DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
by Sarah P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2003 00:00:00

This is a 3.0 book, but hey, monster templates are easy to convert to 3.5. I'm not sure I'd want the job of converting all the templates, considering how many there are. Loads of value in this book, folks.

If you enjoy tinkering with monsters, this book is for you. And by that, I mean, "What are you waiting for, buy it this minute, you have no idea what you're missing."

For example: A Heightened (+2 to all attributes and some other stuff) Half-Medusa (stoning gaze) Nymph who is an Argent Servitor (servant of good)

A Woundmender (construct with fast healing) Skinrug (self-explanatory) made from the pelt of a Displacer Beast

A (well, not for long) Hypermitiotic (divides when struck) Hiveling (gets bonuses when around other creatures of its hive).... anything. How about stirges or kobolds?

Apocalyptic Tarrasque? Half-efreeti Centaur? The possibilities are about as endless as they come.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Templates
by Vernon A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2003 00:00:00

This book is a step in the right direction. But the execution is sorely lacking. Many of these tomplates are overpowered. The Dreadnaught certainly fits into this catergory. With more examination I might find something I like. I wasn't impressed.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
by Carl A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2003 00:00:00

Many interesting templates. Many spells, a few which should probably be adjusted. For example, there are some that are specifically intended to affect contructs, but no mention is made on many of them whether they ignore a golem's 'unbeatable SR' or not (and they almost all allow SR) but they do mention it on some other construct oriented spells. The 'Half-' templates are also pretty good, but they do make a common mistake. They say you can't combine more than on half-template, but what about a child who has one human parent and a fiendish Dragon parent? The resulting creature would be refered to as "half human, half dragon, half fiendish" with an implied "half prime material", as that is really what you are implying to when you say "half fiendish". There's no reason to think that a fiendish human mating with a prime material human would produce a half-fiendish offspring but a fiendish dragon mating with a prime material human would not also produce a half-fiend, half dragon. One is more a measure of body and the other is more a measure of soul. I still recommend this book because of the volume of material compared to its price, and its mostly good(useful) quality.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Templates
by aaaa a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2003 00:00:00

Templates are not a difficult part of the d20 System to create. The value of this product is that here are a small book's worth of templates already worked out.

Some of the templates have "someone else's campaign" written all over them, and some others are 2e conversions or inspired by defunct TSR campaigns (which isn't a bad thing).

I can see why some buyers would be negative about the book, since once one reads through the templates one is left with the slight feeling that this is something one could do for oneself.

However, the book and its contents are high quality and inspiring stuff. I know players in our group who will use this book for pets, monster cohorts and even monster player characters. That alone will make this book worth a vast multiple of its sale price.

A solid product, at the right price.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mind the Gap (Revised)
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2003 00:00:00

With a little more depth, this book would have started to remind me of the old Grimtooth's trap series. As it is, though there are few ridiculously original ideas here, it should get your evil DM's wheels turning.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mind the Gap (Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Feats Volume I
by Matthew O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2003 00:00:00

Some neat feats. My players may use some of these in my game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Feats Volume I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Templates
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2003 00:00:00

This was a nice idea, and I certainly got a few ideas from it as well. But some of the templates I felt were certainly unbalanced and some just didn't suit my needs. Some were quite neat like the Quickling one and the plant one gave me some ideas for some nasty plant ideas I had. But overall it was just ok, I honestly wouldn't even call it good, just ok. It did give me some ideas though, but nothing to write home about.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Templates
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2003 00:00:00

A good collection of 30 templates that helps provide an alternative to standard d20 creatures while allowing a themed link between them. Each template is well detailed and comes with a sample creature already converted. The Dreadnaught template came in very handy when I was looking to create a minotaur champion for a recent campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
by Stephanie S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2003 00:00:00

Lots of great templates. I have used almost all of them but there are so many.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
by Kevin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2003 00:00:00

Any book that allows me to change a monster into something that the Players haven't got much experience with will always get used in my games. I have a group of Players that includes some who have been gaming for ten years or more, thay have a lot of accumulated knowledge about the monstrous manual entries so they have an almost instinctual ability to know a creatures weaknesses. This book changed that.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2003 00:00:00

The ideas in here are very interesting, but often so off the wall as to be essentially useful. Great reading for ideas, but hard to mine for useful rules.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Five Free Races
by Ross K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2003 00:00:00

well, i got this cause it was free. i always reckon that you get a good view on what a companiy's paid stuff is like by looking at the free..... (and i've not been wrong yet, i hasten to add)

IF your d20 game is looking for some more interesting races, like if you're starting a new campaign and want to stretch the genre a bit, or if you're just bored with all your players taking Humans (who are really good in 3e..) then this book, and presumably by extension the whole Evernor stack, would suit you well.

the races seem consistent, the ECLs balanced, and the art is good (although any book with different races always needs more art. folks can imagine elves, dwarves etc but any nonhumanoid race always needs more pics.)

all in all, good stuff.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five Free Races
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Five Free Races
by Dwayne H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2003 00:00:00

Whether you are basing your campaign within the setting of Evernor or any other fantasy setting, the Five Free Races presented for FREE in this product are interesting at the least!

The ECL's are balanced well enough for all five races, although depending on your campaign world and/or if you are using them as PC or NPC races (I chose the latter since I am not running my group through Evernor at this time), you may need to do a bit of tweaking.

I give the artwork an A-, the originality of the material a B+, and the overall usefulness of Five Free Races an A!

Overall, you can't pass up taking a look at this FREE download! If anything, it will plant some adventure ideas in your head and it may inspired you to look at the campaign setting of Evernor in the future, and take a closer look at Silverthorne Games other products, due to it's professional quality! It certainly has done these things to me!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
by Devon A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2003 00:00:00

A wonderful resource -- several of the templates are a bit complicated for regular use, but this book has been a great inspiration nevertheless.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Templates
by Roy R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2002 00:00:00

30 templates! Now thats what I call a useful suppliment. An excellent product. If you have the Monster Manual alone (about 500 creatures), this product turns that number into 15,000 different creatures to scare and amaze your players with. One of the best products yet, almost up there with Malhavoc :P

A must buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 76 to 90 (of 90 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates