DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $
 Publisher















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Whisper Campaigns
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2014 09:52:46

I have a big problem with this book; I wish that I had thought of it first. This book presents courtly intrigue in a way that is unique to the setting of Numenera. Courtly intrigue and politics are my favorite types of roleplaying themes and are sadly not well-represented in products being produced.

The book has exactly one metric buttload of new crunch options. There are some great new Foci, my favorite being Bends Light and Space (I like playing the invisible guy who gets to know everyone's secrets). At least one of them is hideously overpowered, though. I would not let a player take Carries Untold Treasures, as it's Tier Six Ability is simply too strong. I would have also liked to see a little more on actually attending court, such as a sample courtly session, and some encounter tables.

Those minor quibble aside, this is a great product. RCG have done a good job branding their work, and this gorgeous number continues their streak of great products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whisper Campaigns
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Echoes of the Prior Worlds
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2014 17:59:47

This book is outstanding. I can't say enough. So many adventures and ideas jam packed into an easy read. Many, many of these little mini adventures carried the creepiness, and weirdness of a Twilight Zone episode. I love this book, and will use many of these adventures, slightly modified. The maps, the 7 point process, Intrusions, etc. all just great. For me, this is a must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Echoes of the Prior Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Celestial Wisdom
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2014 17:24:30

For the price, more than outstanding value. I plugged these artifacts, cyphers and oddities right into my game. The AIs are great the setting is great. I do not regret buying this at all. However, a significant number of items I think are a bit too much of the "Your character feels this way when wearing", "Your character thinks", "Your character now thinks in X mode." That's the 4 star rating, right there. Other than that, hell yes, I will use this book left and right. The tiers and such new descriptors & foci, the pro way they were laid out, seem really cool. Definitely a good source of ideas.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Celestial Wisdom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Celestial Wisdom
by Bryon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2014 14:00:24

This is the first third party published product I've seen for the Cypher system and I was really intrigued by the concept. Celestial Wisdom really delves into the Datasphere and goes out of its way to make it both familiar to players not only based on our real-world understanding of the Internet and information sharing, but also familiar to people who've been doing more classic fantasy tabletop role-playing games for years.

The production values for the book are great. They use a lot of really striking colour and art assets which really set things apart from the style used by Monte Cooke Games products. While it doesn't look like the Numenera books, the product does have a very neat visual aesthetic and really feels well put together. The layout is clean and the material is easy to read and reference. The cyphers and artifacts are organized to make printing cards simple, but the bright colour scheme does get a little much with neon greens and purples. An index for the different cyphers and artifacts (as well as a one sentence blurb about what they do), would have helped me make more sense of these items and not need to dig in quite so much to find things.

Content-wise, Celestial Wisdom deals with ideas for new Machine Intelligences living within the Datasphere called Data Gods; new descriptors and foci specifically related to the Datasphere as well as general cybernetics and robotics; a handful of new cyphers and artifacts related to the datasphere; and finally, four locations to use as jumping off points for adventures into the Datasphere.

For me the real highlight of the book was the collection of Data Gods. Presented in a style similar to organizations from the Numenera Corebook, these vast Machine Intelligences each have their own unique agendas, working for or against one another (or sometimes simply doing their own things) and tying into the wider world of Numenera as well. Each offers a character some unique benefit for their worship in place of a Skill (as per the Organization rules). These Data Gods really remind me of the presentation of deities from older fantasy role-playing games, and it would be very easy to create a "Cleric" using this supplement.

Celestial Wisdom is an intriguing mix of new and familiar ideas and is definitely worth picking up if you've enjoyed playing a cleric-like character in other games or are just curious to see another author's take on the Ninth World.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Celestial Wisdom
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2014 15:37:58

It is a beautiful book! Daring to describe the Datasphere, opening doors to many narrative possibilities - one of the first supplements I recommend to GMs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Angels & Ashes
by Alex S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2014 08:30:34

I have been eagerly snapping up any Numenera content, from MCG or third parties, and without a doubt this is my favorite yet since the core book. Ryan Chaddock has created some amazing additions to the game with this supplement and I can't wait to use them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Angels & Ashes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Angels & Ashes
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2014 13:34:09

Ryan Chaddock has proven with Angels and Ashes that he is the best creator of third-party Numenera content. This book is highly imaginative, well-written and gorgeous. I highly recommend this book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Celestial Wisdom
by Ross B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2014 11:52:31

This is a great book. The primary focus is taking a lightly touched upon section in the Ninth World setting, namely AIs and the datasphere, and significantly expanding it. The book provides an overview of AIs within the Ninth World and provides numerous examples with a good variety to them. There are numerous character options, including the obvious new descriptors and foci, but also options for alternative powers for Types which I thought was unique and a good idea. Also plenty of new cyphers, artifacts, and oddities. Finally there are a number of adventure hooks and ideas.

For me the most useful aspect was fine tuning some of my own ideas into something that would functionally work within my game. I had my own concept of an AI I wanted to use, but this gave me a lot more ideas on how to develop who it was, what it's motivations were, and what it's powers were, and how it would interact directly with the story. So for me the best value in this book comes from the framework it provides in order to help you realize your own ideas within this category of the setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celestial Wisdom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Echoes of the Prior Worlds
by Dylan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2014 18:54:49

Really good book! The story seeds are especially creative and can make for amazing game play elements. It's always nice to see ideas from other people and the ideas presented in this book are top notch to say the least.

The Descriptors and Foci are imaginative too and make a campaign interesting as a certain character may seem unsuited for the current scenario but may become the most helpful party member.

Another very nice touch is that they have added Maps for the adventures which while not necessary give new GMs a great base to work from.

All in all the book is very good and worth well over the $3 I spent on it. I will definitely continue to purchase further materials from this author as they have all been great quality!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Echoes of the Prior Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Echoes of the Prior Worlds
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2014 07:31:00

Another great product from Ryan Chaddock Games. I am truly impressed with how much he "gets" Numemera. Once again another outstanding product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Celestial Wisdom
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2014 07:29:06

The writers of this book understand Numenera. And the idea of data gods put into Numenera is awesome, and it is done really well. Also it is chock full of cyphery goodness!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celestial Wisdom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Celestial Wisdom
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2013 00:31:59

This author gets the setting of Numenera, sees clearly what would be incongruous with the Ninth World and what adds to its weirdness and grandeur and gives us more of the latter. A really promising third-party contribution to a relatively new game. I'd hope for more like this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Celestial Wisdom
by Thorbjørn K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2013 22:31:54

The only bad thing I can think of is that this pdf does not have bookmarks, which could easily have been added. In its defense a lot of the content does not need to be referenced, which leads me to its good points: while Celestial Wisdom does add a good chunk of concrete stuff you can put into your game the place where it shines is how it simply inspires you. I leafed through the whole thing in a few hours and was left with the feeling that this was not simply an addition to the Ninth World of Numenera, but a necessity. After reading it I can no longer envision the setting not having these digital beings of insanity, power, and forgotten or temporally misplaced purpose.

On the layout side Celestial Wisdom is minimalistic in a good way. It does not explode in your face with its design, but it does enough to make it feel like you are reading a source book and not a draft manuscript. It does all it needs to do and leaves you with the content, which is excellent.

I would recommend this as a necessary addition to your setting materials, and thus give it a solid 5/5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Celestial Wisdom
by Benjamin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2013 23:50:29

I picked this up as an interesting add on to the Numenera Game, and found that it had more to offer for the game then the basic idea's for the data sphere and the types of "creatures" that live within it. I find the reminder that the "data gods" are not rational and do not think like a human very pointed, and also very accurate, no matter how "human" they where supposed to be originally, the time that they have operated without "supervision or control". Overall I feel that it is a very well designed book, and nicely written. it is well laid out.
The way it is laid out is nice and logical, so that each of the four chapters covering a clear section of material. The first chapter is of the data gods as well as some notes of their followers and the powers they might show. The second chapter shows changes in the characters foci, descriptors and such to allow for more of a connection to the data sphere. The third chapter shows a nice selection of new "toys" that relate to the data sphere. All divided up as they are in the main book of the game. The last chapter is just two pages of ideas for adventures, just the bare bones sort of speak, but enough with the ease of the Numenera system to easily flesh out even on the fly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Celestial Wisdom
by Rémi T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2013 10:35:43

Useful sourcebook, 50 pages of techno-gods and many new powers and cyphers -- and some good adventure seeds. I like the "AI has techno-fantasy gods" thing. Good work for a few bucks. I want more, now !

Sparse artwork and basic layout, but made with good taste.

And I hope there will be a POD version.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 45 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates