DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Home of Lost Hope
by Alfredo S. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2020 10:37:14

A high-quality horror adventure written for Forthright Open Roleplay with a very interesting setup which leaves a good amount of leeway about how to finish the story and allows for a fun evening of surprises and shocks. (It could be considered a kind of mini-sandbox of sorts). It also features a few sample NPCs and monsters with their Forthright stats, but these and the descriptions are easy enough to understand as to allow anyone who wish to do so to adapt this adventure to any other generic or horror game they enjoy. As indicated, some imagery my be shocking for younger or susceptible people, but softening or omitting the most graphic parts should be easy. The writing, layout and art are also excellent, and the money goes to a good cause. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Home of Lost Hope
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
by Megan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2019 11:58:22

I think FOR is a really great generic system. They put a lot of work into making sure that you can make it work in any setting you imagine. Character creation is really easy, with you assigning bonuses to Talk, Fight, and Skill, then deciding on your fighting stance (a great way to designate how your character interacts in combat), persona (how they interact with society, like are they a cop or a snobby rich person?), and boosts, which are their more unique skills. It's really quick, which is something I appreciate when making a character, but really allows you to make your PC unique. Every session I've played has been great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the kind review! We're happy you're enjoying the game :-) :-)
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2019 02:42:38

I purchased this on Deal of the Day. for USD $2.00 as an economic decision. I feel as though I made a mistake. So please allow me to relate my concerns. Regarding your advertising, part of what you said is highly inaccuarate and inflamatory. I think it detracts from other people purchasing what may otherwise have been a whimsical game purchase. Should you ever make it to the Poland I encourage you to visit the Memorial and Museum Auschwitz-Birkenau for you to better understand why your advertising is innacurate.

I feel that minimizes the potential damage my purchase has made. If not, I will find another way to make ammends.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Because I can foresee a day when we take our notification down, Michael G is referring to this notification at the top of every Room 209 Gaming product page: --Until the concentration camps in the United States close, all proceeds Room 209 Gaming earns from sales will be donated to the ACLU and RAICES as they work to close the camps.-- This notification was added to our products in July 2019 and will remain - on all our old products and any new ones we publish - until such time as the "migrant detention centers" in the United States are closed or until the immigrants incarcerated within are granted due process, habeas corpus, and a clear legal path to ending their imprisonment. At Room 209 Gaming, we side with the historians who believe it is appropriate to call them concentration camps (where people are imprisoned without legal recourse), distinct from extermination camps (concentration camps where people are deliberately or systematically killed, such as Auschwitz). We believe these camps are unnecessarily cruel. We do not believe standing against cruelty is a political issue, but a moral one. As proud and patriotic Americans, with family who have fought and died for the ideals of this country, we stand by our decision to donate our proceeds - not just profits, but ALL the money we earn from our products from July 2019 forward - to stand against the cruel incarceration of immigrants. We can do better, we should do better, and at Room 209 Gaming, we are putting our money where our morals are. As you might imagine, the developers of a game called FORTHRIGHT are quite big on transparency :-). We chose to announce where our share of all sales are going - our "advertising" - because we believe consumers have the right to know where their money will ultimately wind up. We made sure it was right at the top of the page so that anyone who finds this cause egregious need look no further at any of our products; we do not want anyone to feel like we tricked them into even indirectly donating to a cause they do not believe in.
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2019 10:39:01

Since I already owned this, when the author put that political, and objectively false, crap about concentration camps at the beginning of the description, I decided to donate to Build The Wall.

Feels good.

Keep politics out of gaming.

Get woke, go broke.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Because I can foresee a day when we take our notification down, Daniel E is referring to this notification at the top of every Room 209 Gaming product page: --Until the concentration camps in the United States close, all proceeds Room 209 Gaming earns from sales will be donated to the ACLU and RAICES as they work to close the camps.-- This notification was added to our products in July 2019 and will remain - on all our old products and any new ones we publish - until such time as the "migrant detention centers" in the United States are closed or until the immigrants incarcerated within are granted due process, habeas corpus, and a clear legal path to ending their imprisonment. At Room 209 Gaming, we side with the historians who believe it is appropriate to call them concentration camps (where people are imprisoned without legal recourse), distinct from extermination camps (concentration camps where people are deliberately or systematically killed). We believe these camps are unnecessarily cruel. We do not believe standing against cruelty is a political issue, but a moral one. As proud and patriotic Americans, with family who have fought and died for the ideals of this country, we stand by our decision to donate our proceeds - not just profits, but ALL the money we earn from our products from July 2019 forward - to stand against the cruel incarceration of immigrants. We can do better, we should do better, and at Room 209 Gaming, we are putting our money where our morals are. As you might imagine, the developers of a game called FORTHRIGHT are quite big on transparency :-). We chose to announce where our share of all sales are going because we believe consumers have the right to know where their money will ultimately wind up. We made sure it was right at the top of the page so that anyone who finds this cause egregious need look no further at any of our products; we do not want anyone to feel like we tricked them into even indirectly donating to a cause they do not believe in.
Forthright Open Roleplay Creative Commons Edition
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2018 04:01:51

Very nice work, well done!

I found the writing to be precise and it brings across the abstract (not genre-specific) mechanics and ideas well. Took me about 10 minutes to read through the character creation and set up my first character.

The only thing I have missed at some points were some more genre-specific boost examples, as in: How to incorporate this boost in various settings. But that's a very minor point, really. Thinking this through with a group of players will certainly yield more than enough creative ideas to do this.

That said, thank you very much for the free CC version! I can't wait to put this to the test - and maybe grab the full version afterwards ;)

Recommended if:

  • you like a generic, abstract rules system with little crunch.
  • you like the Apocalypse World/PbtA games (Forthright uses a similar system)
  • you think Index Card RPG is too item-based


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forthright Open Roleplay Creative Commons Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the kind review! We'll look to have some more genre-specific examples in future products :-)
Forthright Open Roleplay Creative Commons Edition
by Joe G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2018 10:18:23

I'm a huge fan of universal rulesets and after reading Forthright, it may be my new favorite over FATE, Cypher, and even Savage Worlds. Lots of interesting and elegant mechanics. Huge kudos to these guys for releasing a free version; that takes class! Looking forward to the future of this system. Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the wonderful review! Just as a reminder, if you look over the Creative Commons edition and really love it, it's a huge help to Room 209 Gaming if pick up a copy of the full-art game system here: http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/222089/Forthright-Open-Roleplay-Core-Rulebook That helps make sure we can afford to continue making great content like this :-)
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2017 09:15:23

Formatting seems to be an issue, an easier to read review here: http://gamingwhiledriving.blogspot.com/2017/11/review-forthright-open-roleplay.html?m=1

Forthright Open Roleplay is a true evolution of role playing games. It is, both, universal and guided. Forthright has blended resolution mechanics into something graceful and intuitive. And, most important to me, it has defied my attempts at tinkering with the core system.

Forthright Open Roleplay is interesting in that it is an open role playing system. It is universal (I wouldn’t call it generic), and has enough constraint to build a framework on. In a matter of minutes, a player can generate a character for any conceivable genre, and a GM can stat opposition in seconds. Adding a Wealth tier related to the experience system makes measuring two sides in conflict easy to measure. Is the character less experienced but loaded with gear? The players can measure how that compares to some other character. That’s what I mean by universal and guided: unlike some generic systems, there’s a value assigned to abilities and gear that makes comparison easy without having to tally points and advantages or merits. It’s fairly elegant.

Forthright Open Roleplay brings a resolution mechanic that I’ve been looking for: a d20 based roll with tiered levels of success. Anyone familiar with games Powered by the Apocalypse can see where the resolution table stems from. However, how it’s implemented in the system is what sets it apart. Sure, there’s what you would expect from a low roll in the form of the action fails and things might get worse. There’s what you would expect for a high roll and succeeding. The mid range rolls and criticals is where the game shines, bringing, as above, a guided method of using Boons (the result of critical rolls) and how, in some cases, Exchanges (the result of mid range rolls) work without resorting to Hold or, necessarily, soft moves.

This is where I came across my stumbling blocks. I tinker with systems and settings to make them better for my play style or have the setting flow more naturally. Forthright Open Roleplay has defied my tinkering. You see, my first impulse was to turn the three abilities scores into the familiar six. Then I recalled the Cosmetic Rule. Combat in Forthright, is an ability score. Did I really need Strength, Dexterity or Constitution? I considered using Intelligence or Wisdom or Charisma to elaborate on witty repartee versus force of personality. Cosmetic Rule stepped in again. Fine. I concede the Cosmetic Rule, how about an oracle for solo role playing? That’s actually already built into the mechanics with the four tiers of success. Ok, I need magic missiles and… Cosmetic Rule, file under Fighting Styles. A-ha! Fireball. Boosts. Next.

A previous review of Forthright referred to it as a haiku, and it is very true. As I explore its depths and come up with rules tweaks, the system itself says it’s already there, hidden beneath the three lines of poetry. I had thought Dungeon World would be my favorite RPG of all time, but I think Forthright is catching up. The more I try to tinker, the more the system pushes back, the closer I think it gets to winning.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the tremendously positive review!
Forthright Open Roleplay Creative Commons Edition
by Łukasz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2017 14:12:37

Merges the ideas from Fate and the usual number-dice mechanics, low crunch. However the writing is quite bland, reads more like a college thesis than a game book. On the other hand it has a lot of good advice on plot building, it could be a good resource for an advanced GM, I wouldn't give it to any beginners though.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Forthright Open Roleplay Creative Commons Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for reading! We're sorry you didn't enjoy the game, but we're glad you were able to review it at no cost thanks to the Creative Commons release :-)
Wear & Tear: Item Maintenance for any Roleplaying Game
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2016 10:43:58

I hate the way items never wear out or become damaged in most RPGs. It begets all sorts of unrealistic characters and situations, such as the tank-style figher-- those heavily armored warriors who need never bother to duck, parry or dodge because they can depend on their armor to always protect them, as it never gets damaged. I actually know something about actual combat, armor and weapons, so the unrealistically heavy and ever-durable armor and weapons in RPGs grates on my nerves.

Anyway, I was starting to work on rules for item durability when I ran across this title. Not only does this save me some work but Wear & Tear is much better than what I was coming up with. And it covers item flaws, so stuff doesn't just work fine until it breaks in this system. I play various systems-- d20, True20 (my fave), Storyteller, Fate, plus I've played Dungeon World, GURPS and Savage Worlds-- and though you'll need an assortment of dice for true randomness, Wear & Tear truly would work with any game system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wear & Tear: Item Maintenance for any Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forthright Open Roleplay - Early Access Rulebook
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2016 11:00:09

Sorry, but your book is just drowning in political correctness. Never stereotype, can't have any differences between male and female, must agree on everything and do everything togeather, talk evil brutes trying to kill you into submission, etc., etc. Really detracts from the rules when you preach political correctness on nearly every page.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Forthright Open Roleplay - Early Access Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind review! I\'m glad you noticed we\'ve baked the time-honored best practice of communicating with and respecting everyone in the gaming group right into the rules in the form of the Game Charter. This helps set everybody\'s expectations in the group, and is particularly helpful to new gaming groups just getting to know each other. We\'re very proud of this innovation, and strongly think that it will help set the tone for many great games of Forthright. And thank you also for bringing up what we feel is one of the strongest selling points of the ruleset: the ability to talk down violent opponents and potentially even befriend them. There are lots of great game systems out there which turn all a party\'s enemies into slavering monsters needing to be slain. We wanted to try a different approach with Forthright, in that we provide players the OPTION of talking down enemies IN ADDITION to the (more obvious) option of killing them. We were inspired to include this by several animes, tv shows, movies and traditional roleplayers telling us they wished for options to do exactly that.
Wear & Tear: Item Maintenance for any Roleplaying Game
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 16:58:04

An excellent resource. 'Wear & Tear' is well-written, direct, and clear. Most importantly, it is a set of clear, easy-to-use rules on the wear and tear of gear and buildings that makes sense and adds depth to a game. Easy to plug into any system, easily modified, and yet still usable as-is. I am adding these rules to my game right away and can't wait to look at more of their work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wear & Tear: Item Maintenance for any Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates