DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2019 16:33:03

Top-notch adaptation of the property that does a marvelous job of capturing an authentic feeling of the source material. The artwork is new, not the original animation cels or the like, but I suspect that would have proven difficult to pull off properly and likely to become rights-encumbered if not already so. The feel and general aesthetics of the new art are right on point, however, and I'm just as happy with it as I would be with images lifted from the animation. The presentation is also excellent, with a clear and easily digested layout. The PDF includes bookmarks but one flaw is the absence of an index, which is less important for the PDF but I'm sure would be much appreciated in the physical version (when it arrives).

Savage Worlds seems a good fit for the setting to me and quite capable of handling both human scale (micronian scale?) and mecha-sized combat. Given the nature of the battles in Macross, the inclusion of a set of mass combat rules is a definite plus, as is a card-based (very suitable for SW) random mission generator. As a gear-head, I was also very pleased to see that not only are all the major vehicles and mecha represented but even those which saw just a few seconds of screentime are detailed out. I may be incorrect in this, but I believe some of the content are things I personally have only seen before as concept art from the development of the original show.

(On a complete side-note, as somebody who spent a fair amount of time playing the original RPG adaptation, I am very pleased to see the authors of this version have used the original names for various vehicles such as the Destroids instead of the seemingly randomized versions used in that other RPG, but I'm going to have to do some mental reprogramming before I get the names lined up as they actually should be.)

The book is rounded off with nicely detailed timelines and overviews of the general history leading up to this point in the storyline. As might be expected, the major characters are also given complete bios and statistical write-ups.

All in all, I am extremely pleased and highly recommend this to any fans of the show or, in fact, mecha-based anime in general. It was obviously created with a great deal of knowledge and respect for its source material. My only issue now is needing to be patient for (hopefully) the release of books detailing the other chapters of the saga.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2019 13:44:26

I have always been a fan of Robotech, but Palladium wasn't my jam. So I'm really glad to see that Robotech has finally been adapted to one of my belloved rules system like Savage Worlds. The setting book is great and the illustrations are gorgeous. There's everything you need in the book to start reliving the anime, including a mission generator and a short adventure to get started.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dinosaur Protocol
by Iriah W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2019 22:36:45

I have been a life long dinosaur fan and am always looking for supplements to add dinosaurs to my games and this product does not disapoint. I love the choices of dinos included in this book and how accurate to the known science they are and yet familiar to what the public knows from tv, movies and fiction of all sorts. I love the setting info they included as well, it's the type of thing I would have done myself if I was setting up a dinos game. All in all I am overjoyed to have been a backer on a Kickstarter that helped bring such a wonderful product to life. Thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dinosaur Protocol
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
by Janet S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2019 20:57:42

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I started reading this book and could not stop. I read the book all in one sitting. The characters are all fully developed and full of depth. You are caught up in a world that is completely action laden. The descriptions are vivid, colorful and exciting. Tracy's writing is masterful. His storytelling, I found to be gripping. This book is stunning. This book is enchanting. Tracy, your book was a wonderful read



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 3e (Savage Worlds Edition)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2018 17:01:52

Edit: I'm voluntarily changing my rating. After some thought, I felt I was being unfair. This is still very much a playable game, and a great setting. It's just that there are some issues with editing and some things that weren't properly ported over from d20 to Savage Worlds.

I hate to give negative reviews to things, but this is somewhat poorly done. There are several instances of things that are bad or incomplete conversions from some d20 source. There are magic item descriptions that contain references to Reflex and Will saves, which are from d20, not Savage Worlds. There is a table in the description of the werewolf about maintianing control that is a straight up copy and paste from d20. A sidebar about Shamballa is repeated a few pages after its first apperance. The ghost seems like it was added as an afterthought, as its abilities are poorly described. Also, unlike every other non-human race in the book, the gost does not have any Racial Edges to enhance its abilities. All other races have several Racial Edges. The ghost has none. The 2nd edition of the game also had a very useful table listing all of the Edges available to each race, but that's missing in this version.

I'm rather disappointed in this edition.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 3e (Savage Worlds Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warren C. Norwood's Double Spiral War (Traveller / Cepheus Engine)
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2018 10:35:03

For those who love this SciFi trilogy, this provides game rules for the Double Spiral War. Note that this is not your typical Traveller universe, the ships don't use jump drive and the empires in conflict each cover half of a small galaxy. If you are looking for Third Imperium material, this won't really work. On the other hand, it has have some great ideas for a referee to borrow from for any sci fi campaign and is also great for creating a Traveller universe that uses different technology than the typical one.

Variant rules in the book include alternative startship construction drives so the referee can create FTL ships more akin to those in the novel (though the Hunter/Killers using these rules are not as limited as those in the novels.) Character career paths and world descriptions are included.

Overall this is a very complete book, just lacking the Mongoose Traveller core rules in order to play a detailed, galaxy spanning campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warren C. Norwood's Double Spiral War (Traveller / Cepheus Engine)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
by Adrianne C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2018 08:58:36

I got to play this as a Demo at GEnCon2017 and it was alot of Fun :) The system was Rather easy to pick up once you got into the game. The group i got to play with was fun and made me laugh. Hope there's another Demo for 2018!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ninja High School Textbook Volume 1
by William A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2018 03:06:44

While the scan is fine and the comic is good it's a partially censored version. I'm not sure what Ben Dunn's issue is but each release of these comics sees various stuff censored but some parts get uncensored. It gets a bit frustrating but overall the quality here is good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
by Adrian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2017 15:36:19

Review of the Hardback Edition I saw this was using the D6 System as developed by my all time favourite RPG company West End Games so went for the hardback/PDF option on whim and boy, am I glad I did. I had no prior knowledge of the setting until I saw the rules and it dragged me right in. The d6 system meshes well with Manga and the end result is a very good and entertaining product. The quality of the writing style is good. The use of art works well to illustrate the game and is far from gratuitous. I guess the best way to describe it, if I have to compare it to other products, is a WEG D6 version of Talsorian's Teenagers From Outer Space and GURPS IOU but with more action and, actually, potentially more humour. If you want to play school age humans, aliens, space princesses and the titicular ninjas then this WILL be for you. I am really looking forward to running this more often. Great job Battlefield

5 for quality 5 for writing 5 for rules usage 5 Overall



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
by Lindsay B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2017 23:11:17

I very much enjoyed this escape from reality! The settings were uniquely descriptive and the characters were a joy to learn about. I am quite excited about the sequel! Well done, my friend! By the way, I have met Tracy. Super nice, and witty. All around great person. Check out the book! You won't be disappointed!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG (Savage Worlds)
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2017 20:24:18

This is definitely a fun setting for Savage Worlds (having bought this to be part of a game of Ninja High School where I played what could only be summarized as, "Vanilla Ice, the Power Ranger"). However, it really feels like a rushed conversion that could have been run past an editor who's familiar with the Savage Worlds rules. The archetypes in Particular are a headache (Some have too many Attribute Points, others have stuff that could still be spent but you wouldn't know it unless you're familiar with Savage Worlds, and another has powers that do not exist as the Core Rules describe them). Also, one of the setting rules regarding Power Point use is half-missing on Page 25.

I'm not saying you shouldn't buy this... far from it, as Ninja High School is evidence that you can do 'Anime' style settings in Savage Worlds without reinventing the wheel. I'm just telling you to make sure that you're familiar enough with Savage Worlds that you can patch this puppy up before you try to run it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your honest review. Changes will be made and an new version will be uploaded as soon as possible. I appreciate your honest candor about the book. What happened, and what we failed to notice in the file, was that the wrong file was uploaded. Please excuse our mess, and be patient while we get this straightened out.
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
by Simon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2017 12:42:07

Probably 3.5 stars if I'm honest. It's not bad but... see that blurb above this review? The one about the product? At the time of me writing this review it's about 80% based on the history of Ninja High School and 20% on the Ninja High School RPG, mostly stating that this is an RPG. That's kind of the attitude I think that was brought to making this product.

I don't actually have too many complaints about the RPG. It's a simple, solid adaptation with enough background info to get you into the world and enough rules detail to get someone new to RPG's started. There are some technical errors that caused me to raise my eyebrows but nothing egregious. But at the end of the day you'll look over it and get the feeling this was knocked together as a quick cash in: take Ninja High School, copy and paste together the d6 rules, put up some stats for some of the recognizable characters, throw in a page and a half of plot seeds then sell. Yeah, that's all there pretty much is to this.

Now, don't get me wrong, a competent GM (sorry, Principal) and/or fan of the series should be able to work with this. The basics are all there and they are usable. Hence why this gets the three star rating. But you get the feeling the company didn't actually care about this product and that in turn discourages you from playing it unless you bring in some real enthusiasm before you crack it open. Just know that you're dealing with a product that forgot to do things like check where Professor Steamhead's Intellect was before printing his stats.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
by Leanne F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2017 23:20:29

I enjoyed the story presented in this book, and would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes detailed world settings, and is happy to keep track of lots of characters, so long as you are able to overlook a few flaws.

The book has a couple of issues, mostly in terms of editting, however any reader aware of this before they start and happy to overlook it should find an interesting story with some compelling character development over the entire tale and plot twists in the latter half of the book.

The second half of the novel really shows the author hitting his stride, and I particularly liked the differences in the characters that populate the setting, plus the feeling of depth, even on those occassions when things shifted gears a little unnaturally.

The book is a first novel, and feels like it, but I dont feel this is of any disservice in and of itself, it is simply a fact. Clearly, the author has a world well built in his head, and the ground work to write many and more stories in its divergent locales and cultures, and I would be eager to pick up a sequel if and when one is available.

For the price, I feel this a good novel worth a read, especially for lovers of complex settings.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your review. You do have our apologies for any editing mistakes you find, editors are human too and they were just over looked. Before book two goes to press, we will re-edit this book and try to clean up any errors that still might be lingering in the book. This is the authors first novel, one which I loved, which is why I decided to publish it. You are right, the second half of the book really picks up and shows us the true depth of what Mr. Reeves is capable of doing. I am looking forward to the next book in the series, which I hope will be on the schedule in 2018. Again, thank you so much for your feedback, and your review of the novel. If you have any questions or other comments, please feel free to ask. We love feedback and if we can make the product better because of it, that much the better for not only us, but for our fans and customers as well. Jonathan M. Thompson, Publisher.
Sherwood: The Legend of Robin Hood (Swords & Wizardry Edition)
by Alan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2016 15:38:49

Just read this through, not played yet, but seems like a solid product. It provides a whole campaign in a no-to-low magic medieval England, with a full set of classes, "inventions" to replace magic items and ideas of how to run a Robin Hoodesque campaign ranging from grim to Flynn. However, the best part is probably the swashbuckling and acrobatic combat rules. These are perfect for giving some. Mechanical spice for rules light games like S&W and other retroclones. The books emphasis on a more espionage orientated adventure makes a change from dungeonbashing. ere's a gazetteer of medieval England and rogues gallery of Sherwood's finest, so putting together a fun one-shot for holidays should be pretty straightforward.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sherwood: The Legend of Robin Hood (Swords & Wizardry  Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pulp Fantastic
by David N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2016 07:22:46

This is an incredibly interesting book and an amazing look into a genre. Now I will say off the bat that it doesn't have the sheer quantity of setting material of something like Rocket Age and even though they've provided options for aliens I wouldn't use this book. Rocket Age really has that one covered.

It does however do an amazing job of analysing and breaking down pulp stories, showing the structures and the tropes. The rules feel like a natural fit and as well as providing many pre-made characters it also has plenty of guidance on implementing them and the themes they represent. It doesn't shy away from acknowledging some of the inherent nastiness of the themes either, instead preferring to leave decisions on such things in the hands of the GM.

Its more of a 1920s to 40s toolkit than anything else and feels wonderfully conversational. I actually picked it up due to the lack of an Earth supplement for Rocket Age and it definitely delivers. Also if you aren't familiar with the Vortex rules and want to pick them up I'd recommend this or Rocket Age over the Doctor Who rpg.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Fantastic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 59 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates