DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Hope Contract Second Edition
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2020 22:39:53

I ran this Contract for my Hc Svnt Dracones group several weeks ago, and I have to say, we had an absolute blast.

For some context, this particular group of mine has been playing HSD regularly for a year now; many of the Contracts/modules/adventures I've run for them have involved some form of combat in one way or another, though with only a few stand-out examples, my players have done a very interesting and entertaining job of finding (or creating) ways to avoid actually engaging in combat -- this has usually involved either an application of their combined skills and knowledge, a diplomatic or roleplay-heavy engagement and dialogue, or a combination of the two. My group generally enjoys a chance to think their way through problems, engage with the characters (both PC and NPC) in the setting/world, and giving themselves a reason to succeed by becoming invested in those around them.

Hope is a Contract that was, without exagerration, the perfect Contract to run for my group.

Unlike many other Contracts (modules, adventures, whatever word you're familiar with) and events for player characters that can happen in this setting, Hope does not include any form -- any possibility -- of combat. Not to say that having a lot of combat in a TTRPG is bad, far from it -- it's just that this Contract in particular is notably designed from the start to not have any combat-related events take place involving the players. The party is hired to chaperone a group of teenagers -- between two and three dozen students from a successful school, around ages 14-16 -- for a week on a space station.

The duties the party members have include ensuring the safety of the students, monitoring them as they engage in their day-to-day "summer camp" style activites, and (a surprisingly fun part) offer to teach a few classes to the students during the days. The classes are not predetermined: they're entirely made up by the player characters, meaning players can come up with and offer to teach classes based on specific skills in which their characters excel.

As an example, here are the classes that my group came up with and offered to the students during the Contract (along with the skills around which the classes were based):

Orbital Dynamics, Kinematics, and Research Opportunities in Science (Science) Medical Interventions in Microgravity (Medicine) Systems Management, Maintenance, and Repairs (Engineering) Interpersonal and Departmental Communication in the Workplace (Communication) Resource Management and Workplace Coordination (Protocol) Health, Safety, and Motor Coordination in Microgravity (Athletics) Station Operations (Operate) Maintenance in Isolation and Limited-Resource Problem Solving (Sabotage -- in the sense of "getting equipment to do something it wasn't designed to do"; ie, the art of going Mark Watney / MacGyver on things)

During the week, players and their characters have the chance to get to know the students and become invested in them and help them grow as young people -- you know, that thing teachers and guidance counselors do. Without spoiling anything, at some point during the week, something catastrophic and unexpected happens, and the players must race to save as many lives as they can -- both the lives of the students, and themselves. This is an adventure where player choices do matter, and the skills of paying attention to things and problem-solving are rewarded -- and a lack of these is punished. Through a series of choices and actions that my players made, both before and during the catastrophe, they managed to keep almost everyone alive... but it could easily have gone another way, and dozens could have died had my players been inattentive at the table and cavalier about the lives of NPCs and the responsibilities of their own characters.

This was fun from the very beginning, nail-bitingly tense when the chips were down, and incredibly rewarding and satisfying at the end when my players could look back and see how their own actions had directly impacted the lives of the students they saved.

I would absolutely recommend this for any group that enjoys roleplay-heavy sessions, dialogue, conversations, getting to know characters, and overcoming challenges through skill, critical thinking, and problem solving. This might not be the best Contract to run for a group of, shall we say, "murderhobos" -- but it could easily be used to give a battle-hardened or stone-hearted soldier/mercenary type something to care about for a week. I hope your players have as much fun playing this as my group did, and I hope you enjoy running it as much as I did!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hope Contract Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HC SVNT DRACONES Second Edition
by Nicholas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2020 23:26:49

a really Great update to the first edition, the system was simplified in a good way, its easier to understand, especially for me since i do better learning by doing with guidance from an experienced player, but after reading the pdf i was able to figure out how to make skill checks and such with ease, if your on the fence, i suggest getting the PDF and going through it maybe try a test game, but after reading it i bought the full book, love the system cant wait to see what else comes out from the creator for this system



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HC SVNT DRACONES Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HSD Short Story Compilation (Compatible with all HSD editions)
by Nicholas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2020 23:24:01

a fun read, cant wait to see if they become full books or not



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HSD Short Story Compilation (Compatible with all HSD editions)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HC SVNT DRACONES map pack 1
by Nicholas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2020 23:21:08

A Great map pack for starting out would be nice to see more map packs being done, especially if there can be "guest" map packs, maybe a contest to get map designs that can be usable, just some thoughts, but love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HC SVNT DRACONES map pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HC SVNT DRACONES Second Edition
by Ricardo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2020 19:30:01

Took a while to get, but well worth the wait. It cleans up the system and makes it easier to work with. It keeps all the same wonderful artwork of the previous edition and adds a few more as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HC SVNT DRACONES Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vigilance Contract Second Edition
by Artur K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2019 21:00:10

Excelent starting adventure for HSD system, Vigilance offers an interesting intrigue with unpredictible twists - as well as variety of challenges, alowing characters with various roles to have their moment to shine. The contract itself can be easily played as a one-off session, but can be easily adapted and modified to fit longer narratives. Having played it blind before buying, I can definitely reccomend the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vigilance Contract Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HC SVNT DRACONES Second Edition
by Cara V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2019 15:19:10

A very welcome expansion and redesign to the HSD system! This book is wonderfully written with beautiful artwork and an easy to understand rolling system that helps the game move along without getting in the way of the story. I look forward to an expansion including the Cogsune whatever else is included. My gaming group so far loves this system and setting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HC SVNT DRACONES Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HC SVNT DRACONES Second Edition
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2019 16:06:03

Very excited by the new system, been following it's development. Tons of new items and gear and a fresh take on the combat woo! Really loved Sound and Silence and the extra setting nuggets in this about the various planets is great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones First Edition
by Fox W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2018 02:37:56

This game has a lot of fantastic lore, and tries many great things in the system to lesser and greater degrees. The world building and character options are where it really shines, and the problems in the system are far fewer than you'd expect from an independent creators first endeavor. There's only a few complaints to be found and the engine is modular enough that if you do manage to find something you don't like then you can simply ignore it, and it won't upset the balance of the far, far greater bulk of good rules.

For more, watch our review here! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WP3qkjeOHrA



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones First Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars over Landria Contract (First Edition Product)
by Sherie R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2018 02:27:34

A fantastic story with numerous posibilities depending on how the players explore, and interact. Properly handled, there's a fun twist and some great horror! Can't wait to see the Second Edition!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars over Landria Contract (First Edition Product)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Echoes Contract (First Edition Product)
by Sherie R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2018 02:10:06

I love the part where the [REDACTED ] turns out to be [ REDACTED] and [ REDACTED] actualy [ REDACTED ] [REMOVED FOR VIOLATION OF NDA ] [REDACTED] right in the face!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Echoes Contract (First Edition Product)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hc Svnt Dracones Sound and Silence (Compatible with all HSD editions)
by Jessica W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2018 16:14:55

A very interesting and in-depth look at the HSD universe, pefrect for guides who want to pack their games with details, players who want to get more immersed in the world, or even people just starting out with the HSD universe and want to know a little more about what they're getting in to. Wholeheartedly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones Sound and Silence (Compatible with all HSD editions)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hc Svnt Dracones Sound and Silence (Compatible with all HSD editions)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2017 20:27:49

This book is everything I've been hoping for, more of the juicy lore of this great system, the art is stunning! Especially the sectons on near-cuil stuff!

It carries the amazing storytelling that I come to expect from this game setting, it's dark it's gritty and it always leaves me wanting more! I hope there's a second lorebook later on or a monsters book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones Sound and Silence (Compatible with all HSD editions)
by Angel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2017 07:07:43

Very well done, it adds a lot of interesting illustration and help with a lot of lorestic informations



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones First Edition
by Jeremy J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2017 13:48:54

This is an interesting one. The setting itself has a lot different genres that mix together at varying levels. It has the strengths and drawbacks of a more set in stone style setting, but still leaves wiggle room for the GM to have campaigns with twists in them. The synopsis of the setting is that you are 700 years into the future Corporations run the Solar System and humanity is gone and what is left is their creations. The setting is mainly sci-fi with a certain level of corporate intrigue/politics with some background notes of reality bending horror. Overall the elements seem to play off each other nicely.

As mentioned before, humanity is gone. Instead what you play as is a "Vector" a type of human animal hybrid. While this may sound limiting there is a decent list of species that you can play as, along with "Morphisims" which are a different body types/defects that effect the characters looks as well as some of the mechanics of the game. This ends up more than compensating for the lack of other races to play. The general feel of the game seems to be modular in the sense that the characters pick up jobs from different corporations. This also allows the game to trend toward being more episodic. It allows the party composition to change due to absent players and allows for the GM work it into the campaign more easily without to much gymnastics. The dice system for a homebrew system isn't bad but it does have it's flaws. It's setup facilitates multiple ways to approach a problem, but sometimes it can be hazy on which stat to use for which situation. There are examples in the book that help, but they more or less give you a guide to follow. Most issues with this can be fixed with a GM that keep track of which stats they you to roll for what and keep them consistent.

Overall my verdict for this game is 4 stars. It has an interesting and unique setting, and an interesting dice system that opens up different ways to solve problems, but sometimes can be a little vague in certain situations.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones First Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 51 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates