DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
100 Sci-Fi Foods
by Shelby M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2020 16:53:38

Bought this in desperation the day before the start of a new campaign. I realizeed I would need high-end restaurant menu items with which to immerse my players. I was overwhelmed with other details to put together, so I did a quick net search and found this. Not seeing anyone else posting ideas on their blog, I paid the purchase price here and quickly downloaded it.

From the product's introduction, which is what I saw when I opened the Quick Preview and decided to buy: "From star port dives, to high-end restaurants and everywhere in between, this collection has all sorts of dishes, snacks, sides and desserts to add just a little flavor to your world."

I won't bother counting, but almost every entry in the book is bar food, snack food, street vendor food, cheap recycled food for starving worker plebes, or a drug. I think there were possibly three items that I could use in my high-end SF restaurant.

So if you have scummy low-life players who are going to be living off street food and dive food, this is for you, and I'm sure you'll enjoy it. But it was very disappointing to me, and I'm rather upset that it purports to be something different. Caveat emptor.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
100 Sci-Fi Foods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Things to Find in the Wild West
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2019 20:15:45

Decent list. Not terribly great but hading a few descriptions always helps.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
100 Things to Find in the Wild West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Strange or Unusual Encounters for Fantasy Cities
by Richard L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2019 14:57:46

I usually don't find these kinds of collections very helpful. Usually, the random result is a few sentences at most - a random phrase the PCs overhear, for instance, which is often one that isn't that unusual or interesting(like two characters talking about something fairly mundane or slightly humorous) or one that the GM could easily throw in themselves based on a type of encounter they have planned("hey did you hear there were gnolls in the woods and they stole some sheep?" or "hey wanna arm wrestle?").

These encounters are not that. These, even though each one is only the equivalent of a few paragraphs or so, have the event, a background, an explanation and a plot. It's up to the GM to expand on it, but it's all there. Any of these could be easily turned into at least a short "side quest" if not a full adventure, with little to no prep depending on the GM's skill level.

(EDIT: The following question has been answered, but I am leaving it in the review for clarity) My only question - and if the answer is no, that is my only slight complaint - is if there is a way to print this without the background. I'm not sure if it will print the background or not, if it does, it would use up a ton of ink and not be as legible.

Either way, I still give this a solid five stars, the entries are interesting and well-written, easily worth $2 for potentially hours and hours of encounters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Strange or Unusual Encounters for Fantasy Cities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! The PDF uses Adobe layers so you can make the backgrounds, text and images visible or not. So, if you make it so the background isn't visible, it will print without the background. In Adobe Reader, look for the icon on the left that looks like three stacked sheets. Clicking that brings up the another menu, which can be expanded so you can see the layers. Disable any you don't want printing - they have eyes in them.
100 Corpses to Find in a Dungeon
by Stephen D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2019 12:28:03

100 Corpses to Find in a Dungeon is a 2018 release from Azukail Games. It was written by Adrian Kennelly and the cover is by Lord Zsezse Works. It is intended as a universal supplement with a strong fantasy focus.

Presentation This is a 15 page pdf laid out in portrait format. The layout and editing are both excellent. There are 3 pages which aren't content (title, cover, and an ad each one page) and the rest is the list of 100 laid out as a numbered list of paragraphs.

Content This is similar in design to many of these supplements created by Azukail Games; there is a short explanation of how to use the supplement and then many pages of numbered items with a bold title and a brief descriptions.

The titles are very short and so not always evocative, but the descriptions make up for it. There are two parts -- first a description of the corpse and then an explanation (or possible explanation) for the corpse and its appearance.

A sample entry might read: "Gassed. The skin of this corpse is bright red, so bright it is almost glowing, and a swollen tongue protrudes slightly from its mouth. A suitable skill check will reveal that the body has fallen victim to some type of toxic gas." There is a lot of room for the GM to set up more from this -- was it a trap, a spell or something else? Is the trap still active or the caster still present -- what sort of trap or person was it? There's a lot to build from here.

Evaluation This is a fun product. There are a wide range of creative ideas here from the types of corpses found (not all are human) to their condition and their apparent cause of death. There is much to build on here and the product does a good job of inspiring GMs.

I think this is worth the price of less than two bucks for the pdf.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Corpses to Find in a Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Creepy Things and Events to Encounter Outdoors
by Stephen D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2019 12:26:20

100 Creepy Things and Events to Encounter Outdoors by Azukail Games is a 2016 release intended as a universal supplement. It was written by Adrian Kennelly and the cover and backgrounds are by Lord Zsezse Works.

Presentation This is a 21 page pdf with one page of a cover and about 1/2 page of credits. The rest of it is content. The layout is portrait and most of the content is laid out in a single three-column table. The editing is excellent and the layout is clean and readable.

Content The monograph has about one page of explanation of how to use the content and then the rest of it is the content. The explanation talks about ways the various table entries can be used and suggests ignoring results that don't make sense or fail to fire the imagination of the gm.

The entries themselves are laid out in three columns: a number from 1 to 100, an event, and then a column for details. The events are in a wide variety of categories from objects, sounds, atmospheric phenomena, weather, creatures, or places. Some are meant to be directly observed while others are on the edge of observation or just a feeling the players get. For the most part, they are hooks -- there aren't a lot of details about what comes next once the players start to investigate. A sample entry might be number 23 Falling. In this one, a player suddenly has the feeling that the path they are on is shifting from horizontal to vertical and that they are about to fall off it. There isn't any further explanation for this, but players are likely to want to figure it out -- the GM will need to help them examine what's happened and come to an understanding.

Evaluation As with any project of this side, some of the events are less interesting than others and a few are downright boring. Of course, every reader will probably create a different list of which are the best and worst events. That's to be expected and it's part of what gives the product its charm.

This is a good product with a lot of ideas to help spice things up. It's about $2 at Drive Thru RPG and preview provides a decent idea of what you'll be getting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Creepy Things and Events to Encounter Outdoors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Random Mercenary Companies
by Maximilian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2019 14:01:03

I liked it. Short enough to be readable, varied enough to be interesting. Stackbeard's Sapper's above is representative of the amount of detail in each entry: an interesting name, a few words about their unique shtick (quick-tempered desert warriors, or river-running transport experts), and sometimes a few tactical notes (favors surprise attacks under cover of darkness).

The way I plan to use this product is to keep it on my shelf and pull it out when I need a spur to my creativity for a quick origin for some initially-unimportant NPCs, like the guards on a city wall: "you squint at the walls and don't see anyone manning them at first, but then you see the tops of some plumed helmets, and as you approach the gates you see the banner of the Fearless Fraternity, a medium-sized mercenary band of pint-sized halfling warriors, noted for their extreme, sometimes suicidal bravery." In addition, browsing the tables in this product gives me ideas for new lands and kingdoms I might want to add to a campaign on a more permanent basis, as major players.

Excellent product, five stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Random Mercenary Companies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 NPCs You Might Meet At The Tavern
by Steven H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2019 00:11:49

Great supplement. This comes in handy when you need an NPC that's more fleshed out than stats and generic classes. Definitely recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 NPCs You Might Meet At The Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The City of Spiders
by FOR Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2019 19:00:58

Not really worth 50c. Could have at least included a rough map. Half the document is the cover and credit page, leaving 1½ pages of vague descriptions.

The art of the 'priest' is quite good, but the art of the spiders would be more helpful if they were drawn in or around a city building or street. There is absolutely no art of the city itself.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The City of Spiders
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Baker's Dozen of Noble Families
by Dara W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2018 02:27:02

Wonderful stuff! Each noble house has a unique schtick that makes them notable while still being easily dropped in to nearly any fantastical kingdom, and each one has hints of meat and mystery that can be kept as is or expanded upon at the user's choice. It spans the range of fantastic species and implied game-class preferences, offering diverse utility and flavor to pick from!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Baker's Dozen of Noble Families
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 NPCs You Might Meet At The Tavern
by Sarah B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2018 11:17:05

A great mix of characters to put not only in your taverns/inns but anywhere your world needs a quick NPC. I'm looking forward to using this in game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 NPCs You Might Meet At The Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Random Bandits to Meet
by Tyler M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2018 12:43:49

I really love this book! Sometimes I dont have the time to think of interesting bandits for my players to face and what this book does really helps me to put these interesting npc's into play!!! There is a bandit for every occassion. Pick this up to make your game a lot more interesting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Random Bandits to Meet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Random Bandits to Meet
by Jean H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2018 21:25:29

100 characters, each with a short description, each with an interesting backstory and potential hook for ongoing role-play. Sprinkle them down lonely roads, in the wild lands, in back alleys, and in rough taverns. They don't have stat blocks, so are appropriate for any game system and level of play. While you can slap these skins over a standard bandit or thug stat block, they'll make far more interesting encounters if they are tailored to your game and players. Perfect for reoccuring villains.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 NPCs You Might Meet At The Tavern
by Dara W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2018 12:28:46

Wonderful collection of NPCs! The set is not only diverse in species, character class, etc, but in many other aspects that make each one both interesting and of interest, adding potential breadth and depth to any game they show up in! I'm fond of the orcs in particular, as well as the ranger who seems like she might have been raised by wolves, but is very probably autistic. No one's individuality is presented with any kind of mockery, but the range offered goes well beyond the standard published fare- and they still fit into any world you'll put them in, easy as pie.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 NPCs You Might Meet At The Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 NPCs You Might Meet At The Tavern
by Jean H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2018 19:41:15

Nice cover and page art – beautiful but still fairly easy to read. A space between each entry would have helped. I expected to see a list to roll on, but the supplement jumps right into the character descriptions. This makes it a little more difficult to use as a spur-of-the-moment resource but dang, take five minutes of prep time and you have a handful of wonderful characters to round out the common patrons of your local tavern or inn. Even so, it’s still a huge time-saver for GMs, and there are enough characters to sprinkle through many inns, in many places. These characters offer story hooks too, so you’ve got 100 jumping-off points for quests and stories. These characters aren’t confined to the tavern either, but could be encountered at the market, the temple, coming or going through the town gates, or on the road. All in all, a great supplement, and well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Baker’s Dozen of Rumours (And The Truth Behind Them)
by Terése N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2018 15:05:48

This is a wonderful collection of mini-tales to use in any campaign, for certain. It's also just an enjoyable little read in general, for pleasure or inspiration, whether you're currently running a game or not. Using these well-written story nuggets in a game would absolutely make for tasty tasty flavor, and I would personally find it very easy to become engaged for the duration of any of the adventures herein!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Baker’s Dozen of Rumours (And The Truth Behind Them)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates