DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE)
by andrew l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2019 12:28:08

A good solid book. Has just what you need for an early era Robotech game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE)
by TiMar L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 09:14:01

Very solid book. I've always loved Robotech. As a child of the 80s I used to hurry home to watch the show. I've played using the Pallidum ruleset but they are cumbersome. The Savage Worlds rules are much better and streamlined.The book itself looks amazing. I like the crisp colors. They stand out and pop. The only true issue I have is that I feel that there aren't enough pictures. I would have loved to see pictures for all the various mechas as opposed to having to do my own Google research to get a look at osme things.

It's my hope that in future books they include more artwork. I also hope that they include rules for playing Robotech Masters clones like and Zor, Invid Prince and Princess like Sera and Arielle. My final hope is that they go all the way through Sentinels and Shadow Chronicle.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sisterhood of the Blade
by andrew l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2019 21:04:42
  • disclaimer I have a story in this anthology *

Ed Greenwood and some very talented writers all spin individual tales of the Queen's personal guard. If you enjoy The Musketeers or fiction steeped in excellent and skilled worldbuilding then you will enjoy thsi book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sisterhood of the Blade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE)
by Robert J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2019 23:17:29

For the most part I liked this book, though the Zentradi section does bother me and need some cleaning up. I liked the optional rule about Protoculture Power a lot, though I wish there were more options to use the Protoculture Power points on than the four options given. This is my second favorite of the Robotech time frames. The only one I like better is the Invid Invasion, which I think would have been a much better setting to base a game off of than any of the other time periods just because it has so much more freedom. I am looking forward to seeing what else they do with the license and I believe they will be putting out books for both the Southern Cross and Invid Invasion (Genesis Climber MOSPEADA). At least I am really hoping they do just so I can have the complete set. For more complete thoughts on this product, you can find the full review here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE)
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2019 16:33:03

Top-notch adaptation of the property that does a marvelous job of capturing an authentic feeling of the source material. The artwork is new, not the original animation cels or the like, but I suspect that would have proven difficult to pull off properly and likely to become rights-encumbered if not already so. The feel and general aesthetics of the new art are right on point, however, and I'm just as happy with it as I would be with images lifted from the animation. The presentation is also excellent, with a clear and easily digested layout. The PDF includes bookmarks but one flaw is the absence of an index, which is less important for the PDF but I'm sure would be much appreciated in the physical version (when it arrives).

Savage Worlds seems a good fit for the setting to me and quite capable of handling both human scale (micronian scale?) and mecha-sized combat. Given the nature of the battles in Macross, the inclusion of a set of mass combat rules is a definite plus, as is a card-based (very suitable for SW) random mission generator. As a gear-head, I was also very pleased to see that not only are all the major vehicles and mecha represented but even those which saw just a few seconds of screentime are detailed out. I may be incorrect in this, but I believe some of the content are things I personally have only seen before as concept art from the development of the original show.

(On a complete side-note, as somebody who spent a fair amount of time playing the original RPG adaptation, I am very pleased to see the authors of this version have used the original names for various vehicles such as the Destroids instead of the seemingly randomized versions used in that other RPG, but I'm going to have to do some mental reprogramming before I get the names lined up as they actually should be.)

The book is rounded off with nicely detailed timelines and overviews of the general history leading up to this point in the storyline. As might be expected, the major characters are also given complete bios and statistical write-ups.

All in all, I am extremely pleased and highly recommend this to any fans of the show or, in fact, mecha-based anime in general. It was obviously created with a great deal of knowledge and respect for its source material. My only issue now is needing to be patient for (hopefully) the release of books detailing the other chapters of the saga.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2019 13:44:26

I have always been a fan of Robotech, but Palladium wasn't my jam. So I'm really glad to see that Robotech has finally been adapted to one of my belloved rules system like Savage Worlds. The setting book is great and the illustrations are gorgeous. There's everything you need in the book to start reliving the anime, including a mission generator and a short adventure to get started.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dinosaur Protocol (SWAdE)
by Iriah W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2019 22:36:45

I have been a life long dinosaur fan and am always looking for supplements to add dinosaurs to my games and this product does not disapoint. I love the choices of dinos included in this book and how accurate to the known science they are and yet familiar to what the public knows from tv, movies and fiction of all sorts. I love the setting info they included as well, it's the type of thing I would have done myself if I was setting up a dinos game. All in all I am overjoyed to have been a backer on a Kickstarter that helped bring such a wonderful product to life. Thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dinosaur Protocol (SWAdE)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
by Janet S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2019 20:57:42

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I started reading this book and could not stop. I read the book all in one sitting. The characters are all fully developed and full of depth. You are caught up in a world that is completely action laden. The descriptions are vivid, colorful and exciting. Tracy's writing is masterful. His storytelling, I found to be gripping. This book is stunning. This book is enchanting. Tracy, your book was a wonderful read



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 3e (Savage Worlds Deluxe Edition)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2018 17:01:52

Edit: I'm voluntarily changing my rating. After some thought, I felt I was being unfair. This is still very much a playable game, and a great setting. It's just that there are some issues with editing and some things that weren't properly ported over from d20 to Savage Worlds.

I hate to give negative reviews to things, but this is somewhat poorly done. There are several instances of things that are bad or incomplete conversions from some d20 source. There are magic item descriptions that contain references to Reflex and Will saves, which are from d20, not Savage Worlds. There is a table in the description of the werewolf about maintianing control that is a straight up copy and paste from d20. A sidebar about Shamballa is repeated a few pages after its first apperance. The ghost seems like it was added as an afterthought, as its abilities are poorly described. Also, unlike every other non-human race in the book, the gost does not have any Racial Edges to enhance its abilities. All other races have several Racial Edges. The ghost has none. The 2nd edition of the game also had a very useful table listing all of the Edges available to each race, but that's missing in this version.

I'm rather disappointed in this edition.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 3e (Savage Worlds Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warren C. Norwood's Double Spiral War (Traveller / Cepheus Engine)
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2018 10:35:03

For those who love this SciFi trilogy, this provides game rules for the Double Spiral War. Note that this is not your typical Traveller universe, the ships don't use jump drive and the empires in conflict each cover half of a small galaxy. If you are looking for Third Imperium material, this won't really work. On the other hand, it has have some great ideas for a referee to borrow from for any sci fi campaign and is also great for creating a Traveller universe that uses different technology than the typical one.

Variant rules in the book include alternative startship construction drives so the referee can create FTL ships more akin to those in the novel (though the Hunter/Killers using these rules are not as limited as those in the novels.) Character career paths and world descriptions are included.

Overall this is a very complete book, just lacking the Mongoose Traveller core rules in order to play a detailed, galaxy spanning campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warren C. Norwood's Double Spiral War (Traveller / Cepheus Engine)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
by Adrianne C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2018 08:58:36

I got to play this as a Demo at GEnCon2017 and it was alot of Fun :) The system was Rather easy to pick up once you got into the game. The group i got to play with was fun and made me laugh. Hope there's another Demo for 2018!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ninja High School Textbook Volume 1
by William A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2018 03:06:44

While the scan is fine and the comic is good it's a partially censored version. I'm not sure what Ben Dunn's issue is but each release of these comics sees various stuff censored but some parts get uncensored. It gets a bit frustrating but overall the quality here is good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
by Adrian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2017 15:36:19

Review of the Hardback Edition I saw this was using the D6 System as developed by my all time favourite RPG company West End Games so went for the hardback/PDF option on whim and boy, am I glad I did. I had no prior knowledge of the setting until I saw the rules and it dragged me right in. The d6 system meshes well with Manga and the end result is a very good and entertaining product. The quality of the writing style is good. The use of art works well to illustrate the game and is far from gratuitous. I guess the best way to describe it, if I have to compare it to other products, is a WEG D6 version of Talsorian's Teenagers From Outer Space and GURPS IOU but with more action and, actually, potentially more humour. If you want to play school age humans, aliens, space princesses and the titicular ninjas then this WILL be for you. I am really looking forward to running this more often. Great job Battlefield

5 for quality 5 for writing 5 for rules usage 5 Overall



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
by Lindsay B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2017 23:11:17

I very much enjoyed this escape from reality! The settings were uniquely descriptive and the characters were a joy to learn about. I am quite excited about the sequel! Well done, my friend! By the way, I have met Tracy. Super nice, and witty. All around great person. Check out the book! You won't be disappointed!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG (Savage Worlds)
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2017 20:24:18

This is definitely a fun setting for Savage Worlds (having bought this to be part of a game of Ninja High School where I played what could only be summarized as, "Vanilla Ice, the Power Ranger"). However, it really feels like a rushed conversion that could have been run past an editor who's familiar with the Savage Worlds rules. The archetypes in Particular are a headache (Some have too many Attribute Points, others have stuff that could still be spent but you wouldn't know it unless you're familiar with Savage Worlds, and another has powers that do not exist as the Core Rules describe them). Also, one of the setting rules regarding Power Point use is half-missing on Page 25.

I'm not saying you shouldn't buy this... far from it, as Ninja High School is evidence that you can do 'Anime' style settings in Savage Worlds without reinventing the wheel. I'm just telling you to make sure that you're familiar enough with Savage Worlds that you can patch this puppy up before you try to run it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your honest review. Changes will be made and an new version will be uploaded as soon as possible. I appreciate your honest candor about the book. What happened, and what we failed to notice in the file, was that the wrong file was uploaded. Please excuse our mess, and be patient while we get this straightened out.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates