DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Orc Stabr
by Mark O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2018 19:44:42

You Orc to buy this. Simple enough for gobbo to understand. Few things though: Legend Teller want to know how Monster stab back. Also read about Monster Art Cards but wondering if they hidden?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orc Stabr
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Monsters no have stab skills, they so big and strong and scary Orc die if orc fail dice rolls!!!! Lot of orc die in hunts in Kharak, but that ok, lot of orcs in Kharak and making new orc only take second!!!!!!!!! Monster Cards not out yet! Will be out when GenCon over, sorry!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you for kind word!!!!!!!!!!!!
Orc Stabr
by Ferrell R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2018 10:15:45

THIS PRODUCT MIGHTYFINE STABBING GUIDE ONCE PRODUCT READ WAS ABLE TO APPLY TO WORKLIFE AND STABBED DEADLINE NOW AM CEO THANK YOU LIMM



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ice (Fate)
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/22/2018 09:04:06

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2018/05/23/ersteindruck-ice-a-mythic-post-historic-rpg-stueckwerk-im-ewigen-eis/

Die Welt ist untergegangen. Der Klimawandel hat sich in einer Art und Weise verschlimmert, dass die menschliche Zivilisation untergegangen und die Welt in eine neue Eiszeit gefallen ist, in der sich nur kleine Reste einstiger Größe behaupten. Dafür ist aber zumindest Magie zurück in die Welt gekommen. 

Mit Ice liegt ein Produkt vor, dessen Titel bereits verdeutlicht, in welcher kleinen Nische es sich zu Hause fühlt. Postapokalypse mit prähistorischem Anstrich in einer Eiszeit. Man muss dem Spiel zugutehalten, dass es sich damit einen ziemlich unverbrauchten Dreh ausgesucht hat, um sich von anderen Vertretern der Postapokalypse abzugrenzen. Aber lohnt es sich, einen Ausflug in diese Welt zu machen?

Die Spielwelt Die Welt von Ice ist relativ schnell erklärt. Vor einigen Jahrhunderten begann eine neue Eiszeit, die die moderne Zivilisation ausgelöscht hat. Eis umschließt den gesamten Globus wie ein Panzer und hat den Planeten zu einer gefrorenen Einöde werden lassen. Von einigen wenigen Stellen rund um den Äquator abgesehen, ist die Welt unbewohnbar geworden. Lediglich zwei unterirdische Städte haben die Katastrophe überlebt und sind die Leuchtfeuer der Zivilisation in einer Welt, die ansonsten auf den Entwicklungsstand der Steinzeit zurückgefallen ist.

Die meisten Menschen sind in Clans organisiert und führen ein Leben als Jäger und Sammler. Unterstützt werden die Clans dabei von Menschen, die ein besonderes Talent, den Funken, haben. Bei diesen Menschen handelt es sich um Personen, die in der Lage sind, auf magische Art und Weise Verbindung zu den Eigenschaften von Totemtieren herzustellen. Sie können stark wie ein Bär, flink wie Vogel oder wild wie ein Säbelzahntiger sein. Sie sind die größte Waffe, die ein Clan gegen die unbarmherzige Umwelt hat, in der, neben der Kälte, vor allem prähistorische Ungeheuer ihr Unwesen treiben und eine große Gefahr für das Überleben der Menschheit darstellen.

Mit dieser Zusammenfassung ist die Spielwelt gut umrissen, da das Spiel selbst sich wenig Mühe macht, dem potenziellen Spielleiter viel Material an die Hand zu geben. New China und The City, die beiden überlebenden Städte der Vor-Katastrophenzeit, werden nur mit wenigen Worten ausgebaut. Der Rest obliegt der Fantasie und der Assoziationskraft des Spielleiters. Gleiches gilt für die großen Clans des Settings. Wolf, Bär, Falken und Mammut werden mit je drei Absätzen kurz vorgestellt und entsprechen klassischen Charakterarchetypen wie Priester, Krieger, Ausgestoßene und Erben der alten Welt. Zusammen machen diese Clans allerdings auch nur gut 10 % der Weltbevölkerung aus. Der Rest lebt entweder in den unterirdischen Städten oder wird unter dem Stichwort „minor clans“ subsumiert.

Man ist es ja inzwischen gewohnt, dass ein Settingband für Fate mit sehr groben Pinselstrichen gezeichnet wird, aber Ice geht hier ins Extrem und hinterlässt dabei einen schalen Nachgeschmack. Es wird vom Leser erwartet, dass er viel ohne Erklärung hinnimmt oder sich seine eigenen Erklärungen zurechtmacht. Woher kommt der Funken? Wieso existieren ausgestorbene Tiere wie Mammuts oder Säbelzahntiger wieder? Was hat zur Gründung des Bärclans geführt? Diese Beispiele stehen nur exemplarisch für die vielen Fragezeichen, die der Band beim Lesen hinterlassen hat. Auch wenn man bedenkt, dass der Band eventuell nur die Phantasie des Lesers anregen soll, ist die Basis leider sehr dünn. Da haben andere Bände wie Nest oder Venture City aus den vorhandenen Seiten weitaus mehr rausgeholt. In seiner aktuellen Form ist Ice eine Settingskizze. Mehr leider nicht.  

Die Regeln Ice nutzt für den Spielablauf und die Charaktererstellung das Fate Core Regelsystem, an dem, neben der obligatorischen Fertigkeitsliste, lediglich eine große Anpassung vorgenommen wurde. Das Totemsystem ist das Alleinstellungsmerkmal von Ice und gibt ihm tatsächlich einen eigenen Touch. Im Prinzip ist es Menschen mit dem Funken, also in der Regel allen Spielercharakteren, möglich, die Eigenschaften von Tieren anzunehmen. Mit Hilfe eines Fisch-Totems könnte man zum Beispiel unter Wasser atmen, ein Mammut-Totem würde die eigene Haut ledrig und undurchdringbar machen etc. Totems werden nach „instant“ und „equipment“ unterschieden. Erstere sind kurzfristige Erscheinungen, die lediglich eine Szene lang einen Effekt haben und dem Charakter regelseitig Stresspunkte verursachen. Zweitere sind dauerhafte Charakteristika des Charakters und spiegeln seine magische Macht wider. Equipment-Totems können im Laufe des Spiels als Aspekte hinzugewonnen werden, müssen dann aber natürlich aus dem „Refresh“ Vorrat bezahlt werden.

Ice listet eine ganze Reihe von möglichen Totems und ihren Besonderheiten auf, sodass Spielleiter und Spieler einen guten Startpunkt haben, wenn es um die Individualisierung der Charaktere geht. Auch eine kurze Erklärung, wie neue Totems erstellt werden können, findet sich in dem Band.

Daneben gibt das Spiel noch einige kurze Anleitungen, wie Gruppen ihren eigenen Clan erstellen und die Spielwelt für sich selbst ausgestalten können. Dieser Zusatz bewegt sich bei der Kürze des Bandes natürlich nicht in Dresden Files-Kategorien, ist aber eine nette, wenn auch sehr oberflächliche Ergänzung.

Erscheinungsbild Für diesen Ersteindruck lag nur die PDF vor, sodass zu Papier- und Druckqualität keine Aussagen gemacht werden können. Das Schriftbild ist in der digitalen Form klar und deutlich zu lesen und frei von optischen Störungen. Allerdings muss man sagen, dass die Illustrationen und der Stil des Bandes eine echte Katastrophe sind. Die Bilder wirken, als habe man lieblos Stock Art zusammengeklebt und einen Filter über das Ergebnis geschickt. Da hilft es dem Gesamteindruck auch nicht, dass nahezu jede Seite illustriert ist und man so nie vergessen kann, wie niedrig die Qualität der Artworks ist. Sicherlich kann man bei einem Indie-RPG nicht erwarten, dass eine Legion professioneller Künstler an dem Design arbeiten, aber Ice ist schon ein Fall besonderer Lieblosigkeit.   

Der Preis ist mit 9,99 USD für eine 32-Seiten-PDF auch eher hoch angesetzt.

Bonus/Downloadcontent Zum Zeitpunkt der Besprechung ist noch kein Bonusmaterial für Ice erschienen.

Fazit Ice hat eine interessante Grundidee, die ein unverbrauchtes Setting aufgreift. Leider ist es nicht viel mehr als eine Skizze. Das Setting selbst wird bestenfalls angerissen und hinterlässt den Leser mit vielen Fragen. Selbst für einen Fate-Settingband hält Ice sich mit konkreten Informationen enorm zurück. Am Ende werden zwei mögliche Abenteueraufhänger kurz angedacht, und dann ist man mit dem kurzen Band auch schon durch. Die Idee, Tiertotems zur Erlangung übernatürlicher Kräfte zu gewinnen, ist ein tatsächliches Alleinstellungsmerkmal, hilft aber leider nicht dabei, den eklatanten Mangel an Informationen oder die enorm lieblose Gestaltung wettzumachen. Insgesamt ist Ice leider eine Enttäuschung.

Der Ersteindruck basiert auf der Lektüre des Bandes.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ice (Fate)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mirror
by bri h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2018 17:57:57

I entered Mirror (as a playtester, I suppose I should say that) with trepidation. Much as I love tabletop RPGs, I am not a performative human. Much as I love my friends, I am not good at isolating and dissecting their very nature. Given the premise of Mirror, these personal hangups concerned me — ultimately my concerns were unfounded.

For the scope of a review, I would distill Mirror down to two facets: that of a one-page system ideal for one-off games, and that of a game built around the bonds of friendship. It succeeds on both fronts. The system itself is straight-forward, based on simple d6 pools which represent one's attributes and (essentially) one's health.

Character generation is also straightforward — you place yourself inside the friend physically sitting across from you, and pluck from them a pile of strengths and weaknesses. As mentioned, this was a concern of mine, but even playing as people I did not know extremely well, I was able to identify some driving characteristics and successfully build my version of them. Abstracting out personality traits and interplaying strengths with weaknesses (incredible creativity vs. head-in-the-clouds, say) calmed any worries I had of perfectly representing my trusted compatriots.

The friendship element also plays into the one-page/one-off element — these accelerated sorts of RPGs are oft recommended to beginners, yet character generation can still be oddly overwhelming. When you're building your character around someone you know, trust, love, whatever… that's a barrier to entry that has been taken away right off the bat. It also keeps you personally engaged and invested in your character — you want this abstraction of a person who, IRL, has been there for you to succeed.

And so these two core aspects of Mirror are, in my opinion, intimately entangled. And this entanglement makes for a game that is accessible, engrossing, endearing, and ultimately very, very fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mirror
by Gabriel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2018 22:50:45

"Impossible," you claim insolently, "Surely you jest, Professor, surely there's no such thing as a one-page, pick-up-and-play, multiple-hyphens-needed-to-describe-but-still-highly-alluring table-top-role-playing game!" I slap you across the face with a small duck. "You fool! You imbicile!" I screech like a powerful bird, "MIRROR is all of those things and so much more! It's not even just a game! It's a celabration of friendship! Old friends! New friends! Friends you want to catch up with! Friends you've played campaigns with as alter egos! You can be the good mirror like in that velvet underground song about combating self-deprecation through shared celebration of each other! It means a lot to me and made my playtest surprisingly emotional! Nothing let's you see yourself through your friends eyes like getting made into an amazing custom character class with a skillset tailored to what THEY think is exeptional about YOU! And Visa/Versa! It's the kind of thing I'd like to play even with my non rpg-playing friends! All you need are a bunch of six-sided dice you can steal from your childhood monopoly set! It's so elegant and perfect and just so darn kind! The kind of kind we don't often get to be to each other!" And that's my review I say removing him from the house posthaste. Take your interview to that rag in the comments section. you can't stop me. I'll be back to review the next one. Yes, sir. Buy it. Buy it now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror
by Kay R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2018 11:00:47

This is the most fun I have ever had playing an RPG. I especially liked having a mechanic built in that encourages you to get creative and use all of your skills, not just rely on "I hit a thing because I'm strong." And playing as your friend leads to a lot of laughter and joking in character gen, which sets an upbeat tone for the whole session. This system is small, but it's unique and amazing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Full disclosure, Kay is one of my playtesters who helped shape Mirror, thanks so much for your kind words!
The Soul Tamer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Liam D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2017 17:27:33

I very much enjoy the concept that the book is going for, but I feel like it has a few slight issues, particularly with the way that the process of capturing beasts and subsequently tagging them is elaborated upon. The first thing that stands out to me is that there's no specification as to what tags a player can or cannot give to his beasts within the Your Beasts move itself (although the Advanced Moves "Breeder" and "Deeper Training" seems to imply that they immediately apply, say, 1-armor or +n damage to a beast upon capture). Rather, a player (or better yet, a GM) examining the playbook only receives possible examples of tags in the description for the 6-10 move "Mutation", which implies even still that these abilities listed are for a "higher form" of the original beast. I feel that providing a list of example tags off to the side would be, at the very least, useful for sparking the creativity of the player.

The second issue I've encountered is the severity of a 7-9 on some of the moves in this playbook - most notably, "Capture a Beast". I feel like forcing the player to surrender one of their beasts immediately with no alternative is a bit restrictive, particularly with the fictional explanation. The effort drains them - perhaps either they loosen their control over one of their beasts, or they take a debility of their choice? If you still want to retain the singular option, I'd make the fictional effect of the 7-9 a tad more specific ("On a 7-9, you capture it, but you loosen your hold on another spirit to do so ...").

Lastly, examining the Gear section, I'd like to ask a few questions regarding the options provided. Firstly, is something one of the options listed below? And, if so, could you please elaborate on the usage and purpose of taming gear? Moving on, the weapons options for the class seem rather focused towards ranged combat - was this a purposeful choice, and if so, why are there so many ranged offensive options for beasts under "Mutation"? The armors you provide don't make sense either - why does a "buff coat" weigh one point less than a simple long leather coat (ignoring that both outweigh basic leather armor from the DW book for the same level of protection)? If this is all RAW, then this makes the obvious option for any sensible amount of armor the buff coat. And, finally, the miscellaneous gear: why include trap-making gear to start when the move that validates its use is only immediately accessible at 2nd level? What is the fictional function of the map (is it a map to a location where beasts are known to dwell, of the region overall, ...)?

I apologize if this sounds like excessive nitpicking - I truly enjoy the concept the playbook is trying to evoke, but in its current state I feel there are issues with how the content is being explained and integrated into the fiction of the class.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Soul Tamer - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write up your thoughts - not excessive nitpicking at all, I deeply appreciate it. Allow me to address some of my thoughts when making the sheet! The lack of tags is very much a personal thing - when running games myself my players and myself tend very much to prefer a blank slate when designing monsters and the like, and so the lack of explicit tags stems from that - I agree though, that really isn't the way most people play, and I suspect you're correct that a list of tags would greatly help people when designing beasts. Partially this is page space, finding an area to include this is difficult but, I expect, not an unsolvable problem. This second point comes from how I expected the character to be played, with a great deal more Monster turn over. That said, again, you're correct in that the language doesn't properly express what I intended, that one would choose between this monster and the one you would lose. I'll certainly be changing that up for an updated version of this sheet. Lastly, gear. "Something" is just somewhat of a linguistic flare, as in the stuff below is the Something you carry. Its something I've stopped doing for exactly your confusion but its intended to convey that these first three things, you just start off with without choice. The ranged equipment is very much intended, though I have no real justification for the fact that the Mutation also affords ranged options beyond that I envisioned this as a semi-ranged class itself, and the beasts aren't necessarily supposed to supplant that. For the armors I'm afraid that's entirely an oversight - you're correct that it makes little sense and I will fix that asap. Finally, the misc gear - I'd argue the move for trapping merely enables better options, and the trap kit is there for players that wish to start trapping stuff early on, before they get a specialized move for it - a clunky option maybe but one I think I'm happy with. The map is intentionally vague - I've a habit of including one or two 'flavor' items in the gear that's usage and relevancy is down to the player, the map could be a map to anywhere, or of anything, its kind of a meta joke on the "Make maps, leave blanks" phrase too, if you'll allow the artistic flourish. Again I want to thank you for the feedback, I'll take all of this and produce a V2 of this sheet when time permits and set it out to all purchasers. Its genuinely really great to have a chance to revise one of my characters and I, again, really appreciate you taking the time to talk about this stuff. Thank you!
The First 100 Days - A Presidential Fiasco Playset
by Stirling J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2017 14:54:41

A hilarious political cartoon in the form of a Fiasco playset. Even just as a read it's worth $3 easily. I will definitely be playing this soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The First 100 Days - A Presidential Fiasco Playset
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks! Hope it goes over well at your table!
The Dragonspawn - Dungeon World Companion Class
by KR K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2017 00:00:16

FINE TWENTY FOR AN O wait sorry, wrong chat window. this is pretty awesome, the creator put a ton of time into the art and balancing of the advanced moves, having to choose between the inner form unleashed and the flesh of quicksilver was an immediate and definite decision point.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dragonspawn - Dungeon World Companion Class
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ice (Fate)
by Kieran W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2017 15:07:01

Really neat setting, I've never seen a caveman rpg before, and the animalism mechanic is cool without being too complicated



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ice (Fate)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Soul Tamer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Kieran W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2017 14:35:44

Neat book, kinda reminds me of Shin Megami tensei with the summoning and everything. I love customizing stuff so being able to breed new monsters and stuff is cool. Love the art on the book too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Soul Tamer - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hexer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Kay R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2017 15:38:11

I was really excited to find this, the "oil" mechanic is a really creative way to play as a Witcher-inspired character. 10/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hexer - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Video Game Class Pack - A set of three Dungeon World Playbooks
by Kay R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2017 15:34:12

This is a really good deal, I've recommended it to my friends



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Video Game Class Pack - A set of three Dungeon World Playbooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates