DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Winter Eternal maps
by Gavin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2019 00:21:02

TL/DR: Look great, can be awesome handouts, you don't need the adventures to use these maps.

I don't own the Winter Eternal set I am a map junkie who is always looking for cities to pop randomly into my campaigns. These were better than I was hoping they would be. The preview doesn't do this set justice as these maps are useable both as a GM and for sharing with your players. They are high-level maps of the cities with detail at the block level, not individual buildings (except the very largest buildings and for the two smallest cities). Each one is sepia toned (Just like the preview overland map) so easy to print out and make them look like parchment or a scroll. They have a distinct style and flavor but are easy to read and nagivate.

I love finding maps that I can use in multiple games or settings and these fit the bill nicely. From a small village in a cave with segregated districts each walled off from the others, to a large city built vertically up a column with the government at the bottom and workers at the top, to a port city on a massive sea with only one tiny dock, to a series of unique cities with repeating motifs that are clearly related and from the same culture, each of these maps tells a story even without any words to accompany them (those are in the adventure modules). Paying attention to the maps and pulling ideas out of the small details is rewarded here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Winter Eternal maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Whacked in the Wicket
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2019 03:47:18

This was highly anticipated and with the brilliant bonces of a couple of limeys, this has not disappointed one bit. Barmy and brutal. Will play again, and again, and maybe even again. Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whacked in the Wicket
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Whacked in the Wicket
by Mike M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2019 10:27:16

A long awaited follow up to the smash hit "Punted In The Bonce". The book not only has great content, but looks amazing as well. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aliens vs Rednecks
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2019 16:12:31

This is one of the adventures I played at Savage Con in July last year, and it was hilarious! As with Just Insert Imagination's other plug-and-play adventures it's really more of a sandbox scenario, so every game will be completely different -- however it comes with a small town map showing the major locations, which is very helpful for less proactive players, as it gives them a clear idea of where they can visit, without the GM needing to lead them by the nose.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aliens vs Rednecks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Punted in the Bonce: A cockney adventure
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2019 15:52:30

Think "Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels" meets "Only Fools and Horses". I had the opportunity to play this adventure at Savage Con last year, and it was an absolute blast! As with other plug-and-play adventures by Just Insert Imagination, this is a sandbox scenario rather than a linear adventure, but it provides plenty of twists and complications for the GM to throw into the mix, along with a hilarious crew of pregen misfits for the players. Definitely worth picking up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Punted in the Bonce: A cockney adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fuhgeddaboudit!
by Karl K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2018 11:31:55

A great product! Perfect for a ONE SHOT adventure. I've run this many times at gaming conventions and it proved to be a highlight of the con. GET THIS NOW!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fuhgeddaboudit!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aliens vs Rednecks
by Nathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 22:33:39

I love JII's one-shot scenarios, but this one is probably my favorite. My players went in ready to fight some aliens, but they were even more excited to find out they got to BE the aliens. We got a trailer-trash queen bar fight (with the crappy tiara used as a weapon), after which the girls bonded while they dodged a creepy guy--finally, there was a riding lawnmower chase as the aliens tried to get Jenny the Trailer Park Queen back to their ship. This adventure can result in some silly, over-the-top shenanigans, but what do you expect with a title like "Aliens Vs. Rednecks"? Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aliens vs Rednecks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fuhgeddaboudit!
by Nathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 22:24:27

I ran this for my group after letting it sit on my flash drive for a couple years. Like other JII one-shots like Aliens Vs. Rednecks and Size Matters, Fuhgeddaboudit! is non-linear, with a few useful stats and some scene ideas for how to throw things together, leaving the GM and players to determine how their own experience will go. It's a lot of playability in a small package. Need fill-in entertainment for the evening? FUHGEDDABOUDIT! Just Insert Imagination has ya covered, bambino!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fuhgeddaboudit!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wiseguys: Demo Kit
by Rodney O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 08:11:08

If you like mafia/heist movies (and who doesn't?) this is the setting you have been waiting for. This preview alone is better than some full paid settings. Amazingly cool product considering it's free! Just get it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys: Demo Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fuhgeddaboudit!
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2018 00:02:34

This product appealed to me because I saw a post on social media stating how it had everything you needed for a one-shot adventure. SOLD! It has 5 pre-generated characters and a perfect scenario that aligns for a convention game. A game con rpg slot is typically 4 hours. In this scenario you have a 4 hour trip into the desert. Perfect. Adding personal secrets between pc's helps spice things up even more. It's well written and well presented. Print it all off, read it quick and you'll be good to go. But don't be afraid to add things when they're needed. I mean, you can run into almost anything on a road trip!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fuhgeddaboudit!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wiseguys: Demo Kit
by John R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2018 16:40:56

This is a gorgeous book, the setting is tons of fun to play in, and I'm really looking forward to the final, completed product. Even if the setting itself doesn't interest you, many of the awesome new rules and various other goodies can easily be adapted for a variety of uses and are well worth taking the time to check out. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys: Demo Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wiseguys: Demo Kit
by Jan J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2018 06:14:22

Very well written. So cool it's hot. Looking forward to the full book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys: Demo Kit
by Mike M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2018 13:42:23

I can not wait for the full version to come out! Not only does the book look gorgeous, it also introduces several useful rules and suggestions that have broad applications for anyone who likes to run heist/mission type games. Hurry up and crowdfund this already!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night of the Living Dolls
by Conrad N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2017 04:51:52

What to expect? Once more my players were newbies to RPGs. This adventure has a clear goal and a clear subset of goals. That made it very accessible to them. They knew what to aim for, how to "win". At the same time, the adventure has a somewhat plot-pointish setup with places you can go and events the GM can move around. The adventure is great for introducing new players because it spurs their imagination with familiar themes, but presents them with an intriguing new perspective. For my own game I left out the rules about sugarmancy magic, to not confuse them with how all the powers work. The magic effects just worked without roles and were only limited by the sugarmancy ingredients available. Experienced players on the other hand will have fun fooling around with the powers and with the many opportunities to interact with the house and the characters, like the pets and possibly some humans. New GMs will have plenty of material to work and expand from. Experienced GMs will be able to prepare the adventure thoroughly in one hour or less. Playtime can very easily be varied by the GM between 1 and 3 hours. If you throw everything available in the adventure at the players you will probably get 4 hours out of it, maybe more.

Play Session Recount My players reluctantly explored the first few rooms. When they found their first candy, Bat Pug came in and they had to fight him off. After collecting the first ingredient, the plastic spiders, the fled from a flock of animated mobiles and flew via bubble gum to collect further spell ingredients to free their master. This master btw I determined to be a heroic 12 year old that had been defending the neighbourhood with his superior wizarding until Gloomy, his 120 year old nemesis, managed to ban him into a prison dimension. The players ended up in a tight aerial chase, Gloomy and his minions on their heels. They had to perform the final ritual under constant attacks. They succeeded narrowly. Skwibbles reappeared and with his magic immediately destroyed Gloomy's minions and chased him away easily. The PCs and Skwibbles flew to his secret sorcerer castle and had a wild party there.

My GMing experience With me not being a native English speaker, it took a second reading for me to correlate places and possible events in my head. But that setup made the game flow very nicely and I was able to challenge the players more and more to have a climactic battle in the end. The provided maps are very useful to coordinate "plot points". My newbie players had sandbox typical choice paralysis in the beginning. That was easily overcome by way of having Skwibbles advise them on possible options. By the end of the session they were strategising and taking action all on their own. I had trouble placing the humans. I mainly put them in the lounge and kitchen area. Sparsely I had them show up to emphasize danger and necessary stealthiness.

Nit-pick Feedback - The tokens are a bit too big for the map when printed on the same paper size. Scale down the tokens and they will fit better on the map.

  • To support my GM laziness, I had wished to have all the rooms labelled.

Overall judgement: Great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night of the Living Dolls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Noise
by Matt S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2017 17:43:21

This is one of those games I've been putting off reading because I was hoping one of my friends would run it. White Noise is a short horror adventure from Just Insert Imagination written by Jamie Pierson, Eric Lamoureux, and Morne Schaap. This is a plug & play adventure designed to be a complete grab and go rpg adventure ready for a convention or a GM on the go with little prep time required.

From the get go I was stoked to dive into this adventure because I've been craving a good horror game to get into. The cover art inspires the imagination as if you're looking out the porthole of a ship or airplane which is backlit with a red warning light. The game takes place in Alaska during the cold war in 1967. The players are a part of a corporation security team sent in to "clean up messes before the public finds out." The players know that the corporation they work for is dabbling in "biochemical pharmaceuticals" and have cleaned up some of the experiments before. Their job on this mission is to fly from the corporation's headquarters in Portland to a research facility in Alaska and lock down the facility. Then they need to find out what happened and report back to Headquarters.

White Noise uses the setting rules of Blood & Guts, Jokers Wild, and Gritty Damage. It wouldn't be a horror game if Gritty Damage was missing. With chances of infection after each wound, a player has the possibility to pick up a mutation from the included Mutation Table (I would prefer to use the Mutation Deck from JII). After the introduction there are 4 scenes for the players to go through. This should be enough for a 3 to 4 hour game session provided that the players at the table don't just rush through each location. This is where the GM really needs to manage the game progression.

There is a good story plot and background info but it just feels as if it's unfinished. Within the two documents provided, there are some worker journal handouts, but no mention in the adventure of when or where to distribute them. I have no doubt that most GM's have enough creativity to figure out how to make this adventure work.

Both documents contain 5 pre-generated character sheets. No, you don't get 10 different characters. There are two different versions of the same 5 characters. Both sets of characters look good but one set clearly has a different layout so you can easily separate them from each other (you'll see what I mean if you get this pdf). The character sheets look really, really good. I love the dot matrix form feed paper used as the background. Each character is unique and they also come with a secret. After each player picks their character the GM is instructed to hand out the secrets to the respective player. My personal favorite secret is Bamm's. I don't want to give away any spoilers on the player secrets.

Out of all of their PnP games this is the only one that appears to be slightly disorganized. In this adventure you get a cover page, 2 pages of backstory and adventure, a one page Mutation Table, a one page sonar map of the Alaskan area, 2 pages of basic figure flats, 2 pages of Worker Journal handouts, 3 pages of table tents, and 6 pages of pre-generated characters.

As usual, Just Insert Imagination has set the bar high with excellent artwork and layout. Plenty of supplements make this adventure convention ready. It is pay what you want so I encourage you to pick it up and form your own conclusions.

I would give this one 7 out of 10.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
White Noise
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 41 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates