DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Be A Better Battle Master
by Xorn X. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2019 18:16:26

Well, it is quite difficult for me to write a review. Why? Because this booklet is very, very short. However, it has one brilliant idea on how to create interesting battles and/or points of decisions for adventures. If you give your players some options to decide for A or B or C and map out, how things will go forward at a latter stage of that battle, that really makes for interesting battles. Your players will not be able to do A and B and C. Therefore, whatever they do, will result in a different second stage of the battle. This makes for really interesting scenarios, as your players will be able to influence things, while you are still able to make at least some bad things happen and increase tension, regardless of what the players do (if players defend against A, meanwhile threat B will grow and create complications later on). It is like a decision tree, where every decisions the players make, will lead to different results later on.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Be A Better Battle Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Be A Better Campaign Master, Book One: Building the World
by Xorn X. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2019 18:09:03

Well, you can buy this book. But you should not.

Why? Because you will not find anything in it that you will not find in the Dungeon Masters Guide (Dungeon & Dragons) or any other book on DMing that you already have.

We all already know that you will have to decide on whether the gods of a fantasy world are real or not. And we all already know that there are worlds with lots of magic and other worlds with no magic at all.

Abstract texts on what one may or may not decide for a campaign world, will not help me that much. I am far more interested in things that are not that commonly discussed, like, for example, ideas on how ones decisions will affect the style of play. Are the gods fickle? Do they demand sacrifices or holy vows? If yes, how do I incorporate that into my game? What are the disadvantages of a game where everybody has 200 hitpoints and can kill half the city with one magic spell? Is there perma-death and no resurrection, cure disease or magical healing? How will that affect the mood of the game? How should poisons work? Should you have diseases, stress or madness, like in DarkestDungeons? Why would you want to do away with some spells (like travel-magic or create food and water or gamey spell like Ottilukes Grand Hotel)? Does it make sense to limit certain classes to certain races or cultures or can anybody, even someone from NewYork City, become a druid or a barbarian?

What is more: There are 20 pages of "fluff" that are simply there to increase the page count. I was quite disappointed.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Be A Better Campaign Master, Book One: Building the World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mecha Hack
by JP G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2019 12:17:44

Im a big fan of Dungeon world and 5e and any system that lets me get into the fun of things.

Mecha Hack does that and it does it well. It's not a perfect system but it's a good system and the bite size reading footprint makes it easy for me to handle with my ADHD.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mecha Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Oath of the Frozen King - Adventure Kit
by Ryan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2019 18:18:49

I use this adventure kit often to plan out dungeons or quests in different locals. i love the layout and the tables that make this kit wonderful to use. Dice rolling dungeon layouts is mind-blowing, I would have never thought of something like that before.

Thank you for putting together an awsome product for all to enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Oath of the Frozen King - Adventure Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mecha Hack
by 4640182113160802 M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2018 17:56:07

I found this while doing my once-a-year search for new mecha tabletop rpgs; I waffled a bit on whether or not to make the purchase, as I am not generally an OSR person, but I find myself extremely surprised by how much I like The Mecha Hack. If you're looking for a straightforward, streamlined, combat-focused mecha game that captures the spirit of the genre, you will find a lot to enjoy here. I took a quick look at a free version of the original Black Hack, and the rules presented here stick closely to the source, with just the right number of minor tweaks and additions to make it truly a mecha game and not just a quick re-skin. Part of me wants a bit more in the game for what to do with characters outside their robots, but an equal part of me thinks it's not really necessary. Given the popularity of The Black Hack, the simplicity of the system, and the number of spin-offs it has generated, I imagine that it would be extremely easy to expand on that part of the game if it became important.

Art and layout are good, flavorful, and functional.

5/5. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mecha Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mecha Hack
by Nick A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2018 18:36:54

TLDR AT THE END- I have just checked out the rules in the book and I am here to offer my thoughts. First of all, the character generation system enables for quick character/mech-stats generation and thats pretty cool (also expected by an OSR-based game). One thing key to this game, is the actual melding of the pilot stats and the mecha stats, so your character is the pilot AND the mech. That kinda goes against the spirit of most franchises the game is inspired by (such as Battletech and MS Gundam, where the pilots are somewhat often seen swapping mechs) but it is easily mod-able and does not limit the GM in making and presenting the players with their own unique mecha designs, just by tweaking some stats and upgrades here and there. The upgrades presented for the mechs are very nice, and a solid base to build upon. The weapons, combat and such are solidly represented, powered by the fluidity of the Black Hack's system and a series of very slick modular upgrades that offer many customization options, without making things too complicated. Another thing, the reactor dice is a neat-and-fast mechanic for tracking heat and exertion (Battletech could take a few notes here). The micro-setting presented within the book is a kinda basic sci-fi setting with aliens and various factions, and serves to fuel the reader with ideas and also introduce a person with limited knowledge on mecha to the skeleton of a story they can build upon, all and all, fairly cool stuff. The art and formatting within the book is very nice, with thematic pieces and nice, industrial, cyberpunk-y, black-and-white designs so that's a big plus for me. The extra tokens and paper minis are a nice addition and much appreciated.

TLDR- All and all this is a pretty nice toolkit that a mecha-nerd such as me will find very useful if they want to run a hard, sci-fi giant robot campaign. As a plus, it is quite compatible with other OSR products and adapting other Black Hack supplements will prove very easy. If a GM wants to present different mechs of their own design I would recommend splitting the pilot stats from the mech stats. I am probably going -for my own game- to let the players generate separate stats for their pilots and I am going to create standard arrays for the mechs. I skimmed the book and am already brimming with ideas!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Oath of the Frozen King - Adventure Kit
by Jose P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2018 12:42:20

This is a ground-breaking kit it comes with many great plot hooks to start the adventure to suit your groups individual needs. Plenty of building charts for encounters monsters treasure all the basics in one place to not only run a smooth adveture but customizable enough so you could run this adventure several times with the same group each one being different & probably better than the last! Oath of the Frozen King is definitely setting a new higher benchmark in Adventure creation for the RPG community. This adventure can be run in other biomes also ncluded with this kit. 5 STARS ☆☆☆☆☆



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Oath of the Frozen King - Adventure Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Absolute Adventures: Horror at Misty Meadows
by ES B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2016 15:12:04

I enjoyed this module-

  1. The effects of the crystals really helped to set the mood that something strange was happening.
  2. The artwork and descriptions also help to build a unique setting.
  3. Some of the encounters may not work for some players -- I think mine will roll their eyes at zombie dinos, but others may see it as a great change from the usual.
  4. The BBEG is OK - a bit of a moral conflict for characters as they realize that he might not be bad...plus some frustration with not being able to get at the monster pulling the strings - this isn't bad - it might be a hook to a longer quest that is driven by player interest.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Absolute Adventures: Horror at Misty Meadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2016 08:43:40

I just ran this last night and this is my first review. Overall, I loved the quality of this adventure and the story was excellent. I will definitely be looking at others created by this publisher.

Pros: * Excellent artwork and organization: The maps and monster information were professionally done. The whole thing was laid out great and I never had a problem finding anything.

  • Plot (No Spoilers): The story was tight and easy to understand. There was a chart at the end to give you multiple options for the cause of the issues. Instead of just one villain/ally, there are multiple choices that can go either way.
  • Variety:There was a good selection of puzzles, traps, environmental effects that could be inserted wherever you choose. A combination of village/NPC interaction and dungeon crawling. The monsters were unique twists on basic creatures that really added to the flavor.

Cons:

  • Level requirements: I had a party of five level 7 players and they completely decimated many of the fights. I even scaled up one fight from two of each creature type to TWENTY of each and that didn't help. I would definitely advise sitting down ahead of time and running through combat with your player's characters to get an idea of how the fights will go.
  • Length:This adventure was 60+ pages but my group went through it in one session of about 3-4 hours. If you wish to make it a longer campaign or multiple sessions, I highly advise using the dungeon generator to extend it. Or possibly add sidequests to the village so that the players don't get all the information they need right away.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
by D. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2016 10:16:56

Disclaimer: I have read the adventure in detail, but have not gotten to run it yet.

All in all, a fun adventure with some neat stuff that could easily be moved into your other games. The production value is quite good, with nice art and maps. It's well laid out and easy to follow and reference.

I have a couple of minor quibbles with a couple of aspects, namely how the "disease" that is plaguing the town is described and its cure, which I'll avoid here for spoiler prevention, but those things are easy enough to alter as you see fit. I also agree, at least at first blush, with the other reviewer that the suggested level seems a tad high for what your adventurer's will actually be up against, but you can adjust that easily as well.

Well worth the purchase price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2016 19:34:00

Solid adventure that is definitely worth a couple bucks. I think the location and plot work a lot better as a lower tier quest or intro dungeon crawl. The suggested level of 5-8 seems high-not necessarily for the combat challenges but the scale seems more "local hero" then "hero of the realm". I would have liked to see a full labelled map and even if the encounters were random the work of creating the map would be done-though I understand where the designer was coming from with variability and replayability. I would play up the weirdness level for the right group and this adventure could be a lot of fun and a great home base and starting off point for a new group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Be A Better Battle Master
by Radosław G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2016 08:18:40

As Danilo K. wrote there is very little content in this "book" for its price. 17 Pages - 1 (Cover) - 1 (Backpage) - 1 (Credits) - 2 (Thanks and foreword) - 1 (advertisement for maps) leaves with 11 pages of usable content of which 2 pages are graph for print out seen in video (in color and b&w), another page with example of filled graph and 4 pages of examples. In fact, whole advice (and I mean it - it's just one advice) is contained on 3 pages which you could figure out from video. The rest are examples and single table. I'm not saying the advice is bad - it's good actually but it is not worth $5 (not to mention $7 full price).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Be A Better Battle Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the feedback, Danilo! Because of this review, as well as our beginning to release larger supplements (Be a Better Battle Master was our absolute first release), we have just lowered the price to $2.95. Thanks again. We want to respond to the concerns of our customers, and give them good reason to return to our little shop. :-) - Barker
I apologize for the mistake I made on your name, Radosław. I misread your post. Thanks again! - Barker
Be A Better Battle Master
by Danilo K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 06:50:11

As with all Be A Better Game Master from Absolute Tabletop currently available on DriveThru RPG, there are good things here, but perhaps too few of them for the current price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Be A Better Faction Master
by Danilo K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 06:48:22

As for Be a better Weapon Master, what is in this supplement is great, but it is somewhat lacking in content for it's price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Be A Better Faction Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Be A Better Weapon Master
by Danilo K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2016 14:58:21

This is a good product, but it is somewhat light on content for it's price. What is there is great, however. It has two lists for each major fantasy weapon category, one of 10 magical properties it may have, and one of 20 mundane or magical aesthetics. Also it has small bits of other useful advice, and is very visually pleasing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Be A Better Weapon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates