job! thank you very much Tribality



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NAVAL COMBAT (5E) - Running Sea Encounters for Ships & Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pirate Adventurers (5E)
by Shane B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2020 09:42:21

I was looking for rules for PC and npc priate characters and this is perfect its light enough that I can use what I need in a matter of minutes and has enough info to get me headed in the direction I want to go with my campaign. Thumbs up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirate Adventurers (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Seas of Vodari (5E)
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2020 11:47:44

My players have been clamouring for a nautical adventure for a while now and I have to say, the starter adventure was a blast. And just like the adventure this book has so much great content - different spells and classes and magic items and of course, ships. I particularly enjoy the variant rules around firearms, the feat for wearing less armour (which, in a setting like this, is super flavorful) and the aquatic dwarves. I always felt that the generic 5e spells that are water-themed are a little lacking in flavor, so this book explores it a bit further! One of my players was also super pumped to play the Musketeer (called d'Artagnan, of course!).

Overall, there's a lot of content to play around with and the creators definitely thought about nautical campaigns from multiple angles - the mechanical options are all well designed and make a lot of sense, while bringing some new things to the table. The maps, artwork and layout are all pretty neat and make navigating (sorry) the supplement a lot easier.

I would definitely recommend this book if you are interested in seafaring-themed campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Seas of Vodari (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

By Flame, Storm, and Thorn (5E)
by Josh d. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2020 20:42:09

Three excellent new RAnger archetypes! Work every penny and more.

Brandes Stoddard knows what he's doing when writing for RPG's. These ranger additions are flavorful and evokative, jumping right off the page and into your game world. They are well balanced and even if they are not totally balanced, WHO CARES? They evince such cinematic gameplay that the fun at the table will be well worth any mechanical headache.

Lantern-Bearer ranger is easily my favorite of the three, though Stormcloak gives rangers the option for thunder and lightning gameplay and sounds very fun. Thornguard deserved high praise for returning trapmaking to the forefront and would be an excellent counterpart to the player-characters.

The abilities are well thought out and exciting, and only a couple get you a little tongue-tied in their apparent complexity.

Excellent work as usual from Brandes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
By Flame, Storm, and Thorn (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through Their Own Eyes (5E)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/25/2019 02:23:48

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 21 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 19 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

The first page shows how to use this – basically, you can either pick 2 – 3 additional personality features or to replace a couple of the standard ones for the material within. The pdf lets control over that rest firmly within the hands of the GM, and the introduction firmly cautions against wrecking anyone’s fun – the friction some of these generates is intended as a roleplaying catalyst, not to wreck a given game.

The respective tables and their content is provided from the perspective of the respective race, which also means that some of them are presented in a dialect – for dwarves, you could e.g. read “I dinnae quite trust the open sky”, to give you an example from the dwarven tables.

Each of the races within gets 4 tables – a d8 table of personality traits, which can e.g., to take the example of dwarves, involve planning for the next creation. Beyond that, we have 3 d6-tables: One for ideals (with associated alignments noted in brackets), bonds and flaws each getting a d6 table. To illustrate an example for evil dwarves, we’d have the ideal “the natural home of gold is among the dwarves.” As far as elves are concerned, we get separate table-complexes for surface elves and drow, with the latter being interesting: “All my relationships are based on clear, contractual obligations.” Is a genuinely interesting notion for evil characters that are not just psychos. Couching unpleasantnesses in euphemisms is another – the whole section dealing with drow is pretty inspired in its application of concepts that make being part of evil race more nuanced and interesting.

I was also amused by the culinary focus we could see among halflings – “Revenge is a dish best served cold, and from below” really made me chuckle; similarly, swearing to never go hungry again reminded me of the propensity in pop culture to equate the desire for success with “still being hungry”, always signifying a ravenous and cutthroat desire to get what you want. This subtle theme also extends to e.g. dragonborn – “I hoard words like coins. I never say two words when a gesture would suffice.” Would be a great example; slightly draconic in its nomenclature, it makes sense – it feels like something a dragonborn would say.

As for gnome subraces, these represent their subrace by adding +2 to the roll for each of the tables. This matters, as all of the tables for gnomes are 2 entries longer – d10 personality traits, d8 ideals, etc. Clever. The half-orc perspective includes martial and interesting ones – the ideal “live hard, die young, dance on the corpses of as many enemies as possible.” Reminded me of my own motto when I was younger – obviously minus dancing on enemy corpses, but yeah. On the plus side, not judging others based on traditions etc. makes sense, particularly when the justification for tolerance is that Gruumsh is worse.

Beyond these, we also get tables for aasimar and tieflings, with the former one’s speech pattern imitating scripture, forgiveness for personal offenses, but not sacred affronts, etc. Tieflings may be afraid of the gods, for fear of punishment for a sin inherited, have an overwhelming ambition, etc. – both of these generally assume a personal perspective shaped by a culture, which is something I liked.

Finally, there would be entries on the goblins and kobolds – the first can have forgotten things in their pockets…or explain that it makes no sense to get attached, as all are disposable to the tribe…A quote from Oscar Wilde was great for goblins – We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.” Kobolds would explain honesty as a virtue by stating that lying to family or tribe would make you less than a cockroach. A hope to transcend fear is nice – and what about the desire to show metallic dragons that they should have tribes of their own kobolds? Now that is a lofty goal!

Conclusion: Editing and formatting are excellent on a formal level, and the pdf has no crunchy bits, so no complaints there either. Layout adheres to a one-column full-color standard, using the photography-style artwork we associate by now with Tribality’s offerings. These artworks and the layout do mean that there’s a bit less content per page than you’d expect (you could fit the content into half the pages), but from an aesthetic perspective, this is pleasant to look at. The pdf has no bookmarks, which constitutes an unnecessary comfort-detriment.

Brandes Stoddard’s personality features are amazing. I really enjoyed them, and their focus of presenting experiences from the perspective of the respective races. I’d love to see more of these in the future! My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars, omitting my seal of approval only due to the lack of bookmarks.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through Their Own Eyes (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

NAVAL COMBAT (5E) - Running Sea Encounters for Ships & Monsters
by Clifford M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2019 22:25:48

I'm leaving a low review due to the formatting. I prefer to have rules printed up but these rules have some serious problems with printability. There is obnoxiously large black branding on every page and many large photos. I decided to eat the toner cost and print it anyway. To make this worse, when they are printed the transparent background of the large images turn black covering a lot of text. I've never seen this happen before so I learned a painful and expensive lesson by printing these.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
NAVAL COMBAT (5E) - Running Sea Encounters for Ships & Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Three Sorcerous Arts (5E)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/24/2019 10:15:27

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 10 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 8 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

After a page of introduction, the first sorcerous origin provided within would be Royal Sorcery. At first level, the noblesse oblige feature nets the friends cantrip, and targets affected do not notice that they were subjected to it. The feature also yields proficiency in Persuasion and the ability to reroll a natural 1 on any Charisma ability check, with the requirement to spend 2 sorcery points to do so. I like this, but the verbiage would have been more precise, if it stated whether Charisma-saves and Charisma-based skill-checks are eligible. As written, it’s up to GM-interpretation. At 6th level, we gain an extra attack as well as the ability to regain sorcery points equal to ½ the level of the spell slot expended when casting a spell that does not only target the sorcerer, but also targets allies. Spells that also target enemies are not eligible. Minor nitpick: The verbiage, since it’s based on halving, should specify a minimum value for e.g. level 1 spells (Do they qualify? Yes or no?).

Other than this oversight, I do like how this blurs the boundary between two restricted resources without delimiting them. At 14th level, the royal sorcerer may, as a reaction when an ally within 30 ft. casts a spell, apply a metamagic effect known to the ally’s spell, at the normal sorcery point cost +1. Quickened Spell is explicitly excluded from this one – thankfully. Really cool ability that enhances teamwork. Finally, at 18th level, the sorcerer can’t be charmed as long as at least one creature is charmed by the sorcerer. Same goes for the frightened condition. This is actually pretty amazing and a cool rendition of the aegis of respect rulership entails, by means of codifying it as rules. Additionally, you can use your action and spend 5 sorcery points to exude an aura of awe and fear, range 60 ft. For one minute or until you lose your Concentration, hostile creatures in the aura must make a Wisdom saving throw or be either charmed or frightened, depending on your choice, until the aura ends. Creatures that make their save are immune to the aura for 24 hours. All in all, while not perfect, this certainly represents a compelling, cool sorcerous origin.

The second origin within would be tidal sorcery. The 1st level feature nets you a swim speed equal to walking speed and proficiency with water vehicles. Whenever you complete a short rest in or near a large body of water, you regain 1d4-1 sorcery points, but if you regain at least one sorcery point, you need to take a long rest to regain them this way again – great way of implementing a regain that is kept in check – two thumbs up! Once you gain Metamagic, you gain an additional option, namely Call the Tides. When casting a spell of 1st level or higher, you can spend 2 sorcery points to use one of 4 effects associated with the tides. Slightly confusing – this references a table that has not been depicted as a table in the final pdf, instead appearing as a bullet point list. This may be used once per rest-interval. The effects include a Strength-save to move the target 10 feet in a chosen direction, temporary hit points, acid damage and the forbiddance of using reactions for a brief period. 6th level adds water breathing/water walk to the spells known list, and you may cast them as rituals; alternatively, you can cast them as a reaction (to what??) and they may not be dispelled by any creature other than you. At 14th level, when you roll an attack roll, save or ability check and roll a natural 2 – 5, you may add 10 to the result 1/per long rest interval. You also regain the use of this feature on a natural 1 on an attack roll, save or ability check. Hand me those kittens, I must attempt ability checks until I botch to refresh the obvious and unnecessary feature exploit… You can also roll a d100 twice and chose the effect that you like better, but this use of the feature can’t be replenished. At 18th level, spells dealing cold, fire, lightning or thunder damage, you may change damage type to bludgeoning, substituting the energy with a brutal burst of sea water, which also may count as cold damage for vulnerability purposes. You also add control water to spells known. This one is almost amazing – I love the engine per se here, but wished that the obvious cheesable component had been taken care of.

The third sorcerous art within would be winter kin sorcery. At 1st level, you gain resistance to cold damage, and after taking cold damage, you temporarily become immune to cold until the next turn. You also can pass easily through iced/snowy terrain. Additionally, 1st level lets you use a bonus action when damaging a creature with cold damage, allowing you to add a shove attack, using spell attack bonus instead of Strength (athletics). Additionally, you may briefly charm/frighten targets damaged by your cold spells. At 6th level, the sorcerous origin nets you the option to change the damage of any spell you enhance with sorcery points to cold damage. At less than ½ maximum sorcery points, you gain vulnerability from fire as a bonus action. Why would you? Well, if you do, all ranged attacks against you suffer from disadvantage, and any target dealing damage to you in melee takes cold damage based on your sorcerer level. Cool! (Get it? Haha…sorry, I’ll punch myself later…)The 14th level ability enhances your speed when moving on ice, and as a bonus action, you can generate slippery ice in your space and 6 additional 5-ft.-squares. Via the expenditure of sorcery points, you can generate more ice, and the squares have to be contiguous, and yes, you can generate ice-bridges, etc., and the pdf does specify what happens when you ice squares that are occupied. The 18th level feature lets you spend a bonus action when damaging a target with a 1st level or higher spell that deals cold damage, in order to restrain a target. On a particularly botched save, the target may even be paralyzed or petrified! This also enhances the brief charm/frighten effect of your cold spells. Easily one of the best ice-based sorcerer options I’ve seen in recent years.

The second part of the pdf is devoted to an assortment of magic items, 7 to be precise. All of these sport the proper scarcity ratings and whether they require attunement. They also come with a nice, little story bit that allows for easier contextualization of the item in-game. Kudos there! Here, we can find the fanged mask, which allows you to unerringly track certain critters by putting blood on the mask’s fangs – and this includes sorcerous targets as a possible “type” of creature – basically, a great sorcerer-hunter tool! The Frozen Soul is a legendary spear that adds +1d6 cold damage and you can call it to your hand if it’s nearby. The item also has charges and allows you to expend them to enhance damage output. Winter-kin and draconic (silver + white) sorcerers are particularly in tune with this, and get additional benefits. Cool!

The Green Book of ka-Jorra enhances your illusion spells of 1st level and greater, allows you to deal psychic damage to targets failing their save, including, multiple damage instances possible on spells with multiple saves. You also impose disadvantage on Intelligence (Investigation) checks vs. illusions and disguises you create. Creatures reduced below 1 hit point are explicitly knocked out, making this a good choice for good characters. Herim’s Final Manuscript has only room for 5 level 1 spells, but allows you to control their damage output via lightning or thunder damage substitution, and spells that already inflict that damage allow for further enhancement. The Libram of the Crimson Wasting allows you to use a reaction to expend spell slots to lace the disease known as crimson wasting into your being, affecting a target within 60 ft. that deals damage to you. The save DC is based on spell slot level expended, and a target that makes the save is temporarily immune. Necromantic spells penned down in the tome add a bonus to attack rolls, spell damage and saves – neat. Crimson Wasting is btw. fully codified and as nasty as you’d think it is. Like it!

Sorcerer’s Coronet is silver filigree set with black diamonds, and you can spend a sorcery point when casting a spell to gain temporary resistance to the damage type your spell inflicts; if the spells cause charm/frightened, you can temporarily gain advantage on saves against that condition for a while. The item also makes your spells threaten a critical hit on 19 and 20, and 3 times, you can take sorcerer level damage as a bonus action to regain 1d4 sorcery points – this one refreshes midnight. Cool! Finally, the staff of the tides nets you a swim speed and the ability to breathe underwater. You can also cause the staff to become a paddle, oar, etc. The staff has 10 charges, which may be used to cast a couple of water-themed spells, and the staff’s charges replenish on the day’s first high tide. And yes, this one is particularly useful for a tidal sorcerer.

Conclusion: Editing and formatting are very good on a formal level. On a rules-language level, the pdf sports a couple of hiccups that could have easily been avoided and that slightly mar the otherwise impressive rules-language precision the pdf generally exhibits. Layout adheres to the unique 2-column full-color standard of Tribality Publishing’s offerings, including the classic and charming photography used as art. The pdf has no bookmarks, which constitutes a slight comfort detriment, but is okay at this length.

Brandes Stoddard took the high road here. Granted, there are a few instances of minor rules imprecision that could have been avoided, but know what? I don’t mind them that much. Why? Simple: While the few hiccups are unnecessary, I’d rather have a few hiccups in an ambitious book, rather than none in a bland one. Not one of the items or the class options within take a safe route. All of the sorcerous origins herein really CHANGE how the sorcerer class feels and operates, often using genuinely intriguing engine tweaks that really alter the playing experience...and they mirror the respective concepts. When a “water”- or “ice”-themed class option can get me even moderately excited these days, it’s a feat indeed, and the options within succeed in doing just that. They actually make me want to play such a sorcerer! What more can you ask for? Add to that the ridiculously low price (a mere $2!) and we have a pdf that definitely warrants rounding up from a final verdict of 4.5 stars. Well done!!

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Three Sorcerous Arts (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through Their Own Eyes (5E)
by Vicente M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2018 21:49:52

Do you have trouble fleshing out a new character you made? Then this nice little role-playing aid is for you!

On a side note, I particularly liked the part on page 2 about not using your character as an excuse to be mean to anyone else at the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through Their Own Eyes (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 67 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates