DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Keep 2.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2021 16:38:40

I have had ongoing issues with data loss from this application for years, but only after this most recent incident have I become upset enough to bother leaving a review. I lost 95% of my notes from a long tabletop session, to the point that it barely has details on which characters are controlled by which player before there's just nothing. I average ten to twenty pages of typed notes per session, and it completely ruined my ability to keep things in order. We play weeks apart, and good note taking is critical.

I'll be sticking with Google Docs for now. I am extremely disillusioned with Keep 2.0 at this point. It used to be my favorite tool for organization.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 2.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inspiration Pad Pro
by Lord S. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2021 02:56:26

I absolutly love this product. IP Pro is one of the handiest tools I've used as a GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inspiration Pad Pro
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Symbol Pack 1: Campaign World (for Fractal Mapper)
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2020 12:08:14

I really enjoyed this tool and this add on is awesome. My only complaint is lack of mac support.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Symbol Pack 1: Campaign World (for Fractal Mapper)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Keep 2.0 Upgrade - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2020 11:54:20

I used to use this a lot. However, now I am on a mac. I wish this had mac support and that is only reason I did not give this 5 stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 2.0 Upgrade - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inspiration Pad Pro 3.0
by Idle D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2019 12:50:13

An excellent application for generating results from all those random tables you've got lurking away, scavenged from blogs or made yourself. It's easy to set up a document for a table and then copy & paste data across one entry per line.

At its most basic, that's all you need to do, but what makes this application especially handy is how you can nest tables within tables, so with one click you can generate a whole NPC backstory drawing from multiple different sources and further tables depending on the result.

As an example, I have been able to put together a generator for The Stygian Library (https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/257113/The-Stygian-Library) whereby I can use a dropdown menu to select how deep in the library the party are, and it immediately generates a room, a special room detail and encounter. It includes monster stats, and if any treasures are found it will generate them too.

Basic HTML syntax allows you to make things pretty / more visually accessible, but it's all optional.

It's as complicated or as simple as you want to make it. I carry it around with my on a USB.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inspiration Pad Pro 3.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fractal Mapper v8.0
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2017 15:32:47

This software can be used to map out worlds, localized regions, dungeons, cities, and even used to create deck plans. There are gobs of free libraries of art to extend the software and plenty of reasonably priced expansions - the variety hellps you get just the right look.

I use this primarily to create VTT maps for 3rd party modules and it does a bang-up job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inspiration Pad Pro 3.0
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2016 22:25:52

I've downloaded several table programs and I have to say that aside from being free, this one is the best. It has an easy to understand help file and a clean, basic interface.

The highest praise I can give this program is that it makes me more interested in buying other NBOS programs by association.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inspiration Pad Pro 3.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fractal Mapper v8.0
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2013 11:51:27

I purchased Fractal Mapper to help me visualize the setting for my novel. I've only scratched the surface of what the program is capable of, but even the small number of features I used enabled me to produce a fantastic map. My characters have a nice, detailed sandbox to play in thanks to Fractal Mapper. I intend to use it often in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Symbol Pack 1: Campaign World (for Fractal Mapper)
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2013 03:18:46

This add-on symbol pack contains more than enough excellent symbols to justify the reasonable price. And if you have the option to buy it with FractalMapper as a bundle for an additional discount, don't hesitate to do so...it's definitely worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Symbol Pack 1: Campaign World (for Fractal Mapper)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fractal Mapper v8.0
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2013 03:15:44

This is an excellent mapping tool for fantasy campaigns. The tool has a few minor shortcomings that could potentially be addressed with a future patch (such as the ability to zoom in/out via a mouse wheel), but overall it works exactly as advertised. The learning curve is a touch steep for beginners, but if you stick with it and consult the documentation, it becomes a VERY handy mapping package. And for the price, it is definitely recommended for any DM/GM who is looking to develop custom maps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

AstroSynthesis v3.0 (UPGRADE)
by Wayne L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2013 10:18:25

I have been using Astro Synthesis for some time and recently upgraded to version 3.0. It is a great tool. My group is playing an interstellar 4X game that used to be PBM. We get the stellar coordinates from the game database file and paste them into a spreadsheet saved as CSV. Run the import in Astor Synthesis and viola! There are several useful plugins as well.

The only improvement I would like to see is a way to dynamically access the underlying AstroDB file system from an external MS Access or VB application using a robust ODBC driver. Alas, we have yet to find a reliable way to do that to date and the author does not seem willing to facilitate our needs in that regard. This has us continuing to look deeper at developing our own tools and eventually leaving Astro Synthesis behind. But for now it is great once you get the data imported.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v3.0 (UPGRADE)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
by Anthony T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2013 12:32:54

I've been using The Keep to help in the construction of a campaign setting, and so far it's functionality is pretty great. It's easy to do a lot of the word processing I need to do (bullet points, outlines, lists, tables, etc.), and keep the window relatively clutter free. The ability to include hyperlinks and images is also great. It's also very helpful to be able to organize your work into nested tabs so you can find your notes with ease. The more effort you put into it, the more time you'll save later.

On the downside, however, I'm not certain it's worth $30, however, as I feel a lot of the things I'm doing can be done in Google Docs for free. Worse, some of the functionality appears to be unsupported at this time (Inspiration Pad 3.0 doesn't integrate, and I can't get my notes to e-Pub no matter how hard I try). I own a few other NBOS Software products and always like what I get, but with the specter of RealmWorks' release looming over The Keep, I would like to hope some more steps would be taken to improve the software as fast as possible in order to remain competitive.

Once the Inspiration Pad 3.0 functionality is included and some patching to get epublishing to work, I genuinely believe The Keep can compete with any other RPG campaign tool.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello, there is an update here that supports IPP 3 tables: http://www.nbos.com/nox/index.php?action=1001&id=534 It has a couple ePub related updates as well.
GM's Software Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:17:05

"The Keep" is amazing. It has allowed me to finally get myself organized as a DM. I have put my PDF files of campaign materials I created, into it, along with HTML copies of the core rulebooks, so that I can have access to them all, with just a few clicks, opening them within the program itself, no external launcher needed. My game notes are entered during the game, so they are up-to-date. The program saves everything to disk, auto-magically, so I can just close it when I am done (notes can be backed up, and exported/imported between PC's, allowing back-up's). It is truly amazing.

The "Fractal Mapper" is powerful... It is not too difficult to learn, but it has a curve, and it will take you some time. The free-hand drawing capabilities are challenging: I created hand-drawn maps, 30 years ago, which I have photographed, and Xeroxed. To convert them to the "Fractal Mapper", is challenging to get them to look the same. It would be much, much easier to let the program create new coastlines for me, but the maps are too familiar to me, and to my players, so I have to struggle with this part.

Scaling of the maps is a bit challenging. It can be used for world-sized maps, or close-in maps, of, say, a hamlet. It's all possible, but there are some subtle nuances which need to be learned. Probably the neatest thing, though, is to tell it to take your 2D map, and make it into a spinning globe graphic -- truly astounding to see your world spinning on the screen!

These programs are a home-run, completely out of the park! They have some add-on's, including a PC record sheet application which allows you to design a custom PC Record Sheet, but that is rather complex to set up a record sheet with. Tried, but it was more labor than I wanted to invest in it. It also features random name generators, and other random generators -- may prove useful to you, or not. They are, however, icing on the cake! If your budget will allow the bundle purchase, go for it. They are extremely useful, and reasonably priced for what you get. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM's Software Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
by Brian R H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2013 21:19:26

The Keep has become an indispensable part of my gaming life. It's a great one stop shop for the PDF rulebooks of all the games I'm currently running, and all the content I'm generating. It integrates with most of NBO's other offerings (Inspiration Pad, Character Sheet Designer, Screen Monkey, and Fractal Mapper). I use it to write scenarios, track combat, reference rules, create maps, keep various lists, and house images.

While it's an off-label use, I've installed the program in my Google Drive folder (using the thumbdrive installation method -- did I mention you can install it on a thumb drive?) which allows me to access the program and all the content I've put into it from any machine linked to my Google Drive account.

It's very useful to the pbp GM. Using character sheets generated with Character Sheet Designer and loaded into the Keep, I can update PC stats, then export the lot of them as images to a public Dropbox folder. In the game thread, I've linked to those images. So, it makes record keeping much easier.

Can't say enough good things about it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
by D J N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2012 04:31:34

I haven't used all the features yet, but this is the first RPG database that I feel I can use during a game.

I do have the nits, and I'll take them up with NBOS, but the program is easy to use with minimal use of the help system. I really like how this application works well with other NBOS appllications (Inspiration Pad Pro and Character Sheet Maker and even Screen Monkey). For my upcoming Traveller campaign I'll be using this to keep track of all the things that happen. I can use my laptop as a GM's screen and the Keep to handle dice rolling and character sheets.

One really positive thing that this does is to allow a second screen to be used to show things to players. And I happen to have an extra LCD or two lying about.

There are a few things I think of as flaws, but maybe I just don't know how to do them:

  1. Sometimes I'd like to open multiple windows, and I haven't found a way to do this.
  2. I can't figure out how to make hyperlinks work within the Keep; I assume they'll work if I publish the information.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 136 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates