DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Aperita Arcana: fantasy for Fate Core
by André D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2017 09:13:23

Heavens, if you cherish your eyes , don't buy it.

If you want some inspiration for Fantasy Races and Classes to implement into Fate and complicate your game ... its a good source for that ... oh god , but those crappy pictures ... and no background layout ...

Honestly ... if there was a Version without graphics id rather buy that ...

Luckily i bought it when it was cheap ... man i wish there was a solid preview , then i would have saved my money. Really ... the pure text is ok ... but those absolutely BAD Illustrations killed my buzz.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Aperita Arcana: fantasy for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aperita Arcana: fantasy for Fate Core
by Jamie L. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2016 19:32:15

A good adaption of the FATE-Core system that has being adapted into the Fantasy genre. From what I've read it hangs together well and has the feel of the older style fantasy like AD&D. The magic system is open-ended allowing spell casters some versatility.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aperita Arcana: fantasy for Fate Core
by Brandon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 13:23:48

Not bad overall. The art style varies a lot. It focuses a Lot on minutia. I lost track of the races somewhere around 20. I imagine there's better options for fantasy fate.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Collectanea Creaturae - Fate Core
by John B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2015 14:06:04

Details of purchase:

I grabbed the PDF and hardback bundle, and it was printed and received in less than a week.

Review of book:

Simply excellent. While the truth is, all monsters are a few aspects and some stress consequence slots, this is the best example of how to make monsters and NPC enemies for the players on the market. It heavily expands on the needed example of such features as multi-zone enemies, units, and how to work in special abilities.

The art is no worse than AD&D 1st edition, and still is able to evoke the creatures they describe. Still, you won't buy this for the art.

The book fits on the shelf with your other fate books, as well. Making it an excellent addition to your collection.

It doesn't hurt that it's cheap, as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Collectanea Creaturae - Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aperita Arcana: fantasy for Fate Core
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2015 23:01:59

If your group likes the ideas of FATE Core but just wishes there was a bit more crunch for them to delve into, then this is the product for you. Just as advertised, it presents a lot of elements that should be familiar to any experienced Dungeons & Dragons player, but reworked to better fit FATE Core's way of doing things.

The way the book handles races is very creative. Races matter again, everyone just isn't a re-skinned human. And there are lots of races to choose from! Aside from your standard fantasy selections, there's stuff like Lamias, Nymphs, Tanukis, and a bunch of stuff I've never even heard of before but look fun to play.

I think the most important asset it brings to the table is its rules for magic items and spellcasting. FATE Core does have some rules for those to a certain extent, but they're very touch-and-go. This presents some solid groundwork and gives you a great selection of items.

Aside from that, it's filled with a lot of fantastic artwork. It's monochromatic, but there's usually gorgeous shading, so it's not just linework! A lot of work went into making this book look good. Very professionally done. Although it makes me pine for a full color version, maybe a future edition? Who knows.

Overall, this product has my definite endorsement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aperita Arcana: fantasy for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aperita Arcana: fantasy for Fate Core
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2015 17:03:30

well written with excellent examples and great humor; actually got me thinking about Gming Fantasy which is not my thing ( Supers/Sci Fi)normally



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aperita Arcana: fantasy for Fate Core
by Ted J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2015 13:30:17

This book is a great rescource for anyone who wants to run a fantasy game with Fate Core. Everything in it seems very thoughtfully put together. How to add Class and Race, magic for Wizards, Druids and Clerics in a way that plays to Fate Core's strengths.

Its also very easy to read, which is a huge plus, and the book is full of suggestions and optional rules to give you exactly the feeling and rules crunchines you're after. I'm not a reviewer but I hope some of the things I write here will be of use to anyone thinking of buying this book. Lets start with Races, 28 of them are described, with exampel aspects and stunts a player can pick or use as inspiration to create his/her own. They cover the usual human, dwarf, elf etc, but also adds Kitsune (shapeshifting fox person), Merfolk and my personal favorit Lamia to name a few.

The next chapter deals with classes, you got the traditional ones here, fighter, magic user, monk, paladin, cleric and a few others. They're given example aspects and a list of stunts to pick from. Each class also gets two example characters, could be used for inspiration or npc's. This being Fate the aspects they (Example Characters) have tells alot about them and I felt inspired more than a few times while I read through them. After classes we get to equipment, here we get to read about how to handle money (Resources), treasure that the players will aquire, find, lose and spend (probably not in that order). You also get rules for weapons, armor and general equipment. I liked the weapons, which get a resources cost, additional rules for poor and superb quality. I particularly liked the rules for simulating proficency, a single stunt that lets you use weapons or armor to its fullest, depending on which class you picked, ie a wizard won't be familiar with as many weapons as a fighter would be. Again optional rules and suggestions galore. The Magic chapter deals with several ways on how to use magic, keep close to Vancian magic a la D&D? Or perhaps a more flexible one? And a bit inbetween, lots of suggestions, sample spells, ritual casting, and even Variant Magicians options like the Elementalist or the Summoner can be found here.

Wicked Barbs, Withering Glances, and the Cut Direct: Social Combat gets it very own chapter and its full of great ideas on how to use the social skills in a game, one class the Arbiter is geared towards the social scene and in this chapter you learn how to really make those scenes come alive. As usuall the book comes with plenty of examples, I particularly liked how to make someone socially powerful without having to make them personaly powerful. It also goes into detail about social combat during regular combat, trying to talk the villain out of whatever he's doing, of course this cuts both ways, the villain gets to attack back, perhaps trying to recruit the PC's to his side or demoralising them with the hopelesness of their cause. Lots to use here if it would enhance your game, like the pages dedicated to language, some people like the ease of using Common and a language per race (Elven, Dwarven) but others might enjoy making things more complicated/interesting. Using linguistical misunderstandings, adding the need to search for a scholar who can read an ancient document. It also delves into scipts(writing), mundane and magical.

Ok, this is getting alot longer than I was thinking, keeping it short, theirs a chapter of Faiths & Deities, Magic Items, Adventures, Campaigns, Creatures and a Sample Scenario. I gave this book five stars because it keeps inspiring me as I read it, and with all the work done, I'm able to pick up all of my old D&D adventures and with a bit of tweaking run them again, but with Fate. =) If you're after a fantasy toolkit for Fate Core you should buy this book, for $10 its incredibly cheap for what you're getting. Five stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Collectanea Creaturae - Fate Core
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2015 12:28:41

This is a wonderful product and I would highly recommend it for anyone wanting to GM FATE! There are so many ways to represent NPCs in FATE that it can be a bit overwhelming. This product gives a consistent and well thought out approach to representing NPC creatures and personalities. My only complaint is that there may have needed to be a few more creatures. However, with the number of creatures presented a GM should be able to extrapolate just about anything.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Collectanea Creaturae - Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Collectanea Creaturae: Psyche Lasher
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2015 13:34:48

Well we've got a really nasty piece of work right over here. The Psyche Lasher is a perfect little piece of monster that can easily be added in as part of a campaign of really any type but for me this is going in as part of a science fantasy campaign. This monster comes in multiple formats and has a wide variety of uses for me across the board. The fact that it kinda, sorta resembles a certain iconic monster from the world's most popular fantasy game is icing on the cake. I'm so glad to find this little beauty. The descriptions are for a number of editions and can easily be adapted into a multiplicity of campaigns. The monster gets a full fleshing out but its not done in an over blown style. This is simply meat and potatoes with everything from the basic ecology to methods with a helping of variations on the whole entry of the monster. So what you've essentially got here is a creature that is free to use, adapt, and warp into your campaigns for a wide variety of editions. What more could you ask from a free product. All in all not bad for a free download. I will be using this and enjoyed the hell out of it. My players are going to be psyche lasher bait however. Cheers and I look forward to more from Ebon Gryphon Games



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Collectanea Creaturae: Psyche Lasher
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aperita Arcana for Monsters & Magic
by Gianni V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2015 10:59:35

Aperita Arcana is a Monsters & Magic supplement by Ebon Gryphon Games that expands on the core M&M rules by adding new character classes, new advancements, new spells and spell lists, rules for ad-lib spells, and much more. I warmly recommend this supplement, even if M&M is not your go-to system, if only for the excellent GMing advice scattered throughout the supplement, and for all the material that can be salvaged irrespective of your gaming system (e.g., the advanced ‘language’ rules).

The nice thing about Monsters & Magic is that character classes are not simply a bland collection of die modifiers, hit dice, allowed armour/weapons, or numbers of spells per level. In M&M, each character class is fleshed out by a series of traits and advancements that it may use but, again, not as mere 'plus sometings' but as narrative tools to enliven your role-playing experience (and kick ass — that's the magic of the Effect Engine). This is why, even though I used to hate new classes when I played AD&D, I have really enjoyed the ones in Aperita Arcana: since a class a mostly a collection of traits, they add wonderful role-playing potential in terms of what effects the player may try to attain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aperita Arcana for Monsters & Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Collectanea Creaturae - Fate Core
by Jim P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2014 18:56:59

I backed this from Kickstarter on a whim. I'm glad I did. These guys did all the heavy work translating tons of fantasy creatures to FATE stats. The collection runs the gamut from simple no stress box mooks to terrifying Great Wyrms. Don't buy this for the art. These guys had a limited budget to work with and I'm sure they paid the artists pretty fair. Remember the white box D&D collection? Everyone has to start out small before they turn in to a phenomenon. This is a great tool for FATE GMs. There's tons of creatures and it's chock full of ideas. There's a section on animal companions and a section for new skills. The authors even expand on some creatures from myth and folklore; so, you get a bonus history lesson at no extra cost.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Collectanea Creaturae - Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Collectanea Creaturae - Fate Core
by Philip N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2014 01:27:43

I downloaded this initially out of curiosity but am very glad that I did, it contains over 150 descriptions of both standard and fantastic creatures in a well detailed format, as well as displaying a quirky sense of humour that only developers who enjoyed working on it could show, highly recommended for all Gamers contemplating a Fate Core Fantasy adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates