DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
GM'S COOKBOOK: Modern Events #2
by Saif A. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 05:26:23

Clean and to the point presentation. These are ideas for things that can happen "on the way to". They may or may not add a distraction to the story. Biggest value is to remind the GM to make the world feel more livable. But needs the GM thought in order to give them a meaning, otherwise players may just say "ok" to them and move on, it could be a bit more interesting if each of them gave a slight "interaction" factor as an idea for players to hop in into something.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GM'S COOKBOOK: Modern Events #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GM'S COOKBOOK: Cyberpunk-Genre Plot Hooks
by Saif A. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 05:21:51

Too few of them, and don't follow any structure. So no circumstances, potential twists, complications, locations or character details are given. For the value I would say it is alright, but will require serious thought from the GM side to develop these ideas. They are however good seeds.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
GM'S COOKBOOK: Cyberpunk-Genre Plot Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GM'S COOKBOOK: Modern Events #1
by Saif A. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 05:03:52

Collection of ideas of things that can happen around the characters on their way to something important. Can introduce danger of de-railing, although many of them are non-relevant or there's nothing to do about it. On their own, they don't offer much value in my opinion, but a creative GM could translate it in something relevant to set the tone of the world. Like a Street Race nearby, it can either de-rail or do nothing. Also it could be valuable when the GM introduces important factions or someone known to the players into such race. But on it's own, it opens more questions for the GM to answer, than to help him add value to a current game. I give 3.5 stars for the reminder of adding "things that are happening around us", but hard to use out of the box.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GM'S COOKBOOK: Modern Events #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bloody Hooks
by david s. j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2020 15:16:29

This is an excellent product and is not expensive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bloody Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mecha vs. Kaiju Campaign Setting (True20)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/27/2014 09:56:22

The game is set up much like other True20 books. You have your three archetypes/characters (Adept, Expert, Warrior) and a host of new feats and powers to choose from. Some are campaign-specific but almost all could be used anywhere else. In fact there is enough here that the main feature of MvK is readily apparent; you don't have to do games about fighting giant monsters all the time. Now of course the main plot and thrust of this game is fighting giant monsters, but I can easily see some adventures of exploring monster islands, contests between cocky pilots, mad scientists, children with newly awakened psychic powers.

When I first read this game my thoughts went first to Godzilla, but you can do Akira here as well and any number of other "Neo Tokyo" genres. Plus it is compatible with a host of True20 books I already have, so adding cyberpunk, horror or even comedy is easy.

If you don't like the campaign background you can leave it, but I think you would be missing out on something really fun if you do.

This might in fact be my favorite True20 setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mecha vs. Kaiju Campaign Setting (True20)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

POSTMODERN: Fantastic Classes
by Timothy P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2013 15:50:46

this is an excellent addition to any d20 modern gamers collection. if you've ever wanted to play the modern equivalent to a classic D&D class, such as the paladin, monk, wizard, ranger, psychic warrior, etc, this is basically a must have, as it's specifically made for that.

also, in addition to it's specific focus, it adds the "Shadowborn Hero" class, which is excellent if you want to play a creature of shadow right from the start, and want to expand your options beyond the very basic feats and races available in Urban Arcana, or if you prefer to play a mutant, there's an entire Shadowborn Hero class tree dedicated to giving you mutation points to spend on extra or improved mutations, always welcome.

if you want to have a fairly decent amount of low level magical or psionic ability, then there are several class tree's which allow you to while maintaining balance, and there's even a talent tree that let's you gain an animal companion after just 1 other talent, so you could have an animal companion as early as your 3rd level, something very much appreciated by myself and many of my gaming buddies with pets.

also, if you think this makes the low levels of a modern game a bit too fantastic, you can easily make the featured base classes into advanced classes using the rules provided, which is actually pretty nice if you plan to also use the epic character rules from blood & vigilance and want to be, say, an epic level warlike hero. (epic fighter!) as an alternative, there are also optional rules for making each fantastic class more mundane, but no less powerful, by changing the talent tree's they have access to. always a useful tool to have at hand.

the classes in this book are all fairly well balanced, even the "squishy" classes make up for it by having better and more useful talents than the vanilla squishy's, such as the smart & charismatic hero's.

they provide a guide to making a modern character who strongly emulates a fantastic class, such as how to turn a "Disciplined Hero" into a modern version of a classical Monk, and as a lover of the monk class, I gotta say, it works out pretty darned well.

however, this DOES bring me to my one problem with this book. as far as supernatural power goes, you have arcan and divine magic as well as psionics, but absolutely nothing for Ki, or spirit energy. I'm a huge fan of the Ki concept as I'm a lifelong martial artist, and modern even has it's own rules and feats for KI thanks to the "Blood And Fists" series, so I was really hoping they'd have a Ki talent tree.

However, this is really just a pet peeve, and is no real big problem, and it takes nothing away from the overall value and usefulness of this book. All in all, I give this book a 5 out of 5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
POSTMODERN: Fantastic Classes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

POSTMODERN: Iconic Combat Feats
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2011 17:29:41

Every d20 gamer loves feats, right? Well, if you agree, then this is a great product and you will drool over the vast array of feat paths presented here.

What it does: Iconic Combat Feats (ICF) presents a plethora of feat paths to make a hero unstoppable in combat. The concept will be familiar: you start with a feat, then make it improved, then advanced, then greater, and ICF takes this to about three more levels in many cases.

The good: more feats than you could possibly use. You'll want to create more characters just to start a new feat path you hadn't considered. There is a useful index of feats, named "Contents," at the end of the product. One very significant element of design is that most more advanced feat levels are divorced from previous advanced feat levels. This is easiest to explain with an example. Instead of having to have, say, advanced whirlwind attack in order to qualify for perfect whirlwind attack, you just need the normal prereqs plus enough BAB. This design element is vital because even an epic build could not have enough feat levels to gain each feat in a tree while taking other necessary feats. Unfortunately it can't be implemented across the board because some feats such as Dodge have already been officially sanctioned with full prereq path of advanced-greater-supreme.

The bad: there are two let-downs I'm sorry to say. First, ICF lacks a philosophy: a foreword explaining the reasons for using it and the design (above) would have been good. Lacking that may make it hard for GMs to decide whether to include all or part into their campaign planning, and hard for players to get their head around. Second - and this may reflect the very cheap price - it lacks a panel laying out these feats (with links) against the greater schema of feat building generally.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
POSTMODERN: Iconic Combat Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bride of Bloody Hooks
by Alexie R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2011 22:05:49

When you just can't be bothered with preparation, take this PDF and just flip to any page, then read the first random paragraph that catches your eye. That's your blood-splat adventure for the evening. If any PC's survive, rinse and repeat for the next time.

This product is just perfect for minimum preparation games like "Dead of Night", "Fear Itself" and the like. Surprisingly, it is better than either "100 Horror Adventure Seeds" and "100 Dark Places".

A very good value for eight page PDF, I'll give it an A.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bride of Bloody Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mecha vs. Kaiju Campaign Setting (True20)
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2010 13:59:11

Whether or not you use the Mecha vs. Kaiju setting, the mechanics and suggestions for the use of both Mecha and Kaiju in True20 are pricelessly good, and the point system makes it deliciously easy for a GM to balance PCs as they gain levels, and balance opponents' Mecha and Kaiju against them. The Mecha system provides such a wealth of options, with valuable examples that drive a robust, open-ended design system, that I am extremely confident that there is enough Mecha material in here for me to run several interesting Mecha-based campaigns. Awesome for anyone who likes True20 or Mecha at all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mecha vs. Kaiju Campaign Setting (True20)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Folio: Masterwork Qualities
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2010 00:27:37

I like the idea of this in general terms. The examples are well described. Costs seem seriously off and arbitrary between themselves too.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Folio: Masterwork Qualities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

STOCK ART: Dungeon Maps #1
by sean w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2010 16:29:33

The map was great. It came in multiple versions...one pdf, one tiff without a number key and one with a number key. The license with it is extremely fair. Nicely done basic map that would have taken me longer than just paying 2.49. Upon gazing at this map, an immediate adventure came to mind. I was able to use this map for inspiration and I got my whole adventure done in a short amount (at least to me). Hard to heap praise on basic products but this one deserves it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
STOCK ART: Dungeon Maps #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GM'S COOKBOOK: Superhero Subplots #1
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2010 07:05:51

I wanted a bit more in ths product. The idea is like the other plot seed PDFs (100 Planets, Horror Adventure Seeds, for example) but just too short and too few! On the other hand, the "sub-plot" hooks (they're all about "between the major actions") are clear and concise and live up to the "cookbook" approach. Then again, this is Superheroes and I was expecting a bit more plothooks about the central conflicts of the genre. However they do inspire adventures so they succeeded.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
GM'S COOKBOOK: Superhero Subplots #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GM'S COOKBOOK: Cyberpunk-Genre Plot Hooks
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2010 07:02:12

I wanted a bit more in ths product. The idea is like the other plot seed PDFs (100 Planets, Super Adventure Seeds, for example) but just too short and too few! On the other hand, the ploot hooks are clear and concise. Then again, this is Cyberpunk and I was expecting a bit more plothooks about the central conflicts of the genre than the seven or so given. However they do inspire adventures so they succeeded. I hope more GM cookbook series appear, perhaps with a bit more plot hooks.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
GM'S COOKBOOK: Cyberpunk-Genre Plot Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Campaign Workbook (Fantasy)
by Jonathan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2009 02:01:57

A very nice selection of forms that you can print out, fill out and put in a campaign binder. Covers many more areas than other similar campaign planners I have purchased in the past, including detailed pantheon coverage and even a page to list scripts for languages if you so choose.

Very useful, cleanly laid out, easy to read, and easy on the ink. While it is nothing that couldn't be done on ones own, it is very convenient and a time saver for those of us who would rather just print out a form rather than make one from scratch. If you are in the market for a campaign planner type of product I would give this one highest marks, especially considering the price. The only thing that I found to be a possible drawback was that the pages were not form fillable and therefore have to be printed out and written in with my chickenscratch handwriting. If this product allowed me to type my entries it would be perfect.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Workbook (Fantasy)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Supporting Cast: The Daily Standard (M&M Superlink)
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2008 01:12:58

As the boilerplate introduction to the Supporting Cast line states, superheroes are surrounded by lots of "ordinary people." The Supporting Cast line aims to present NPCs that GMs can drop into just about any Mutants & Masterminds campaign, and the Daily Standard presents one of the common tropes of superhero comics: the local newspaper. The author gives good advice about incorporating the Daily Standard into any modern superhero setting. The product provides robust write-ups (including stat blocks, if you really need them) for three newspaper staffers, and briefer ideas about a few more. For each of the fully-developed NPCs, the author provides strategies for using the NPC as an ally to the heroes or as an opponent. The product also includes about half a dozen plot hooks. The Daily Standard would make a good addition to any superhero campaign that doesn't already have a big-city newspaper in it—or even one that does, if that paper needs some competition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Supporting Cast: The Daily Standard (M&M Superlink)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 64 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates