DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender
by Rashid P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2023 04:08:26

Great module with very atmospheric setting and a lot of good OSR-style leasons. I ran it with Adventurous, which only required minimal conversion work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Prison of the Hated Pretender
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Completely Unfathomable (DCC)
by Shane M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2023 21:57:20

Full disclosure here, I have picked up the download on the PDP sites. Originally looking at the labyrinth, Lord addition, and eventually being able to get the DCC conversion. That's typical with such things, are you to keep download or delete it. If it's a keeper, I also end up buying a physical property. This is an amazing book. There is so much awesome freshness in Jason Sholtis' side of Jason of the Under dark. The uniclops is one of my new favourite creatures. The idea that the PCs enter the ender dark route around for a while and then end up coming out in the land of 10,000 years ago… What an amazing twist that's going to be for the players when they reach the surface again. Definitely two minor quibbles… The promise of alternate covers, of which I've seen glimpses of online… We're not available, and I just couldn't wait, so I ordered the book already. (a nice idea would be to offer PDF so we can print out our own dust jackets when these covers become available, for those who ordered ahead of time and supported you from the beginning) And that the free add-ons, meaning, the character sheets, and such, have not been converted to DCC stats yet. But hey, those are freebies… This is an amazing book, you really wouldn't go wrong, picking it up



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Completely Unfathomable (DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Dungeon Dozen
by Harper [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2023 13:19:22

This book works just as well as bedside reading as it does as an RPG resource. So much goodness!

My only complaint is that it's often difficult to know where to look for a given situation since all the chapter headers are more clever than descriptive.

Great book to have at your table!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dungeon Dozen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Completely Unfathomable (DCC)
by Justin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2023 07:23:24

This is the extensive long campaign format adventure this Judge has been looking for! Suits the DCC game to a Tee. All converted to DCC, including patrons, spells unique monsters and magic items.

It has the crazed weirdness that we all crave, but also, suprisingly a lot of character pathos. The above world setting and below world dungeon is a fine place to cast your players to the inevitable unspeakable corruption.

10/10 spellburn. Would Invoke Patron again..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Completely Unfathomable (DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Weird Adventures
by Ricardo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2022 21:00:47

I got turned off of this book pretty early on. I realize that some portion of this might fall into "get over it" territory, but I couldn't help but feel that plenty of the problematic racism of the Weird Tales era was present in these books, given just a bit of a new coat of paint, but not in a way that tore it down or engaged with it seriously. For example, the slave trade in the New World was actually begun by (basically) now-vanished Atlanteans, not the European analogues. (The white folk still discriminate against "The Black Folk" as they're called, though. And they come from Ebon-Land.) The mystical Chinese stand-ins look like anybody else — but their dread rulers are in fact lemon or saffron skinned.

Lots of this text could probably be entirely replaced to get rid of the parallels with 1930s racism, and the setting would remain coherent. It wasn't, though.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Weird Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fever-Dreaming Marlinko
by Jeff D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2022 11:27:56

Very cool and imaginative RPG product right here but it's far from your typical bog standard, vanilla D&D type fare. That's the crux of why I bought it though. I was looking for something on the weirder side for a change. I don't mind vanilla. I don't mind standard but in this case I was looking for something different and it delivers. I'm not sure if I would ever use this as is. It might be a little too weird for my tastes but at the very least it's a fun read. It also plants many seeds in the brain as you go through it. That's a sign of a very good RPG adventure/supplement (well it is for me anyway)

I rated it at 4 stars. I would have gone 4.5 but drivethru doesn't allow you to do that. Oh well. I'll keep my eyes peeled for future products from this publisher.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fever-Dreaming Marlinko
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Witchburner
by Benjamin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2022 12:02:22

Overall I like the idea of this adventure and even like the potential endings but in preparing to run this as a one-shot I have found more than a few issues with the PDF.

  1. There is a list of all 30 calamities that will occur on a summary page, but the order of the list is not in the order they appear if you follow the daily summaries, making that page kind of useless.
  2. There is inconsistent language used, for example one of the characters is sometimes refered to as the "Town fool" but other times as the "Town Uncle"
  3. Each of the 30 key characters has a page or more describing them but instead of having bullet point style information, it's formatted into narrative stories that you will need to read and summarize to get anything useful out of
  4. Notice that it says each of the 30 key characters? That's important because each character actually has a bunch of related characters who aren't considered key so they don't have any info on them but also more importantly they don't appear on the player handout. This is actually kind of important because the players would then know it can't be the Mayor's husband since he is not on the handout etc. Since I can't predict who my players might suspect, it kind of makes that handout pointless.

So although I like the idea, and it has some nice attempts at summary pages to organize things, I think if you try to actually run this, you'll realize there is quite a bit of work you will need to do up front to untangle what is and isn't usable.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Witchburner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender
by Jordan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2022 17:10:53

I ran this as the first adventure site for a new 5e campaign I'm running. I'm trying to move a few steps from the current 5e zeitgeist to a more classical style of play with things like 1) resource tracking, and 2) no darkvision. Hated Pretender was the perfect scenario to introduce "old-school" concepts to my players.

It was 180 degrees from what they are used to. No Investigation or Perception rolls. No set-pieces or balanced encounters. They puzzled out the dungeon with experimentation and their wits. I nerfed the phantasms pretty significantly but they still ran away screaming and elected to try exploring again at night.

They managed to trigger both traps in the lower level, resulting in a PC going unconscious. I know in true classical play she would be dead but still, I think the party learned an important lesson.

Overall, hated Pretender has been one of my favorite scenarios I've run in my brief 3-year DM career. It threw the players for a loop but they adjusted quickly. It is also very evocative and can be used to drop hints about the wider world and really create a sense of mystery for the players. 5/5 would run again and again.

I also ran Winter's Daughter around the same time for another group and the effect was similar - they learned a few principles of classic-style play, adjusted quickly and had a blast. I know Winter's Daughter is highly praised for that aspect and I think Hated Pretender is its equal. I prefer the aesthetic of Hated Pretender.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prison of the Hated Pretender
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Ultraviolet Grasslands - Free Introduction
by John R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2021 11:38:00

Like Rush and Blue Oyster Cult and wish that someone made a prog-rock RPG? This is the game for you. It reminds me of Ralph Bakshi's Wizards run through a few rounds of Deadlands. Very rules lite, more just about being in the world than about solving any grand quests. A fun game with gorgeous illustrations (which aren't the point of games, but do make them more fun to play). I liked it so much that I picked up the full rule book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ultraviolet Grasslands - Free Introduction
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
What Ho, Frog Demons
by Joel M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2021 11:19:47

Love this book so much. Everything from the art to the writing is just so much fun to look over. Have run a few of the missions provided but was mostly used to tie my campaign together with the world map and used alongside the other Ursine Dunes books. Would reccomend to anyone interested in something off beat, gonzo and with a fantastic Eastern Eruopean flavour that really seperates this fantasy setting from anything generic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
What Ho, Frog Demons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Strange Stars
by James S. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2021 10:01:39

It is a a pretty good setting. Hard Transhumanist Space Opera with a Barbarella or Star Crash vibe. There is no FTL other than Hyperspace Gates (which I love). There are no gaming rules so you can adapt it to any setting. I own the OSR and Fate versions. I would love to see a version for D&D 5e. That would be awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strange Stars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender
by Kenneth C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2021 09:22:21

Love this module. One of the better "teaching module" for old style play - small, and has lessons for players & referees alike

https://wanderingwombat.home.blog/2021/07/21/prison-of-the-hated-pretender/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prison of the Hated Pretender
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2021 20:23:18

This is a great little adventure. In addition to this, it is a great introductory adventure both for new players and new GMs. I really wish there were more of this kind of thing with solid GM advice for running old school games. I have been running games in a variety of sytems for a year now, and the broad strokes of the guidance are things with which I'm already familiar. Even so, Gus L's advice improved my understanding of a few nuances. I would love to see similar adventures introducing important ideas behind other elements of play, such as hex crawls, developing a home base, or a setting. Presenting the guidance as sidebars to aid in running the specific adventure provides a more immediate feedback loop compared to reading a variety of essays published in blog posts and trying to apply that to unrelated adventures which may or may not be designed in a way to support the advice. I love this. Great job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fever-Dreaming Marlinko
by Rowan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2020 16:04:42

Best weird fantasy module I've seen. Not for kids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fever-Dreaming Marlinko
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Strange Stars
by Gus L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2020 11:26:40

Causey is one of the best stylists to come out of the mid-aughts blog scene, though he seems underappricated for his considerable contributions, and Strange Stars is full of style. Like most of Causey's works (Weird Adventures comes to mind) this is a setting, sadly systemless, that takes an underutilized fictional genre, here dayglo post-human pop space opera, and offers a unique appraoch to it. The art and layout are top notch and polished, while the content is wonderful background and inspiration for any space opera game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strange Stars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 83 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates