DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Arcanis 5E - Children of the Sky
by Douglas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2020 17:10:57

The book provided rich background and content to include in my games. On top of that, there were some jaw dropping secrets revealed - things you have to reread twice to make sure they say what you thought they said! Great product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcanis 5E - Children of the Sky
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arcanis 5E - The Ssethregoran Empire Codex Geographica vol. II
by Douglas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2020 17:09:06

Wow, simply wow. They did it again. The book is beautiful, provides an incredible richness of content/flavor, has tons of content that will enhance my game and makes your eyes pop wide open as you learn about some great secrets! Heck, even if I weren't addicted to Arcanis, I'd be using this book for my D&D 5E game.

I'd like to hear from the 3 star review why they provided that rating - I can't imagine that we read the same book!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcanis 5E - The Ssethregoran Empire Codex Geographica vol. II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Living Arcanis 5E Introductory Season Packet
by Douglas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2020 17:05:01

It's a crime that these scenarios are free! The only issue that I take with the adventures is that they need some additional editing in a few spots. That said, I've GMed countless hours of jaw dropping fun for players with these introductory adventures. They give a great flavor of the richness of Arcanis and give a lot of player ability to create their own stories. I've never run one of these adventures that went the same way - the players really have the ability to choose their own experience. Everyone leaves the table with stories about the game. Awesome, simply awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Living Arcanis 5E Introductory Season Packet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arcanis 5E Campaign Setting
by Douglas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2020 17:00:18

Three simple points: (1) best RPG setting I've ever read (for context, I've played rpgs for over 30 years). The world is rich and there are some real wows when you read through the world... (2) excellent adaption of 5E - actually outshining WotC big time (3) such a beautiful book that I own two copies - one that just sits on a shelf because I want it to remain unblemished because it's so beautiful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcanis 5E Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Codex Arcanis
by Anthony O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2020 13:44:35

Codex Arcanis makes the absolute maximum of Prestige Classes. It's full assault of regular classes was pretty damned good too...really the entire 3.5 line was destroying it's path across 3.5. It was a pleasure to pay for these and have them in my dirty little hands, I hope you enjoy the pdfs with equal vigor.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Codex Arcanis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arcanis 5E - The Ssethregoran Empire Codex Geographica vol. II
by William A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2019 15:04:29

I love the rich history included in this book, it gives me an insight on this unique civilization to run in the Arcanis setting or to drop into a campaign setting of my own. Monsters, as a GM I am always looking for new creatures to add to my campaign and this has a bunch with really good artwork that helps bring the creature to life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcanis 5E - The Ssethregoran Empire Codex Geographica vol. II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arcanis 5E - Forged in Magic: REFORGED
by William A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2019 14:59:40

Not only does this book have new magical items that I can use to add to my home campaign, but the added flavor text of the items history is a great option that I can use for potential side quests for my players. The rune system is an interesting option as well for low magic campaigns, or even allowing players to personalize their items themselves.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcanis 5E - Forged in Magic: REFORGED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Living Arcanis 5E SP3-01 Sweet Sorrow
by Lucas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2019 16:40:11

One of my favorite mods. A great ghost adventure with a hauntingly sad story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Living Arcanis 5E SP3-01 Sweet Sorrow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Living Arcanis 5E HP 2-8 The Invasion of Tultipet
by Lucas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2019 16:39:04

Beautifully done two round invasion/Battle Interactive. I really enjoy the story and it gets more disturbing the farther that the players go. The maps are also gorgeous!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Living Arcanis 5E HP 2-8 The Invasion of Tultipet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Living Arcanis 5E HP 2-4 Visions of Lives Past
by Lucas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2019 16:37:12

One of my favorite modules. There is a very fun mechanic where you get to play two different characters in two different time periods. Also the treasure is great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Living Arcanis 5E HP 2-4 Visions of Lives Past
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arcanis 5E - Forged in Magic: REFORGED
by Lucas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2019 16:34:33

Not only do you have tons of magic items, but you also have history behind each items. They also introduce new categories of items: fetishes, which provide a small bonus, and runes, which may be added to mundane items to provide them with powers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcanis 5E - Forged in Magic: REFORGED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arcanis 5E - Codex of Adventures, vol. I
by Lucas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2019 16:33:23

Have run all but one of the adventures. They worked really well with our game, and they really provide a look into how Arcanis feels.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcanis 5E - Codex of Adventures, vol. I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arcanis 5E Campaign Setting
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 11:28:07

Ring Side Report- RPG Review of Arcanis 5E Campaign Setting

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!

Product- Arcanis 5E Campaign Setting System- DnD 5e Producer-Paradigm Concepts, Inc. Price- $25.00 here https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/234910/Arcanis-5E-Campaign-Setting?affiliate_id=658618 TL; DR-Shades of grey are finally comprehensible! 95%

Basics-For the EMPIRE! FOR ILLIIR! Arcanis was a campaign setting for 3.5 DnD which grew to its own game when 4th edition happened, and finally is coming back into the DnD mechanics with a conversion of DND 5e. How does the world of the Shattered Empires stack up with a 5e rebuild? Let’s get into it!

Mechanics or Crunch-I usually start with theme, but let’s go mechanics first. If you like 5e DnD, then you will like this. This isn’t a scrap to the base boards rebuild of DnD 5e, it’s a new implementation using the same base mechanics of proficiency, hit dice, et al. you most likely love from DnD 5e. And honestly, that a good thing. I could give any person playing “Hoard of the Dragon Queen” an Arcanis character and they would be playing in seconds. So that begs the question, what's different? Well some things are just simple reskins. The Fury is the Barbarian. It’s got some different parts to it, but let’s be honest-it’s just a new name. Not bad, some theme for Arcanis added, but it is what it is. Some get a much more exhaustive change. Paladins are holy champions, and they might be a tad overpowered if you build them right, but that’s a criticism of DnD 5e itself. Holy Champions get god specific paths to take that really hit theme hard with powers appropriate to the gods of the setting. The same thing for clerics. There are new races with instructions on how to change DnD straight races toward Aracnis races like there are no Tieflings, but there are Dark kin. New feat trees are brought in so you can master a fighting style with both introduction and advanced versions of those feats. The book also introduces psionics in a heavy way, but honestly, it’s just the same mechanics you’ve seen time and time again in DnD 5e vanilla. You have powers, the DC of the power is 8 + ability mod + proficiency or you attack with a power and you use ability modifier + proficiency. DONE. Vanilla is my favorite base for ice cream, so this isn’t a bad. Rocky road starts Vanilla, and that's what this book did. It took the base stuff you know and like and made it something you will love. 4.8/5

Theme or Fluff-So what is Arcanis? Well, that's probably the best thing this book does. You get to feel the Shattered Empires honestly better than before. It’s a pretty weighty tome coming in over 400 pages, so you get a lot of backstory. And that’s really what this world needs. I came in when DnD 4e brought about a major change in the RPG world around it. The Aracnis alone system wasn’t bad, but it relied heavily on me having books that we not in print and knowledge for a world that I could not find. So, I was honestly in the dark for large portions of this world. Heck, there wasn’t even a great map available. I had fun with what I understood and playing in, so off I went playing and running Arcanis all over. But, I would always run in to diehards who knew stuff from the wayback. The 5e book fixes this smashingly. I get better breakdowns in things. It’s big, but doesn’t have to dedicate all the pages the base DnD system does to the base rules just saying “GO SEE THE OTHER BOOK YOU BOUGHT!” and can dedicate those words to how the world works. That’s amazing! The mechanics have been adapted and modified to meet the needs of the theme. Again, that's a phenomenal way to build your world. As a GM when I run games with this book, I’m not lost. I feel like I finally know as much or MORE than my players. Sure, they are also republishing all the old books with updated rules, but this is a good way to hop in to a world of multiple different empires and groups fighting and in-fighting for control in a quzi roman world. 5/5

Execution-And the low point because I’m a bit petty. I like the way this book is laid out. I like the text style, but it might be a bit too small. I like the background, but I would like a background free version to read on my tablet. It comes in a PDF from Drive Thru RPG, so I’m thrilled that we’re moving Arcanis to the Paper free world. But the things that makes me the least happy is no-hyperlinks in the text. This book is 400 plus pages. Thats a lot of hopping around trying to find pages. Just link the book! The book is bookmarked, so if you read on some readers, you will be fine. Honestly, it’s small things that minorly annoyed me about this book, but as the RPG industry moves forward, I want hyperlinked PDFs to become the standard! 4.4/5

Summary-The real two remaining question to if you want this book is 1-Do you like the 5e DnD rules? And 2-do you want morally ambiguous semi-roman age fantasy? If you don’t like 5e DnD, then this book still has lots of background that you might want to put into your game. If you don’t like shades of gray in your fantasy but love DnD 5e, then this is a great source book for crunch including psionics which WotC needs to get out there before they end up just copying these guys. I like this book. I like the shades of gray fantasy that Arcanis bring to the table and using 5e is a great way to get people into the world extremely quickly since 5e is a snap to learn. My only qualms with this book are technical. Give me a backround free version if I want to print and bind myself or read on a tablet and HYPERLINK THE BOOK! Will that stop me from reading this? No. This books is a well done resource from a fun world where a fallen Roman empire battles snake people for dominance of long lost relics that belonged to the elven gods that the Roman gods ate for power using slick mechanics. Ya, that’s an Arcanis sentence if I ever saw one. If you want to play in that world, then you need to get this book NOW! 95%



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcanis 5E Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arcanis 5E - Children of the Sky
by Eddie S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2018 19:22:45

Another ball knocked out of the park. A fantasitc sourcebook concerning the reclusive Kio and their mysterious influence to the world of Onara (as well as their impact on the societies, such as Val). This book goes further indepth into the political and social aspects of Kio and Val'sungah as well as just how potent the Pure blood Kio line is. To say more is to spoil too much. It is an additional must have/read. Like their other previous books, it is chock full of great information and lore. Seeing how this book was laid out makes me VERY excited towards their Ssethregore book when they complete it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcanis 5E - Children of the Sky
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arcanis 5E - Forged in Magic: REFORGED
by Timothy G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2018 14:48:12

Excellent content, amazing quality. If you like magic items, I recommend this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcanis 5E - Forged in Magic: REFORGED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 74 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates