DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Stalkers of the Elder Dark Deluxe Character Record
by Gandalf L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2022 18:01:28

Eng. : Nice character sheets for a nice Rule light System of cosmic horror ! Fr. : Sympathiques feuilles de personnages pour un sympathique système de règles légères permettant de faire de l'horreur cosmique à la Cthulhu. Alors certes le joueur francophone préfèrera sans doute les feuilles traduites par Le Grumph, mais les fiches originales sont beaucoup plus belles et illustrées.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stalkers of the Elder Dark Deluxe Character Record
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Monsters Destroy All Cities
by Daniel R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2020 18:29:14

It's been a long time since I last played a Table Top game featuring Giant monsters. Especially one where you just sit down with a sheet and build a monster from scratch in just one sitting.

Well, I think I have found that game again, and I can say that "Monster: Destroy All Cities" is an easy to manage, pick-up-and-play, Giant Monster Mass of fun! And with the likes of "Monster Island: the Game of Giant Monster Combat" being out of print and extremely hard to find. I can see this game as a really good replacement. Though there are a few details that I would like to address in regards to some aspects of this game, but we'll certainly get to that soon enough.

My Review:

One of Many

I won't lie, this game isn't the only Kaiju / Giant Monster game out there. There are plenty of games to look at (Plenty right here on this site alone). But I can tell you right now that it is hard to judge whether or not you will like many of them. As there are many angles that a Kaiju games can approach. From board games, to crunchy Rpg games, to even story driven affairs, with most players ether ending up as a Character driving a Mecha or a Human guiding a Kaiju through a special link that they share. There are ALOT of games out there, and that's more than enough material to read and draw up conclusions about. Maybe too much material, as I have spent Years trying to look for a Kaiju game after getting into DnD and discovering that there were a Ton of Rpgs out there that I could play!

And to some degree that was cool, until you find out that some of the good ones don't really exist anymore.

Point is, the journey to get to this game wasn't easy, but it certainly was worth it.

Good ol' Stomping Fun!

Honestly at a $1.49 along with free pdf Character / Monster Sheets, how could I not place a purchase down for this? It was a tough call at first, yet once I got it printed out and sat down with it, my outlook changed.

One thing I noticed right off the bat was just how light a read this game pdf was, stacking up to a nice 48 pages that give you all the rules and the ideas for what to use on you table to get this game started, with more suggestions after monster creation.
Speaking of which, Monster creation being failrly sparse, with only 3 defined "Body-Types" or Monster-types. Those being Avian, Saurian, and Simian (You can sorta tell as to who these monster types are a mirror of). With the Fourth and Fifth body-types being Xenoform and Mech (or Mecha).

The game has a point-buy system for Monster skills and abilities that go towards your overall strengths. Letting all monsters start out with the same amount of points, while Xenoform and Mech both get their own own set of points. All in all though, most of the Monsters starting out will be roughly the same in terms of fighting potential. So while they start out small, the game really makes you feel like a powerhouse as you go toe to toe with your enemy players. Its simple and easy to use, and almost feels like watching a wrestling match take place (just like all my favorite Giant monster movies!)

With the only difference being how you use your Skills as you Tactically try to outwit your oppnent. The name of the game being to win! Winners gaining two points for every win, and Losers gaining only 1 point just to keep up. However, if your Kaiju decides to Fly or swim away, than no points are added. Running away being the real loss for any player.

A Few Missing pieces

As much as I like the sparse material, there are a few key details that I feel I must address. with one being the skill list, as there are only 24 skills on this list and most of them are terrestrial based, meaning while your monsters do get alot out of Acid Spitting, Radiation Blasts, and Earth shattering attacks. The Game doesn't quite give you a whole lot of attacks that vary, in fact it much of the skills are a mix up of support Abilities, movement based (Tunnel Vision, Flight, etc), or mostly close-range brute fighting. None of its bad. But I do kinda wish there was more. as we don't have say, a Whirlwind or Tornado attacks, Watergun or an Ocean Vortex, Energy Blade(s) options for Mechs. Or even the option to do a Tail Strike or Tail-Whip. Not even a Sonic Scream? Sure there probably is a way around that, but it clearly seems that the list was still being thoughtout at the time.

And while it is true that the Xenoform and Mech (Mecha) Body-types do exist to make up for the lack of the Diverse Kaijus species out there, I'm alittle vexed as to why we aren't given an Insect, Aquatic or Astro-Monster Type to use either?

There is also one thing that I would like to point out, Hit-Points. While it is true that all monster gain the same hit-points (10) no matter what body-type. In one of the sample monster,the Hit-Points on it are at "11"! I don't know it if this is a typo, but from what I can tell, there is nothing in the book that details about raising your maximum HP. I combed it pretty thoroughy. Was I missing something?

Conclusions

While not perfect, I don't believe this game (or any other) has to be in order to enjoy it. Supplemental material would however make this beautiful game even more enjoyable. Still, even if none of it comes, it may be possible for a game master to homebrew up some minor tweaks and changes. Heck, even so much as writing Insectoid under Xenoform makes it more interesting and personal.

But probably one of the biggest changes that could be good suggestion to follow up on; would be to allow minor annoying enemies to show up, like Jets and Tanks, we already have rolls for Missiles and Bombs, but as for simple stats from DFs (Defence Forces) or Aliens and their Space weapons would be interesting. Although, that can simply be up to the Game master to create, and the game itself seems to allow for the modification of "units" to be added like that.

Heck, even changing up the combat and giving people a few Scenerios, such as having some Kaiju protecting their eggs or stopping a bunch of humans or aliens out to enslave the Kaiju makes for a change of pace when it comes to the combat.

All in all, I found "Monsters: Destroy All Cities" to be a great addition to my collection, and I'll probably be playing it alot more often. And if there comes a time where some more material is added to this game, I'll pick that up too. But For now, I think I'll play it as it is for now before giving my friends a few homebrewed challenges to offset the wrestling vibes. :)

Thank you James & Robyn. :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Destroy All Cities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind words! The 10 HP monster you referenced has 1 rank in the Armored power, which grants +1 HP per rank taken, if that helps. We hope you enjoy the game and highly encourage house rules!
pixel_trans.gif
Barons of Braunstein
by Jacob H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2020 18:18:55

A fine small ruleset for standard historical adventures in the Middle Ages. It just has almost nothing to do with the Braunstein of its namesake.

There's one page suggesting you could play a Braunstein with these rules, but you're better off googling "how to run a Braunstein" for any actual guidance.

TLDR: A nice ruleset for historical fiction, but has as much to do with Braunstein as D&D.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barons of Braunstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Diceless Dungeons
by D'Artagnan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2018 07:41:53

I give it a 3/5. As a system, the only game design principals that this game has is the game design principal of limited resources and advancement. Advancement deals in that your character gets skill points through play, but even these are treated as a currency and are used to buy off death or being hit by monstrous abilities such as a basilisks stare turning you to stone. You don't level up immediately with skill points, but instead you hold onto them for use as the above or spend 7 of them to gain a new talent. Talents in this game do static things that always work, but can only be used X times per day in some cases. Talents like Frugal automatically haggle prices down 25%, while others like Oracle allow you to use their ability (in this case tell a prophecy) once per day. Outside of Talents, which as just mentioned are used as passive abilities or actives with uses per day, you have three items in the equipment list which act differently than each other (not counting obviously provisions which act as normal (X days/weeks rations)). Bows, which can be fired up to 200' away to reduce the strength of a foe by 1 type or the number of rounds needed to slay a group by 1. Armor and Shields, which do the same thing and are not differentiated, they both can be sundered if lethal wounds are accrued in order to avoid death via cancelling the gaining of those wounds and then must be repaired at 25% cost before they can be worn again. All other weapons do the same thing, that is to say in the combat system they are merely cosmetic. Traps have to be actively searched for which I like and prefer, usually house ruling out the "Search" skill in any other game because it encourages brute forcing your way through adventuring, while at the same time existing in games where tactics and combat competency are necessities to survival and brute forcing is shamed because of the difference between life and death. Traps deal up to 25 wounds and generally allow you to spend a skill point to half that amount. Combat amounts to, "Your party will take X wounds, mitigated by the arrows spent before the round." and then you divy them up amongst yourselves.

In my opinion, it's okay if you're in a situation where you literally cannot obtain dice and you NEED to roleplay, but otherwise it's a wireframe for which you have to build upon to make it playable for any sort of long running campaign wherein the system of play isn't just "you need to spend X things to stay alive or to avoid this consequence." 3/5 because it was only $3.50 at that price I can't comlain too much. Would be lower if it cost more.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Diceless Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Diceless Dungeons
by harley h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2018 00:22:54

This is a fantastically light and easy system to use and, as a previous reviewer said, it's ripe for use with other genres. I've already used it to run games of Star Wars and 7th Sea (treat ships like characters with their own stats and abilities). It's not completely flawless. There were a couple of minor things that I had to clarifiy with the writer or just houserule, but it's quickly become one of my all time favorite systems. Try it. For the price, even if you find you don't care for it, it's worth buying just to see how the system works.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Pits & Perils
by Brenton H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2018 19:12:15

Elegant rules, clearly written. My only issue is with the treasure table--am I supposed to roll for each monster or each group? I don't think it's mentioned.

Great OSR-style game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pits & Perils
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words! As per page 64, most treasure is found in hoards, although individuals may carry B/I-II or jewelry of higher value. In the end, the referee should place treasure as they see fit and in a manner consistent with game balance and the circumstances. Oh, and if you like the rules, pick up our FREE Referee Companion for quick-reference charts and some optional rules (like faster, deadlier combat) plus a free scenario. We wish you the best at your table!
pixel_trans.gif
Diceless Dungeons
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2017 19:12:31

I enjoyed my read through of Diceless Dungeon. I like the abstract take on diceless combat the Olde House Rules has come up with. I think this will click with my home group and hope to try it out in the near future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Diceless Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Diceless Dungeons
by Anthony O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2017 19:14:21

I love this product! For a while now I've been looking for a simple diceless system that still offered a very small level of resource management. This is a fantastic baseline for many great hacks and house rules! Keep up the great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words, friend! Now hack away at that thing...
pixel_trans.gif
Barons of Braunstein
by James H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2016 02:40:35

A light, yet robust, set of rules that hearkens back to the earliest days of our hobby when Major David Wesely took wargaming to its next logical evolution. Although only designed to run historical or psuedo-historical games out of the gate, the simple and straight-forward nature of the rules makes them easy to hack (I've written a high magic plugin, myself) and mold to your particular campaign needs. Frankly, the buy in price of less than three US dollars is an absolute steal, whether you're just looking for a simple yet robust set of easily malleable rules or a rare window that allows you to gaze upon the very beginning of our hobby. You should really own this thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barons of Braunstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Ruined Abbey of Saint Tabitha
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2016 20:38:48

If you plan on running a Pits & Perils campaign and you need a starting point for your homebrew world then this is an essential. Basic D&D had the Keep on the Borderlands and this is Pits & Perils foundation module/setting. They start you off with just enough base information and then your imagination fills in the gaps. I miss modular products like this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ruined Abbey of Saint Tabitha
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pits & Perils
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2016 20:29:39

Pits & Perils is old-school perfection & not and OSR retro-clone. A very unique original system without any obtuse archaic rules. The d6 mechanics of the system is great, so that you can focus more on role-playing and using your imagination. I read the rule book cover to cover and had to order the rest of the pdf’s in their catalog & a set of hard copies. The artwork really helps to inspire the early days of RPG/War gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pits & Perils
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pits & Perils
by Anders N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2016 02:01:43

I honestly, really love this system - it's a wonderful system both for beginners, introducing them to RPGs much like people were first introduced, and for veterans who want that experience again. It's not about nostalgia, it's about a form of gaming that requires invention and imagination over rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Barons of Braunstein
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2015 15:25:39

Very rules light and interesting RPG, written for Dark and Middle Age adventuring. The game tries to emulate historical fiction, with very little room for high fantasy tropes, but can easy handle monster heavy sword-and-sorcery campaigns.

For the price point, this is a must buy game, and I plan to keep a copy in my GM bag for quick play opportunities. Character generation takes a few minutes at most, and adventures can be spun together on the fly.

I rate it 5 stars, but I think the "low definition, high trust" nature of the rules could make this game a bit rocky with players that like crunchy rules or tricky character builds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barons of Braunstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
PP III: Infernal Realms
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2015 20:13:07

This expansion includes two specific topics I have been waiting for: the corsair character class and integrating Pits & Perils with Braunstein. The addition of new spells and arch fiends enhances the game without feeling bloated or introducing too much unnecessary complexity.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
PP III: Infernal Realms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Blood of Pangea
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2015 20:08:56

This is my favorite rule set produced by Olde House Rules so far. It is very rules light and diverse in character creation. The simple and intuitive magic system is refreshing. Olde House Rules read my mind when I wanted a merge of their older product with Pits & Perils. When Retrospace is re-released, they'll already have my money sent their way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood of Pangea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates