DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Face the Music (Level 3 PCs)
by Stacey J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2018 13:06:07

This was my first Dungeons on Demand module and it was a success. (I then went and bought volumes 1-4!) I ran this with a 4 person party of 3rd level characters as suggested. I found the final encounter to be a bit too hard for them but they aren't very experienced players and don't have the best tactics. It took us two 3-hour sessions to complete. The adventure is pretty straight forward with some interesting monsters and story telling mechanics. The module is very well laid out, well written and easy to follow. It includes great maps and play aids. The location and hook is very easy to drop into homebrew campaigns.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Face the Music (Level 3 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pages from the Lost Grimoire - Setting Traps / Hard to Handle
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2018 15:59:06

I thought it would have a more traps but the ones it does have are well written. Not bad for being pay what you want.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pages from the Lost Grimoire - Setting Traps / Hard to Handle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2018 10:19:46

Thieves seem to get the unglamorous roles in D&D games: scouts, lock pickers and trap detectors. Few scenarios seem to use their range of criminal skills. Some may remember the excellent Thieves' Guild materials by Kerry Lloyd and co-workers, which introduced modules suitable for Raffles style thefts, or carefully planned heists, Ebonclad follows in this tradition.

This review will concentrate on material directly related to adventures. There are a number of helpful tables to generate items of wealth to be pickpocketted, and residential items of value for robberies. The list of urban chase complications should enliven any foot race. Chaper 5, comprising 58 pages, contains seven missions. These are delightfully varied: some investigations with a final combat; a burglary to find an item; manipulating events to discredit an invention, or prevent a marriage. The last group are particularly enjoyable, as the PCs get a chance to dream up schemes. Outright brutality may draw unwelcome attention from the Kintallan Guard. Charm and Illusion magic will be an asset. The missions are fairly short, with plenty of guidance. There are helpful sidebar summaries with bullet points; in contrast, the PCs' Ebonclad boss tends to drone on for several paragraphs.

A solid collection of scenairos, with a couple very good. I would be interested in what the author could make of a longer, more involved adventure such as manipulating an election to high office, or a gang war. Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by Alastair C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2018 05:26:15

This is an exceptional setting book, packed with characters, resources, and a series of strong and well-presented adventurers. Major publishing houses don't manage to produce work of this quality or relevance. Having run this campaign setting now for over 6 months and several dozen game sessions, I remain a fan. The initial adventures helped me to establish a feel and pacing, and bring in a number of NPCs. With a growing set of resources, I still refer back to the book and continue to find inspiration. Like I say, exceptional.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Alastair - thank you very much for your kind review and comment! I am so happy Ebonclad has led to happy gaming sessions for you. Here's hoping for many more to come!
Bandit's Nest (Level 1 PCs)
by Dandle K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2018 23:57:46

I ran this adventure for my very first time as a DM, with a party of Level 1 players. I think it speaks very well of the adventure that I was never confused or frustrated while running it, despite being very inexperienced.

From a DM perspective, the adventure is well written and easy to follow, with clever colour-coded boxes, maps and keys that explain everything you need to know about each encounter and location. I've read some others which bury this information in the text, and it was really refreshing to see these callouts with all the essential information. Similarly, the suggestions provided for how to insert the adventure naturally into your own campaign were appreciated - I ended up adapting one of these and it went over very well.

The feedback I received from the players was that they found the adventure enjoyable and interesting - they particularly weren't expecting the kenku, which they thought were satisfyingly weird and unsettling. I had great fun as the DM parroting their own dialogue back at them, too, and luring them into traps. The party very nearly met their deaths at the hands of the harpy, and they still laugh over their ham-fisted attempt to steal from her.

Overall, I thought this was an extremely well done intro to D&D 5e. I will certainly be trying out more of Dan's works in future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bandit's Nest (Level 1 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review! I am glad you and the players enjoyed the adventure :)
Low Level Adventure Pack (PC levels 1 - 6) [BUNDLE]
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2018 21:39:24

This is the second set of adventures I've run, from 1st to 4th level. But, much like the high level adventures, these are laid out in a way that's easy for a DM to run and keep track of. There's typically a lot of combat encounters, a way to circumvent some of the combat, RP encounters, and an optional puzzle. I've been enjoying these for more than 6 months, so it's high time to leave a review and this is it.

These are meant to be 'drop in' adventures, so I'd been using them to augment the 5e hardbacks for a change of pace, as well as for a custom campaign for my Saturday group, and they have been of great help to me, personally.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Level Adventure Pack (PC levels 1 - 6) [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

High Level Adventure Pack (PC levels 14 - 20) [BUNDLE]
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2018 21:32:35

This is actually the very first batch of Dungeons on Demand adventures that I ran, from 14th to 20th level. Typically, each module has a bunch of combat encounters, some RP, an optional puzzle to figure out (some involving algebra, whaaaat), and a boss encounter. The maps are satisfyingly large, even bigger than my biggest Chessex mat and the adventures are VERY clear to use. These are a gift to DMs. Clear instructions, clear goals, choices to make inside. I'm surprised no one's written a review yet, so please, give all of these adventures a chance.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Level Adventure Pack (PC levels 14 - 20) [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
by Tomas K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2018 00:55:11

Really great and easy adventure for 1st level adventurers. My group went a little of trails, but it made story even better (basically they've catched Nera's hand and used it to open door to Grand Chamber - there was no reason why it shouldn't work so I've allowed it). Also my group loved their new dragon pet - it is nice heartwarming touch (and great bonding element).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Breaking Hearts - A Valentine's Day Adventure (Level 3 - 5 PCs)
by Benjamin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2018 19:02:10

Greatly enjoyed running it. My players loved it too, thank you so much.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breaking Hearts - A Valentine's Day Adventure (Level 3 - 5 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Breaking Hearts - A Valentine's Day Adventure (Level 3 - 5 PCs)
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2018 07:48:27

We had a great time playing this last night (Valentine’s Day). The players enjoyed the new creatures (I changed the kulpids a little, giving them diapers). 5 out of 5 stars. Will play again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
by Tal A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2018 12:19:16

Ran this on New Year's Eve for four level one players: halfling bard, tiefling warlock, dwarf paladin, and elf rogue (the last was playing her first-even game of D&D). We had a great time; this is a really well-crafted adventure with a great story and a really thoughful, engaging level-one dungeon. I tweaked the backstory slightly (Creed was a relative of the dwarf paladin sharing his secrets on his deathbed, while the elf rogue was the niece of another NPC from the backstory). Total playing time was right around three hours which included a thorough exploration but not the more difficult optional combat encounter. This is the second adventure from this author that I've had the pleasure of running, and I can't recommend his work strongly enough. Excellent, user-friendly design and great stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bad Apples (Level 3 PCs)
by Tal A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2017 11:06:31

Running this now with my group; didn't quite finish in one session so we will continue next time. But it's already clear that this is a wonderful module with very evocative atmosphere, a clever story, interesting encounters, and great production value. Really user-friendly format, characteristic of the majority of Mr. Coleman's work that I've seen. This is a pleasure to run. The challenge level seemed appropriate for 5 level 3 PCs (half-elf battlemaster fighter, human cleric, gnome forest druid, halfling beast master revised ranger, and tiefling arcane trickster rogue). The fights were not exactly easy, but at no time was the party ever in danger of actually losing; DMs may want to beef up some of the foes if deadlier encounters are desired, but this was fine for my group. Some elements of the story were changed slightly by the abilities of the druid and ranger to communicate with and/or befriend animals in the orchard, but it only added to the adventure. Fit very nicely as a drop-in to our ongoing campaign. Strongly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bad Apples (Level 3 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
by Jack W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2017 04:32:20

Ran this for two brand-new players last weekend, and they totally loved it. They're hooked and can't wait for the next session!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptic Entry (Level 1 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 12:54:21

A Thieves Guild campaign setting...something I know a LOT of people have been hoping to find. It is VERY well thought out. It includes tables for random pickpocket gains based on the social status of the victem. It contains interactions between different levels of the guild, interactions between these different levels and the authorities, and how the populace reacts to them. Things are not as cut as dry as "steeling is bad, everyone reports it".

It is NOT just about the rouge class, either, it includes the ability to be any class and still be in the guild, though it is obviously hard for some (you over there, in the shining armor, with a beam of light falling gently on you, teeth gleaming with the broad, easy smile and your god's name always poised on your lips...the Paladin, I am looking at you here) it still means it is not just a rogue only setting.

Notable NPCs are here, city layout, and much more. It really is an immersive and complete setting for the DM and Players to weave a memorable store around and throughout. I highly recommend it, another great product from Dan Coleman.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ebonclad: Gallery of Thieves
by Drew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2017 16:15:31

Dan's work in Gallery of Thieves is like his work in all of his other projects: top notch. Tyr'Aiglos was a character idea that I had buzzing around my head for some time but never got to fleshing out since I generally am the one DM'ing. I trusted Dan to really flesh out and give Tyr'Aiglos a life of his own, and Dan delivered. I could not be happier with how it turned out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad: Gallery of Thieves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 100 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates