DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
CASTLE OLDSKULL - The Classic Dungeon Design Guide
by Alexander [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2024 04:52:29

There is a lot of art in this book but there are no artist credits. That's because all of the art is AI slop. Not only is the art obviously machine generated with all the weirdly flawed soullessness that is typical of such, but it feels selected at random. None of the art is evocative of the mood or themes of the book or connects to any of the content either. It's really quite tragic. Castle Oldskull was once one of my favorite OSR publishers and I used to purchase every release, but since he's gone all in on the AI stuff I can no longer support him.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
CASTLE OLDSKULL - The Classic Dungeon Design Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
CASTLE OLDSKULL - Combat Tables
by KEVIN [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2024 14:36:23

Very nice layout of the required tables Mr. Kelly, using the 5% across the board. I agree with you that the preface Gygax had with the Fighter progression option is a nice idea to expand upon.

I especially like the copious 'yea, but' footnotes pertaining to the crucial exceptions and little rules hidden in the PHB and DMG laid out clearly so one does not have to go hunting for them. There are quite a few once collected together.

The expansion of the Cleric Turning Undead tables and the conversion table at the end were a nice addition. The Turning table expands greatly upon the concept for other denizens and one can figure out the certain notable figures alluded to in the writing clearly enough.

A couple small caveats:

I think there is a repeated, small typo on the 'To Hit' weapon tables, where the 'Armor Tier XI'; (3rd last column header) should be 'Armor Tier IX'? Pax Romana indeed. heh

The other query I would have is the conversions to %. While a nice way to have a more immediate judgement for the DM on odds, would the repeated '20+' not be 5% as rolling 20 is a valid outcome? Maybe I'm reading it wrong.

Overall, a nice addition to print out for one's DM screen tables, to have all the both obscure and heavily used requirements at hand. Great work as always on aids for the 1e and other older D&D systems.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CASTLE OLDSKULL - Combat Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
CASTLE OLDSKULL - Labyrinthine Bestiary
by Sarah [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2024 11:22:41

The reason for me to Love this title is pages 6-16. Here lay the conversions: ascending/descending AC, HD/THAC0/ACC5, saves, ect. While I'm not sure I'll use the monsters in my SciFi gaming, the conversions alone makes this worth my money!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CASTLE OLDSKULL - Labyrinthine Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
OLDSKULL UNDERWORLD GENERATOR 1: Rats in the Walls
by Stuart [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2024 12:57:23

Love this old-school mega-dungeon generator (level 1 only) as it's chock full of great ideas, huge variety, Lovecraftian overtones, and intriguing lore. I'm looking forward to creating the level for myself. I hope the series continues to cover all 15 levels in time. I would also very much like to know a lot more about the setting of Brittania.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OLDSKULL UNDERWORLD GENERATOR 1: Rats in the Walls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Stealing the Soul: A Game of Wonder
by Nick [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2024 20:25:59

This is a beautiful game, the art, the writing, and the adventure. I thoroughly enjoyed it. You can find a deeper review on my blog: https://penanddie.com/2024/04/11/stealing-the-soul-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stealing the Soul: A Game of Wonder
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
OLDSKULL SWORDS & SORCERY - Book One: Adventurers - Human Artistry Special Edition
by Ven [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2023 15:12:50

As someone who has deep ethical issues with the way neural net organizations, nonprofit and for profit corporations, have without any model for consent or remuneration scraped at this point likely hundreds of thousands of living artists (and many more of dead artists whose estates are still in effect) portfolios to create the datasets that form the bedrock of their neural net algorithms, I am extremely pleased to see you support human artistry in this way even as I still abstain from purchasing any of the products you've made since getting on this neural net illustration kick. I want to put my money where my big mouth is on this issue and ENTHUSIASTICALLY support one of my favourite creators in the OSR space when I get a chance to do so in a way I feel is ethical, especially when it's a product of as high a level of quality as this one (and I eagerly await book 2 and beyond based on the quality herein)! I appreciate that you at least give the option to support human artists and I, for one, don't mind paying a higher price point for works of yours with commissioned art compared to the lower effort and lower cost (and frankly aesthetically unappealing to me, though that's separate from the ethical concern entirely) neural net illustration. So many creators who have switched to neural net prompt engineering do so entirely, which always saddens me as I don't feel I can support them any longer even when the quality is otherwise good. Your quality is very often quite excellent, so I was beyond thrilled to see this option. Please do more like it! And again, on the quality of the text, just amazing. This is exactly the level of quality I have come to expect from you, really can't emphasize enough how much I look forward to further entries in this series!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OLDSKULL SWORDS & SORCERY - Book One: Adventurers - Human Artistry Special Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
THE BOOK OF DUNGEON TRAPS - Unillustrated Edition
by Rob [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2023 19:55:24

This book will help you develop a great understanding of trap usage . Very much deserving of a physical release.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THE BOOK OF DUNGEON TRAPS - Unillustrated Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
GAME WORLD GENERATOR - DELUXE EDITION - Unillustrated Edition
by Rob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2023 22:09:06

Greatly streamlines a potentially daunting task…. Made entertaining by Kent’s writing style and thorough by his gaming experience, this book is a must have .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAME WORLD GENERATOR - DELUXE EDITION - Unillustrated Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
OLDSKULL ADVENTURE GENERATOR - Unillustrated Edition
by Rob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2023 22:07:26

Greatly streamlines a potentially daunting task…. Made entertaining by Kent’s writing style and thorough by his gaming experience, this book is a must have



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OLDSKULL ADVENTURE GENERATOR - Unillustrated Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Oldskull Game Expansions Book II - 1977 Bestiary
by Aaron S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2023 15:50:49

If you're like me and looking for a Monster Manual style standalone book for your BX game with all the classic monsters THIS IS NOT IT. Nearly none of the classics are in here. The number of Monsters claimed in the description includes 3 or more versions of each listed (such as adult, larval, and queen Yada Yada) there are very few actual things you want. You're still better off just using the stuff included with your game rules.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Oldskull Game Expansions Book II - 1977 Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
CASTLE OLDSKULL - Game World Generator - Deluxe Edition
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2023 16:00:47

Verbose, padded, should be edited down to a third the length or less; a good editor might clean up some of the seeming self-contradiction & bits of dubiosu accuracy. This does have the longest lists of ideas that I've seen in a product like this, but with rather mixed quality & sometimes surprisingly narrow focus. The author assumes very strongly a AD&D 1E/Unearthed Arcana world mode. The thread of the writing gets even harder to follow in the City State extension, and the assumptions a lot stronger, although there are also more novel ideas there.

There are modern game systems or supplements with better hexcrawl/campaign-building advice, and several series of completely free blogposts do a better job of the core procedure.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
CASTLE OLDSKULL - Game World Generator - Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
CASTLE OLDSKULL - Oldskull Brockfolk
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2023 22:36:41

I enjoyed the nuanices in the character and the story. You made look easy enough to slap my head well of that works. I cannot wait for the next in this series. I will using them as hengeyokai in my world. Thank yoiu for doing these.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CASTLE OLDSKULL - Oldskull Brockfolk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
CASTLE OLDSKULL - The Classic Dungeon Design Guide
by Rob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2022 14:26:08

update... I now have the hardback versions.... ABSOLUETLY AWSOME !!!! The books turned out to be extremely nice and i highly recomend !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CASTLE OLDSKULL - The Classic Dungeon Design Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
CASTLE OLDSKULL - The Classic Dungeon Design Guide III
by Rob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2022 23:56:56

A DEFINITE MUST HAVE… this book is an amazing follow up to the Classic Dungeon Design Guides 1 and 2, and is an absolutely entertaining read. As you go through the steps you will constantly come up with your own ideas just from the inspiration this book delivers. Should be a core rule book of any and all frpgs. The new layouts and formatting are very nice and the new art make the book quite attractive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CASTLE OLDSKULL - The Classic Dungeon Design Guide III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
CASTLE OLDSKULL - The Classic Dungeon Design Guide II
by Rob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2022 23:53:37

A DEFINITE MUST HAVE… this book is a great follow up to the Classic Dungeon Design Guide 1 , and is an absolutely entertaining read. As you go through the steps you will constantly come up with your own ideas just from the inspiration this book delivers. Should be a core rule book of any and all frpgs. The new layouts and formatting are very nice and the new art make the book quite attractive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CASTLE OLDSKULL - The Classic Dungeon Design Guide II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates