DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Overworld and Beyond (13th Age Compatible)
by Sarah W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2019 19:12:36

As a player: lots of fun to play through this adventure. Plenty of side adventures to pursue (if the GM doesn't rein the party in) and a complicated enough quest plot that I was kept guessing from session to session. Each of the locations created many opportunities to role-play while balancing it out with combat and dice-rolling. Something I really loved about this adventure was the wide variety of unique and intriguing locations to explore and play through. Each place we stopped at felt like somewhere I'd never seen before, or it had some new twist.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Overworld and Beyond (13th Age Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Overworld and Beyond (13th Age Compatible)
by Nicole B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2019 00:03:15

Wow! That new class Realm-Walker is an interesting one. Realm-Walkers can teleport, and they can use this ability to manipulate the battlefield quite effectively. The four Realm-Walker talents "Realms of..." all give you a quick at-will action and allow you to teleport as a move action. Beyond these talents one can go several directions during character creation: Would you like to play a stabbie murder loving assassin? Your Realm-Walker can give you the ability to attack someone through a portal and teleport away. Choose "Portal Punch" during character creation. Would you like to cast spells similar to a wizzard? Choose "Arcane Secrets" during character creation. Alternatively one can also choose to be a bardic wanderer or to cast cleric spells. I love the new Realm-Walker class! The rest of the material also gets five stars from me. Awesome book for players and DMs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Overworld and Beyond (13th Age Compatible)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2019 16:23:28

Everything I ask for in a gaming suppliment! Mulitple adventure lines with plenty of opportunity for real roleplaying not just hack and slash. There's puzzle solving and mysteries to solve. If you like new classes, O&B has you covered too. The Voidcaller is just a plain fun idea. I will definitely use it on my next character. There is plenty of art, much of which is directly useful for the game such as maps. Full-color, it just looks gorgeous. It is well organized with clear headings and many useful tips for running a campaign. The presentation even has some humor in it to keep it from being just a dry series of scene set ups and tips. It's obvious a lot of care went into the development and final presentation. Overall, I think O&B has plenty of items for both the player and the GM to keep them busy for quite some time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Overworld and Beyond (13th Age Compatible)
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2019 22:04:37

LOADED!!!

This book is loaded with fun plot hooks, interesting locations, engaging NPC's, powerful new classes, useful creatures, and tables to keep it all moving forward.

There is plenty for players and DM's to get excited about.

I'm personally excited to play a Void Caller with a shapeshifting acid spitting Ooze as my beast in our next 13th Age campaign.

I'll see you at the city at the edge of dawn, if I'm not swimming in the psychedelic ocean with my Ooze.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Overworld and Beyond (13th Age Compatible)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2019 09:10:31

This book isn’t up to the (extremely high) standards set by the official material for 13th Age, but there’s enough good stuff to make it worthwhile. Four stars would be a shade too generous.

For players, the book offers two full character classes, two races, three pages of magic items and a dozen feats, plus four clerical domains hidden away in the bestiary. The clear standout is the realm-walker, a five-star jewel of a new class: high magic without spells, and a nicely-gauged balance of direct combat and support options. It won’t fit into all games, but if you’re interested in including the planes as a campaign element, it should fit into yours.

All the rest of the book – 80% or more – is for GMs. Perhaps the biggest disappointment is how very little it contains about the overworld: literally no more than a page or so detailing one single location, plus one PC feat and a few NPCs. I’d expected suggestions about different ways to present the overworld, and probably planar structure as well, pointing in incompatible directions along the usual 13A pattern. Nothing of the sort.

On the one hand, it’s a reviewing sin to complain that the author didn’t write what you think they should have. On the other hand, “overworld” is right there in the title.

Similarly, there aren’t general guidelines on adventuring in other planes. What it does have is worked examples – pretty good ones – integrated into the adventures. These are about 30% of the book: one has little planar material, the other two cross multiple planes and are surprisingly dependent on random incident. This is also where the other planes strut their stuff, so maybe the touristy elements aren’t so surprising.

Another 30% is two sandbox settings. The Carrow Hills is adventurer-tier, and relatively scanty in otherplanar suggestions. The City at the Edge of Dawn is a pocket-dimensional answer to Sigil, champion-tier on average although you could push it up or down. Both are described in enough detail to get the GM started, with a nice selection of NPC ideas, and a considerable array of different adventure seeds

The rest of the GM material is a substantial bestiary, written as shorter core rules entries rather than the more developed format of the Bestiaries. Finally, there’s miscellaneous grab-bag similar to the random stuff at the end of 13 True Ways. Some of the bits, here and elsewhere, are in the gonzo F20 tradition going back to the early days of the hobby, but if you don’t care for that material it’s easy to excise.

Of the official 13A books, this one is most closely comparable to The Book of Demons, even to a roughly comparable player/GM balance. The planes are, to my taste, a more interesting subject for a book, but the narrower focus is handled better there than the potentially much broader canvas here. The adventures are OK but don’t really measure up to the same standard. The bestiary is larger, but probably less well designed and certainly less evocative. The sandbox material in The Overworld and Beyond does beat out the Floating Market and the citadels: it’s more broadly useful and ends up with more plot hooks and inspirational elements.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Gray World (5E)
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2018 12:18:53

The gray world is a great 1-off adventure for level 3-4 characters. It offers lots of fun role play opportunities and some very challenging encounters at the end, which just might TPK in the most delightful way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Gray World (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gods and Icons (13th Age Compatible)
by heechan k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2017 12:26:19

나쁘지않다. 표상관계굴림이 정확히 어떤식으로 적용되는지 궁금한 마스터는 사서봐도 후회하진 않음. 던전,야외,도시에서 등등 상황에따른 목록으로 쭉 적어놔서 보기편함 마법아이템도 몇가지 추가되어 있고 즉석엔피씨만들기 같은거도 재미로볼만함.

그외 만신전이나 새로운표상, 새종족 같은건 그닥 무쓸모인듯..그냥저냥 볼만함



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gods and Icons (13th Age Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gods and Icons [BUNDLE]
by heechan k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2017 10:14:32

음..표상관계굴림결과 6.5가 나왔을때 뭘제시해야할지 모르겠다싶은 마스터라면 꼭사라. 경우별로 표까지만들어서 볼수있게 목록화해뒀다. 거기다가 새로운 마법아이템유형 몇가지정도 추가된게 쓸만함. 그외에 만신전이나 새로운 표상따위의 내용은 그닥 별로..무쓸모인듯



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gods and Icons [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Tower in the Mist (13th Age Compatible)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2016 15:50:40

I received a review copy of this book, and reviewed it here.

Tower in the Mist is a great adventure for first time GMs to this system. There are a bunch of pregen characters, and a lot of help for the GM on how to alter the adventure depending on the number of players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Tower in the Mist (13th Age Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gods and Icons Player's Companion (13th Age Compatible)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2016 15:49:34

I received a review copy of this book, and reviewed it here.

Gods and Icons does a great job of expanding the world of 13th Age to help the GM with worldbuilding and the characters with options for the gods they follow. The additional tables to roll on for magic items seem like they could be a godsend. If you're looking to expand your game, this is a great place to start. The Player's Companion includes much of the same information as the main book, except for the magic items and some locations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gods and Icons Player's Companion (13th Age Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gods and Icons (13th Age Compatible)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2016 15:48:42

I received a review copy of this book, and reviewed it here.

Gods and Icons does a great job of expanding the world of 13th Age to help the GM with worldbuilding and the characters with options for the gods they follow. The additional tables to roll on for magic items seem like they could be a godsend. If you're looking to expand your game, this is a great place to start.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gods and Icons (13th Age Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gods and Icons (13th Age Compatible)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2016 16:17:43

This is an overall excellent title, and a “must-have” as far as third-party supplements go!

While it is primarily billed as a collection of deities to add to your game world, it is actually so much more. Perhaps the real meat of the book is the expanded system for Icon Relationship rolls. What is probably 13th Age’s defining—and lest understood—mechanic is thoroughly explored and explained within "Gods and Icons". It doesn’t change the core mechanic so much as quantify exactly what it is capable of. This is great for defining the level of rewards and setbacks that relationship rolls should entail, without players perceiving the system as vague or nebulous as it sometimes was before.

It also offers a nice balance of content for players and game masters alike, so no one is left out in the cold. There are three fully fleshed out pantheons at your disposal and an entirely new set of Icons. Each has enough fluff to be used exactly as presented, but there are more than enough individual ideas to inspire any GM should they wish to dig deeper. There are also a handful of fantastical locations, complete with story hooks. Players have access to several new (and super unique) races, additional feats for core classes, and a huge list of fun and funky magic items.

If you enjoy 13th Age, this title has more than enough content to satisfy. Even if you don’t use everything as presented, you’ll find something to inspire your own take on things. It isn’t strictly limited to 13th Age either, as the beginning of the book includes suggestions on how to utilize concepts and ideas in other systems.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gods and Icons (13th Age Compatible)
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2016 09:42:39

Great book. I've only had time to skim through but I've encountered several ideas tha i intend to use this week. I coundn't be happier with the quality of the content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sun Below [BUNDLE]
by Nicholas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2016 11:23:49

Each of these supplements stand on its own, but I would recommend getting them both and running them in order ("A City on the Edge" followed by "Sleeping Lady"). It's a bit like watching a movie with a friend where the movie is based on a book that you haven't read but your friend has. You'll both enjoy the movie, but your friend knows more backstory than you and may get more out of the scenes.

There is a lot of good content included in both supplements; enough that the price should probably be higher. The artwork is really nice and the layout of each shows an eye for design and detail.

A City on the Edge has a unique opening that starts of unusual and curious and becomes epic and unforgettable for your players in startling fashion. Check out the free PDF preview for it and read pages 5 and 6. Awesome.

Sleeping Lady has interesting player interactions that involve the players moreso than they might normally be. This can really help the players feel invested and we all know that makes for better roleplaying and gameplay.

Both supplements cover the setting of The Sun Below, a unique twist on an old idea that players will enjoy exploring.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sun Below [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sun Below: Sleeping Lady
by Nicholas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2016 11:12:10

While not required by any means, I would tentatively recommend using this supplement after using "The Sun Below: A City on the Edge." It's a bit like watching a movie with a friend where the movie is based on a book that you haven't read but your friend has. You'll both enjoy the movie, but your friend knows more backstory than you and may get more out of the scenes. Anyway, do what you will, but I'd recommend getting both A City on the Edge and Sleeping Lady and running them in order.

This supplement had some things in it I haven't seen before that look fun and strange all at the same time to me. For one, the whole thing starts with a big journey that gets your players in line with the idea of improvisation and feeling personally involved in the story from the beginning. There are not tables, dice, or passive "This happened to you because reasons." Each player comes up with a problem that they encounter on the journey and the next player comes up with the solution to that problem, with each interaction being retold by the GM as an official part of the storyline. Much later in the supplement, there is a point where an NPC asks a question out loud and the first PC to respond gets a mini reward of a small swarm of butterly-like creatures that follow them for a while and help improve their chances in a friendly interaction.

I'm very impressed with the ideas presented here. The storyline and interactions will keep your players interested and engaged.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sun Below: Sleeping Lady
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates