DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Mini Six: Bare Bones Edition
by Brian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2022 00:12:15

This game is great on its own, but really shines when you add in rules from the various other D6 System games. You can really tailor it to your game and group's needs. I recommend it to anyone looking at starting a game using any of the other D6 System books. I've run a number of campaigns and oneshots using that same method. It is always a load of fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini Six: Bare Bones Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Mini Six: Bare Bones Edition
by MICHAEL B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2020 12:13:51

I loved all the different themes that can be created, along with the character creation. The combat was tooo mathy for me though. Too many dice to keep track of. Otherwise a great book.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mini Six: Bare Bones Edition
by Simon N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2020 17:14:41

Everyone should buy this game. Simply the best iteration of the D6 System, it is ideal for cinematic/Hollywood style power level, especially the D6 System's 1980s inspirations - Star Wars of course, Indiana Jones, Robocop etc etc. I love this game so much I bought 7 of it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mini Six: Bare Bones Edition
by Christopher P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2020 21:13:57

If you are looking for a quick and easy-to-learn, fast paced and fun RPG, look no further than the Mini Six System by Anti-Paladin Games. I was, and downloaded Mini Six and have never regretted it.

Mini Six uses six sided dice only, and allows for complete customization of your characters within the genre or setting you create. No classes that require a player character to rigidly adhere to only certain skills; players can create their own unique characters, using the Attributes and Skills system. The Perks and Disadvantages in character creation permit you to give your characters fun quirks that can improve game play or simply give your character even more personality.

Mini Six offers two systems of combat, one more fast paced than the other. Having tried both, the old D & D gamer in me felt more at home to the static-stat based combat system, but the point is you have options.

Finally, the Mini Six handbook comes with 6 sample settings, all of which are easily playable as is, and with a little tweaking can be even better. And the game is easily customizable to any setting and any genre without a lot of blood, sweat or tears on the part of the GM.

There are some downsides to the game system. The magic system doesn't scale well, and the experience rewards can, over time, make characters far too powerful too quickly. As the NPCs in the handbook do not scale up from their most basic template, that means either a mid- to higher level character will simply walk through their enemies in combat, or the GM has to spend some time scaling up the bad guys to give theri players a challenge. Mini Six is also most definitely NOT a complex game, so for players and GMs who want more complexity in their RPGs, this might not be the game for you.

The downsides, however, do not detract much from the game, in my opinion, and several people, including the publishers have addressed the limitations of the system with possible fixes that gamers can add to the system. For what it is, a univesal role playing system, it does eveything it advertises. Plus, you will never beat the price of FREE. I heartily recommend trying Mini Six, especially if you have always had that fun one-shot idea for an adventure, but never had the right system to play it with. Now you do!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mini Six: Bare Bones Edition
by Lee T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2018 13:29:16

Mini Six is a lightweight version of the classic Open D6 system that powered classic RPGs like Star Wars and Ghostbusters. AntiPaladin Games has done a great job making this system lightweight and easy to run, even if you aren't familiar with Open D6. As others have pointed out, however, the best section of this 38-page booklet is the last one, which contains five excellent ready-made universes perfect for a Mini Six game. The settings have great "Advice for the GM" sections as well as lots of flavor. They touch on classic fantasy, "modern" day, "hard" sci-fi & space opera, and Lovecraftian investigative horror, which really shows off the flexibility of this system. It's not perfect for every setting, mind you. The default wound and combat system results in a relatively deadly game compared to something like Dungeons & Dragons 5th edition, though less deadly than Shadowrun 5th edition. My players, coming from both systems I've mentioned, actually seem to prefer Mini Six.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mini Six: Bare Bones Edition
by Shaye M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2016 14:19:36

Great! Easy to learn. Simple. Fast to begin playing. This is a lot of fun for playing a game where the rules aren't the pinnacle of importance - instead, the scenes and advancing a plot in a simple, fun way takes the cake. The game is also quite customizable, to fit nearly any setting or complexity that the GM and players would like to play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mini Six: Bare Bones Edition
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2016 21:53:18

Taking an existing system and boiling it down to the bare essentials, adding in some varient rules to aid ease and speed of play, Mini Six is a great game engine product. Obviously not as detailed as other generic rpgs, but therein is the charm. The title including the phrase "Bare Bones Edition" is a tempting teaser that has me looking for a more comprehensive product, but really this book and a couple notebooks for whatever I add on would be perfectly sufficient for most sorts of games.

I like the book enough that I bought it here even though I already have the pdf just to fling a couple bucks at the producers and to be able to write this short review.

Also of note, the d6 system as boiled here is also used in a couple of other neat projects which will be easy to see on a search of Mini Six. The licensing terms are quite favorable for those who want to publish their own games using this engine, which is pretty cool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mini Six: Bare Bones Edition
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2015 21:47:07

A good, simple game system, with the actual rules taking up only a few pages and most of the rest being devoted to rules variants, creatures, and sample settings. I like rules that are easy to learn and focus on roleplaying rather than detailed dice mechanics, and that's what you get here. Particularly good for pick-up games at conventions where players won't already know how to play.

Roughly: You have four stats measured in how many D6s you roll; skills are each some stat plus extra D6s representing the specialty; most rolls are just (Skill)D6 vs. target number. Damage works in an interesting way by imposing increasing penalties (similar to White Wolf's system) rather than having hit points. Instead of having an elaborate system for balancing disadvantages, Mini Six just offers suggested disadvantages and says you get experience bonuses whenever they make your life harder. Good idea.

Optional rules include suggestions for handling vehicles and magic, a clever way of handling size differences in combat, and ways of making this system more like the full OpenD6 system if you want. For me, OpenD6 is as complex as D20 without the virtue of being well supported, but at least the option is out there. The sample settings give good examples of how to recreate those space wars movies, the TV show with the firefly, a campy 70s cop show, and a sort of Lovecraft / Victorian ghost-busting campaign, plus a standard fantasy setting. These sample settings also have their own specialized rules to inspire you, like ways of handling small races or in-system space travel.

The rules for when the different types of defense rating are applicable could be a bit clearer, and the book's brevity makes me wish for more examples, but it's simple enough to work well without much explanation.

Glad to see it available again! I even wrote a PDF supplement for a fantasy setting of my own, inspired by the 2-4 page style of this book's.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates