DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Encounter Critical III
by Jeffery S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2023 08:38:48

I will start by saying that if I was rating this as a Cha'alt expansion, then it would have been a 4. But this was marketed as an Encounter Critical product. There are entirely different expectations between the two and Venger did not deliver an Encounter Critical product (in my opinion).

The "sleaze" was way too high for this type of product. I realize that line is different for different people, but one can usually tell when something is "a bit too far". This is too far in my opinion for the intended audience. Players who want sleaze already had Cha'alt.

Next up, Vanth was destroyed? For me Encounter Critical IS Vanth. With Vanth destroyed in this edition and the Vanthians as refugees in another campaign setting, it just did not feel like Encounter Critical. It is like telling the kids they are going to Disney Land, but you take them to Six Flags where one little corner has been redone as Disney Land. Will the kids still have fun? Probably, but it isn't really Disney Land.

The changing of the system from "comically over-complicated" to OSR-lite was jarring. Was the old Encounter Critically too complicated mechanically? Yes. Did it need to be toned for a newer edition? Yes. But this seems a bit too far in the other direction. But for some this may be a perk and not a fault.

To sum up, if you like Cha'alt this is a fine expansion for that setting. If you like Encounter Critical this may not be what you are looking for. Since this was advertised as Encounter Critical I went with my rating of 2.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Encounter Critical III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cha'alt
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2022 19:21:29

get cha'alt, get all 3. Cha'alt is chock full of gonzo sci fi goodness, sleaze, and humor. NPC stat blocks are easy to plug into any OSR system. Reccomended. Not for the feint at heart.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Obsidian Escalation
by Colin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2022 07:39:33

Obsidian Escalation is a better spin on Crimson Escilation and invokes the same mind feel one would have while watching The Mob Rules from Heavy Metal. Average Cha'alt combats lasts between 2-4 rounds and I think it would be cool to see a rule included where players could Escilate the Critical Hit threshold through expending Divine Favor or bringing the heat themselves.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Obsidian Escalation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cha'alt: Chartreuse Shadows
by Kyle C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2022 20:31:40

This is the third in the Cha'alt series that I've backed from KS and the third time I've been seriously impressed with the author's work. The quality is as impressive as ever, the layout and design is great, and the campy science-fantasy straight-to-VHS setting is always a blast to play in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt: Chartreuse Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cha'alt: Fuchsia Malaise
by Kyle C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2022 20:19:32

Another awesome title by the publisher! I also backed this on KS and the quality is top notch. This is the perfect setting for my group when we're just in the mood for something wierd. I'm glad to have added this to my collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt: Fuchsia Malaise
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cha'alt
by Kyle C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2022 20:07:27

This was the first of three Cha'alt titles that I backed on KS and ordered the hardcover. Excellent quality! The physical and design quality of this book is beyond most big publishers. Cha'alt has been my groups go-to game for beer and pretzels nights since launch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Crimson Dragon Slayer D20 Revised
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2022 16:20:21

Venger did a great job of putting together these "D&D on Arcade Mode" rules, as this is one of the best rules light fantasy games around. These simple rules are perfect for convention play, online play, or just hanging out with your friends around the table for the ultimate beer and pretzels game.

I rarely play any game Rules As Written, and I always modify and houserule every system I play, even my beloved B/X. Crimson Dragon Slayer is no different, but really the only thing I would change is the Saving Throw mechanic. Its a bit harsh, even for a game like this. Luckily, Crimson Dragon Slayer's Skill Check rule works perfectly as a Saving Throw mechanic, so you don't have to look very far to find a replacement for the Saving Throw rule.

I would also recommend checking out Venger's Cha'alt Ascended, which is basically a book of feats that can be used with the Crimson Dragon Slayer rules to help flesh out your character a bit more.

Nice work, Venger! This is really good stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crimson Dragon Slayer D20 Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Play Your Character Like A Fucking Boss
by Clint R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2022 11:52:16

Title should have warned me, but I bought anyway based on the reviews. The content isn't that interesting. The worst part about it is the overwhelming masculine voice through the whole thing. Every single example of a character is male. Every pronoun referring to PCs or players is male.

The only female pronouns in the document are from this sentence: "Zeb eyes the woman in front of him, flashes her a quick half-smile, and motions for her to approach. Looking deep into her eyes, I wordlessly express my barely contained lust for her voluptuous body." Embarassing...

The paragraph title right before this uses the word "bitch".



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Play Your Character Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Three Swordsmen
by Bertrand L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2022 04:37:23

Three very interesting and flavorful variant swordsmen, and the "He who lives by the sword" table makes the product even better.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Three Swordsmen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cha'alt: Fuchsia Malaise
by Lon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2022 20:41:35

So you bought Cha'alt, turned the final page and still felt you needed more wierdness and hallucinatory power chords in your life? Despair not, Venger - the mad high-priest of gonzo - has your back! Fuchsia Malaise layers extra detail onto the Cha'alt setting: races, places and adventures to draw the brave away from the dark delights of civilization.
Oh, and lots of fantastic tables. Few designers get this right, but dropping the bones on a good random table should spark your imagination and have a gleeful grin spreading across your face. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt: Fuchsia Malaise
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cha'alt
by Lon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2022 20:16:01

A fantastic opium dream of an RPG setting. Even if you'd personally find using the setting undiluted waaay too gonzo, there is so much cool content here that you can either cherry-pick bits of awesome to add to a campaign or merely let the stoner-doom-metal vibe spark your own creativity. It's like being struck on the back of the head with a psychedelic ball-peen hammer. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cha'alt
by Michael Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2022 14:46:03

I picked up Cha'alt on drive-through RPG. I got the rule book, Crimson Dragon Slayer, Chartreuse Shadows, and the Fuchsia Malaise.

Excellent work. Not what I expected. It was very well put together and contained extreme depth. I definitely recommend Cha'alt.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cha'alt: Chartreuse Shadows
by Robert E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2022 18:47:33

I've bought a few of the Cha'alt series, from Kickstarters, and finally decided to run one. I started with Chartreuse Shadows, and so far have really gotten a kick out of it.

I started with the Cremza’amirikza’am megadungeon. The first level is full of flavour, every encounter ripe with gonzo details. A junkie pleading for help leads to an encounter with a drug dealer, elves pedal dead bodies for entertainment, and cultists ask for help to thaw their frozen goddess. The humour is obvious and lovingly nods at pop culture references. Not androids, but replicants, for example, examining what it is to be human.

It's a gonzo world in that there are VHS tapes and elves, caves and lasers. I find it easy to use what I want from the descriptions, and even run the encounters using a totally different system than that which the author included.

Definitely glad to have finally given this a shot!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt: Chartreuse Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cha'alt: Chartreuse Shadows
by James P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2022 15:35:35

This is amazing.

It promised "eldritch, gonzo, science-fantasy, post-apocalyptic campaign setting with random tables, humor, pop-culture references, and grindhouse / exploitation vibes," as well as "edgier, sleazier, and darker material" and it delievers.

Like the energizer bunny, it keep going, and going in a good way. At 360-pages, there is a lot, but it does not get stale or boring, like some longer works do.

My advice? Pick up a copy and enjpy a little guilty pleasure...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cha'alt: Chartreuse Shadows
by caul a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2022 16:08:34

I am writing this review now that I have finished the book cover to cover and can do it honestly. This book will not disappoint any fans of weird and gonzo modules or fans of his previous work. It delivers where venger is strong and explores new themes that add something meaningful to the gaming experience. I'll skip over too much content review as the first portion of the book has it's own reviews already and the new part doesnt need to be spoiled but needless to say you can tell venger wrote these with gamers experience in mind. You cant go wrong in print or pdf this game will deliver fun to your table whether in person hidden from the main stream gaming stores in the lower speak easy hidden behind the paint room or online at a vtt.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 336 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates