DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The Mutant Epoch
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2022 05:03:50

There's not much more I can write that other reviewers haven't already covered. But suffice it to say, this is one of the most fun games me and my wife have played. And I plan on using it to solo play quite a bit as well. If you are looking for a PA game, this is the best one I've come across so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Crossroads Region Gazetteer
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2022 04:22:46

This is a big book. It is full of ideas and plothooks for your TME games, I would say that this along with the core book and the mutant bestiary are your core books. And full of random tables, which I love. Definitely worth getting for inspiration and ideas if you play TME.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Crossroads Region Gazetteer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Mutant Epoch
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2022 20:19:26

I've been gaming for decades and the first edition of Gamma World is one of my all time favorite RPGs. I can still remember buying the boxed set from a Walden Books and spending hours geeking out over this irridiated, post-apocalyptic world. There have been many games that have tried to match Gamma World but none of them have ever brought back that mutant magic I felt all those years go. I'm happy to say The Mutant Epoch is like Gamma World on steroids, and maybe PCP (don't do drugs kids...they're bad. Play The Mutant Epoch...it's way more fun). The game has tons of tables to randomize character creation (though there are rules for those who want control over charcater creation), encounters, hazards, relics, and so, so much more. You want mutants? Check! Really, really mutated mutants? Check! Cyborgs? Check! Pure stock humans? Check! Trans-humans? Check! Bestial humans (mutated animals)? Check! And more! The game has a mechanic for using others as a "Meat Shield". That's right...meat shield. Why aren't you buying this book yet? The book has amazing art that screams early days of RPGs where everything was over the top. Seriously, the book is worth getting for the art alone. I can't recommend TME enough if you're looking for a super fun post-apocalyptic game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Mutant Epoch
by Jonathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2022 19:27:28

I've been looking for a good post apocalyptic (PA) rule-set for years now. I've purchased, downloaded and begun reading through multiple over the years; however, have never found something which captured the level of violence or brutality which I associated with my dream system.

That is until I was recommended The Mutant Epoch (TME) by a trusted friend and GM of our current online campaign. I waited for about two weeks while perusing the TME website and reading write-ups as well as watching some YouTube overviews/reviews. I was really pondering the question I normally ponder when considering to purchase yet another RPG product. I've got well over 10 gigs of products and so few are actually used. Of course, that doesn't stop me from buying them.

Anyhow, I downloaded the Quick Start Rules (QSR) and got to reading. It should be noted, the QSR character generation is a very simplified version of the full Hub Rules in TME. However, I was able to roll up a pure stock human who was a 2nd rank weapons expert with a dagger. Additionally, he had one rank in stealth, medic and brawling. Equipped with a leather jacket I figured I was off to a good start. I hopped into the QSR's included adventure and quickly found myself aboard a trade raft floating toward Soggy Hearth, the module's jumping off point. I'm itching to get started.

My desire to jump into the action was a bit misguided. The phrase, “Be careful what you wish for,” quickly had me reconsidering, as I was met by grappling hooks biting into the side rails of our trade raft as a huge iron plated skullock, masterfully hefting an electrically powered chainsaw, barked orders to two other skullocks and brought his weapon of choice roaring to life. “Right... weapons expert with a dagger sounded so good ... until I'm met with an armored beast of a humanoid armed with a future day chainsaw.” Being as I'm simply giving the QSR a whirl, I have my PC jump right in. It's probably a good thing I didn't bother giving him (or her) a name, bio, or bother finding a PC portrait.

Initiative is rolled and thankfully my PC gets to go first. And I'm met with even more disappointment (or is it amusement at this point?) with a big miss. Naturally, the other side goes first. Do I bother having the two accompanying skullocks give me a swing with their machetes? I mean, I'm still greatly at risk but figure I might as well bite the bullet and see how I fair against the chainsaw. At this point, I should probably mention I'm used to d100 systems and they are my preferred rule systems. The only preliminary thought I had about the QSR was the minimal critical hit range, with a critical hit only occurring on a natural 1. I didn't see that occurring as often as in some other systems I'm used to, but without playing it's hard to tell if critical hits have as much bearing based on the heavy weapon damage compared to other systems I'm used to.

Anyways … I naturally roll a 1 on the beast of an armored skullock's attack, who brings his chainsaw down at an angle toward my PC's lower portion of his shoulder, just underneath his arm as he proceeds to sever me in half. Yep, one hit. One miss and a hit, to be more accurate. If anyone could have seen my face, it was beaming with a smile. This was it. This was what I had been looking for. I was so intrigued, I printed up one of the pregens from the QSR and acted as though he was startled enough to not jump into the first round of action. After three rounds, he too fell by the almighty brute of a skullock.

It's safe to say, I was hooked. But it only got better … again, this was just the QSR. After purchasing the TME Hub Rules, my mind was blown with the level of detail to the system and the plethora of options. I have zero intentions to run this with a group. I fully intend to simply use this system as a solo endeavor, giving me complete ability to tweak things to my preference. I fully expect it will be a bloodbath, with a very high turnover rate of PCs, with very few making it through the meat grinder. I purchased Dog Daze very soon after reading the TME Hub Rules and fully expect myself to pickup the Oscar Mike bundle offered by William & Company. If you're interested in PA systems, be sure to check this out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mutant Bestiary One
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2022 19:05:50

An awesome Bestiary to challenge, amuse, and horrify your excavators. the author makes otters scary...otters. If you want a book full of fun art and tons of mutant creatures to populate your post-apocalypse, this is the book for you. There are often multiple versions of creatures so that you can challenge players of many different ranks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Bestiary One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Mutant Bestiary One
by Edward L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2020 12:32:03

Nothing to say, except this book is an awesome menagerie of mutant mayhem that I cant wait to throw at my players!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Handcrafted Dungeons:: Basic Dungeon Tiles set 2
by Marcelo F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2020 07:31:59

I like the look of the tiles, however (1) the lack of "regular" rooms- circle, square, and rectangle with only 1-2 entrances- or assets to make "regular" rooms reduces the re-usability of the tiles. Also, (2) some of the ways the tiles match together isn't visually appealing. Similarly (3) more dungeon dressing would be appreciated. I have moved to VTT, like many others, so I finally got around to actually using these tiles, and its nice to break them out at times, but really it is fairly limited.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Handcrafted Dungeons:: Basic Dungeon Tiles set 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Gun Station Gamma
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2020 10:08:20

A solid product. While I'm not a huge fan of their game system, their material is easily ported over into any post-Apoc setting. Good maps, interesting setting material, and a plot that neither railroads nor leaves you hanging.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gun Station Gamma
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Monday Mutant 1: Junko
by Russell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2019 14:46:57

It would appear that William McAusland is releasing the Monday Mutant series in order to build excitement for the upcoming TME Expansion Rules which are slated to be released in September. If that is indeed his plan, its a good one!

The Junko, Monday Mutant 1, is a great addition to the incredibly detailed menagerie of horrors that populate the TME world. This horrible, ogre-like creature would be an unwelcome surprise for a group of excavators exploring the ubiquitous ruins of the future. Among the Junko's many unique traits is it's penchant to use loot to bait adventurers into an ambush. Now there is a whole side-adventure right there! In addition to the monster stats and great art, the PDF comes with a unique loot table and a list of of 10 unique mutations for the Junko, which makes it feel like you are getting 11 monstes for the price of 1!

And the price is right for this Pay What You Want PDF! The suggested price is $0.00, which makes this an absolut steal.

There are a few minor typos, but they shouldn't impact your enjoyment of this beasty. TME is my favorite post-appocalypes game. It's easy to play and packed with as much detail as you want to use. if you are leary about buying the main rules, download the Quick Start rules when you download the Junko and give them a try. it's a fantastic game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monday Mutant 1: Junko
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spot Art Set 9
by 5E S. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2018 17:25:48

Amazing art for DMs and creators alike. I almost don't want to tell people how good it is because I want as few people as possible to be using it! I use this stuff liberally in my products and have all of WM's art packs. Hoping he'll put out more. Top notch black and white line art. It don't get much better than this IMO. The art has a distinctive feel, reminds me a lot of FF Gamebooks. I use it in my own 5e Gamebooks. Easily worth the asking price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Clip Inks:: Spot Art Set 9
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Handcrafted Dungeons:: Basic Dungeon Tiles set 2
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2017 12:54:55

Handcrafted Dungeons (Both sets) are fantastic- i have had my eye on them for a while and just bought them and arranged for pro printing. The 'maker' quality of them is just beautiful. lighting, texture, doors, traps and details, plus all the printing and furnish level options. I can't recommend them highly enough. I am eager for the caves sets! If you buy only one set of tiles, buy two and make them HCD!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Handcrafted Dungeons:: Basic Dungeon Tiles set 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Handcrafted Dungeons:: Basic Dungeon Tiles set 1
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2017 12:33:32

I have looked at tons of dungeon tiles, computer rendered, painted, drawn, inked, and none come even close to these. The fellow who published them actually built them out of clay and other materials, lit them and took photos of them to make the tiles. The results are nothing less than spectacular. I can't say strongly enough how much i enjoy them, where using, planning or just admiring the craftsmanship that went into them. I've always liked the idea of 3d dungeons, but lacked the space to make or store them. This stuff solves that problem elegantly. If you buy only one set of tiles, make it Handcrafted Dungeons. Full Disclosure: I am in no way shape or form affiliated with HCD, they are just that awesome that I was willing to eat the Canadian $ exchange so you other folks can get a good price on a fantastic resource. I even printed them out on 11x17 paper to make them larger for my kids to move figures around on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Handcrafted Dungeons:: Basic Dungeon Tiles set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
One Day Digs 5
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2016 12:43:37

Excellent short adventure for Mutant Epoch. I enjoyed running it and my players enjoyed it as well. Maps are clear and concise. I would put average playing time around 4 hrs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Day Digs 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Mutant Epoch RPG Quick Start Rules
by R. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2016 18:44:43

I have Mutant Epoch core rules. I only solo roleplay with it. This game supports solo roleplay extremely well. All their large adventure books are written to account for a solo experience which is so very rare.

I digress. These quick start rules are an amazing addition. Apart from their obvious reason for being they are perfect for solo roleplaying. I need a game to be rules light in order to keep the pace snappy. This concise 48 page edition (the adventure is an additional 42 pages plus setting material) is perfect for my needs and comes with another fantastic adventure for free! When the rules become second nature I can start adding more from the full 246 page core rules.

Really, what more could you want? Great artwork? Its got that too!

Richard Smithston



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch RPG Quick Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tyrannosapien: Creatures of the Apocalypse 11
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2016 15:04:41

At 11 pages, 8 are the content. This beast looks like an oversized 'Velociraptor', of sorts; but the claws are at the front, not the back feet.

Size is approximately just under 13 feet high to just under 23 feet at max height. Page 3 gives a good size comparison of this large beast to a humanoid. You could very well get trampled.

Some heavy hardware would be needed to take this one down. Artwork is good for depicting the creature.

I'd hate to think of the carnage that a pack of these could do.

And best of all, it's free!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tyrannosapien: Creatures of the Apocalypse 11
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 82 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates