DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Advanced Labyrinth Lord (Dragon Cover)
by Ryan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2019 07:41:58

Packed with tons of great info and a wonderful source if you're already steeped in BX or the OSR rules. Tons of monsters and rules for all kinds of encounters. A lots of great random tables too.

However, it's general layout is pretty weak and unfriendly and it spends a good page explaining what an RPG is and how to play one but never breaks down how Descending Armor Class works. So, it pretends to cater to new players and then kind of forgets about them.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Labyrinth Lord (Dragon Cover)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Realms of Crawling Chaos (Labyrinth Lord)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/12/2019 13:14:25

The physical book is 60 pages worth of material and deals with running a Lovecraftian-inspired game of horror fantasy. The PDF is 66 with covers and an ad for Mutant Future.

A few new races are introduced for a Race-as-Class style game with notes on other classes to use in an advanced game; Sea-Blooded, Subhuman, White Ape and White Ape Hybrid.

Next, are some new magical formulae and some new spells all based on various Lovecraft sources. Enough to sprinkle into various dammable texts for the players to find AND then really get into trouble with.

We come to the monsters and all the old favorites are here. Comparing them to other sources of similar monster will give you plenty of differences in stats, which is a good thing really. Players who are familiar with other books should not have knowledge their characters do not.

A small section on Eldritch Artifacts, a staple of many of Lovecraft's mythos stories.

And finally a section on Psionics which differs from other books/games.

We get some appendices on Eldritch tomes and an artifact generator. Appendix 3 covers the use of these psionic rules in Mutant Future. And Appendix 4 covers the stories and books used.

We end with the OGL section.

The book is awfully fun and is full of great ideas. If you are a fan of Labyrinth Lord and Lovecraftian tales then I would most certainly grab this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Realms of Crawling Chaos (Labyrinth Lord)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Advanced Labyrinth Lord (Dragon Cover)
by Jorge J. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2019 15:04:01

Simply put, one of the best OSRs in the market. The rules are clear, altought the writing is a little verbose. No matter that, it's perfectly elgible, the rules make sense and Dan proctor has eliminated tons of ambiguities and absurdities from the original game. And now, finally, the basic/expert options are combined with the advanced options in one book. It deserves a place of honour among your games, and you deserve to have this game even if you usually don't play OSR games. It's like not having a Cthulhu or a D&D in your shelf.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Labyrinth Lord (Dragon Cover)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Advanced Labyrinth Lord (Dragon Cover)
by Rudy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2018 16:45:53

TL;DR: Advanced Labyrinth Lord is convenient and saves you the trouble of having to flip between the core rulebook and the Advanced Edition Companion book when running LL using the "advanced" rules. There's nothing new content-wise, Goblinoid Games is selling you LL + AEC condensed into one book which is a little disappointing.

Full Review: Advanced Labyrinth Lord is basically just the core Labyrinth Lord and Advanced Edition Companion rulebooks mashed into one single, easy-to-use tome. Honestly I can't help but wonder why Goblinoid didn't publish the game in this format to begin with instead of separating them into two different books. Or at least include the essential rules such as exploration, monster stats, and combat tables etc within the AEC so people didn't have to switch between the two books in order to play an "advanced" game of LL. I'm sure looking back Goblinoid Games realized that people would've much rather preferred to have just one book "to rule them all" which is why we got Advanced Labyrinth Lord.

As for new content, you won't find anything in Advanced Labyrinth Lord that isn't already present in LL or the AEC, and honestly I was a little disappointed which is why I took off a star. If you already own LL + AEC (which are free to download here on DTRPG) then you aren't getting anything new, just the convenience of not having to jump between two books when running an "advanced" game of LL. I felt like there could've been SOMETHING new that they could've added to make purchasing this book more worthwhile, such as maybe a few new classes (Barbarian and Sorcerer anyone?) or maybe some new player races/monsters/magic items etc. Instead, Advanced Labyrinth Lord's main selling point is just the convenience of having everything you need in a single book.

Gameplay-wise, Advanced Labyrinth Lord plays exactly the way you remember it. You'll roll 3d6 in order for stats and pick a race, then a class, roll for HP, then buy equipment and send your poor PC to an almost certain doom inside a dangerous labyrinth deep beneath the Earth. As far as layout goes, the book does a good job at separating the "basic" and "advanced" elements into their own sections, and carefully explains which sections to use depending on if you want a basic game or an advanced game. The "Advanced Hit Dice" option is still present, just in case you want your PCs to be a little more robust with their Hit Points. I felt like the book did a good job at explaining and making it clear which parts to use depending on if the GM is doing a basic or advanced game, however anyone not familiar with the differences between B/X and AD&D may want to carefully read the rules until they start to understand what the differences are.

Final Verdict: I would highly recommend this book to fans of LL and anyone wanting to run an old school AD&D game without having to try and decipher the mess of rules that is the 1st edition AD&D game (especially the "High Gygaxian Speech"). If you're happy playing just basic LL then you don't need this new book at all. Alternatively, if you're tired of carrying around both LL and AEC and want just one book with the option to play either basic or advanced rules then this is also for you. Lack of new content is disappointing given we're shelling out money yet again for a product that we already own, however it's not a deal breaker either.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrms& Warlocks: Fantasy Caverns
by Sean E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2018 23:03:45

The maps have interesting shapes and the grid lines are helpful but the large black negative space wastes a TON of printer toner. These are expensive to print as a result.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrms& Warlocks: Fantasy Caverns
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Osric Frpg
by Adam N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2018 12:06:02

If you're going to run a 1e game, or play in a 1e game, it's worth having this around. It contains an almost 1 to 1 translation of the 1e rules, but does it with modern sensiblities for language, layout, organization and formatting. While Gygax and Arneson might have been visionaries when it comes to entertainment, they were not wordsmiths or even skilled technical writers. This version cleans up and organizes the rules from their game into a format that much more closely matches what modern audiences have come to expect from RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Osric Frpg
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Idol of the Orcs
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/11/2018 16:13:09

What can be more low level than going after some orcs? Especially demon-worshiping orcs! Well if that is your jam then this is the adventure for you. This 16 page (12 of actual text) features a cavern of orcs just like the good old days. Nothing too out of the ordinary here, but just good old 1st level fun. Can be played in an afternoon.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Idol of the Orcs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2018 22:58:13

Just a bit of background on my history with D&D. I never really got to play basic D&D back in the day (though I really wanted to). I eventually did buy the Rules Cyclopedia when it came out, but never really got to use it for anything. When I went off to college, AD&D 2nd edition was the game of choice, so that's what most of my experience is with. I've also played around a bit with 3.5 D&D, mostly with video games. Having said all of that, I haven't actually played an actual D&D gaming session in years.

A bunch of my colleagues at work told me they wanted to play D&D, so I figured why not play RC era basic D&D. After just getting things off the ground running B1-9, I got curious hearing about all of the OSR retro-clones. Labyrinth Lord was a name that kept popping up continually and it referenced the B/X or Moldvay ruleset which I had never heard of until now. I figured how much different could it really be from the RC? It's different all right, in a really awesome way. Comparing this system side by side with the RC, I feel it is much better balanced in every way. I know B/X capped out at level 14 and this one goes up to 20, but everything is still pretty close to that version of D&D. It's definitely an easy pick up and go system, and I appreciate the simplicity.

You may be asking, why would I recommend Labyrinth Lord over B/X then? Two very big reasons. First of all, you have everything you need in one book rather than two. That's something the RC always had over every other version of D&D before and since. The second reason is that this system can be expanded with the Advanced Edition Companion if you want some more character options, but not so much as to slow things down where it takes a full day to make a character. If you just want the standard B/X playstyle, then this book alone is all you need and it works really well. There's also an expansion for people who want a game more like OD&D, but I can't say anything about that one as I know nothing about it or OD&D at all. I guess there is a third reason to get it. There are a TON of supporting materials by third-party publishers on this site if you just search for Labyrinth Lord under rule system. With all of that material, you can really make this game into just about anything you want. I'm personally just sticking to this and the AEC and I like what we have going. You can always read through the no-art version for free, but I prefer having art and at this price, you can't really beat that deal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clone Farm
by Diego W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2018 12:11:23

An excellent one-shot adventure, with a fleshed-out setting. Lacking in detail in some areas, but with the intention of leaving the GM with the flexibility to adapt to the players' choices.

Clone Farm delivers an experience which blends together a quick, ready-to-run scenario with the context and detail of a more well-developed adventure. The facility the players wake up in is well-detailed, while still giving GMs the freedom to devise what sort of experience the players have within its bleak, sterile walls.

The only thing keeping me from giving this a five-star rating is the lack of detail towards the end of the adventure in comparison with the beginning/middle of it. The GMs are left to come up with the details of the rebels' assault on the facility, and the rebels are generally left as an ambiguous entity. This is done with the intention of allowing the GM to form their own game and to adapt to the players' choices, but some GMs may find this a bit hard to work with.

Nevertheless, I am looking forward to running this game. The ideas that Goblinoid Games comes up with are fantastic, and I'm sure that it'll be a one-shot my players will remember for quite some time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clone Farm
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Burial Plots
by Mattias G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2018 06:16:57

Burial Plots is a compilation of 5 short adventures for the ChillMaster... sorry, CryptMaster, to inflict upon his/her gaming group. The 5 adventures are:

Condition critical; a lighthearted 10 page scenario. It takes place in a hospital where an experimental treatment to boost the white blood cells of patients has gone terribly wrong. The medical experiment has now colonised the hospital itself and decided to purge all foreign organisms infecting the building.

Unquenchable; a 9 page wilderness adventure where the PC:s join a search party to look for three missing deer hunters. Of course, the forest is full of both small ticks and larger bloodsuckers....

Death in the Dust; an 11 page adventure where the PC:s are sent to investigate an Old West boomtown near a long since caved-in mine.

Forget-me-not; a 9 page adventure in which a copycat killer after 40 years picks up where the previous axe murderer left off.

It came upon a midnight clear; a 5 page adventure set at gaudily decorated farm house during Christmas Eve beset by a spirit of the season.

No adventure should take more than 3 hours to run, and they come complete with maps, room descriptions and monster stats. The preparations are minimal, but if I should offer any criticism, it's that the investigative skills aren't widely used. The mere presence of maps also hints at a more tactical combat approach where the Envoys make steady progress from one grid onto the next. I've always found it more useful in Horror to disorient and blur the PC:s sense of direction once they enter the haunted houses and woods. Also, the NPC:s in Burial Plots could have been made out more quirky to encourage roleplaying and player suspicioins (always think Twin Peaks when you design victims, witnesses and law enforcement officers).

Nonetheless, Burial Plots is a well-crafted compilation. It's also great to see that Pacesetter is once more publishing proper scenarios these days to Chill... sorry, CryptWorld. It was Pacesetter's scenarios that hooked me to Chill back in the 80's, and free pdf:s simply won't suffice. These days I fear that the lack of proper scenarios will likely push modern horror gamers away from the Chill INSTANT ADVENTURE system towards the competing brands (Delta Green/ Cthulhu BRP, EsoTerrorists GUMSHOE and Hunter: the Vigil STORYTELLING). A full length campaign would work wonders to provide Chill/CryptWorld players with a common frame of reference.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Burial Plots
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apes Victorious
by Forest R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2017 11:21:04

Once again Goblinoid Games serves up top notch old school quality. Ilike this game for it's versitility and adaptbility. The group that I ran this for is begging me to run at conventions in 2018. I suspect this will happen as I am a big fan of the original Planet of the Apes series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apes Victorious
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GORE
by Kenneth S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2017 12:34:08

For my purposes this is an excellent distillation of the early d100/BRP system and specifically Call of Cthulhu. It's clean and clearly written with capable illustrations establishing that it is primarily aimed at horror gaming, specifically of the Lovecraftian bent. My understanding is that it exists mainly as a platform for further game development, free of the concerns a license might bring. At this point it seems to have been nearly abandoned, but I have hope. Seeing as CoC 7e has changed the game somewhat, and not necessarily in a direction that suits all tastes, I hope someone will hit on using GORE to produce some good Lovecraftian horror that avoids some of the CoC-isms. Turn from pulp-action toward darker realms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowbrook Manor
by Peter B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 13:09:06

While I enjoy the premise, I am not a big fan of silliness / hoke. I would have liked to have known that there is such a high comic factor to this module including constant references to humourous movies.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowbrook Manor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition (no-art version)
by Stefan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2017 09:35:02

The Best B/X clone by far. Very well written and easy to use. Which it would get more support though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cryptworld
by Eric C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2017 14:16:26

Why I do not like the game is because they didn't fix the key problem that old Chill had. Numbers often exceeded 100 in this percentile driven game. Basically you never miss or fail a skill roll unless the CM puts a difficulty on what you are doing. This makes more experienced players hindered because they are more experienced. The whole sequence of combat was something nobody did, is outdated, and should've been redone. This really feels like the intention was to just copy the old game and put it out as something revised.

I loved Chill and wanted to love this but nothing was improved and everything taken out was missed. Basically 2nd edition will do just fine.

Positive note: Nice getting the artist from the original Chill to do this.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptworld
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 148 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates