DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
All Hazards Great & Small
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2005 00:00:00

With only 14 pages of actual content, this product is grandiosely overtitled. It doesn't come anywhere near delivering "ALL Hazards." What you will find, however, is variations on the theme of slimes, molds, and fungus in Part I and dungeon vermin, including verminish plants, in Part II. An appendix presents several templates that relate to some of the hazards described in Parts I and II. I was a bit disappointed to find all of the hazards, with just a couple of exceptions, being creature- or growth-oriented.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Interesting new slimes, molds, fungi, oozes, and vermin.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Limited to new slimes, molds, fungi, oozes, vermin, a fog or two, and their effects. I was hoping for hazards in a broader range of categories. And the book doesn't live up to its title.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
All Hazards Great & Small
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Silverthorne Fantasy Art Gallery 2
by Neil S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2005 00:00:00

Mainly good b&w fantasy pictures of monsters. Slightly edgy/lo-fantasy-spiritual style which I like.

Priced about right on the $2.50 offer, for personal-use-only rights - i.e. you've got the right to look at the pictures, and print them out, but not to publish them or put in a web-site (which would be good for me).

I wish the same level of creativity went into each monster . . . some are just journeyman-like re-renderings of D&D "standards".

The art is at it's best when the creatures are re-interpretted or changed in some way.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Creativity in some pictures inspires a few ideas for new monsters.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Couple of images out of collection not up to same standard as others. Still no demo of actual artwork you are purchasing, which is poor.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Silverthorne Fantasy Art Gallery 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Template Troves, Volume I: Serpents, Spiders & Godlings
by Derek H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2005 00:00:00

There are 20 templates in this file.

Those that relate to gods are descendants of the mythological animals of the Norse pantheon (Odin's horse, Frey's boar, etc.)

There is one spider template (what happens when a areana breeds with a spider)

There are several that relate to reptiles- like alchemically created lesser black dragons, 1/2 couatls, corrupted lillends, and dragon hybrids among others.

And then there a few misc ones like humanoid gibbering mouthers and powerful skum.

This is such a grab bag that most DMs will find several of use.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Template Troves, Volume I: Serpents, Spiders & Godlings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Template Troves, Volume II: Oozes & Aberrations
by Derek H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2005 00:00:00

This file has 20 templates.

The ones for oozes include those affected by disease and those that are undead among others. The undead oozes can make a haunted graveyard so much more interesting.

Those for aberrations include 4 half-nagas (a favorite creature of mine), animals affected by demon taints, meteor radiation mutants, a creature that is totally unaffected by magic and degenerate reptile people.

All-in-all there is enough variety here that most DMs should find this a useful, if not great, resource.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Template Troves, Volume II: Oozes & Aberrations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kressmer's Bizarre Grimoire: Seven Spells of Power
by Gregory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2005 00:00:00

Kressmer is my hero. Only a gnome would take on an entire evil village to avenge a kidnapped frog... and curse them all for eternity on his way out.

This series is too much fun to pass up. Especially since it's cheap, and the other 7 installments are all free.

Funny thing is, the presentation and editing (and even the usefullness of the content) on these inexpensive and free little guys is often better than far more expensive items of comparable content and size. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Kressmer is useful, imaginative, original, and fun. These spells are both functional and entertaining, and the background on them (and on Kressmer himself) is worth a read as well. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The only thing that bugs me is that the text is in colors, which makes for inconsistent print quality if you want to make a hardcopy. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kressmer's Bizarre Grimoire: Seven Spells of Power
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kressmer's Bizarre Grimoire: Seven Strange Spells
by Gregory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2005 00:00:00

I always look forward to the Kressmer installments.

These spells, while not typically major in scope or power, are just too flavorful to pass up. Everything about them screams "Gnome."

I get the feeling that Kressmer would be a really entertaining guy to hang out with...and really, really annoying if he didn't like you.

Truth be told, I think this particular set of freebies is often cooler than some of the things I've spent money on. The author really does a fine job on the presentation. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: It's fun, it's functional, it's free... what's not to like? Heck, the guy even edits well and has a snappy looking cover page! <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kressmer's Bizarre Grimoire: Seven Strange Spells
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Silverthorne Fantasy Art Gallery 1
by Neil S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2005 00:00:00

Demo link is a little misleading. I was expecting something more original and misleading.

The images are nice B&W of D&D standard monsters, but for the number you get, and the "personal use only" restriction, it's not worth $4. If I want to show my players what an Owlbear looks like, I can use the Monster Manual picture, after all! Only use I can think for these images in my own campaign is for counters/tiles and maybe decoration on a player handout.

This simply does not compare well with other picture sources on RPGnow.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Pic quality is fine. A couple of original ideas: I liked the animated bearskin and zombie wolf :-)<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It's just pitched wrong. It needs to be either cheaper ($1?), have more images, have more rights to re-use the images, or be a lot more original, to be worth purchasing. An accurate demo is an essential addition.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Silverthorne Fantasy Art Gallery 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Template Troves, Volume I: Serpents, Spiders & Godlings
by Remi F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2004 00:00:00

Template Troves is a collection of variant creature templates designed to enhance a high-fantasy d20 game. The detailed mechanics presented by Sean K. Reynolds, lives up to his reputation for high quality material. Now with his new label ?Sean K. Reynolds Games?, the gaming community finally has a way to collect all his great work in one place. Template troves has some truly unique character templates. Though some work by Sean K. Reynolds on character templates for Wizards of the Coast is not include here. Well we cannot have it all, can we?

Hence, since some of my favorite templates by Sean K. Reynolds were forced to remain absent from this book, I subract 1-star from an otherwise 5-star book. ;)<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Some of the templates like the Arnarch, Gullinburstin and Sleipnirrin, make excellent mythical monsters. Though the title of this particular volume of Template Troves concentrates on Spiders, Serpents and Godlings, there is enough of a variety in monsters to satisfy any Game Master. Thus, I recommend this book for those Game Masters interested in expanding their array of variant monsters. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: This book is so great, there is not much to dislike, except maybe the inside artwork. It could have been better, but then again, very good artwork costs lots of money, and needs the kind of the artist who work for Wizards of the Coast. The cover artwork, is excellent though.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Template Troves, Volume I: Serpents, Spiders & Godlings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Template Troves, Volume I: Serpents, Spiders & Godlings
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2004 00:00:00

a nice book of templates. wide range, eclectic at times schizophrenic assortment of creatures. as far as mechanics sean k is one of the best there is. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: the power levels of the templates are very balanced and rated well. no suprises when plugging them in.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: the weird assortment of templates and origin's limits the use of this supplement to me. while all are good there are several for example templates of grandchildren norse gods loki, odin's horse etc. while interesting how useful is that to me? when it said godlings i expected some sort of godling template or similar lines.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
All Hazards Great & Small
by Jeffrey P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2004 00:00:00

This book should be called, "Slimes, Molds, and Fungi", and not the title used. I actually thought that I had a corrupted download that was missing several pages.

CR's only go to 10.

Definitely not what I was looking for when I downloaded this file.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
All Hazards Great & Small
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

All Hazards Great & Small
by Philip R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2004 00:00:00

An excellent, very useful product. Collecting these hazards in one place has helped me considerably (and pushed me to thinking about creating new hazards -- something I had never considered before buying this PDF). <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Inspirational (and not in a religious sense).<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
All Hazards Great & Small
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2004 00:00:00

This book gathers together hazards from many OGC source. On a content wise evaluation I'm not sure if any of these are new additions or all from other sources, but it doesn't really matter to me. The product description clearly stats that many come from other sources. What I paid for was convience.

When I need a hazard I only need to check one book now. Which is good because it will save me time to plan other things. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: One reference for many sources Convience<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Template Troves, Volume I: Serpents, Spiders & Godlings
by Paul P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2004 00:00:00

I've already started using these templates in my weekly game. They are well-balanced, and there is a nice variety of them. I'd recomend it.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Template Troves, Volume I: Serpents, Spiders & Godlings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Races of Evernor (Part II)
by Paul P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2004 00:00:00

I love this series! These new player races aren't just variations on elves and halflings. There are some very creative ideas in here. I'm using this series to populate my game world with a wondrous variety of races, in a world where no one race holds the upper hand.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The background information was well-done. It gives you enough to get a good idea of what each race is like, but doesn't tie it all in to an existing campaign setting, so it's easy to use these races in any setting.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It took a long frikkin' time for all three parts to come out, but now they're out, so I got no gripes. :)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Races of Evernor (Part II)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Template Troves, Volume I: Serpents, Spiders & Godlings
by Orval M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2004 00:00:00

Tweak your monsters and watch the players go crazy! Just what the evil GM needs to keep ahead of their players!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Template Troves, Volume I: Serpents, Spiders & Godlings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 90 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates