DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Player's Handbook Like A Fucking Boss
by steven s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2018 14:34:32

I bought this for my players and they have all become more boss since, jumping into character and having a blast. I was looking for something to give new players for a long time and Venger came through again. Game Masters Buy this for your players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

How to Game Master like a Fucking Boss
by steven s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2018 14:32:33

This is probably the only Game Master advice book I have read(and I've read a lot) that went out of its way to say be confident in yourself above all and the game will come together. That advice really stuck with me, and then he covers almost all the basics from improv to encounters. I cannot recommend this book enough to old and new Game Masters alike.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
How to Game Master like a Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Islands of Purple-Haunted Putrescence
by steven s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2018 14:27:19

The Good

  • Evocative and atmospheric
  • Random Tables (Dark Secrets table)
  • Fun treasure
  • Hex Crawl with unique encounters (clowns man)
  • Juvenile fun
  • Great art The Bad
  • Unorganized
  • Vengers motif is not for everyone, tongue firmly in cheek

Venger Satanis makes bawdy tongue in cheek adventures and this was the first one I ever bought in hard cover too. Its easy to use but does require a full read or two to find everything.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Islands of Purple-Haunted Putrescence
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sexual Predators
by Leslie F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2018 04:48:39

This is a very usefull addition to a very perverse game. The cultural references and Cheech Marin flashback were well worth the price. The random tables answere a lot of questions no one thought to ask, like "where does that alien sexpot keep her clit". Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sexual Predators
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alien Ass, Hydrogen Gas, or Cosmic Grass... No One Warps For Free
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/27/2018 03:37:47

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This massive Alpha Blue supplement clocks in at 74 pages, 1 page front cover, 2 pages kort’thalis glyph, 2 pages of editorial, 1 page ToC, 3 pages for notes, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 64 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

This review was moved up in my reviewing queue at the request of my patreons.

All right, first things first: This is an Alpha Blue supplement – this setting/game is author Venger As’Nas Satanis’ homage to sleazy 70s scifi porn parodies. The rules-set employed is, as always, VSd6, a super rules-lite d6-based system, supplemented by a metric ton of dressing tables that ultimately are optional.

The themes featured within do include sexuality, pop-culture references galore and the like. I have reviewed the older Alpha Blue supplements, so if you need to get an idea whether this is for you or not, please take a look at my reviews of these supplements. If you are easily offended, particularly by depictions of promiscuity and free sex, then this is not for you. This supplement includes erotic photography, cosplay, etc.

There is another thing you may want to be aware of: The layout is actually gorgeous, but has the text, at least in the default version, as white text on a colored background. This background sports a couple of white-ish/light blue spots in the lower third of the right side of the page. If you’re like me and prone to migraines, you may, for once, want to instead read the printer-friendly version – it has all the artworks and black text on white backgrounds. Thank the space overlords that we do get the choice here.

The pdf begins with an introductory fiction and then presents a method for character generation in 3 words/phrases. For anyone looking for even less rules and effort, this should do the trick, but ultimately, I fail to see the use. Not saying that this isn’t useful to some folks, mind you, and the author does acknowledge that, but yeah – it’s here if you play Alpha Blue pretty much like an almost-story-game with a GM. More useful would be the table of d30 alien philosophies, which do feature Venger's irreverent, trademark tone. “Time is an illusion; lunch-time doubly so.” If that got a smirk or chuckle out of you, then you’ll probably like the humor.

The pdf then proceeds to provide more career options: Primitive screw head is for the muscle-for-brains folks, but the career doesn’t have any unique mechanics per se. The pdf also presents the quantum sorcerer, who gets one spell per level, of which 20 are presented. If you liked Venger’s “wave it away” type of spellcasting in Crimson Dragon Slayer’s latest incarnation, you’ll like this. As a person, I loathe that they have no proper descriptions, limitations, etc. – to me, this is the same type of competitive BS that makes me hate FATE with a fiery passion. On the plus side, at least you can cast each spell but once per day.

Bards and space rangers are presented – though there is nothing going on regarding rules here. Empaths are more interesting and can charm targets and measure the emotional temperature of targets, which may obviously backfire. These are really cool. Same goes for psychostrategists, who have a rather…öhem…unique initiation rite that permanently stains their crotch, courtesy of kool-aid tequila worms from the Habanero system. No, I did not make that up. These guys can foretell outcomes at the beginning of adventures. Nice one.

The pdf also sports optional rules for mortal wounds, pushing your luck, cowering behind obstacles or aiming. I’d strongly suggest thinking about adding a few of these, particularly if you’re planning on playing more than a one-shot with the Alpha Blue system. The pdf does briefly touch upon justifying PC capabilities and sports an interesting NPC profiling table that is somewhat funny in its misanthropy. Purple Prizm, the famous and delicious drink (name is always in its own font and purple in the pdf, btw.!), now gets a total of 8 different effects. 8 means to end a scene and 4 general ideas who the PCs are complement this section. It should be noted that the back of the book does contain a couple of extensive dressing tables – one for names of strip clubs porn shops, etc. (30 entries), 100 different generic tattoos, a table to determine body parts where stuff can be, a 100-entry table of flora and fauna, and one of 14+ futuristic prefixes. There is also a table of 12 means to encounter David S. Pumpkins.

This fellow features in one of the adventures/adventure-outlines within. As a general note, the modules don’t bother much with read-aloud text, but they do sport copious amounts of different tables.

All righty, this is as far as I can go without diving into SPOILERS. Potential players should jump ahead to the conclusion.

..

.

All right, only BDSMs (Bold Space Dungeon Masters) around? Great! So module number one is called “Sleazy Rider” and begins by entering a bar, where spacers and ladies (including a random seduction table) as well an alien (again with a table) are included; interesting: Female PCs can also get some action. Leaving, the PCs notice a gorgeous alien and get into a fight with the jealous boyfriend. Basically, the remainder of the module deals with the PCs trying to hawk the blue crystals that they ought to have by now – they stumble through the sleazy neon district, from pawn shops to strip clubs, and try t get rid of the hot goods. This has a very nice “night out in town” kinda vibe, an almost hallucinatory blur….or at least, that’s how this starts. Things do become more complex, when the krylons and zith enter the fray – nice bait and switch re tone etc. here! (As an aside: We do get proper stats for antagonists.)

“Resistance Disappearing” begins with an escort service, and prominent members of the resistance disappearing. The PCs will have to save their old acquaintance, the gaseous entity Acjo Suffae from a dictatorial AI called Zero Tolerance and its soldier drones. This one is basically a brief sketch.

“Skinless and Horny” is basically a brief vignette about zenobites and the skinless, but horny folks that escaped them. “Spring break Transport” is an escort mission that pits the PCs against a space gang. “F@%$ Ilsham” has the PCs pitted against space jihadists. To complicate matters, Cthulhu may be summoned by nasty Theta Chartreuse agents – who, though, may well annihilate the bastards. Oh, and there’s a toga party. This one could have carried a more complex set-up. “Riding Dirty” has the PCs pressganged into some smuggling, which is basically a series of a few, brief encounters. You can run this in less than 2 hours. “Revel in your Time” has the PCs realize that they’re all replicants. Don’t expect a thought-provoking meditation on transhumanist questions here – instead, think of fraudulent doctors, a painting, and a unicorn running amok. The latter can impale PCs, but oddly doesn’t get stats.

“No Pussy for Old Men” has the PCs act as bodyguards for sex-workers – thing is, the cock-blocked targets are congressmen, and thus, some nasty assassins will need to be dispatched. After these, an elite squad will be sent – which is supposed to be superior, and the outline notes means for the PCs to triumph, but we get no stats for the squad, which is a bit annoying. “Shenanigans on Alpha Blue” takes place on the space station, and may have the PCs encounter the aforementioned Mr. pumpkin, sabotage or save a shuttle. “She Said, He Sent Assassins” puts the PCs into an Altered Carbon-like scenario, where multi-trillionaire Ziks Hardweek ostensibly is now broke, courtesy of his now-ex, D~$~-Star, but actually, the broke guy is…just a clone.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting re very good on a formal level. On a rules-language level, the pdf oscillates between being precise and providing proper stats and not doing so and championing more of a hand-waving approach. Layout is per se gorgeous and adheres to a 2-column full-color standard, though, as noted, I really appreciated the printer-friendly version this time around. The artworks include erotic photography and cosplay, cartoons and CGI-graphics of varying quality, ranging from excellent to okay. As a whole, this should be considered to be an aesthetically-pleasing file, at least if you enjoy looking at scantily-clad women. If you’re into men, you’ll get no eye-candy, though. The non-sexual full-color artworks within are also rather nice. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.

Venger As’Nas Satanis provides some very helpful variant rules to add a bit of tactical player agenda to the game, and the various adventure-sketches and angles are per se well-written, interesting and funny in a way. At the same time, the supplement misses the chance of making all careers equally interesting or relevant from a mechanical point of view. Apart from the first adventure (-sketch), the vignettes this time around all clock in on the short side of things, often being basically a short sidetrek, and not more. This is per se not bad, mind you, but I couldn’t help but feel like quite a few of these angles deserved a bit more.

If you’ve been enjoying the Alpha Blue supplements released so far, then this will provide more of the theme and style you enjoyed; personally, I do think that Battle Star: Trek Wars was a bit more ambitious regarding the adventure outlines within. That being said, the first adventure outline, the one where Venger does become ambitious, may well be the best one he’s penned for Alpha Blue so far! As a whole, my final verdict will hence clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up due to in dubio pro reo.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alien Ass, Hydrogen Gas, or Cosmic Grass... No One Warps For Free
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

How to Game Master like a Fucking Boss
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 17:38:13

Since it's your birthday, I'll add a comment to my long-standing five-star view.

This is by far your best product (I've read). Well worth every sultani I paid. It's clear, insightful, and concise.

Could I find the same information elsewhere? Sure I could, but I could also drive around town in a Renault Twizy or a Pagani Huayra. When they cost about the same, I choose the Huayra.

I like the cut of your jib.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to Game Master like a Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport
by Martin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 13:18:13

Growing up in the shadow of Nuclear Holocaust of the 1980's - I just recently learned how to "love the bomb". Gamma Turquoise is part of that love as an excellent setting that bridges the Mad Max Wasteland Weekend setting to a larger star-faring campaign. The overall adventure is a sand-box: the art, layout and writing provide a ton of inspiration for a Waste Marches type of gaming. Definitely pick up, if your Apocalypse World is getting too grim-dark and you need a bit of nuclear glow to brighten up your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sexual Predators
by Martin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 13:03:10

The "supposed" last Alpha Blue suppliment (I'll see it when I believe it) - Sexual Predators (SP) is a fitting gem for the Alpha Blue crown. A series of encounters for the Alpha Blue RPG, SP also delivers awesome art, a cool deck plan, and a series of gonzo random tables usable in any space-based campaign. A must-have for the Alpha Blue complete-est; and consider picking up if you want 60 pages of mind-blowing creative adventure to add a bit of much needed Heavy Metal to your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sexual Predators
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alpha Blue
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 09:56:45

Tabletop RPG meets your favorite sci-fi fan-fiction. The rules are light, but the book has plenty of random result tables, settings and story seeds to get you in the action quickly. This isn’t for everyone, but for those with filthy minds, this is a great time with a group of friends.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alpha Blue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Liberation of the Demon Slayer
by Daniel N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 09:32:12

A while back I was playing in a fantasy campaign and we entered a strange "space ship" type cavern with weird technology and a bald dude that I charmed to become my body guard with his laser - amazingly awesome

With the same GM, we played a one shot where the party was entering a trap filled cave to find an ancient sword- deadly as hell and amazing fun.

So I pick up Liberation of the Demon slayer and find out that BOTH of those adventures where levels from this "mega" dungeon - HELL YEAH

One thing I really love about this book is how each level of the dungeon has its own feel and while you certainly an delve deeply in as it's designed, there is no reason you cannot do exactly what my GM did and just pull levels and stick them into what you are doing for some aded weirdness!

The book started with a bunch of house rules and reasons people might adventure and contains enough levels for a full campaign.

Art is great, though on the “adult” side - but that really sells the sword and soccer feel of it to me.

All in all a great module, I ran the st level at GenCon this year and the group LOVED it!

As I player we used Basic Fantasy RPG, as a Referee I used Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers of Hyperborea - both systems worked well and I could see this being run in just about any OSR type game with ease.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Liberation of the Demon Slayer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alien Ass, Hydrogen Gas, or Cosmic Grass... No One Warps For Free
by Daniel N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 09:07:38

So, I picked up Alpha Blue a while back and along the way have slowly purchased most of the supplements that have been created for it, along with a few kickstarters and a bunch of PDFs and books from here and Amazon.. but never ran the game.

The highly sexualized nature of it seemed a double edge sword, super fun to read, but would my regular RPG group think I'm a bit weird after running a game such as this?

When the opportunity came for me to run a one shot, I said "fuck it" and proposed Alpha Blue.. the group agreed and I started flipping through all my books to find the right adventure to get them excited so to speak.

This volume has a bunch of new rules, charts and 10 or so scenarios, of which I chose "Sleazy Rider"

In this adventure the party is mistakenly given some valuable blue crystals and chaos ensues. Lot's of funny hijinks, some odd sexual stuff and a fantastic table on interacting with aliens that you may or may not understand made this adventure super fun. So much so that the group wanted to run a a 2nd session to finish their business so to speak.

This book is loaded with great art and great ideas, the adventures are silly and fun and pack a bunch of "adventure" into a few short pages.

As far as the sexual stuff goes, I found its easy to read the table and adjust how graphically you describe stuff to keep everyone comfortable,, so if you’ve been holding out on running Alpha Blue for that reason, give it a try.

Also…. Grabba the Butt … come on, you know it’s funny..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alien Ass, Hydrogen Gas, or Cosmic Grass... No One Warps For Free
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sexual Predators
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2018 14:17:48

Great supplement for Alpha Blue. It's a bit like Mad Magazine for table top RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sexual Predators
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss
by Hal G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2018 15:07:38

If you arn't familiar with Venger Satanis and his particular flare for naming books, you might pass this by as a joke after you read the title. Don't do that. I put the carriage before the horse and got Adventure Writing II before I got this one... it was so invaluable to me that I needed to add this to my collection. And it's just as invaluable. I doesn't matter what style of game you run, this book will have something that you will be able to take away to make your adventures better. It calls attention to the obvious things that are so basic and fundamental that they get overlooked in the heat of making an adventure... its a must read and I give it my full recommendation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

La Bas Chartreuse
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/07/2018 07:22:17

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement intended for Venger Satanis‘ „The Outer Presence“-game clocks in at 11 pages, with half a page front cover, 1 page devoted to the editorial and 1 page devoted to the big Kort’thalis glyph, leaving us with 9.5 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

Now, first things first – while the name implies as such, do not expect a homage to Là-bas by Joris-Karl Huysmans – instead, this brief supplement represents basically a plug-and-play weirdness that could theoretically be inserted easily into an ongoing game. Theme-wise, this is, unsurprisingly for The Outer Presence, lovecraftian and heavily indebted to the aesthetics of the Cthulhu mythos. That being said, structure is not traditionally the strength of Kort’thalis Publishing offerings, so be aware of the need to read this, in its entirety, before attempting to use it.

The following contains SPOILERS. Potential players should jump ahead to the conclusion.

..

.

Only GM’s around? Great!

The pdf begins, after a brief introduction, with its longest section, which is written, well, I might add, as an in-character narrative of an explorer happening upon the demonic stairway and the horrible consequences thereof. That being said, the dimensions of the stairway are actually are found on the last page – it’s 700 steps long. There is a brief table of wandering encounters: Guerilla fighters, natives, cartel thugs, cultists and an expedition, as well as a tentacle dripping lurker can be found here and contextualize this with the implicit south-east Asian jungle. A table of 4 entries allow the GM to establish who surprises who, if any. None of these random encounters get any stats.

Now, the stairs ostensibly lead to hell, but within 30 ft. of the entrance to it, there is the monolith, covered in vagina-like mouths dripping slime. This monolith also acts as a gateway to an alien universe, with 6 entries in a table of things that happen to you (hint: you won’t like them) and 6 entries noting some kinds of silver lining for the experience.

Speaking of “lack of structure”: We get a table for the amount of blood around the monolith after a d20 table of properties for alien metal. Guess what does not show up in this supplement?

Bingo. Alien metal.

The table is per se cool, but it applies more to Dead God Excavation, and feels like it eats up page-count here that the set-up could have really used, for there are 3 one-page artworks, which, while all really neat b/w-pieces, further cut down the page count describing the phenomenon itself. If we take the alien table and artwork tables away, we arrive at 4.5 pages remaining…and I couldn’t help but feel that we could have used more space to actually develop the concept. A table of 6 entries in the table “Thy Destiny Awaits” allows for the creation of consequences of the trip down these infernal stairs.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good on a formal level. Due to the absence of any rules-relevant components, there are no chances to screw that up – this is basically system neutral. Layout adheres to a GORGEOUS two-column standard with a sickly green tint, runes and different splotches of blood on each page – this is a gorgeous pdf. The pdf also comes with a more printer-friendly version. The pdfs also come fully bookmarked for your convenience – kudos indeed!

Venger Satanis is a talented author – he can actually succeed at evoking the, admittedly, clichéd aesthetics of the Cthulhu Mythos in a way that is visceral and effective. Surprisingly so. And I like the idea of La Bas Chartreuse! A hellish stairway that could be easily plugged into your game? Heck yeah!

The execution, though, suffers from a couple of flaws: Even for the most rules-lite of Venger’s VSd6-engine based games, this is very flimsy as far as gaming content is concerned. The structure, while portraying atmosphere in an excellent manner, makes the GM slowly piece together what the hell is actually going on, and the insertion of the alien metal table in the middle doesn’t really help navigate this somewhat confusing sequence. This is pretty much as GM-unfriendly in its presentation and structure as it can be – it’s a solid reading experience, its presentation is beautiful, but it’s not a well-presented or -structured supplement.

It also needlessly hamstrings itself by being super peculiar in some aspects, vague in others – the reader should not have to search through the entirety of the pdf to discern how the location looks, and its close association with the implicit Sri-Lankan angle is intriguing, but also limits the use of this stairway unduly. Think about it: Make this a “wandering” staircase; have a table of omens for its arrival, for its door, and make it recurring…and suddenly, you have one nasty place. Egress from the stair may well put the PCs out of space or time, etc. – there is potential here, but none of these intriguing angles are actually developed or mentioned within. Instead, as presented, we have a somewhat cthulhoid staircase that leads to hell. The monolith, the second big feature herein, alas suffers from having to stand up to LotFP’s “Monolith from Beyond Space and Time” and its supremely creative effects, and falls short in every conceivable way.

In short: This is a surprisingly weak offering for Venger, perhaps the weakest supplement I have seen him produce. Now, the low price point does salvage this supplement to an extent, but ultimately, I’d consider this only interesting for fans of Venger that are completists. My final verdict will clock in at 2 stars due to the low asking price.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
La Bas Chartreuse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kobayashi Maroon
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/25/2018 16:52:31

How am I supposed to say no to an Alpha Blue product that invokes the memory of one of my favorite things in one of my favorite movies ever?

That answer is "No. I am not going to ignore it."

Now sometimes I like to read books to review on my lunch break at work. Yeah. That wasn't going to happen with this one. Look, there is nothing X-Rated in this book. Maybe R, maybe a racy PG-13. Nothing more. But it is certainly Not Safe For Work, so keep that in mind.

This is a collection of three short adventures.

Episode one is a riff on the Kobayashi Maru, you need to rescue The Vanessa before Yog-Soggoth comes..er, wait that sounds bad. Before Yog-Soggoth arrives. I dig this one since I have been all about mixing Trek and Cthulhu. I am not sure I can play this one straight though. Still, I love the idea and it really made me laugh.

Episode two is an Amok Time riff and I must say kudos to author Zoltar Khan Delgado (no shit, that's his name. I really, really want it to be his real name too.) for coming up with Pr0n Fa'ar. I am disapointed in myself for not coming up with it myself. But then again I was not blessed with a name like Zoltar. With a name like that there are certain expectations.

The third and last epsiode features a wine mixing event in which the PCs are security. It's a pretty clever set up and could be run complete straight to be honest. The NPCs are all rich, powerful, extremely good looking or all the above. This where the power of the three galaxies come to play. Of course there is going to be trouble!

We end with an Appendix of random tables that will only ever find use in an Alpha Blue game. My only gripe about this book is where was it when I REALLY needed it? You know back in 1985.

But in all seriousness, this is just good old pervy fun. I won't run it for my kids, but I will mine it for ideas. Plus my kids are old enough now that if they find it and want to run it for their groups that is fine. Serious. Why is being a "murder hobo" ok but a pervert is not? Give me a pervert any day.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kobayashi Maroon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 250 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates