DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
OP45 - Isle of Lime
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2021 22:48:40

Note that this is a pure railroad. The interactiing elements of hex D is evocative. The layout of the pdf is good. You can play this as a solo adventure without DM while reading it for the first time. Zero prep required. 2 pages. It seems ideal for a quick game.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
OP45 - Isle of Lime
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
All OP offerings are railroads. It is five encounters in a single page. Thanks for the review!
FS10 - Utopian Tower
by Iiro K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2021 14:34:09

I used this as a exactly what it was meant to be, a quick little adventure into the wilds where the player encounters an abandoned tower. While I altered enemies present at the tower and changed the layout, I found it to be an excellent basis from which to make a nice side-quest that can be dropped anywhere in a campaign. The tower design and enemy placements are good in my opinion.

For critique on the solo-module I'd say that it would be nice to have a slightly expanded options for wilderness encounters. While the adventure does contain a couple, I'd much rather have a just a little more of that for the DM to pick from what they want to throw onto the player's path. Still that is easy enough to do for a DM on the fly. Second point is that I've noticed the FS series almost always has a town attached to the adventure. While it is nice that it gives plentiful towns and thorps to use in games, I do think they are kind of wasted, the modules can be run out of a singular village instead where the DM bases the campaign.

Overall I still like this adventure quite a bit. It has everything a DM needs for a couple of hours of fun for the DM and an intrepid adventurer. However, if the pages used to describe the town could be harnessed to further expand the wilderness or tower sections, it'd be worth six stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FS10 - Utopian Tower
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OP42 - Bell Tower Bravery
by Andrea M. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2021 14:35:56

A nice adaption of The Hunchback of Notre Dame for 1 player. I plan to use it as a screening/introduction adventure for future players who are interested in my gaming style, my home-developped rules and world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OP42 - Bell Tower Bravery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you, we are thrilled you enjoyed it!!
OP42 - Bell Tower Bravery
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2021 00:52:15

Recently I soloed my way through this one page adventure for Fifth Edition D&D. The RPG system I used was Picture This!. It is available at DriveThruRPG. It is only one page of rules so you do need to fill in the "holes" (example - no stats on a devil). I had better explain more about Picture This! The rules state that you download five images for your phone which become spells. I am not a "phone" guy. I am old school. So, I used five random Magic the Gathering cards which had a mana cost of three or less. This worked great! I have decided that the character levels in the game will at least be one to twenty, so I now have to come up with the rules for character advancement . . . I used the solo engine that I have been testing out so that I could solo my way through this. My fire wizard used Pestilent Haze to avoid a missile attack, he used Molten Blast for his missile attack, he sent demon number one at the monster (the demon fell off the tower), and then demon number two. They grappled and then both of them fell off the tower to their deaths. My wizard even explored the basement of the tower (he got sick down there and had to go to a healer). So, this is a fun two hour adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the review, we are thrilled you enjoyed it!
FS8 - Ransom of the Thane's Daughter
by Iiro K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2021 10:28:43

I ran this with minor cosmetic modifications to suit my game and two players instead of one.

Thematically I quite enjoyed the adventure. A kidnapping, a search for the hidden lair and then the rescue, a classic set up. The story is easily transferrable between settings and locations. While I used the original swamp idea, I could see it being adapted easily enough with tweaks to the random encounter table. The hexmap exploration is an interesting aspect, however I ended up skipping it due to not wanting to hand out a map of the area to the players just yet and handling it without one would be difficult. Instead it was easy enough to give them a heading, roll up a couple of random encounters on the way and then set them at the hideout itself. And this makes it an easily adaptable, as you can alter things without losing the idea of the adventure.

The dungeon itself was nice, in my opinion. Perhaps a little too small for my two player party, but there is always an option to add extra rooms if needed. The base design, however, was solid and should prove enough for a lone character who has just survived the trek through the swamp. As for the enemies, I found that it offers a very similiar feel to FS1 Fortitude Dungeon when it comes to the encounters beyond the primary antagonists of the adventure and a player who had played that one did ask if this was from the same designer midplay. However, the primary antagonists feel a little too dangerous for a solo character to face against. Not only do they have a good chunk of hit points to spare, but there is also the threat of them being able to take out a non-warrior character out in one strike. While there are certainly room for clever players to maneuver into advantageous situations, the relatively high armor class and hit points make it a bit more of a dice game than is comfortable for level 1 characters.

Despite that, I found myself enjoying reading through the adventure and running it. It offers a fun, short dungeon crawl for a quicker session, especially if you forgo the exploration aspect. I would say that the adventure itself should provide a good 5-8 hours of fun in a fantasy world, depending on how swiftly the player(s) act. Overall a good, if challenging, module in the FS-series. Certainly a favourite that I will gladly reuse again at a later date.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FS8 - Ransom of the Thane's Daughter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much we are glad you enjoyed it! Excellent job on the modifications as well :)
OP36 - Errand for Endle
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2021 18:25:14

This two page adventure is for D&D Fifth edition, but I used Feline Dream-O-Naughts. To solo it I used a solo engine that I have been testing out. I used four cats which were in the dream of a man. In this adventure, the questing man did a bit of walking, talking, and carrying things for the cats. He was a bit confused (the cats were talking after all). On day one they picked up a quest from Farmer John. He wanted a fox to be killed. The questing man built a fox trap with the help of the cats. The trap caught Grump Cat. They released him. On the second day, this same trap caught a two pound rat. They killed it and they then discarded this quest. On the third day they encountered an invisible wall across the road. They climbed trees to get over it. Later, they received a quest and food from Farmer Endle. Next, they encountered a young wolf. They bribed it with food and made a pet out of it. During the last half of the adventure they had to fight two rats, two stirges, and the big climax was the battle with the dire rat. It did kill Chonk the Cat. This was a fun adventure. Give it a try!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OP36 - Errand for Endle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
LOL we love that take on it and are thrilled you enjoyed it!
FS9 - Water Weird's Wake
by Iiro K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2020 16:38:30

I ran this by setting it in another gameworld (Greyhawk) and in a very different kind of location than described in the adventure. Overall the adventure idea is good. Help the local druid to gather some magical components to battle a water weird. While it provides a nice change of pace from dungeon crawling and shifts the setting to a more natural world, I failed to get the most out of the module itself as I differed in my location from the module's own village, Xanadu.

The map provided in the adventure details the region where the village and spell components are, it will need to be used as is, instead of just dropping it where ever the DM wants. For me, the village had been changed into one in the middle of a deep forest and thus the map was already out of the picture. On the upside, you can run this without a map at all and just insert the encounters from the map wherever you feel like having them. However, drawing a new hex map to place the locations in the nearby area is recommended, as otherwise they may appear a little suddenly. Also the spell components could be a little different, as they do not feel all that much like the components of the potion of waterbreathing that is supposedly crafted from them. Something of note is that it provided a lot of experience points for the PC, as several of the enemies (using AD&D 2nd edition monster manual for the enemies) had higher xp values than anticipated. A welcome change from the previous one I ran, where the rewards were on the low end due to missing out on a couple of healing potions.

Some things were not explained very well, such as if other adventurers can bring in some of the components as several had been sent out and how that could be handled. Also the hex map offered no scale or travel time notes, which would be crucial for time sensitive situations that may happen. And while I did not end up using the drowning rules included, I found they did not answer for a situation of drowning damage applied to a multi-class character.

In conclusion, the module requires some amount of work to adapt when not run as is. It did provide me with an interesting way to introduce a new village to my campaign area and a good four and a half hours of adventuring. In the end it was an interesting idea and with some additional work it could have been a very good experience. However my subjective opinion ranks it mid tier for the additional preparation required when adapting it to anything else than how it was written.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
FS9 - Water Weird's Wake
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, sorry it didn't fit in exactly but we're glad you made changes to fit your needs!
FS2 - Tabernacle of the Ka-Sik-Fal
by Iiro K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2020 17:37:55

I ran this today in a kind of a continuation for the FS1 - Fortitude Dungeon. While not quite as good as the FS1 in comparison, it was a fun little adventure in itself.

The beginning, I feel, is a little too split. The two hooks, while nice, are both compelling enough not to stay to listen for the other. I tried to slip them both into my game and bring them up naturally to the player, but I only had time for one as after that the player immediately set off to find the adventure before I could really deliver the other one. Perhaps they can be delivered both at the same time without monologuing the opening speech, but I didn't manage it. Also some additional pointers for how to find the Tabernacle without holding the player's hand and leading them there would of have been appreciated.

As for the dungeon itself, the only thing I'd say is getting some more variety in the enemies offered. FS1 had a number of different enemy types and in comparison this had clearly fewer. Something different in the mix would have been nice, or even with a greater mix of weapons. For low hit point characters even a club or a stuff can be deadly, which was less of a problem with FS1.

On the other hand however, the dungeon itself was quite nice as was the way enemies were located. I especially liked how it was noted how certain types of routes would lead to chances of surprising enemies, which is quite crucial for a thief, and in my case, mage / thief. The dungeon itself was considerably larger than in FS1 with greater amount of truly threatening enemies moving around. The spacing of the enemies was also good. Offering both chances for quiet assassinations and (for my player) dreaded straight up combat.

At the end of the adventure the player had managed to somehow survive, despite some very scary situations. The session ended with a good mood and the lust for adventure had been sated!

As for the true solo section of the product, I have not really looked into it as it was not the reason I picked the adventure up.

All in all, I would not hesitate to run this again. It was a solid and relatively quick (we took about 5 hours with it), one session adventure for a lone PC. Tho again I'd recommend straight up mages to exercise extreme caution!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FS2 - Tabernacle of the Ka-Sik-Fal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Glad you enjoyed it and thank you very much for taking the time to write out the review!!!
FS1 - Fortitude Dungeon
by Iiro K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2020 23:18:03

I ran this as a kind of a "get to know AD&D" adventure for a friend and found it to be perfect for it.

The encounters were a good enough challenge for a lone first level character. They were not overwhelming and each proved to be a danger to contend with for the heroic mage/thief. I imagine a pure mage would of had terrible time in the dungeon, however, without the sneaking and backstabbing from the thief side.

I also found that the adventure was easy to slip into basically any campaign universe as a good first step for a solo adventurer. In my case I used the Village of Hommlet to introduce as a starting village and Fortitude Dungeon was a good fit for a forgotten hillside outpost some miles away from the village itself. Including character creation and the before and after dungeon village events we ended up clocking around ten hours of AD&D goodness out of this adventure. For the dungeon part itself, I think we spent somewhere between three or four hours exploring it one careful step at a time.

Bottomline is, I would recommend this adventure for a good solo adventurer experience and it fits as a perfect bridge for bringing my friend towards future adventures set around Hommlet, some of which might just be other FS series adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FS1 - Fortitude Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review Iiro and we are thrilled that you were pleased with the scenario! Thank you very much :)
TS5 - Boathouse of Whitecap the Wizard
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2020 07:13:55

Decent solo adventure, exploring the boathouse of a wizard. Links appear to work, only spotted one minor error: in paragraph 2D, 7C should be bolded.

Strengths: some interesting and distinctive magic items, useful rather than powerful.

Weaknesses/Cautions: (i) some sensible actions, such as trying to avoid combat with unintelligent creatures, have little/no chance of success; (ii) something of a funhouse, it would make more sense to replace crabmen with looters (who can be reasoned with), or keep the crabmen in the dock area.

Would be improved by including a mystery to solve, e.g. did actions of the wizard create the gigantic bees?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TS5 - Boathouse of Whitecap the Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OP10 - Pickle in Flavortown
by [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2020 14:12:25

Recently got back into DnD, and needed an easy way to shake off some rust. Ran my brother through it and it proved to be perfect. A touch challenging for a solo, 1st level character, so I freelanced in a way to get a couple of heals to him. Really well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OP10 - Pickle in Flavortown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TS4 - Unicorn's Mane
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2019 10:15:39

Fun solo adventure, 24 pages in length. A race against time to find a plant, located in a mini sandbox, before someone dies. Mainly combat encounters, but some variety, including an encounter where talking gains. There are some sources of healing, and a few treasure troves.

Possible improvements: (i) The odd typing error, see 16A line 6 "17Cation", and in 23B line 3 "knee" does not make sense. The only important change I would make is 2 rather than 8 lizardfolk in 12A: the previous description suggests 2, and 8 would likely overwhelm the PC. (ii) The mechanic for determining whether your PC returns in time (in 18A) is a bit underwhelming, taking no account of number of entries visited. I suggest the wife dies after 30 + 1d20 entries. (In various successful plays between 18 and 39 entries were visited.)

Replay value as different routes are possible. Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TS4 - Unicorn's Mane
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review we really appreciate it! You are correct, we botched 16A and 12A (now corrected). The "knee" comment is a sports comment...take a knee aka take a breather! We like the idea on the timing mechanic but avoid them in solos because of the general difficulty!
OP19 - Kalar's Crypt
by Dawn H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2019 06:48:04

My players and I really enjoyed this quick dungeon. I made a few changes, like placing the crypt under their villa and beefing up the enemies to match their level. Well paced and fun to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OP19 - Kalar's Crypt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FT - Hill Valley Community
by Wraith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2019 17:45:06

While obviously different players have different tolerances for this sort of thing, I found any capacity to imagine myself in the place they were describing irreparably shattered by the fact that all the characters are not even thinly disguised characters from Back to the Future with their personalities and roles intact. (The innkeep is BiffTON Tannen, the womanizing bully, who presumably winds up in a pile of manure at some point.) This means I can't use the characters as they are presented, and would have to create whole new ones from scratch to fill this town... which makes it useless as an aid, becuase other than the NPCs, there is only the vaguest and most generic details familiar to anyone who's seen a castle town portrayed in any other setting. Even the map is essentially an oval wall with the same house copy-pasted and even facing the same direction.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
FT - Hill Valley Community
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

F4 - Hall of the Dwarf Lords
by Craig H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2019 09:31:47

Great adventure for my son's party of R2, M3, wild elf F2T2, 1/2 ogre F1 and npc drow C2F2, Looking forward to F5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
F4 - Hall of the Dwarf Lords
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Awesome we are glad you all enjoyed it!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 85 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates