DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
SND-01: Revenge of the Iron Lich
by Dan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2020 02:51:02

This is the best dungeon I've ever read, and it's free. That's insane. When I first ran this dungeon one player collapsed on the floor and shouted at the ceiling, "THAT WAS AWESOME!!!"

This is the module that made me fall in love with dungeon design. It's full of potent environmental storytelling, insane over-the-top ideas, and comes with terrifying monster designs plus dungeon-specific mechanics to make things special. There's a monster called a "Whirlwind of Living Invisible Dancing Vorpal Khopeshes of Extinction". There's a mechanic for rumors you've heard of the dungeon that let you ferret out the false ones while exploring to give you an edge. There's a real time time limit that keeps players tense and focused. There's also a bunch of great monster stat blocks, which is one thing nearly everyone agrees 4th edition did well - and those monsters can be adapted easily to any ruleset by just taking your favorite bits and cutting the rest.

The one thing I'll call out is that the dungeon is entirely unforgiving, to the point of being unfair at times. This is not a dealbreaker, just read through it before playing (it's one of those modules, you really shouldn't run it live at the table - you'll miss out on some key ideas) and make notes about things you should probably change... Or have people come with disposable characters. Like, there's one thing where if you touch a pillar you instantly die without much warning. That's silly. Just do some brutal damage to the party, afflict them with a temporary curse, or give them a lot more warning. The khopeshes of extinction also have an over-the-top feature where if they kill a living being, they also kill EVERY BEING OF THAT PERSON'S RACE. Kill an elf? No more elves. I changed them to only kill 1 out of 12 of all members of that race on the plane... So we could dramatically roll a d12 for each NPC of the race they know of. See? Now it's perfectly reasonable. ;)

Read this module for ideas, adapt it to your system of choice, and run it for some lucky players. Lean into the grandeur and terror of it, soften the edges a bit to make it feel evil but "fair"... And it's one of the best dang dungeons you'll ever hold in your hands.

Oh, and the stat block it uses for the iron lich? I've used that statblock to inspire most of my future liches. So many evil spells that feel so perfect for a lich.

5/5. For the price? 10/5. It's FREE.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SND-01: Revenge of the Iron Lich
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

5th Edition Team Deathmatch
by Len P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2019 12:05:48

Had a blast playing this after hearing about it on TableTop Babble! Really gives PvP some depth in D&D. Theorycrafting character and team builds almost as fun as the game itself, and Devs even answer rules questions on Twitter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5th Edition Team Deathmatch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks, Len, glad you enjoyed it! If I were your boss, I'd deathmatch ya in a minute.
Avarice
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2019 23:22:23

Biterly disappointed. There are 100 types of metal, 100 of gems, 100 of animals (including bobobos), but only 69 types of wood! What sort of laziness is that? How could you stop with a mere 69?

Like most games I download, I'll probably never play it. But I'm going to use those charts, and there's some really good jokes in there. Nobody's going to understand when I play a dwarven therapist in my next D&D game. The game itself? I dunno. I Just look at the pretty pictures and am amazed at its sheer grandiosity. I mean, think about it. Are you considering downloading this because you actually intend to play Drunk Jenga at your next session, or because it looks cool? Well, take it from me, it's cool. Not 100 kinds of wood cool, but still pretty cool.

This game is so good that I'm going to give the writers money. Not a lot of money, mind you, but I'm rather fond of money, so this means a lot from me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Avarice
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
*Bitterly
SND-02: Fane of the Heresiarch
by Mark H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2018 14:33:55

An extremely fun adventure from the "Fourthcore" era... timed, scored, adventures that you're pretty much expected to lose, but packed with fun scenarios and encounters. This really highlights some of the strengths of 4th edition... once you understand the basics of the system, you can pretty much play from your character sheet and have an awesome, tense, game, in a set amount of time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SND-02: Fane of the Heresiarch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Crown of Charon (5E)
by Andrew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2018 10:14:30

Sersa Victory really captures what feels missing in a lot of d&d adventures, that the game actually has to be fun. The adventure keeps upfront exposition to a minimum, which makes it much easier to get into the meat of the game quickly. The use of the time limit is a brilliant way to keep the game moving, with the narrative justification of spending limited time in the realm of the dead before you are resurrected.

If you have a long-running campaign that's been getting stale, this adventure will be a fantastic way to shake it up. Don't be afraid to grant your players the power of awesome magic items like the Enuma Elish or the titular Crown of Charon.

Another highlight for our group was taking a room called The Tomb of Frozen Demigods, and replacing the given deities with deities that had been formerly name-dropped in our campaign. Releasing them is sure to cause trouble down the road.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crown of Charon (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

C1: Crucible of the Gods
by Joe N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 09:10:59

Crucible of the Gods is my favorite dungeon. For some, they think fondly of Tomb of Horrors. For me, it's Crucible.

Why?

The adventure is engages both the players and the characters. The puzzles are challenging but very do-able. The monsters and battle scenes are few and evocative. The premise is iconic, and the meta-puzzle hits that sweet spot where perceptive players will figure it out.

This game runs well not only in D&D 4E, but also 5E (with some conversion; use 5th level characters or so) and also Dungeon World.

If you love awesome dungeon one-shots, give Crucible of the Gods a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
C1: Crucible of the Gods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Crown of Charon (5E)
by Joe N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 20:11:08

Crown of Charon is an adventure with a very evocative premise AND execution. I ran this module using Dungeon World, and my players loved it. There is a LOT of content here, and excellent mashups of nuke-tech and fantasy D&D.

It does require a thorough read through before you can run it. There are a LOT of moving parts in this module, where finding one object in a particualr chamber is used in another, to then open a secret over there, etc. Don't let that scare you - the chambers are dripping with dark descriptions and over-the-top themes and is an excellent read all by itself.

If you love in-depth dungeon deadly explorations, give Crown of Charon a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crown of Charon (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SND-02: Fane of the Heresiarch
by Joe N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 20:09:39

Fane of the Heresiarch is a wonderfully dark, evocative dungeon crawl. It's more than just beating up monsters and disarming traps. It's got tense frantic moments, deadly encounters, and moments that will make your players shout in triumph when they succeed! High stakes, fabulous treasures, and wicked monsters make you look like a master DM. You'll have players who ask, "Whoa, did you write this?!? It's awesome!"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SND-02: Fane of the Heresiarch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fortress of the Ur-Mage
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 19:56:33

What makes this module excellent... A complex fortress with multiple paths to reach the final boss. I've run this game many times and it stays fresh! A classic D&D tournament module experience with Dungeon World... THIS IS FOR YOU!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fortress of the Ur-Mage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SND-01: Revenge of the Iron Lich
by Andrew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2017 22:19:16

The point I read and ran Revenge of the Iron Lich years ago was the point where I felt I truly had become a great dungeon master, and I could not have done it without this. This adventure is perfectly designed to be fast paced and extremely fun. I especially love the use of "real time" in the adventure, which has significantly helped to keep player attention at the table, and the "rumor system."

And of course, the over the top hyper-deadliness gets the blood pumping like nothing else. One of my favorite adventures ever written, hands down.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SND-01: Revenge of the Iron Lich
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Fortune Teller's Guide to Deathtrap Dungeon Design
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2017 10:56:11

This is useful for any RPG, not just a Deathtrap Dungeon, and is system neutral so you can apply your own game's mechanics to it. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fortune Teller's Guide to Deathtrap Dungeon Design
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Crown of Charon (13th Age Compatible)
by Patryk A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2017 09:12:44

(note: opinion based on reading, not playing)

Very well designed over-the-top romp through a nasty, yet fair, dungeon for a party of 6th level PCs. Be warned though - this is a tournament adventure. There is almost no story. The characters are likely to die. And there are many things you may need to track.

Bonus points for the nostalgia: R: Repeating soulburst rocket launcher arm +14 vs. AC (2 attacks)— 60 fire damage. Natural 16+: The target is knocked into the crater. They can roll a check to try to leap onto a mine. Limited use: 1/round.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crown of Charon (13th Age Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CRUSH the REBELLION
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2017 14:53:08

I've read but not played this game. It looks like a way of doing a more politically-based 40k game or anything in an oppressive, dark future. Despite serving a tyrant, the cast are all serving their own alternative secret motivations. While I don't encourage player secrets in most RPGs, this one provides a good reason for it. The layout is clean, crisp and is easy on the eye. I'm looking forward to trying this, possibly as an alternative to Dark Heresy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CRUSH the REBELLION
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Fortune Teller's Guide to Deathtrap Dungeon Design
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2016 13:46:28

Love this tome. I'm known to my players as a trap happy DM. Ive been roll playing ( mainly rogue characters ) since 1977 & Ilove



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fortune Teller's Guide to Deathtrap Dungeon Design
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CRUSH the REBELLION
by Matthew E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2016 17:39:07

Got this as I'm a fan of the publisher's previous work and he's done it again! All the dark oppression of Star Wars and Dune with Fiasco style storytelling. Build up your opponents, their mystique, and the universe itself even as you all try to bring it crashing down on each other. Currently trying to get a cadre of agents to podcast this with. Do yourself a favor and CRUSH THE REBELLION today!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CRUSH the REBELLION
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates